Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diversity officer in UK - "Women of colour can't be racist or sexist"

• 14-05-2015 6:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭

“I, an ethnic minority woman, cannot be racist or sexist towards white men, because racism and sexism describes structures of privilege based on race and gender.

And therefore women of colour and minority genders cannot be racist or sexist because we do not stand to benefit from such a system.”

This is what Bahar Mustafa, a students' union diversity officer in the UK, said this week. She had organised an event on Facebook for black and minority ethnic (BME) students, but posted a comment saying.

“Also, if you've been invited and you're a man and/or white PLEASE DON’T COME just cos I invited a bunch of people and hope you will be responsible enough to respect this is a BME Women and non-binary event only.”

She was accused of being racist and sexist, and responding with the comment at the top of this post.

I have a few questions about this.

(a) Who decided that racism “describes structures of privileges”? And why are they more of an authority on the subject than anyone else?

(b) What's wrong with the traditional understanding of racism, which is treating people in a different (usually negative) way because of their skin-colour or background?

Is Bahar Mustafa right in her description of racism? 304 votes

Yes
    0% 1 vote
    No
    3% 12 votes
    I don't know
    95% 291 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

Who decided that racism “describes structures of privileges”? And why are they more of an authority on the subject than anyone else?

The UN.

'the term "racial discrimination" shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction, or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin that has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life'

(b) What's wrong with the traditional understanding of racism, which is treating people in a different (usually negative) way because of their skin-colour or background?

Treating people in a negative or positive way because of their race does create structures of privilege.

“Also, if you've been invited and you're a man and/or white PLEASE DON’T COME just cos I invited a bunch of people and hope you will be responsible enough to respect this is a BME Women and non-binary event only.”

There are white men there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

Translation.
    I cannot be a prick to people because I have arbitrarily redefined the word to exclude myself. As such, I can act how I please and you're not allowed to be angry at me or disagree with me, because I said so.

Also, she look pretty fecking White to me! I thought this sort of bollocks was confined to North American but it appears to be creeping over to this side of the Atlantic. Not good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭No_Comply

These are the kind of people you get when you make up bullsh1t positions such as 'diversity officer'.

Her comments were branded "laughable" and "patronising" by fellow students.

And Goldsmiths University said it had written to the union to "express concern" at the comments, and added: "We are proud of our diverse community and do not tolerate any form of oppression, including racism, sexism or any other form of bigotry.”

But Ms Mustafa, 27, has hit back in the row, describing the backlash over her Facebook post as "only one in a series of attacks upon minority women on campus.”

It sounds like she was seen as a bit of a kook.

No_Comply wrote: »
    These are the kind of people you get when you make up bullsh1t positions such as 'diversity officer'.

They are actually a good idea. She should be fired or resign though. She is the opposite of what one should be in a diversity officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

So in summary a Mickey Mouse™ official, in a Mickey Mouse™ students union, in a Mickey Mouse™ red brick says something

Translation.

Also, she look pretty fecking White to me! I thought this sort of bollocks was confined to North American but it appears to be creeping over to this side of the Atlantic. Not good.

Her background is Turkish I think but I'm not certain.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The UN.

'the term "racial discrimination" shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction, or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin that has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life'

But that doesnt say anything about it being a reflection solely on those from a priviledged position within society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

So in summary a Mickey Mouse™ official, in a Mickey Mouse™ students union, in a Mickey Mouse™ red brick says something

That's Ms Minnie Mouse to you :rolleyes:

But that doesnt say anything about it being a reflection solely on those from a priviledged position within society.
    That's not what I claimed it said.
    Racism creates tiers. The upper tier is just as much affected by the racist discrimination only in a positive way. It creates a privileged position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

She looks like someone who lives in one of those hippy communes. Despite her long hair she reminds me of the mother from "About a Boy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭smoking_kills

Uriel. wrote: »
    She looks like someone who lives in one of those hippy communes. Despite her long hair she reminds me of the mother from "About a Boy"

She lives in a half million quid house with he folks! The poor oppressed girl :(

She has more or less been ridiculed by her own peers. I do hope she is removed from that post. She is very ill suited towards it and not very pr savy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

She lives in a half million quid house with he folks! The poor oppressed girl :(

Easier to act the hippy so.

Does she? Jesus!

Apparently!

Apparently!

Good fook! Are you sure? Linky??

Sorry don't mean to annoy you I believe you I am just interested.

Hahaha. Yet she claims to be working class. White passing middle class girl pretends to be oppressed working class minority. Would that not be considered 'cultural appropriation'?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

so does that mean i cant be racist because I'm Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

When gender studies goes wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

DeVore wrote: »

Only against Nordies and Kerrymen

Hahaha. Yet she claims to be working class. White passing middle class girl pretends to be oppressed working class minority. Would that not be considered 'cultural appropriation'?
    Where has she claimed to be working class?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Dealing with diversity by a policy of separation seems a bit counter-productive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

That's Ms Minnie Mouse to you :rolleyes:

Ms Minnie Moustafa I think you'll find :P

I read about this woman before, she's an absolutely head case. She's a self professing misandrist.

Someone who hates people based on their gender should not be given even a nominal amount of power as a representative in a university, that's without even bringing the race issue into it.

DeVore wrote: »

It would work in the UK.

Ms Minnie Moustafa I think you'll find :P

I read about this woman before, she's an absolutely head case. She's a self professing misandrist.

