Diversity officer in UK - "Women of colour can't be racist or sexist"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Only against Nordies and Kerrymen

Everyone hates us Kerrymen! We're the black Muslim,non recycling, feminists of Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

A student union diversity officer in Goldsmiths University.

This will definitely have a profound influence on the rest of the population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭smoking_kills

Good fook! Are you sure? Linky??

Sorry don't mean to annoy you I believe you I am just interested.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3054067/Pictured-Diversity-officer-banned-whites-anti-racism-event-British-university-wiping-away-fake-tear-no-white-men-sign.html

"She is understood to live with her mother Nursen, 55, father Ismail, 57, and sister Ipek, 23, in Enfield in a £450,000 three-bedroom terrace."

Its only a 3 bedroom, the horror!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

Where has she claimed to be working class?

I googled her name to see if I could confirm that she lived in a half a million pound gaff. I found this;
    I am a working class Turkish Cypriot, queer, disabled woman and activist.”.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2015/04/24/anger-over-attempt-to-exclude-whites-and-men-from-racial-diversity-event-at-british-university/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

She's an ignorant cow.

She is opportunistic and apparently has a track record. It's not multiculturalism or feminism. It's simply her own egoism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,693 ✭✭✭✭looksee

anncoates wrote: »
    A student union diversity officer in Goldsmiths University.

This will definitely have a profound influence on the rest of the population.

About as much influence as a thread on Boards.ie, doesn't stop us commenting or having an opinion.

She also explained her coursework.

“I am particularly interested in looking at the gendered body in Japanese pornographic anime and horror through a Foucauldian framework

I seem to be doing that course.

looksee wrote: »
    doesn't stop us commenting or having an opinion.

As I just did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

looksee wrote: »
    Dealing with diversity by a policy of separation seems a bit counter-productive.

It all depends on how you define diversity. I find this one makes a little more sense:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Asmooh

You can be racist no matter what gender or colour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

So 11 people turned up to her meeting? Wow, she isn't very good at her job is she.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

A few things, the value of her house is irrelevant really. It might be worth £450k but lots of normal people bought houses in the outskirts of London years ago for quite cheap and now they're worth a bomb due to the ridiculous property values we have. She's probably from an ordinary Turkish family as opposed to being massively privileged.

Second of all, she's a dope. Yes, I would agree with her that the power structures in our society are white-orientated and people of colour get a bad deal and have done so historically in the UK. However this notion that people of colour are beyond individual prejudice gives me the jip. My girlfriend is black and the amount of people who have given us sh*t is unreal, the vast vast majority of them being African women who are ignorant as f*ck about the history of race in this country it seems. We've had people eye-ball us on the tube and the street, kiss their teeth, tut etc and one woman who even asked her is she too good for black man?

That isn't part of any state power structure but it's wrong and hurtful prejudice and it really gets to my girlfriend at times, a black woman.

She is the Katie Hopkins of the left.

We have our own rent a gob hate figure now! YAY!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

"House worth half a million"

This has absolutely no bearing on your class in London anymore. My dad's house is worth 250k and it would actually shock you with how much of a ****hole it and the surrounding area is.

That's not to say your wan isn't a massive eejits.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Standard operational middle class Millennial© Social Justice Warrior(™) spouts the usual daftness from the bible of that gilded cage section of the Loony Left(™) who can't really push communism any more, not with a straight face, so we get this nonsense. Quickly, someone oppress her, so she can get her special snowflake merit badge. I don't think I've ever met one of these eejits that wasn't supported by mammy and daddy's bank account(or the state).

The problem with these muppets is that their clear and yes privileged daftness detracts from the actual issues out there in the world. They can even make things worse. Your Social Justice Warrior's(™) type of "feminism" holds a view of women that wouldn't be out of place in a victorian men's club, with their "trigger warnings" and "rape culture" and protection from "micro aggression" idiocy they're basically saying that women are too delicate to deal with the realities of a modern, safe, socially secure, liberal western culture and must be protected from it.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

So in summary a Mickey Mouse™ official, in a Mickey Mouse™ students union, in a Mickey Mouse™ red brick says something

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goldsmiths,_University_of_London

Wibbs wrote: »
    Standard operational middle class Millennial© Social Justice Warrior(™) spouts the usual daftness from the bible of that gilded cage section of the Loony Left(™) who can't really push communism any more, not with a straight face, so we get this nonsense. Quickly, someone oppress her, so she can get her special snowflake merit badge. I don't think I've ever met one of these eejits that wasn't supported by mammy and daddy's bank account(or the state).

The problem with these muppets is that their clear and yes privileged daftness detracts from the actual issues out there in the world. They can even make things worse. Your Social Justice Warrior's(™) type of "feminism" holds a view of women that wouldn't be out of place in a victorian men's club, with their "trigger warnings" and "rape culture" and protection from "micro aggression" idiocy they're basically saying that women are too delicate to deal with the realities of a modern, safe, socially secure, liberal western culture and must be protected from it.
    Sorry but this post is nonsense.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

“I am particularly interested in looking at the gendered body in Japanese pornographic anime and horror through a Foucauldian framework"

:pac::pac::pac: Tea all over keyboard. You really couldn't make some of these gobshítes up. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Asmooh wrote: »
    You can be racist no matter what gender or colour!

You can be. I would agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

I bet she was a sexist racist before it was cool

Sorry but this post is nonsense.
    The debate equivalent of "you're smelly. No you are". Maybe try pointing out where it's nonsense. That would be a good start.

“I am particularly interested in looking at the gendered body in Japanese pornographic anime and horror through a Foucauldian framework"

:pac::pac::pac: Tea all over keyboard. You really couldn't make some of these gobshítes up. :D

I am doing that now I want funding yall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Another World War would put an end to this nonsense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

I am doing that now I want funding yall!

I'll forward you 1000 euro your cause seems valuable...:)

...wait a minute, are you cis, white able bodies male? >>>Then you get nothing :(

The debate equivalent of "you're smelly. No you are". Maybe try pointing out where it's nonsense. That would be a good start.

I will decide where I start and where I don't thank you!

Your generalizations are broader than hers for start.

Wibbs you smell lovely!

bjork wrote: »
    I'll forward you 1000 euro your cause seems valuable...:)

...wait a minute, are you cis, white able bodies male? >>>Then you get nothing :(

I am very able bodied. I need to be for my .....research.

I can't say the same for my .....subjects...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

That's not what I claimed it said.
    Racism creates tiers. The upper tier is just as much affected by the racist discrimination only in a positive way. It creates a privileged position.

i understood the question to be "why are only those who are priveledged can be considered racist?"

I have to say though a lot of thesis coming out of social studies degree programs I wouldn't wipe my a*se with. I will be called an intellectual snob for that I know but it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭irishgrover

From a personal anecdotal point of view, this woman is talking out of her arse...
    This is a post from a good while back on a thread entitled "Most racist person you have ever met"
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=89326029&postcount=31

https://janeyenglish.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/student_grant21.jpg