Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

So do lads want to make a stab at naming the team? lots of talk going round that Pa Cronin will start, Darren McCarthy too, Brian Murphy go straight in FB i say. if he does Calahane could go on the wing.. then again Will Kearny could go to corner back and MacDonald to go to the wing. I hope Cormac Murphy is not palying sweeper in front of the FB as he is good for long range points from half back. Rob O shea was playing as a third midfielder for most of the league so if he is named, its more than likely he will drop back again. Does this mean that one of the corner forwards comes out and only two are left inside? if Harnedy is not fully fit he could go full forward with Cronin and Cooper and lehane making up the half foward line.I thought Cooper had a good game in the league final. Caughlan was always a great lad for a few long range points. dont think he featured enough in the league for JBM to start him.
    Paudie found it very difficult in the league final and being smothered by waterford backs so I don't think he'll get the nod either.Its actually the first time in a long while that its hard to call the. team Not because its like so many are fighting for places but rather given the injuries, call ups, and the style of the opposition its kind of hard.

I think JBM will be safe enough with the selection:

Nash
    SON B.Murphy McDonald
    C.Murphy Ellis Calahane.
    Kearny/Walsh
    Lehane Harnedy R.O Shea
    Horgan Luke Cadogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

Sunday is a game where the injuries have dented both team. But we have up play the cards we have been dealt. Brian Murphy & Pa Cronin will both start for cork. Harnedy must start for cork even if only 80%fit. Hoggy must step up and be counted Sunday. Sully will be an important sub. Nash has to be pin perfect on his puck outs. I think Murph will do ok. Hope he won't be a scapegoat if we lose. All in all I hope we get 100% from every player and we won't be far away.

i can't see how we are going to get 100% from every player if you are insisting on starting Harnedy. he obviously isn't full fit. every player starting must be sure all their team mates are ready for the battle ahead. no matter how good the player is, if he has not done the preparation & fully fit JBM could be risking him being out for longer. I see Christy Cooney has got another job with CCB. Frank will never be gone when his sidekick is brought in whenever a job comes up. I heard Youghal are in disarray this year. since they won IHC 18mts ago he is after losing a trainer & 4 players, even Davy Fitz's man management skills aren't that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Christ almighty. What team wouldn't be some way confident playing a team they bet 4 weeks ago by 10 points? I hate to think what you'd be saying, for example, if yed won by 10 points, given you writing us off for losing a few challenge matches in December.

Pity ye threw the league final TTM given Sunday seems to be a lost cause now that yer missing half yer team. Sean Og, Ben and Joe Deane will be a big loss on Sunday but hopefully theyll be back for the next round.
    Unfortunately those three lads are retired but unlike waterford past team who were very good but only just that never great as they failed to win the all Ireland senior those three cork won all Ireland senior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

cascade12 wrote: »
    From a Waterford point of view, I would be saying that without Daragh Fives, Daniels and Mahoney, if Cork are as good as they think they are, they should justify all the pundits and the bookies odds and win easy.

No one in Cork thinks they are any more than what they are - a mediocre group with little depth and a couple of first class hurlers.

Waterford can afford a few injuries on the back of their recent underage success. Cork have had no underage success and as such we barely have 15 inter-county quality hurlers, if that. Our desperation and complete lack of depth are clear considering we had to beg Brian Murphy to return.

TTM. I wouldn't mention Sheflin & Hoggy in the same sentence. Sheflin always fought for his own ball. Head down take a tackle go for goal. Hoggy can't do this. Last week against Ballymartle he was flying in first half. But when his team needed him in second half he was no where to be seen. All the more reason we need harnedy to be playing sunday

Totally agree and my point was horgan needs more become like shefflin as at present he wouldn't tie he's shoelace

Harnedy would walk on the kk team as he's cody type player
    Young bob I don't think you fully appreciate or understand what harnedy brings, it's he's courage, balls no fancy dan stiff hunger, humble nature the raw aggression the ruthless execution the remarkable consistently performance means half fit harnedy is better than a fully fit horgan if he doesn't turn up or luke or Paudie or moylan in all fancy stick men and good hurling but they won't win dirty ball like harnedy
    Cork to have any chance he has to start

Orizio wrote: »
    No one in Cork thinks they are any more than what they are - a mediocre group with little depth and a couple of first class hurlers.

