If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,775 ✭✭✭JohnK

In a similar vein I've heard some good things about The Workshop Tea Room up by the Airport - my sister was in there recently and thought it was quite nice. More cafe than restaurant though.

http://theworkshopcork.com/
    https://www.facebook.com/theworkshopcork
    https://twitter.com/theworkshopcork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,176 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Tried Chilli Padi last night on the recommendations here. Streets ahead of Ramen, if there free ice cream was nice, Ramen's is disgusting.

Had the Beef Rendang, lovely tender massive chunks of beef and there was serious heat in the dish unlike Ramen.

Very pleased up there with Aroi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,034 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Chilli Padi's Rendang is seriously good, alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭snoopy12

leahyl wrote: »
    Their facebook page has some seriously amazing photos of cakes :eek: Can't wait to try there some time soon!

Their fudge is amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

The Chilli Padi Rendang has decent beef chunks, but I found it very dry.

Rendang is a dry curry. That's how it's supposed to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭.red.

I got take away rendang in ramen once and it was savage. The lads in work had a taste and everyone liked it. No heat tho and it was very watery......lol

.red. wrote: »
    I got take away rendang in ramen once and it was savage. The lads in work had a taste and everyone liked it. No heat tho and it was very watery......lol

Ya entirely different dish in ramen. Ramen one was nice too but just very mild and as usual feck all meat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,248 ✭✭✭sporina

Chilli Padi's Rendang is seriously good, alright!

is there seating in the city centre branch?

sporina wrote: »
    is there seating in the city centre branch?

Plenty

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Bit of a specific query here. Looking for a place for a large group - 20-ish people - to gather informally on a Friday evening and have some reasonably priced food and a couple of drinks, but not an all-night affair. We'd love tapas, or we'd go for something like a pig on a spit if we could find somewhere to host it. Failing the above, somewhere that would seat a group that big but doesn't cost that much per person. Any ideas?

Electric would have been perfect, but they seem to have changed their bar menu since last summer and don't have the tapas-style dishes they used to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

La Dolce Vita has a private function room upstairs with a full bar. It has changed hands several times and I haven't eaten there in ages but it is geared towards parties and large groups. It used to be Proby's before. It's an Italian/Pizza place now but upper class style of this. ladolcevitacork.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Not this dry.

Dried rendangEdit

According to Minangkabau tradition, their true rendang is the dry one. Rendang is diligently stirred, attended and cooked for hours until the coconut milk evaporated and the meat absorbed the spices. It is still served for special ceremonial occasions or to honour guests. If cooked properly, dried rendang can last for three to four weeks stored in room temperature and still good to consume.[4] It can even last months stored in a refrigerator, and up to six months if frozen.[17]

quote="Nonoperational;95442255"]Not this dry.[/quote]

Rendang can be served with different degrees of wetness. People in this part of the world tend to like it wetter rather than drier but the traditional Beef Rendang is a dry curry - very dry. I've had beef rendang in Indonesia and I've had it in Chilli Padi. They serve an authentic, traditional Rendang. It might not be to your taste but it is the real deal.
    Maybe they should offer a wetter version to cater for different tastes.
    Personally, I love the dry one but it wouldn't be a big deal to do a wetter version (as long as I can still have my dry one!)

Hungry now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,663 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

rob316 wrote: »
    Tried Chilli Padi last night on the recommendations here. Streets ahead of Ramen, if there free ice cream was nice, Ramen's is disgusting.

Had the Beef Rendang, lovely tender massive chunks of beef and there was serious heat in the dish unlike Ramen.

Very pleased up there with Aroi.

Agree on the Rendang - its the best i've had.
    Their Korean chicken wings are good too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

rob316 wrote: »

Very pleased up there with Aroi

Must avoid so :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭limnam

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Agree on the Rendang - its the best i've had.
    Their Korean chicken wings are good too!

Agreed the Rendang is also the best I've ever had.
    I don't often say to die for but when I do, it's about chili pad's duck rolls! nyam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

Was in the Workshop tea room by the Airport yesterday, limited enough menu just sandwich's and a "tapas" plate which consisted of a teaspoon of each, goats cheese, onion relish, sundried tomato's with a choice of meats, ham chicken or spiced beef. Some salad leaves an a couple of slice's of bread rounded it off, €8, not bad but not filling if you were hungry. There was a selection of cakes there as well but I did not try them. Nice atmosphere, being served with china ware was nice, but in this day and age I think I'm gone past little things like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭snoopy12

For something tasty near the airport dwyers garden cafe in dwyers electrical is super. Fab decor and food (sandwiches, soup, cakes,hot lunch specials). I think it's one of the more decent places for lunch on the south side with parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

Jam down by Hanleys garden centre at the Kinsale Rd roundabout, or the Pavillion garden centre up by the back of Ballygarvan, all excellent places to try.

roundymac wrote: »
    Jam down by Hanleys garden centre at the Kinsale Rd roundabout, or the Pavillion garden centre up by the back of Ballygarvan, all excellent places to try.

wow is that the same jam as in kenmare? if so, i never knew it was there

sporina wrote: »
    wow is that the same jam as in kenmare? if so, i never knew it was there

It's a chain. There was very short lived one Cork too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Faith wrote: »
    Bit of a specific query here. Looking for a place for a large group - 20-ish people - to gather informally on a Friday evening and have some reasonably priced food and a couple of drinks, but not an all-night affair. We'd love tapas, or we'd go for something like a pig on a spit if we could find somewhere to host it. Failing the above, somewhere that would seat a group that big but doesn't cost that much per person. Any ideas?

Electric would have been perfect, but they seem to have changed their bar menu since last summer and don't have the tapas-style dishes they used to.

Bar that does food so?

Tom Barry's. Sextant. Sober lane. What's that one on grand parade next to the library... Used to be goat broke loose? They have a very large booth you can book. Rising son is a place I've heard booked at work a few times but never tried the food there myself.

Faith wrote: »

maybe you should consider a BBQ type of affair.. there are lots of options around town = Bodega, The Clarion, Soho, etc

We went for dinner last year and popped into the sextant for a pint afterwards. They were doing a pig on a spit out the back and it looked and smelled savage. When they finished up the beer garden started to clear and we got seats under a heater. Next thing i knew my sis in law left out a scream. There was 6/7 a few rats a few feet away from us running round eating the scraps on the floor. In their defence its next to a river and theres probably not enough poison in all of cork to stop them but i still wouldnt eat in there after seeing it.

Oh sweet jesus. That's put me off alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Went to Greenes for dinner last night and it was delicious as usual. I'm a bit obsessed with their pork belly and black pudding starter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

I completely understand where your sis in law is coming from-I actually would be unable to stay for a drink! That is disgusting- maybe the owners aren't aware? I really hope they can sort this out - employ a few cats?

Most cats won't go near a rat. They need to clean up scraps faster so there is no attraction.

The rats didnt appear till they stopped serving the food and the beer garden started to clear. No sign of them when the lads were cooking and the beer garden was full. Where the pub is located makes it difficult to keep them out. My concern would he them climbing up on the seats and tables and pi$$ing on them where it will come in contact with hands.
    Its a lovely pub tho, one of the best in town. I just dont go out to the beer garden any more!