Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Ososlo wrote: »
    Pray tell? We won't tell anyone and it might make you feel better to share:)

When's the first 5k? You doing DCM this year?

First 5k is tueaday or Wednesday week..
    Probably will do dublin, any excuse for a trip up there :-D

You bought speedos didn't you... :D

Oi cheeky :-D
    Anyways, I have a good collection of speedos that I haven't wore in a while... I'm sure I can still squeeze into them :-D :-D

Jasus, I feel sick after typing that :-D

This log will be getting some pics soon.... Not of speedos though :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

martyboy48 wrote: »
    First 5k is tueaday or Wednesday week..
    Probably will do dublin, any excuse for a trip up there :-D

Ok I'll bite - what do you need to confess???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Ok I'll bite - what do you need to confess???

My guess is Marty's bought himself a mountain bike :D

16594223954_a07163bca8_z.jpg

I actually looked out my window after reading that C_M :eek::eek:

Well, not bought, took it back out of retirement :)

I noticed that I've been taking the mick out of people about pedal power. Just to let ye know I like 2 wheels too :D:D

Monday 20/04/2015 10 miles @ 7:49

Felt good today, probably because of the glorious sunshine. Ran out salthill along the prom and back.
    Decided to throw on the HRM today for a little look at how it was. In about 150BPM for the 7:50 pace today. I may look at taking it out on a more regular basis if I decide on a way of tracking and comparing runs with it.

Tuesday 21/04/2015 5 miles @ 8:10

Couple of loops around the neighbourhood today. Kept the pace easyish and just trotted around. It was over before I knew it, and the legs felt good after it... Happy days :)

Wednesday 22/04/2015 7 miles @ 8:10

Nice little run this evening. Felt good throughout.
    5k series kicks off next Tuesday. Bit apprehensive about it and the pace required :D:D
    Might just feel my way around the first race and play it by ear.

Rest day tomorrow :)

Thursday 23/04/2015 Rest

Friday 24/04/2015 7 miles @ 7:36

Bit of an increase in pace today and I felt it... Noticeable harder effort as expected but sure no surprises there :pac:

strava

Will have to try some shorter faster stuff over the next couple of days to get a feel for 5k pace :eek::eek:

Saturday 25/04/2015 10 miles @ 7:48 (fartlek)

I suppose you could call it a fartlek run.. Aim was just to get the legs up to a faster pace than usual. No specific pace or duration(although the 5 bursts turned out to be 0.3 of a mile).

I think this was good as there was no pressure with numbers, distance or speed wise. It was all about what I felt like doing. Was pushing fairly hard when I upped the pace and getting out of my comfort zone before slowing back down again.

Still nervous about racing a 5k though, starting to remember the pain and suffering of last years 5k series, and truth be told, looking back I probably wasn't suffering enough :eek::eek::pac:

Strava

Sunday 26/04/2015 7 miles @ 8:07

Bit short on time this evening (spent far to long this afternoon with London marathon tracking :) ), so just got out for an hour this evening. Casual run in and around the town.
    Enjoyable run, but a tad annoyed I left it so late.. Oh well......

On the London marathon, watching it today really got me all excited (careful now) about the possibility of doing it. Looks amazing....

Monday 27/04/2015 5 miles @ 8:15

Easy 5 this evening, wasn't feeling the best. Not sick, just a little weak/light headed. Should be grand for tomorrows 5k. In around the 20 and I'll be happy enough :)

Tuesday 28/04/2015 3 miles @ 6:23 :P

OK well 5km then :)

Cold, wet and miserable conditions and I wasn't feeling the love driving out to it. Had considered skipping it but talked myself round in the end.

A big turn out which surprised me, and a few familiar faces to have a quick chat with. Did a bit of a warm up but it wasn't doing much for my cold/numb fingers :(

Got fairly held up at the start and a bit of dodging/weaving to be done. Pace was slow initially and was a while before I got going. Mile 1 6:41

Second mile I had a bit of room, but there didn't seem to be any hunger in me. I eeked the pace up a tad as I passed the odd person around me but in the back of my mind I was telling myself not to push to hard or I'll die before the end(to soft with myself really). Breathing a bit heavier but nothing to worry about. Mile 2 6:19

Third mile was just like the second, trying to pass whoever was in front of me and still wary of going all out even here. Gave the odd burst to up the pace to pass people but settled in again. Mile 3 6:13
    Coming up to the line and moving well but not in the state I should be in at the end of a 5k "race".. Crossed the line with the pace increased but still wasn't even a sprint to the line...
    Couple of deep breaths and a sip of water and it was like nothing happened, just chatted casually as if it didn't matter, but on reflection it did.

Thoughts on the performance is that it wasn't a performance really. Although I can take a bit of comfort in telling myself I was just outside the 20 mins without being in an all out race, I'm disappointed there was no fight or hunger in me today, I rolled over really...