Waterford can afford a few injuries on the back of their recent underage success. Cork have had no underage success and as such we barely have 15 inter-county quality hurlers, if that. Our desperation and complete lack of depth are clear considering we had to beg Brian Murphy to return.
    Good post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

That's exactly what I've always felt about them. At full pelt and at 100% they can match anyone on their day but at anything less they can be blown out of it. I'd be thinking any cork supporter who knows anything would be of a similar mind. I'm under no illusions whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭seventh7

The most honest and frank post on this thread. Well said.

Keep the faith, if some of the kids playing in the academy structure can be brought through to Senior level we will sit at the top table in the not too distant future. We have a few young Harnedys coming through, natural ball winners who can finish. They are there have no doubt.

seventh7 wrote: »
    The most honest and frank post on this thread. Well said.

Keep the faith, if some of the kids playing in the academy structure can be brought through to Senior level we will sit at the top table in the not too distant future. We have a few young Harnedys coming through, natural ball winners who can finish. They are there have no doubt.

I think they've always been there but I still have none or very little faith that a culture of success and a ruthless winning mentality is being instilled in them. That's no fault of the kids, it's who's in charge. I'm optimistic but until we actually start winning titles underage and I mean winning not nearly winning or almost winning or coming close or moral defeats then no I just don't see it. We're coming from an awful long way behind with a lot of man made roadblocks still impeding us which is a shame.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,024 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Looking forward to the big lead up to the match. A lot questions on both sides regarding player availability and both sides definitely down players that would start.
    I cannot believe pp have cork 8/13 and Waterford 13/8.
    Waterford beat us a few weeks ago by 10. Waterford are down their main free taker and cork have huge doubts over their main ball getter in harnedy as well as having a full back line that could easily fall apart.
    What I want to see is a Cork performance. Win lose or draw we need to perform. We have seriously Underperformed too often in recent big games, Tip in croker and Waterford game in particular. It can not happen again. But it could as I think we are in trouble. If we perform we have a chance and might nick a slight victory, but I've a sneaking suspicion another below par performance might be in the offering.

Horse84 wrote: »
    I think they've always been there but I still have none or very little faith that a culture of success and a ruthless winning mentality is being instilled in them. That's no fault of the kids, it's who's in charge. I'm optimistic but until we actually start winning titles underage and I mean winning not nearly winning or almost winning or coming close or moral defeats then no I just don't see it. We're coming from an awful long way behind with a lot of man made roadblocks still impeding us which is a shame.

Magic post, your dead right its not kids that are at fault its the values that are instilled. I have watched Cork underage mentors for years showing no emotion or animation at key games. At the recent underage wexford tournament the Cork mentors were very vocal and hugely supportive of the kids. One in particular was if memory serves me correctly a Richard O hara, now this guy is driven and the team he looked after are extremley driven, so driven that they beat everything put in front of them and I have no doubt that if they had been pitted against any of the 2 finalists in the A competition they would have overcome them as well. There has been change Kids like John Cooper, Thomas O Neill, Jack Ryan, , Killian Ahern, Sean O meara, Paul Lyons are born winners they play with huge heart and commitment. For a lot of kids making a panel is the a huge personal achievement and they content themselves with going through the motions and holding a place. The recent change to the structure bringing in kids from open trials had had a very positive effect now the hard choices have to be made, its no longer sufficent to showboat and to be flashy, Whenever the time comes regardless of conditions or oposition we must put winners on the pitch. In the past our selections have reeked of politics and nepotism at all levels thefore we have not had success. Its time for change and we may just be begining to see the first signs.

seventh7 wrote: »
    Magic post, your dead right its not kids that are at fault its the values that are instilled. I have watched Cork underage mentors for years showing no emotion or animation at key games. At the recent underage wexford tournament the Cork mentors were very vocal and hugely supportive of the kids. One in particular was if memory serves me correctly a Richard O hara, now this guy is driven and the team he looked after are extremley driven, so driven that they beat everything put in front of them and I have no doubt that if they had been pitted against any of the 2 finalists in the A competition they would have overcome them as well. There has been change Kids like John Cooper, Thomas O Neill, Jack Ryan, , Killian Ahern, Sean O meara, Paul Lyons are born winners they play with huge heart and commitment. For a lot of kids making a panel is the a huge personal achievement and they content themselves with going through the motions and holding a place. The recent change to the structure bringing in kids from open trials had had a very positive effect now the hard choices have to be made, its no longer sufficent to showboat and to be flashy, Whenever the time comes regardless of conditions or oposition we must put winners on the pitch. In the past our selections have reeked of politics and nepotism at all levels thefore we have not had success. Its time for change and we may just be begining to see the first signs.

