Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S05E08 - Hardhome - Have NOT read The Books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭chasmcb

ashdale5 wrote: »
    He'd make a great full forward.

The Sunday Game would last all of the five minutes it takes him to literally squash the opposition. It would still be a cracking spectacle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

JJayoo wrote: »
    Baby Sam is a wildling

Not really

Craster wasn't really a wildling was he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭ashdale5

chasmcb wrote: »
    The Sunday Game would last all of the five minutes it takes him to literally squash the opposition. It would still be a cracking spectacle!

"He's crushed the full back's spine there Ger with one of his giant feet"

"I think a yellow is a bit harsh for that to be honest with you Marty"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Riskymove wrote: »
    Not really

Craster wasn't really a wildling was he?

He was a Wildling, just unusual in that he was independent of any of the tribes and collaborated with both the White Walkers and the Night's Watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Is there any way the "children" could be fallen children of the forest from thousands of years earlier? Just like in s01e01, they're the only wights that pause. All of the other wights behave like regular zombies.

was thinking that too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭JJayoo

I doubt the pause has any significance except for the womans reaction. I think her reaction is more important trying to protray the wildlings as actual people who love their kids and families instead of just brutes

It's also possible some of the kids she sees as zombies in that moment are ones she remembers as being part of the Wildling community when they were alive, another reason for her to pause appalled. It was a real bummer she was zombified just a few minutes after being introduced, I was thinking "ay-oop, is Jon Snow about to find another Wildling squeeze here?"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

DeadHand wrote: »
    He was a Wildling, just unusual in that he was independent of any of the tribes and collaborated with both the White Walkers and the Night's Watch.

If the White Walkers forged an alliance with Craster, then they are not beyond mutually beneficial alliances with humans, I wonder will they do that with any of the main houses when they move further south.

mzungu wrote: »
    If the White Walkers forged an alliance with Craster, then they are not beyond mutually beneficial alliances with humans, I wonder will they do that with any of the main houses when they move further south.

Their "alliance" with Craster was entirely based on him making regular human sacrifices of his infant sons. a) I can't imagine the lords or ladies of Westeros buying into that kind of deal and b) from what we've seen of the Walkers so far they don't look like the type to give a flying fook about making alliances! They just wanna zombify everyone's ass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

I wouldn't call what Craster had an alliance.It was basically give us your infant sons to sacrifice or you become a zombie soldier.Craster didn't really have a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭DeadHand

It wasn't so much an alliance as temporary, forced tribute. They would have zombified Craster and his harem too eventually (don't imagine those ladies came to a good end; it's entirely possible that some were present at Hardhome).

The WWs want no alliance, they need no alliance. Besides, no House is crazy enough to throw their lot in with them. They would immediately become universally hated forever for siding with the enemy of all people.

The White Walkers aren't so much another faction as a supernatural, apocalyptic force.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Their "alliance" with Craster was entirely based on him making regular human sacrifices of his infant sons. a) I can't imagine the lords or ladies of Westeros buying into that kind of deal and b) from what we've seen of the Walkers so far they don't look like the type to give a flying fook about making alliances! They just wanna zombify everyone's ass!
    yabadabado wrote: »
    I wouldn't call what Craster had an alliance.It was basically give us your infant sons to sacrifice or you become a zombie soldier.Craster didn't really have a choice.

Very true on both counts. I had forgotten the ins and outs of the Craster situation.
    DeadHand wrote: »
    It wasn't so much an alliance as temporary, forced tribute. They would have zombified Craster and his harem too eventually (don't imagine those ladies came to a good end; it's entirely possible that some were present at Hardhome).

The WWs want no alliance, they need no alliance. Besides, no House is crazy enough to throw their lot in with them. They would immediately become universally hated forever for siding with the enemy of all people.

The White Walkers aren't so much another faction as a supernatural, apocalyptic force.

Oh I think this lad might......
    _1433383138.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭skirtgirl

I have had nightmares every night since watching hardhome. Don't think I can watch it again as that last scene must have had a bigger effect on my psyche than I imagined. Fecking white walkers.

skirtgirl wrote: »
    I have had nightmares every night since watching hardhome. Don't think I can watch it again as that last scene must have had a bigger effect on my psyche than I imagined. Fecking white walkers.

Cue a stampede of Boardsy blokes volunteering to call by and hold your hand while you watch the next episode!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

It's also possible some of the kids she sees as zombies in that moment are ones she remembers as being part of the Wildling community when they were alive, another reason for her to pause appalled. It was a real bummer she was zombified just a few minutes after being introduced, I was thinking "ay-oop, is Jon Snow about to find another Wildling squeeze here?"

It's gonna be interesting to see what happen's to her character now. She's a fine actress and was one of the best things about Borgen, so you'd imagine she's gonna have a key role to play. I can't imagine they brought her in to have her running around screaming all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭B17G

Applauded my TV after the Red Wedding episode. Did it again after that one. Impressive. Excellent technique by Jon Snow on his golf swing when he chops that wight in half that rushes towards him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

It's gonna be interesting to see what happen's to her character now. She's a fine actress and was one of the best things about Borgen, so you'd imagine she's gonna have a key role to play. I can't imagine they brought her in to have her running around screaming all the time.

She's a wight now though...I can't see her having any further part to play, unfortunately!

Yes, it seems you're right. Wikipedia has it that she 'guest-starred' in GOT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Thought Benjen Stark would've made a reappearance in that show. Anyone think he ever will or is he gone for good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Can a normal blade kill a White Walker, if for example you chopped their head off?
    On this note, does chopping a wight's head off completely destroy it? They get reanimated, does the headless corpse still pose a threat (it might, seeing as a lot of them don't have eyes any more) and the bodyless head just squirm around looking angry? :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

THFC wrote: »
    Thought Benjen Stark would've made a reappearance in that show. Anyone think he ever will or is he gone for good?

He is sailing around the world with Gendry and Blackfish

What episode was that mentioned in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

In Syrio Forel's boat with Sandor Clegane the Quarter Master.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

Yes, it seems you're right. Wikipedia has it that she 'guest-starred' in GOT.

Interview with her about it here.
    http://winteriscoming.net/2015/06/03/birgitte-hjort-sorensen-talks-playing-karsi-and-filming-the-massacre-at-hardhome/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭superglue

I think it's my first time posting on the GoT threads, but I read through this every week.

When Danaerys asks Tyrion why he killed his father, he replies that one day he might tell her, but that they'll "need more wine than this". If that day comes (and I have a feeling it will at some stage), we can be sure that **** is either about to, or already has hit the fan.

I can't wait to see exactly what that "****" is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

superglue wrote: »
    I think it's my first time posting on the GoT threads, but I read through this every week.

When Danaerys asks Tyrion why he killed his father, he replies that one day he might tell her, but that they'll "need more wine than this". If that day comes (and I have a feeling it will at some stage), we can be sure that **** is either about to, or already has hit the fan.

Sounds more like he is too heartbroken about shae to talk about it.

He might want to keep the story of the trial from her too though. The fact that he was sentenced to death for killing a king might not actually go down that well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

I'm not sure why you think this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

He's also still negotiating at that point, why tip his hand, leave Danaerys wondering about a few things and he's got a better chance of avoiding the fighting pits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭Puddle Q

Reek must have some part to play. You would think he might redeem himself somehow. The lads from the iron islands seem to no longer be a factor ??

Puddle Q wrote: »
    Reek must have some part to play. You would think he might redeem himself somehow. The lads from the iron islands seem to no longer be a factor ??

The Iron Islanders (his sister especially) now consider him as good as dead after their aborted rescue mission last season.