Still though, I'll move on. Hopefully there'll be more fire in the belly next Tuesday in Loughrea :)

6:41, 6:19, 6:13 (5:56) Official chip 20:06

Wednesday 29/04/2015 10 miles @ 8:04

Getting back to it :) Anothday bad evening as I left the house. Cold, wind and rain. At least this time I was well dressed for it with jacket, hat and gloves :D:D All toasty and warm heading down the road with a smug smile on my face.....
    1 mile in, and the sun came out. It got warm, and warmer, and warmer still :D By around the 5 mile mark I was baked :D Was getting some looks running around in all the gear and some peeps in T's :D

Probably no harm anyway, have a bit of a sniffley nose on me today :)

Thursday 30/04/2015 7 miles @ 8:38

Friday 01/05/2015 Rest

Saturday 02/05/2015 7 miles @ 8:14

Not feeling 100% the last few day, bit fatigued and some tightness/niggly feeling in the adductor brevis area(yes, I had to google what that area is called :D ).

All this lead to me to take it relatively easy the last few days, even took friday off as a rest day.

Hopefully it will ease off over the next couple of days and I can get back to it properly.

Sunday 03/05/2015 13 miles @ 8:09

Went out for 10 miles but felt reasonable grand so pushed it out to 13 to get some long runs going again. Ran out by westside and was delighted to see the running track open at last. Shot over and did 3-4 laps to lay my mark on it :D I'm not really accustomed to running on track so I was like a little kid bouncing along on this new surface :D Not sure if its the full 400, I'll leave that to the more knowledgeable folk, but it will be handy for some sessions I think. May be a tad exposed to the elements though, I hadn't noticed the wind this evening until I got on the track.

Not to get some running tracks on the eastside of the city/county :)

Monday 04/05/2015 7 miles @ 8:08

Another balls up of a run. Intended this to be on the easy/recovery side but pace a bit to high for that. Still some tightness in adductor area, albeit not 100% of the time. Seems to be easing though :)

5k tomorrow. I'll see how I feel during warm up as to my plan of action. Either be full on hard race, go around around 20:00-20:30, or trot around easy with few miles before and after... I'll see how it goes....

Tuesday 05/05/2015 3 miles @ 6:22

OK, well 5km then :)

Well moving on from last week meh race, the aim of this one was to put a bit more fight into my race. Was kinda looking forward to this one during the week but as it neared I was finding myself dismissing it, as if I wasn't to bothered about doing it. Probably a bit for fear settling in. Even earlier today the though of ticking along in 22-23 mins because my *niggle* crossed my mind.
    Even as late as 4pm I had a brief thought of not doing it at all as it was fairly gusty out...
    Common sense prevailed as the thoughts of the new fast course was just to tempting..

The race
    The race layout was a small loop around the town, then a larger loop which was an extention of the smaller loop.... Get me?? Good :)
    I was told that it was relatively flat and the only thing going against us was a stiff breeze against us between mile 1.3 and 2.3 , but we may have a tailwind on the home stretch.

Off we went and I was eager to hit the ground running and so I did. I was a few rows back but wasn't held up at all and got going at a good pace. The first mile was the small loop of the town and back to start area. Even during this small loop, I could tell the breeze would be a battle for the mid section.
    Feeling good though and moving well. Mile 1 6:16

Second mile was a run down to the corner of the town and a turn out the back-straight for the exposed section. When I hit this section I was still moving well, all very controlled even though I was putting some effort in.
    Gradually though the workrate was increasing while trying to maintain pace. Over the course of that mile I was working harder and harder, battling away as my breathing got more and more laboured. Even letting out the odd groan of discomfort trying desperately to keep the pace up as I knew If it dropped to much at that stage I'd probably throw the towel in if I had nothing to race for. I was fairly well spent by the end of the straight but once we turned back for home I had a chance to catch my breath momentarily as I was now aided by the wind somewhat. A brief respite... Mile 2 6:30

Continuing on the run for home I knew I had seen the last of the headwind, so it was just a battle to keep the legs going and trying to keep some kind of pace. Picked 4-5 people off on the run in, all the while I was panting and heaving like God knows what :eek: Must have scared a few of them out of the way :D Trying to catch an Athenry lady on the way in but no luck. Only about 5-7 meters between us for about the last 150 meters but just couldnt close the gap, I was spent as I crossed the line... Mile 3 6:21

Splits 6:16, 6:30, 6:21 (6:04) Official Chip 19:44 (2sec PB :o )

Thoughts on it are fairly positive. I believe there's more in me but happy with the effort I put in. Still have to get accustomed to the hurt and efforts required, but this will come with more races. Don't think the next 3 races are PB courses but will use them to push on and dig deep anyways. A lot of my eggs are going into the last race in Tuam.

Wednesday 06/05/2015 10 miles @ 7:30

Legs felt good today, that little niggle seems to have disappeared(touch wood), so I went for a run out to salthill. Enjoyed it and brought pace down below my usual 8+ min/mile pace :rolleyes:

Trip to AKW due this weekend....

Thursday 07/05/2015 7 miles @ 8:27

Easyish run today to stretch the auld legs. Felt good during and after this run.
    Nothing else of note to report today :)

Friday 08/05/2015 7 miles @ 7:56

Saturday 09/05/2015 7 miles @ 7:40

So, a couple of days running to tick over before long run tomorrow. Enjoyed both and no issues to report.