Well that's very encouraging to hear I must say. You were there and saw this so that's good enough for me. My fear is still when they get to minor and u21 level are the very best coaches and management going to be put in place to mentor them. After countless years of neglect and downright arrogance and ineptitude I just don't have that confidence.
    You look at 2 modern day examples and it will show u all of what's wrong. 1. Seamus Harnedy a player that couldn't get a look in underage mainly cause he wasn't flashy or wristy and not being judged on heart and will to win.
    2. Pa Callaghan. A different case but a 3 year minor, unbelievable talent but we can only guess as to what may have influenced his decision not to play even u21 for his county not to mind senior. You'd hear stories but only he knows himself. Hopefully he changes his mind at some future stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

Totally agree and my point was horgan needs more become like shefflin as at present he wouldn't tie he's shoelace

Harnedy would walk on the kk team as he's cody type player
    Young bob I don't think you fully appreciate or understand what harnedy brings, it's he's courage, balls no fancy dan stiff hunger, humble nature the raw aggression the ruthless execution the remarkable consistently performance means half fit harnedy is better than a fully fit horgan if he doesn't turn up or luke or Paudie or moylan in all fancy stick men and good hurling but they won't win dirty ball like harnedy
    Cork to have any chance he has to start

TTM it isn't I don't appreciate what Harnedy brings to this or any team he plays for but you fail to understand if you pick a player who is not 100% fit you not only put that player at risk to aggravate the original injury but dishearten the other players if he has to come off early in the match. Cody tried to do that with Shefflin & I have no qualm of putting Shamie in the same sentence as Henry. He is our best forward by a mile but if he is not fit he won't get to a ball against any intercounty player. he might catch a ball but then you are relying on Nash to hit his target, which he hasn't done since Pa was in his pomp. If Harnedy doesn't play Cooper will have to step up to the plate because Luke,Paudie, Conor & Hoggie are good players but only in a winning team.

Horse84 wrote: »
    Well that's very encouraging to hear I must say. You were there and saw this so that's good enough for me. My fear is still when they get to minor and u21 level are the very best coaches and management going to be put in place to mentor them. After countless years of neglect and downright arrogance and ineptitude I just don't have that confidence.
    You look at 2 modern day examples and it will show u all of what's wrong. 1. Seamus Harnedy a player that couldn't get a look in underage mainly cause he wasn't flashy or wristy and not being judged on heart and will to win.
    2. Pa Callaghan. A different case but a 3 year minor, unbelievable talent but we can only guess as to what may have influenced his decision not to play even u21 for his county not to mind senior. You'd hear stories but only he knows himself. Hopefully he changes his mind at some future stage.

I hope that he best coaches are in place but they are getting a great start under the tutelage of Fergus Ryan, Trevor Allen and co.
    Ahern and Cooper would appear to be in the Harnedy mold, nothing flashy but direct and effective, huge workrates and both look hugley determined throw in a few more in that mould and next years minors will be a fromidable outfit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Unfortunately those three lads are retired but unlike waterford past team who were very good but only just that never great as they failed to win the all Ireland senior those three cork won all Ireland senior

If a petty jibe is all your good for then why even bother? Every game the excuses are in, just because you've been getting them in just before throw in doesn't mean they aren't excuses.

If Waterford lose Sunday, Cork are the better team. No excuses. Two important players missing but a team is only as good as its panel. I hope you'll be able to be magnanimous and not hide behind excuses if ye lose on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

If a petty jibe is all your good for then why even bother? Every game the excuses are in, just because you've been getting them in just before throw in doesn't mean they aren't excuses.

