trixi2011 wrote: » Had the same problem here during the week when moving heifers the prick of a bull ended up pushing 5 heiger through a sheep wire fence and breaking 6 posts . Have been told before the best cure is to give the bull a hidding woundnnt do it personaly tho
Deepsouthwest wrote: » Young bull out with the cows for the first time lastnight, bringing the cows in this morning the little prick was at the front not letting any cow pass him on the roadway. Suppose no one has a cure for this? Does my feckin head in, hate having Bulls with the cows.
frazzledhome wrote: » Same here the other day put 3m of chain in his nose, sorted the bollix
Greengrass1 wrote: » Dad was watching a programme on utv last week. It was something about animals around the world..anyway there was a piece done in Nepal the man he was showing had 8/10 cows through school/college with them. The dung was collected put in a barrel mixes with water and it produced gas. They used this gas then to cook with. The cows urine was also collected and this was spread on the vegetables. It was a fertiliser aswell as insect repellent. He's doing fair well and only 10 cows
just do it wrote: » You thinking of changing system? !
Greengrass1 wrote: » Lol nope. Feckin take about 5/6 cows milk for the yr to put any one through uni here
atlantic mist wrote: » chains are grand if hes walking after you, once he stands on it running if hes powerful enough hel blow it out of his noise, youd want to be good at the long jump then
trixi2011 wrote: » What are peoples views on spreading rates of fert on paddocks at this time of year ? I was always tought to keep rates up intill after the seedhead stops emerging to keep as quality right and take advantage of high growth rates to take some quality surplus silage ? Keen to know what other peoples views/stagies are
frazzledhome wrote: » 1 bag of urea on whole farm before rain last week. We will be feeding bales within 10 days if more rain doesn't come. Great response from urea so far. I'd agree on keeping it out but won't go for 3 wks again and pray for rain in the mean time Some forecast for tomorrow and we have 40 acres to be baled, can't have it every way
mahoney_j wrote: » On the back of all milk price cuts and less than optimistic short term future for milk how are lads plans changing for rest of year??
mahoney_j wrote: » On the back of all milk price cuts and less than optimistic short term future for milk how are lads plans changing for rest of year??.have committed to building extra cubicles and calving shed here ,need them before next winter to cater for extra cows nos so going to plough on with that . 1 going to grow as much grass as possible for rest of year and bale as much surplus as possible to substitute some meal at back end and next spring. 2 cutting meal back from cows as of today .2 kg to to 26 kg milk ,0.35 per kg milk over that and Max feed 6 kg.my divas need their grub!! 3 pulling bull and stopping Ai 15 July ,scanning mud to late August and cull any empties 4 split calves into 2 groups,2 kg to small bunch and 0 to big group till late September .will all be on mostly after grass . 5 urea product of choice from here in where possible .have about 60 k gallons slurry left .will pump it all into tower ,dilute with water and spread with trailing shoes tank on milk block from mid August to give a kick in back end. 6 hide the cheque book,knuckle down and produce as much high solids milk as cheaply as possible for rest of year
leg wax wrote: » you will find that the dairy lads here will only respond too their little group, what you are saying above makes sense and in practice works as long as you want all those extra bales.
keep going wrote: » Meowww, doing 2 bags of 18 6 12 this week sulpher next round and probaly 18 6 12 again after that depending on the response.growing the 55s I need at the minute but reckon I have suffered in spring and autumn for want of p and k plus will ramp up another few next year so I want to maximise growth in the future.soil tests this year showed huge drop in p and k less so.a buddy of mine always says that nitrates had a huge role in the fodder crisis and im beginning to think hes right.