As indicated above, I was due a trip to AKW and had a window of opportunity today. First on the list was the tried and trusted Brooks Adrenalines... A banker for me, my go to shoe :D

17465447792_b5bc2837ca_z.jpg

Grand, then I threw a bombshell... I'm looking for a racing type shoe as well :D:D

In my head I felt like a vegetarian asking for a quarter pounder and cheese, but luckily enough, you're not judged in Amphibian king, just given good advice. Tried on a few but settled on brooks racer ST 5..

17279870370_b99f9719c5_z.jpg

I'll try them out for the odd little jaunt before banking on them in a race :)
    The Saucony Fastwitch ,is it fast-twitch or fastwitch, or fastwhich, were next on the list :D:D
    Felt a bit bad calling in there late on a Saturday evening when there was a few in the shop already, but the master himself orchestrated everything like a pro and everyone was dealt with efficiently and nobody was rushed out the door with something just for the sake of a sale.

I'm not one usually for pimping a business but I have to say I was impressed with the sales and customer relations of AKW yet again...

Sunday 10/05/2015 20 miles @ 8:18

Long run out to Furbo and back. A route which was miserable at times due to the flooding on the roads and paths in places. Hadn't ran out this way in a while and did it to avoid the floods on the N17 :(
    Not to worry, just had to suck it up and get on with it. Found it tough going though in spells before I took some positives from it and got on with it.

Easy run tomorrow... Nice one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Sunday 10/05/2015 20 miles @ 8:18

The full in Portumna it is so ;)

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    The full in Portumna it is so ;)

Still not sure tbh. Will do a few miles around MP over the next couple of weeks with a few 20 mile long runs and will see how I feel. I don't feel excited about the prospect, or feel ready for it for that matter, but knowing my impulsiveness I could enter it at the last minute :)

I should really have some kind of 4-6 month plan with races and training planned out in advance besides my makey-uppy training :o:)

Monday 11/05/2015 5 miles @ 9:03

Nothing much, bit of a recovery in anticipation of 5k tomorrow :)

Tuesday 12/05/2015 3 miles @ 6:16

OK, well 5km then :)

Threw on the new footwear and headed out to Craughwell, arrived there around 7:30. Did a light warm up and a few strides to loosen up a bit. Got a sharp pain in my ankle at one point and thought I wouldn't make the startline :eek: Thankfully this passed and I continued with a light jog. Happy to report I had no issue with the ankle in the race :)

Race layout was one loop, weather conditions quiet good, nice surprise that :)

Lined up and seemed to be pushed back a bit to far for my liking but was nothing I could do at that stage. I'll have to make more of an effort to hold my ground in future and start where I want to start.
    And we're off...
    Despite my position, most of the people got away well, with just a few music lovers to dodge, happy enough with the start.
    Quickly settled into a decent pace and tried to stay out of trouble. first mile was more or less a straight run down into the town before the
    left turn. Mile 1 6:07

Second mile continued on for a bit before another left turn to take us up to the final straight. Second mile got a bit tougher, occasionally pace waining a touch before I got back in control. No dramatic movements in the runners around me, any movement seemed to be cancelled out within 100 meters, everybody seemed to be holding their place and waiting for the final push. By the end of the second mile I was working hard but still wouldn't say I was in trouble. Mile 2 6:23

Third mile was a straight road with a left turn at the end to do the 0.1 of a mile finish. Into the third mile and I'm keeping an eye on my position and try to at least hold position if I can't manage to push on. Breathing fairly heavy but not out of control. Couple of lads I know are a bit ahead of me, I don't think I can catch them but try to reel them in a bit. Even if thats just to give me something to focus on it fits my needs. Manage to catch up with one of the lads and run alongside him for a bit. I'm fairly gone at this stage but still tipping along and don't seem to be fading to any serious degree. My friend pushes on and I try to match him but a can't quite match his pace. Still trying to push on to the end but not much left and passed by another guy about 100 meters from home. I keep going and push over the line happy with my efforts for the day. Mile 3 6:18

Splits : 6:07, 6:23, 6:18 (6:23) Official chip 19:29 (15 sec PB :) )
    Thoughts are positive. New runners felt great, even being able to say to myself I have a "racing" shoe for races might give me a bit of a psychological boost at the very least. Still hope to squeeze a bit more out of this series, will probably come down to the last one as the next 2 aren't regarded as fast courses.

I'm also wondering what it would be like to be the "fox" in a race. Where I start ahead of my arch nemesis and run like fook to try to stay ahead of them. I always seem to be playing catch up in races so I might try this soon enough to see how it goes :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

Well done Marty! That's a crackling result.

Cheers NE, happy enough with that one. Still aiming to knock a bit more off that in the final 3 races though :) We'll see how that plays out :D

Wednesday 13/05/2015 12 miles @ 7:55

Out and back via salthill. A bit of a headwind to deal with on the way home but not to severe. Happy with the run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Nice PB, well done. Did you feel the 12 miler the next day?