If Waterford lose Sunday, Cork are the better team. No excuses. Two important players missing but a team is only as good as its panel. I hope you'll be able to be magnanimous and not hide behind excuses if ye lose on Sunday.

Well said Mountainlad. All you have to do is to scrape the surface to unveil TTM's bitterness.

He keeps on trying to perpetuate the fallacy that all Waterford supporters think our team are world beaters since our League success. Nothing could be further from the truth. Apart from about three experienced players we are very green.

For God sake, by virtue of hurling population alone, Cork should always beat Waterford.

To hear this guy coming up with pathetic rubbish about injuries for Cork is pitiful.

Both sides have injuries and the bookies are firmly with the Cork camp.

Cork are favourites for Sunday, end of.

You set the tone now be fair with your jibe regards sean og and deane coming out retirement
    Don't dish it out with respect if you can't take it
    I simply pointed out there all Ireland winners and not my opinion but a fact waterford team then we're not
    I'm only to be fair calling what is is as Waterford didn't win the all Ireland then now to be fair

No excuses I call it as it is and yes you may not like it as bust this bubble waterford winning Sunday will suddenly turned a corner, fair enough belive that I respect that's your privledge but false dawns you may not like to duffeniate between them and wins at face value but I dont
    If cork were missing six players would you still say ah makes no difference sure better team will still win

Seriously be realistic cork are no kk panel wise and I said this all year so missing possible four front line players have no doubt beating cork does not necessarily mean waterford are the best team
    Best team on the day with resources available on that given day yes but it won't actually mean much in terms of all Ireland credentials as if cork winning the same imo

It's great in your three games from all Ireland glory yes but waterford will face much stronger tests
    Waterford simply have to win as if they loose to a depleted cork it really is not good imo going forwards so ye have to win
    If you fail to realise every game has to be judged on face value fair enough
    Look at munster they absolutely scraped and struggles to beat a truly awful ospreys in semi final and all talk was oh some how Williams hurley smith etc had suddenly transformed all season awful form to become great by some pundits
    Williams apparently one head line was he turned a corner
    Well Saturday showed it all

Point is beating a weakened cork team with zero depth in cover such Brian Murphy being called up as great as he was he's no league hurling done, Darren Mccarthy fine club player but hasn't performance in most games added to lawton fine club player but not inter county and no full back shows problems we have
    Aidan Ryan should been tried but with Murphy back won't be and while Murphy may survive waterford he's no where near the full back answer
    I fully expect waterford to win but then knowing waterford and this is not a jibe but as all Ireland semi final eight years proved and that year munster final and threw years ago v cork waterford always seem to loose games expected to win or in game v cork eight years ago struggled past a weak cork team and also that all Ireland quatre final and players even struggled v poor cork five years ago in replayed munster final

Geuinely not a jibe but merely showing the logic that waterford often flatter to deceive and I understand waterford may not like all Ireland semi final rementiobed years ago that they lost however when talking hurling it's valid to appreciate it comes up in conversation and especially regards Sunday as prove waterford don't do favourites well
    Waterford if they out hurl cork and destroy them then allowing for injury I say it's ruthless performance conviction that should be admired however I suspect waterford will struggle to put cork away but should win

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    Well said Mountainlad. All you have to do is to scrape the surface to unveil TTM's bitterness.

He keeps on trying to perpetuate the fallacy that all Waterford supporters think our team are world beaters since our League success. Nothing could be further from the truth. Apart from about three experienced players we are very green.

For God sake, by virtue of hurling population alone, Cork should always beat Waterford.

To hear this guy coming up with pathetic rubbish about injuries for Cork is pitiful.

Both sides have injuries and the bookies are firmly with the Cork camp.

Cork are favourites for Sunday, end of.
    Totally respect your opinion but unfortunately I disagree with it
    Bookies don't represent true value at times in all it takes is an ill informed joe blogs throw huge money on cork so odds change dramatically
    Most waterford expect ye to win by yere own thread and I in Waterford two weeks ago and feeling is waterford will win and handy

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,024 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Totally respect your opinion but unfortunately I disagree with it
    Bookies don't represent true value at times in all it takes is an ill informed joe blogs throw huge money on cork so odds change dramatically
    Most waterford expect ye to win by yere own thread and I in Waterford two weeks ago and feeling is waterford will win and handy

Agreed. I cannot see how Waterford are that price, I might be tempted to get on at that price.
    Waterford -7 is 8/1 for anyone thinking they might beat us by about 10 again , although I seriously doubt it.

