If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Anyone any idea why the army were on the M9 this evening? I now want a tank :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Autosport wrote: »
    Anyone any idea why the army were on the M9 this evening? I now want a tank :D

Driving back to the curragh after offsite exercises?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Stheno wrote: »
    Driving back to the curragh after offsite exercises?

Didn't think of that, waterford had a treat so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

The perils of MR2 ownership :o...about as predictable as a woman's mood! :P...yet I keep coming back for more :cool: over-corrected snap oversteer off the Kirwan roundabout Galway

Sorry to burst your bubble, but that was entirely the road surface - nothing to do with your MR2 :p That's one of a few lethal places around Galway city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Sorry to burst your bubble, but that was entirely the road surface - nothing to do with your MR2 :p That's one of a few lethal places around Galway city

:cool: Yeah someone mentioned that on the MR2 boards

not the first place I lost it in Galway

3 years ago I lost it here on the docks although I just got the thing and there was shite tyres on it :o:

WARNING : SHITE video quality

:cool: Yeah someone mentioned that on the MR2 boards

not the first place I lost it in Galway

3 years ago I lost it here on the docks although I just got the thing and there was shite tyres on it :o:

WARNING : SHITE video quality

I remember you posting that at the time too... I've had the arse loose in both places, both with Goodyear F1's on, and various premium tyres since then. It's entirely road surface in those areas (although an MR2 with crap tyres wouldn't have helped any :D)

The surface at the Kirwan roundabout is seriously abysmal though. I've had wheelspin through 3rd trying to move off from a standstill in the wet (with good tyres and 7+mm thread)

I remember you posting that at the time too... I've had the arse loose in both places, both with Goodyear F1's on, and various premium tyres since then. It's entirely road surface in those areas (although an MR2 with crap tyres wouldn't have helped any :D)

The surface at the Kirwan roundabout is seriously abysmal though. I've had wheelspin through 3rd trying to move off from a standstill in the wet (with good tyres and 7+mm thread)

Agreed! Anywhere else in Gallimh i need to be weary off? Don't want to strike it down to third time lucky (or unlucky as the case may be)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

I wonder do they put slippy surfaces on the roundabouts to slow the yung fellas down.

*Shakes walking stick :pac:

There's a few around here on the M3 flyovers that are lethal especially if you change from a car with good tyres to one with ditch finders on it.

Interslice wrote: »
    I wonder do they put slippy surfaces on the roundabouts to slow the yung fellas down.

*Shakes walking stick :pac:

There's a few around here on the M3 flyovers that are lethal especially if you change from a car with good tyres to one with ditch finders on it.

I'd say if anyone saw me they'd of said "look at your man acting the bollocks"

Agreed! Anywhere else in Gallimh i need to be weary off? Don't want to strike it down to third time lucky (or unlucky as the case may be)

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.274554,-9.06314,3a,75y,259.38h,61.96t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1s_ucC0hdt-NICZrHAIFRG_A!2e0?hl=en

Surface there is quite bad too. If you carry any bit of speed through that turn in the wet you can wave bye bye to your tail end :D It's also very bad coming towards newcastle road in the same place (opposite direction) - Have had ABS kick in due to the severe choppyness of the road, and if it's icy at all it's lethal.

Can't think of anywhere else that's caught me out tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

I'd say if anyone saw me they'd of said "look at your man acting the bollocks"

Ha ye I know what you mean. Lost the back of the alfa the day after I got it on a roundabout right in front of an aul one in a nissan note. Took 3 goes af opposite lock and planting the foot to straghten it. Feckin winter tyres on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Basically when I first got this loaner Megane it had been sitting up for a few months and was owned by an old lad. So was sluggish enough just from never been driven on and was running slightly rough when idleing.

800km with me I took it for a spirited drive there and it really is like a different car pulls good and strong in all gears like a diesel should and is idleing perfect now. Also I got wheel spin in first and second but Id imagine that's not down to the power output :pac: still considering it's the old engine with just 82bhp it feels quick for that but the newer engine is quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What bhp is the one you're getting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Bpmull wrote: »
    Basically when I first got this loaner Megane it had been sitting up for a few months and was owned by an old lad. So was sluggish enough just from never been driven on and was running slightly rough when idleing.

800km with me I took it for a spirited drive there and it really is like a different car pulls good and strong in all gears like a diesel should and is idleing perfect now. Also I got wheel spin in first and second but Id imagine that's not down to the power output :pac: still considering it's the old engine with just 82bhp it feels quick for that but the newer engine is quicker.

82bhp? A modern diesel turbo and it makes 82bhp?
    Ah for jesus sake.

