Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

dzer2 wrote:
    I get 32 bales to the roll here and the bales are good

We would get 32 from 16 rounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,962 ✭✭✭Markcheese

How long would they last ? Or would you have to rewrap ?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,962 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Anyone tried using the stretch wrap stuff instead of netting or twine ?any good ? Any advantage to it ?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Markcheese wrote: »
    Anyone tried using the stretch wrap stuff instead of netting or twine ?any good ? Any advantage to it ?

Used it last year at home real handy when feeding out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Anyone getting silage away these days, thinking of doing another bit now if we get going just to be clearing it.ive a feeling it will be well clung to the ground by monday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

keep going wrote: »
    Anyone getting silage away these days, thinking of doing another bit now if we get going just to be clearing it.ive a feeling it will be well clung to the ground by monday

We cut last night to bale in the morning. Showers are isolated, we got sum rain but shag all. Lucky so far because there was allot of rain all around us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

How soon would ya cut a paddock after its last grazing?
    4 weeks,5 weeks?thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

I said wrote: »
    4 weeks,5 weeks?thanks

Depends how much grass is on it often cut paddocks on dairy farm after 18/21 days after they are grazed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭White Clover

4 weeks,5 weeks?thanks

Depends on growth rate. In times of peak growth pre grazing covers could be gone too high in 15/20 days.

Would ya be worried about sh1t contaminating it or is it ok by that stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭White Clover

Would ya be worried about sh1t contaminating it or is it ok by that stage

Not really an issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭case5130

How's the crops so far mine should be ready on two weeks but the growth wasn't in it this year it's patching and light in places got extra manaure and limed last year so I'm blaming it on the weather it's been cold and wet in the west this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

case5130 wrote: »
    How's the crops so far mine should be ready on two weeks but the growth wasn't in it this year it's patching and light in places got extra manaure and limed last year so I'm blaming it on the weather it's been cold and wet in the west this year

Yeah, 2 - 3 weeks behind here on growth as well - NE Galway. Last year had over 300 bales done at this stage. Even the dairy lads around here haven't cut yet. May has been a poor month for growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭case5130

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Yeah, 2 - 3 weeks behind here on growth as well - NE Galway. Last year had over 300 bales done at this stage. Even the dairy lads around here haven't cut yet. May has been a poor month for growth.

Ya dairy men struggling here to and any lad with sheep haven a pick on the trees never mind the field haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭oxjkqg

Struggling big time here in west Clare too. Bad gales today, too cold for any growth of any good. Holding out till Wednesday hoping twill turn around, want to try and stay out of any more silage ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

The leaving cert starts on Wednesday. The sun will shine for 3 weeks from Wednesday :D

Fcuk it will mow Tuesday and bale Wednesday can't wait for the weatherany longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,261 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Going into town and seen a lad mowing and picking up at same time will make a nice pit of crap, was a great chance got here at the start of the week and noting was cut and now panic stations set in and lads go at this craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭stanflt

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Going into town and seen a lad mowing and picking up at same time will make a nice pit of crap, was a great chance got here at the start of the week and noting was cut and now panic stations set in and lads go at this craic

In 2012 I mowed and picked up straight away- 77dmd but on 22% dm cp was 16- fed straw thru it and it was brilliant silage- did second cut before most lads had first cut done- nothing wrong with mowing and picking up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

keep going wrote: »

Well did u cut it? I mowed 16 acres of surplus grass on thursday, got a few showers that night but nothing bad, tedded it around 1230 friday, raked and baked around 630 that evening, 70 more bales in the bank by friday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Well did u cut it? I mowed 16 acres of surplus grass on thursday, got a few showers that night but nothing bad, tedded it around 1230 friday, raked and baked around 630 that evening, 70 more bales in the bank by friday night.

Yeah picked off another 12 finished picking up at 4 on saturday .only mowed it at 5 on friday so it was mad green but grand and dry .have another 30 to do which we will get to end of this week, grazed stuff so not panicking too much as it s still green at base but wouldnt be long going wrong from now on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

stanflt wrote:
    In 2012 I mowed and picked up straight away- 77dmd but on 22% dm cp was 16- fed straw thru it and it was brilliant silage- did second cut before most lads had first cut done- nothing wrong with mowing and picking up

Neighbours of mine had to do similar, they put 6 bales of straw through it. Turned out ok after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

No need for a tedder anymore 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

rushvalley wrote: »

We are out of a job it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭dryan

So, anyone planning to cut in the next few days? Tinkering with the idea of knocking tomorrow and baling Friday. Will tedd twice. Not sure what to make of the forecast. Near athlone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

dryan wrote: »
    So, anyone planning to cut in the next few days? Tinkering with the idea of knocking tomorrow and baling Friday. Will tedd twice. Not sure what to make of the forecast. Near athlone.

The forecast is hard to call. Giving plenty of isolated showers so would ya escape is the question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

dryan wrote: »

Probably go with the rest of the 1st cut and a few paddocks here also this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,809 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Knocking paddocks and second cut Italian later today if weather holds up,great drying now but lot of rain last night and yesterday .bale Thursday afternoon ,ted twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

rushvalley wrote: »

Mrs. Rushvalley...'So what you doing later honey, fancy going to the cinema? '

Rushvalley....'Yahsus Chrriist would ya lave me so woman, l'm staying out drying me silage!! And for the last time l don't know where you're f**kin hairdryer is!!' :D