Point is beating a weakened cork team with zero depth in cover such Brian Murphy being called up as great as he was he's no league hurling done, Darren Mccarthy fine club player but hasn't performance in most games added to lawton fine club player but not inter county and no full back shows problems we have
    Aidan Ryan should been tried but with Murphy back won't be and while Murphy may survive waterford he's no where near the full back answer
    I fully expect waterford to win but then knowing waterford and this is not a jibe but as all Ireland semi final eight years proved and that year munster final and threw years ago v cork waterford always seem to loose games expected to win or in game v cork eight years ago struggled past a weak cork team and also that all Ireland quatre final and players even struggled v poor cork five years ago in replayed munster final

Geuinely not a jibe but merely showing the logic that waterford often flatter to deceive and I understand waterford may not like all Ireland semi final rementiobed years ago that they lost however when talking hurling it's valid to appreciate it comes up in conversation and especially regards Sunday as prove waterford don't do favourites well
    Waterford if they out hurl cork and destroy them then allowing for injury I say it's ruthless performance conviction that should be admired however I suspect waterford will struggle to put cork away but should win

What an absolute crock of s*ite.

Cork have more hurling clubs and hurling players than any other county in the country.

Yet you talk absolute rubbish like "Point is beating a weakened cork team with zero depth in cover such Brian Murphy being called up as great as he was he's no league hurling done, Darren Mccarthy fine club player but hasn't performance in most games added to lawton fine club player but not inter county and no full back shows problems we have
    Aidan Ryan should been tried but with Murphy back won't be and while Murphy may survive waterford he's no where near the full back answer "

FFS there are more hurling clubs between Catherine's and Cork city than there are in the whole of Waterford.

Who's fault is it that your panel is "zero depth in cover"??? Cry me a river!

TBH, seeing as you're so strong with the three letter acronyms, IMO you're full of BS where Cork are concerned.

Full of excuses, just in case, and then if ye win you'll be on here with the I told you so scenario.

Bottom line is with Cork, in GAA terms with your number of clubs and population, ye have been under achieving for nigh on a generation now!

The fact that you're throwing your toys out of your pram about Waterford, a county with the smallest population and area in Munster, just goes to prove that.

You'd never hear a lad from Kilkenny or Kerry going on with the excuses that you go on with before every big game.

I grew up with Cork hurlers as my idols, Cummins, JBM, Gerald, John Fitz, especially, etc. They would cringe if they were reading the excuses that you are trotting out.

OK, ye might win on Sunday, but for your own sake, grow a pair and leave the bitterness aside. It ill behoves you and your county to be going on with it!!

What an absolute crock of s*ite.

Cork have more hurling clubs and hurling players than any other county in the country.

Yet you talk absolute rubbish like "Point is beating a weakened cork team with zero depth in cover such Brian Murphy being called up as great as he was he's no league hurling done, Darren Mccarthy fine club player but hasn't performance in most games added to lawton fine club player but not inter county and no full back shows problems we have
    Aidan Ryan should been tried but with Murphy back won't be and while Murphy may survive waterford he's no where near the full back answer "

FFS there are more hurling clubs between Catherine's and Cork city than there are in the whole of Waterford.

Who's fault is it that your panel is "zero depth in cover"??? Cry me a river!

TBH, seeing as you're so strong with the three letter acronyms, IMO you're full of BS where Cork are concerned.

Full of excuses, just in case, and then if ye win you'll be on here with the I told you so scenario.

Bottom line is with Cork, in GAA terms with your number of clubs and population, ye have been under achieving for nigh on a generation now!

The fact that you're throwing your toys out of your pram about Waterford, a county with the smallest population and area in Munster, just goes to prove that.

You'd never hear a lad from Kilkenny or Kerry going on with the excuses that you go on with before every big game.

I grew up with Cork hurlers as my idols, Cummins, JBM, Gerald, John Fitz, especially, etc. They would cringe if they were reading the excuses that you are trotting out.

OK, ye might win on Sunday, but for your own sake, grow a pair and leave the bitterness aside. It ill behoves you and your county to be going on with it!!