Someone who hates people based on their gender should not be given even a nominal amount of power as a representative in a university, that's without even bringing the race issue into it.
    Yeah I got she was off her head. I don't understand why she is a diversity officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

looksee wrote: »
    Dealing with diversity by a policy of separation seems a bit counter-productive.
    It's an industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

She's an ignorant cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Only against Nordies and Kerrymen

Everyone hates us Kerrymen! We're the black Muslim,non recycling, feminists of Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

A student union diversity officer in Goldsmiths University.

This will definitely have a profound influence on the rest of the population.

Good fook! Are you sure? Linky??

Sorry don't mean to annoy you I believe you I am just interested.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3054067/Pictured-Diversity-officer-banned-whites-anti-racism-event-British-university-wiping-away-fake-tear-no-white-men-sign.html

"She is understood to live with her mother Nursen, 55, father Ismail, 57, and sister Ipek, 23, in Enfield in a £450,000 three-bedroom terrace."

Its only a 3 bedroom, the horror!!!!

Where has she claimed to be working class?

I googled her name to see if I could confirm that she lived in a half a million pound gaff. I found this;
    I am a working class Turkish Cypriot, queer, disabled woman and activist.”.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2015/04/24/anger-over-attempt-to-exclude-whites-and-men-from-racial-diversity-event-at-british-university/

She's an ignorant cow.

She is opportunistic and apparently has a track record. It's not multiculturalism or feminism. It's simply her own egoism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

anncoates wrote: »
    A student union diversity officer in Goldsmiths University.

This will definitely have a profound influence on the rest of the population.

About as much influence as a thread on Boards.ie, doesn't stop us commenting or having an opinion.

She also explained her coursework.

“I am particularly interested in looking at the gendered body in Japanese pornographic anime and horror through a Foucauldian framework

I seem to be doing that course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

doesn't stop us commenting or having an opinion.

As I just did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

It all depends on how you define diversity. I find this one makes a little more sense:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Asmooh

You can be racist no matter what gender or colour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

So 11 people turned up to her meeting? Wow, she isn't very good at her job is she.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

A few things, the value of her house is irrelevant really. It might be worth £450k but lots of normal people bought houses in the outskirts of London years ago for quite cheap and now they're worth a bomb due to the ridiculous property values we have. She's probably from an ordinary Turkish family as opposed to being massively privileged.

Second of all, she's a dope. Yes, I would agree with her that the power structures in our society are white-orientated and people of colour get a bad deal and have done so historically in the UK. However this notion that people of colour are beyond individual prejudice gives me the jip. My girlfriend is black and the amount of people who have given us sh*t is unreal, the vast vast majority of them being African women who are ignorant as f*ck about the history of race in this country it seems. We've had people eye-ball us on the tube and the street, kiss their teeth, tut etc and one woman who even asked her is she too good for black man?

That isn't part of any state power structure but it's wrong and hurtful prejudice and it really gets to my girlfriend at times, a black woman.

She is the Katie Hopkins of the left.

We have our own rent a gob hate figure now! YAY!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

"House worth half a million"

This has absolutely no bearing on your class in London anymore. My dad's house is worth 250k and it would actually shock you with how much of a ****hole it and the surrounding area is.

That's not to say your wan isn't a massive eejits.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Standard operational middle class Millennial© Social Justice Warrior(™) spouts the usual daftness from the bible of that gilded cage section of the Loony Left(™) who can't really push communism any more, not with a straight face, so we get this nonsense. Quickly, someone oppress her, so she can get her special snowflake merit badge. I don't think I've ever met one of these eejits that wasn't supported by mammy and daddy's bank account(or the state).

The problem with these muppets is that their clear and yes privileged daftness detracts from the actual issues out there in the world. They can even make things worse. Your Social Justice Warrior's(™) type of "feminism" holds a view of women that wouldn't be out of place in a victorian men's club, with their "trigger warnings" and "rape culture" and protection from "micro aggression" idiocy they're basically saying that women are too delicate to deal with the realities of a modern, safe, socially secure, liberal western culture and must be protected from it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goldsmiths,_University_of_London

Wibbs wrote: »
    Standard operational middle class Millennial© Social Justice Warrior(™) spouts the usual daftness from the bible of that gilded cage section of the Loony Left(™) who can't really push communism any more, not with a straight face, so we get this nonsense. Quickly, someone oppress her, so she can get her special snowflake merit badge. I don't think I've ever met one of these eejits that wasn't supported by mammy and daddy's bank account(or the state).

The problem with these muppets is that their clear and yes privileged daftness detracts from the actual issues out there in the world. They can even make things worse. Your Social Justice Warrior's(™) type of "feminism" holds a view of women that wouldn't be out of place in a victorian men's club, with their "trigger warnings" and "rape culture" and protection from "micro aggression" idiocy they're basically saying that women are too delicate to deal with the realities of a modern, safe, socially secure, liberal western culture and must be protected from it.
    Sorry but this post is nonsense.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

“I am particularly interested in looking at the gendered body in Japanese pornographic anime and horror through a Foucauldian framework"

:pac::pac::pac: Tea all over keyboard. You really couldn't make some of these gobshítes up. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Asmooh wrote: »
    You can be racist no matter what gender or colour!

You can be. I would agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

I bet she was a sexist racist before it was cool