Boards Beer Mile 2015, June 13th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Photo attached. We're grand folks.

There you have it; irrefutable proof that Moosehead is an official beermile beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Final session. The big one. 4 x Moosehead off 50 secs standing recovery. Times were:

25.9 - 32.7 - 42.1 - 50.9

Times don't include bottle opening which was done during recovery. 4th beer was a real struggle. Like the last 2 reps of my 6x200 with reducing recovery session o did on Sunday, it was just a case of being in survival mode.

I'm feeling good. 4 sessions in total; 2 being drinking only, and 2 beer/run combos. I'm drinking better than I have done before. A PB would be a certainty on a proper synthetic track with spikes. But even on the cinder I can get close to that 8:27.

Now as Jack Charlton says "Go and compete".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,942 ✭✭✭AdpRo

I assume if you puke after finishing then no penalty lap!!

Still only 50/50 that I will make Saturday but decided I cannot turn up never having even tried to neck 4 beers in such a short space of time so done the TRR jogging on the spot for 1 minute beside the kitchen sink training session!

Herself out for the night so got kids to bed and off we went! I had to try Moosehead as most people were using it but I still thought James Boags would be less gassy and easier to get down even though it is 375ml so first 2 beers were Moosehead and last 2 were Boags!

1st beer 26.2
    1 min jog around the kitchen
    2nd beer 32.6
    1 min around kitchen
    3rd beer 35.3
    1 min around kitchen
    4th beer 31.4
    1 min around kitchen

2 mins later had to leg it to the jacks hence the above question!!

Conclusion is that if I do it then Boags is the beer of choice I reckon, much easier to neck for me but that extra 20 ml per bottle could kill me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Interesting to look at last year's video - not a whole lot between TRR & Dublin Runner really - could there be an upset on the cards ???

AdpRo wrote: »

Still only 50/50 that I will make Saturday but decided I cannot turn up never having even tried to neck 4 beers in such a short space of time so done the TRR jogging on the spot for 1 minute beside the kitchen sink training session!

Herself out for the night so got kids to bed and off we went! I had to try Moosehead as most people were using it but I still thought James Boags would be less gassy and easier to get down even though it is 375ml so first 2 beers were Moosehead and last 2 were Boags!

1st beer 26.2
    2nd beer 32.6
    1 min around kitchen
    3rd beer 35.3
    1 min around kitchen
    4th beer 31.4
    1 min around kitchen

Conclusion is that if I do it then Boags is the beer of choice I reckon, much easier to neck for me but that extra 20 ml per bottle could kill me!

Cracking session. And Boags is a good shout. I used it last year. Bring a bottle opener as the twist off doesn't seem to work as well here as it does in Oz. Nice enough beer also. Spewing after is fine. I did it once, 20 secs after the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭eldiva

Cracking session. And Boags is a good shout. I used it last year. Bring a bottle opener as the twist off doesn't seem to work as well here as it does in Oz. Nice enough beer also. Spewing after is fine. I did it once, 20 secs after the race.

Oh so i can finish the mile and then spew on completion? This is interesting

eldiva wrote: »
    Oh so i can finish the mile and then spew on completion? This is interesting

Throwing up is fine as long as the race is over. 1 second after crossing the line is fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

1st beer 26.2
    2nd beer 32.6
    1 min around kitchen
    3rd beer 35.3
    1 min around kitchen
    4th beer 31.4
    1 min around kitchen

How big is your kitchen you can jog around it for one minute????

tang1 wrote: »
    How big is your kitchen you can jog around it for one minute????

Surely you can jog around any size room, small only means more laps in the minute! I was jogging on the spot till I got bored then one side to the other about 10 times!

Was only joking i know, Boags is a waste of good beer by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,203 ✭✭✭Gavlor

This thread proves what I've said all along.

You are a bunch of nerds .... Running, sorry, jogging nerds with a penchant for sh!te beer.

Was only joking i know, Boags is a waste of good beer by the way.

I know, have to hide the other 4 or herself will have them gone before Saturday!

Gavlor wrote: »
    This thread proves what I've said all along.

You are a bunch of nerds .... Running, sorry, jogging nerds with a penchant for sh!te beer.

Be good half training for you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,203 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Be good half training for you!!

Winning the double put an end to that particular chapter for now!

Gavlor wrote: »
    Winning the double put an end to that particular chapter for now!