Imo your entitled to your opinion I have to disagree but I totally respect your right to it but imo while not agreeing with your choice of words just my opinion though, imo I think I don't do excuses as cork lads know here for the sake of it but based on cork injuries imo not just me but many feel in cork waterford to win and imo your right what you say bout heroes but fact is cork are missing likely three central players Sunday and imo centre back full back and centre forward are vital aeras of the field and imo there always the foundation a team success is based on and imo Waterford are stronger those position Sunday and imo will win Sunday but of course I'd love to be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

May the best team win!

should be a cracker of a game!

lets hope the weather stays a bit nice!!!!!!!!:D:D

The old pre match bants is mighty isn't it :);)

Imo your entitled to your opinion I have to disagree but I totally respect your right to it but imo while not agreeing with your choice of words just my opinion though, imo I think I don't do excuses as cork lads know here for the sake of it but based on cork injuries imo not just me but many feel in cork waterford to win and imo your right what you say bout heroes but fact is cork are missing likely three central players Sunday and imo centre back full back and centre forward are vital aeras of the field and imo there always the foundation a team success is based on and imo Waterford are stronger those position Sunday and imo will win Sunday but of course I'd love to be wrong

Now stop!!.

We're missing our star CF, Paudie and probably Maurice and our most natural CB, Darragh Fives, not to mention, probably our most natural hurling back, Stephen Daniels who in all likelihood would be our FB, with enough game time.

We have to ship those blows and we're not moaning.

In danger of repeating myself, for someone from Cork to be moaning about injuries, coming up to a game against Waterford with your hurling numbers is frankly unedifying and beneath you and your county!!

Now stop!!.

We're missing our star CF, Paudie and probably Maurice and our most natural CB, Darragh Fives, not to mention, probably our most natural hurling back, Stephen Daniels who in all likelihood would be our FB, with enough game time.

In danger of repeating myself, for someone from Cork to be moaning about injuries, coming up to a game against Waterford with your hurling numbers is frankly unedifying and beneath you and your county!!
    Hurling number ah stop stop the lights
    Yea we have more clubs but cork play soccer rugby rowing athletics gaelic football etc and while Waterford produce the odd Ben cronin represent Ireland international rugby just case you don't know he was a number eight played with garrowen and a fine one at that and john o shea cork loosing players regularly all sports like young tim foley recently to rugby, o connell from rockies to soccer celtic, sweet nahm rugby and meyler to soccer etc and while cork certainly hsve enough population not use it as excuse seen as you want point out cork population keep in mind cork great all sporting contribution in context of waterford who had great sports people also

Like many before you and I'm sure many after you you still fail to see Daniels and Fives as good as are won't strenghten waterford hugely in players there are doing fine and one aera weak ness full back imo their not full backs
    Cork have no one to replace lorcan or Joyce and cahalane struggling injury and colm Spillane was also injured for a while

Waterford be fair never done well against cork as favourites
    Ye bottled it against a poor coached cork side last year at under twenty one in Waterford and queally good coach
    Intermediate team lot of this new emerging talent cork beat handy
    Minor two years ago won all Ireland struggled extra time beat cork team with same coach as last year under twenty one team, last two championship meetings cork won and Waterford who should be winning v cork Sunday as stronger panel knowing waterford as Waterford do likely to make this harder than it should be

De le sale deserve huge huge credit for the win but bar schools and minor haven't done well at under twenty one so this talk waterford talent are real deal is far fetched in they have potential yes absolutely but potentially all Ireland winners and actually all Ireland winners imo is a huge huge difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Fantastic news re Sean Hayes and co. staying on .....

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Fantastic news re Sean Hayes and co. staying on .....