I honestly thought you had it wrong bp so done my own googling.

Nope 82bhp, 8 valves.

You must have been pushing the throttle fairly far down tonight to get wheelspin bp!

YbFocus wrote: »
    82bhp? A modern diesel turbo and it makes 82bhp?
    Ah for jesus sake.

Ah well the one im getting is the newer engine so 89bhp and it does actually feel noticeably quicker. Infairness it was never going to be a race car but it is quite revy for a diesel which helps wouldn't really feel that much slower than my golf. 90% of the time I kind of just too along anyway I'm just not naturally one of these people that has to get to the speed limit as quickly as possible although I'm not a slow driver either. Anyway like every car people choose to buy the lower output new and therefore that's what's there on the secondhand market.

Also on the speed limiter I tested it again and if you push the accelerator past the point where it clicks and the limiter instantly over rides so not too bad.

Playing project cars on the rig tonight and trying on of these screen capture yolks....

Excuse my disgraceful line after the Karussell!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Ah well the one im getting is the newer engine so 89bhp and it does actually feel noticeably quicker. .

89 bhp!
    Is it just me or is that really low?

89 bhp!

Well 89bhp in a diesel and 89bhp in a petrol are too different things I drove a 1.4 petrol astra with that bhp and it was as dead as a door nail compared to the diesel megane. My focus was 90 astra was 90 1.4d4d Corolla older megane we had was 90bhp. Dads golf is 90bhp you'd be suprised how many diesel are around that bhp wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

89 bhp!

Its around what all the average Golfs, Civics and Corollas of the mid nineties were making.

Well 89bhp in a diesel and 89bhp in a petrol are too different things I drove a 1.4 petrol astra with that bhp and it was as dead as a door nail compared to the diesel megane. My focus was 90 astra was 90 1.4d4d Corolla older megane we had was 90bhp. Dads golf is 90bhp you'd be suprised how many diesel are around that bhp wise.

I remember test driving a Renault megane petrol with that a few years ago it was like dying a slow death

I personally think you'd want about 120bhp in most petrols for them to feel anyway quick we had a 145bhp mgf which weighted fcuk all and it still wasn't that terribly quick the megane certainly wouldn't be a major amount slower than it. You kind of have to drive a few of the 90nhp diesels they aren't as bad as bad as you'd think they would be.

ah I had a diesel bora in 2000 twas fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Just sold my green 9-5 for parts

That's the old diesel lie bp. The torque band hits and it feels quick.
    A 90bhp diesel megane would be miles off a 140bhp mgf. Miles.

I used to think the 530d was monsterously powerful with its 500Nm of torque, it gave a mental kick on full throttle but in reality wasn't that quick.
    The 323i would be right there with it and top end it would leave it.

YbFocus wrote: »
    That's the old diesel lie bp. The torque band hits and it feels quick.
    A 90bhp diesel megane would be miles off a 140bhp mgf. Miles.

I used to think the 530d was monsterously powerful with its 500Nm of torque, it gave a mental kick on full throttle but in reality wasn't that quick.
    The 323i would be right there with it and top end it would leave it.

Power isn't always that good to you at 5000 revs though. I'm not trying argue that a megane 90bhp is quick as they are not put the fact that they pull from low rpm does make them feel quick like with all diesel I get that whereas with the petrols they can be dead enough at 2k revs and would only start to liven up after 3k revs. I suppose with a petrol your getting the power from the engine where as with the diesels everything revolves around the turbo and that what gives them any kind of performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

You've clearly never driven a standard 406 d-turbo. 90 or 92bhp depending on year

You look me in the eye and tell me it's not too bad, you won't be able to.

I have my blue one turned up a good bit with some pump internal trickery and it's still desperate slow. It can't hold a candle to the red one, which was wicked fast.

Just sold my green 9-5 for parts

Did you have it up long I didn't even realise you were selling it you put some amount of work and timd into that car although learned a lot from it too Id imagine. Did you strip much of it for yourself parts wise ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Did you have it up long I didn't even realise you were selling it you put some amount of work and timd into that car although learned a lot from it too Id imagine. Did you strip much of it for yourself parts wise ?

Threw it up last night, took nothing from it, got 300 for it so its not too bad, it'l go towards the other one getting fixed and back running

dgt wrote: »
    You've clearly never driven a standard 406 d-turbo. 90 or 92bhp depending on year

You look me in the eye and tell me it's not too bad, you won't be able to.

I have my blue one turned up a good bit with some pump internal trickery and it's still desperate slow. It can't hold a candle to the red one, which was wicked fast.

I can testify to that :D