Waterford only won the league yet!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

LOL @ Meno, after every session he is tapering between now and the race but the next night there is always another session.

Anyway, my big dress rehearsal session. Am I ready for this thing or not?

4 X (1 Moosehead, 90 Seconds Jogging on the spot)

Good predictor session I feel. I don't think I'll do 90 second 400's but I didn't want to give myself too much recovery either.

Beers were room temp, wont be doing this on race day as far too frothy and could be mistaken for puking.

Anyway to the details(Lap Times include opening the beer):

1 Moosehead - 35.6 Seconds
    2. Jogging on the spot 90.6 Seconds

No problems here, good burping. Beer was a bit frothy, the inital froth went all over the counter top, could be a DQ in real life, beers will need to be slightly chilled.

3. Moosehead - 42.3 Seconds
    4. Jogging - 91.5 Seconds.

This time I was ready for the froth, the jogging was a bit tougher, burps came eventually, don't force it.

4. Moosehead - 50 Seconds
    5. Jogging - 90.8 Seconds

This was tougher but was happy with 50 seconds. Needed to down the froth, take a break then go again. worked well. Jogging was a bit more laboured, wouldn't have got through 400m at that effort.

7. Moosehead - 55.4 Seconds
    8. Jogging 91.8 Seconds

This was the last beer and I was glad to get it done in under 1 minute. It was tough but recent training has paid off, no gag reflex but the jogging was just jogging, I'll probably go a bit harder on race day.

Overall happy with this session. Need to slightly chill my beers. The running will be harder on race day and I won't be doing 90 second 400's but happy that Ive done all I can t prepare.

Yes Adrian, I got done for frothing in the 2013 Beermile. If a judge spots froth coming out your mouth you'll be ding a penalty lap ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Beer was a bit frothy, the inital froth went all over the counter top, could be a DQ in real life, beers will need to be slightly chilled.

Froth from your mouth or froth from opening the bottle?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

What happens if it froths out of the bottle before you drink it? Automatic DQ for spilling beer?

Beer was a bit frothy, the inital froth went all over the counter top, could be a DQ in real life, beers will need to be slightly chilled.

Froth from your mouth or froth from opening the bottle?

From the bottle.

adrian522 wrote: »
    What happens if it froths out of the bottle before you drink it? Automatic DQ for spilling beer?

I would think it depends on how much? If you're tipping the bottle as you're opening it to spill out the froth that has to be a dq? Plus no ones going to want the froth, so keeping it to a minimum helps you more than hinders you?

Yeah, in this case it started spilling over the edge as soon as I opened it, not much, but enough for people to claim I wasn't drinking a full beer.

A small bit of froth left behind at the end is accepted and unavoidable. It generally will not tip out when tipping the beer over your head. Every beer miler in history would be DQed if you start counting 1-2ml of froth left behind. Common sense must prevail.

Yeah, in this case it started spilling over the edge as soon as I opened it, not much, but enough for people to claim I wasn't drinking a full beer.

That has to be allowable...not your fault. Everyone's beers will be in the same temp. If one froths they all will. As long as it doesn't tip on your head or come out your mouth ...it seems OK? :D

A small bit of froth left behind at the end is accepted and unavoidable. It generally will not tip out when tipping the beer over your head. Every beer miler in history would be DQed if you start counting 1-2ml of froth left behind. Common sense must prevail.

I'm talking about when you first open it, a load of froth as if it was a bottle of champagne or something...

Only a DQ if it comes out of your mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

menoscemo wrote: »
    Only a DQ if it comes out of your mouth

What's to stop someone shakin the **** out of their beers meno and then they'd lose a fair bit of liquid to froth?

TbL

What's to stop someone shakin the **** out of their beers meno and then they'd lose a fair bit of liquid to froth?

TbL

The independent adjudicator will be watching!

Plus frothing = puking seemingly so it'll be of no benefit, even if the independent adjudicator misses the bottle shaking ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

The independent adjudicator will be watching!

Plus frothing = puking seemingly so it'll be of no benefit, even if the independent adjudicator misses the bottle shaking ;)

What kind of distances are you mad yokes running between each beer :pac:. What is the hangover like after combining beer with running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

What kind of distances are you mad yokes running between each beer :pac:. .

400m of gassy, bloated, belchy horribleness.