It is but it's only a roller coaster really in minor if it's not solved and senior get new term it means all cork doing is staying good at one level but it absolutely like pissing against the wind in it can't change cork football no matter how successful they are if you management that at senior won't develop the players further

The ccb deserves huge credit for last night fast ratification but the minor should be done fast also
    The minor manager has a legacy cork football that serves as huge respect for success beara and honestly hugely passionate committed gaa man however tactics win games and no one can deny he's last two years showed on records he didn't perform so if he didn't do it in two years he'll hardly do it again

Cork must change here and hope is when jack goes kerry make an appalling appointment but kerry I think learned from past mistakes and I think they will appoint shrewdly after jack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Will they start Harnedy I don't think hes fit enough ...Seamus is just a huge loss one of the few Cork players that we cannot do without...
    Anthony Nash
    Shane O Neill Damien Cahalane Brian Murphy
    Stephen McDonnell Mark Ellis Cormac Murphy
    Aidan Walsh Daniel Kearney
    Conor Lehane Bill Cooper Rob O Shea
    Alan Cadogan Pa Cronin Patrick Horgan......

Hurling number ah stop stop the lights
    Yea we have more clubs but cork play soccer rugby rowing athletics gaelic football etc and while Waterford produce the odd Ben cronin represent Ireland international rugby just case you don't know he was a number eight played with garrowen and a fine one at that and john o shea cork loosing players regularly all sports like young tim foley recently to rugby, o connell from rockies to soccer celtic, sweet nahm rugby and meyler to soccer etc and while cork certainly hsve enough population not use it as excuse seen as you want point out cork population keep in mind cork great all sporting contribution in context of waterford who had great sports people also

Like many before you and I'm sure many after you you still fail to see Daniels and Fives as good as are won't strenghten waterford hugely in players there are doing fine and one aera weak ness full back imo their not full backs
    Cork have no one to replace lorcan or Joyce and cahalane struggling injury and colm Spillane was also injured for a while

Waterford be fair never done well against cork as favourites
    Ye bottled it against a poor coached cork side last year at under twenty one in Waterford and queally good coach
    Intermediate team lot of this new emerging talent cork beat handy
    Minor two years ago won all Ireland struggled extra time beat cork team with same coach as last year under twenty one team, last two championship meetings cork won and Waterford who should be winning v cork Sunday as stronger panel knowing waterford as Waterford do likely to make this harder than it should be

De le sale deserve huge huge credit for the win but bar schools and minor haven't done well at under twenty one so this talk waterford talent are real deal is far fetched in they have potential yes absolutely but potentially all Ireland winners and actually all Ireland winners imo is a huge huge difference

Hey pal, you don't need to try to lecture me about sports people from my own county. I grew up with Ben. FYI, look out for Jack Donoghue, former Ballygunner hurling star and future Munster and Irish rugby star.

I'll give you Meyler and I'll raise you the two Hunt brother's, both former Waterford under age hurlers. We don't moan about Eddie Nolan one of our most talented underage hurlers, Billy's brother, from Roanmore being lost to us to Blackburn in his teens.

For a small county, we punch way above our weight. Not too many double world champion cross country runners and marathons silver medallists and world number one cyclists from other counties of our size. But yet, we embrace these people, not use them as an excuse for our lack or hurlers.

You're being pathetic. You don't hear Tipp moaning about Shane Long!!

Typical of your innate Cork arrogance, with one fell swoop you deem Darragh Fives and Stephen Daniels to be no loss. God help you, you haven't a clue. Ask their respective Cork Fitzgibbon coaches with UCC and CIT how they rate them. McLoughlin and Joyce would not be mentioned in their company.

You so obtuse that you make my argument for me about numbers. Cork should and will nearly always beat Waterford at intermediate and under age by sheer virtue of numbers. The fact that Waterford and every other Munster county have been challenging you and regularly beating you for the last twenty years at senior level is an indictment of Cork and all your resources and numbers. You are now in as big a slump as you were between 54 and 66 and the mushrooms don't seem to be appearing overnight.

btw, you're the only one trying to big us up as the real deal and All Ireland contenders just in case you need a soft landing. Man up, lad. Less of the poor mouth. I haven't spoken to one Waterford person who puts us in that ball park.

We're used to defeat on the hurling field in Waterford, we don't need to make excuses.

Obviously, you still are getting used to it. You're not finding the crumbs at the Kilkenny rich man's table too palatable, I take it.

To finish, please don't talk about Cork producing footballers as an impediment to the hurlers, because that is frankly just embarrassing.

Bottom line is, get off your arse and put in the hard work and less of the excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Now stop!!.

Just to point out BS is a 2 letter Acronym not a 3 letter one

AOK ?