********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

.....but if oil and water are mixing somewhere, it would hardly come back into the coolant bottle?

Of course it would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Car is after spinning around 4-5 times on front of us just before new flyover dublin. No one hurt girl having pure panic attack. She was so lucky though. Was watching cars Merge car spun 4 times junction before Tallaght junction at charles hurst I don't know the road. She spun around in two of the lanes. It was so frightening seeing it happen though two cars on front of us could of been a pile up so easy she had absolutely no control over the car young child in the back too. Thank God everyone was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

I genuinely wonder how some drivers are aloud to drive on the road. Possibly the busiest day in Thurles today between matches on in Semple Stadium and a Tractor Challenge on in Twomileborris. I was driving on the Twomileborris to Thurles road, so very heavy traffic at both sides. I was stuck behind 6 tractors and a truck who were on the way to the Tractor Challenge and a genius behind me decided to overtake myself and the tractors on a straight white line which has a hidden dip. Just as a car appeared from the hidden dip, this car swerved in and nearly hit one of the tractors (if it didnt go up on to someone's front lawn). I wouldve thought no one else would of done something as stupid but nope, another straight white line coming up to a hill (couldnt see whats coming at the other side) and another genius decided to overtake everyone. Done the same job as the last lad, nearly hit the tractor if they didnt go up on someone's front lawn.

Yes I know, tractors arent too fast, but with the amount of traffic and how dangerous some parts of that road are, was it really worth it?

If anyone knows anyone in Thurles today who were going towards the M8 motorway towards Dublin driving a 01 Audi A4 or a 10 Volvo V60 estate then please hit them for me.

(If you cant tell, I really hate stupid drivers like this :p)

Bpmull wrote: »
    Car is after spinning around 4-5 times on front of us just before new flyover dublin. No one hurt girl having pure panic attack. She was so lucky though. Was watching cars Merge car spun 4 times junction before Tallaght junction at charles hurst I don't know the road. She spun around in two of the lanes. It was so frightening seeing it happen though two cars on front of us could of been a pile up so easy she had absolutely no control over the car young child in the back too. Thank God everyone was ok.
    Glad everyone was ok. Happened to me once when I hit an oil spill. Not a nice experience to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Bpmull wrote: »

Think I might have seen an ambulance heading to that there about a half hour ago? Either way passed an ambulance heading in that direction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Glad everyone was ok. Happened to me once when I hit an oil spill. Not a nice experience to say the least

She was very shocked and shaking my dad helped her out of the car and someone pulled the car of the Middle of the road for her.
    Think I might have seen an ambulance heading to that there about a half hour ago? Either way passed an ambulance heading in that direction

She was shock up so maybe she got an ambulance. But at least the car wasn't hit and she was physically ok. The child was grand in the back they hadn't even realised what had happened. It just makes you think though as to easy it could happen to yourself. Anyway the car had sh!t tyres so Id imagine that was the main cause as they weren't particularly slippy. Anyway at least everyone was ok just mad to see it happening straight on front of your eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Saw the results of someone losing a corolla in a 50k zone, in daylight, no rain.

Was on its side after hitting a tree at a height of about 6 feet (low ditch must have kicked it up) after a corner.

Awesome skillz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

CianRyan wrote: »
    He's a damn fool.
    I can understand lads out in Molls Gap at 4 in the morning, miles from life but anyone trying to out run a Garda in the middle of the town deserves everything he's got going to him.

I know everyone in a modified/performance car is targeted all weekend which is just bad form anyway but this is why, there's eejits and good guys on both sides.

Should be the muppetry driving of the idiots that should be targeted rather then simply the cars.

Any driver not actually doing anything wrong should be just allowed to get on with his or her day in peace.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Looking at car ads earlier I came across an accord that had had it's chain replaced

Why would that need to be done? It was a 2003 model with just over 100k miles

I'm taking the view that either it's a belt and not a chain or its been driven like the devil to need a new chain at that mileage

Stheno wrote: »
    Looking at car ads earlier I came across an accord that had had it's chain replaced

Why would that need to be done? It was a 2003 model with just over 100k miles

I'm taking the view that either it's a belt and not a chain or its been driven like the devil to need a new chain at that mileage

That's a Japanese chain. They give at least twice the life of an average modern german chain...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's a Japanese chain. They give at least twice the life of an average modern german chain...

So am I right in thinking there is something seriously wrong given its been changed?

I agree with you that a chain should last the life of the engine. Some people (mostly german car fans) don't believe this.

Regardless of this it seems to have become common for timing chains not to last the life of the engine even when serviced 100% correct according to manufacturer's schedule. Or because they were serviced according to manufacturer's schedule, depending on your stance on extended service intervals...

But yeah, it's safer to assume wrong oil, missed services or whatever.

Edit - or a fundamental engineering fail in the spec of the materials!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

I don't think that it's that uncommon( open to correction on that) if there was something fishy about it, they wouldn't have told you it was changed;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,392 ✭✭✭✭beertons

For the Love of Cars is on again. 80's hot hatch tonight. The golf gti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

beertons wrote: »
    For the Love of Cars is on again. 80's hot hatch tonight. The golf gti.

I was really looking forward to the SD1 episode but it was ****e. I did watch The Liver Run again after which more than made up for it.

Been watching reruns of old Wheeler Dealers. It's reminded me of how rubbish the latest series is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Wathced the 2 Ferrari F40 episodes of fast and loud last night. Well worth a look if you've not seen it.
    Search fast N loud (not and) on the bay or whatever. Season 3 ep 1 and 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

He was doing good until the the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Daryl, still one for hanging around this ****e even after all your grief, that's dedication. :pac.

Ah no, if you're gonna do rings that's the spot for it, keep it out of the towns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

I think Toyota d4d owners will disagree there, the rattle of them is shocking!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Hahaha delighted

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    I think Toyota d4d owners will disagree there, the rattle of them is shocking!!
    Haha how do you know where the rattle is coming from on a diesel ;-)
    What kms are they going at? Prince engine? TSI? N47 kinda kms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Haha how do you know where the rattle is coming from on a diesel ;-)
    What kms are they going at? Prince engine? TSI? N47 kinda kms?

No not as bad as bmw, nothing is bad as them! IThe d4d is known for it, our one at home makes a horrendous chain noise too as did all the others we viewed, apparently they "all do that" lol. The one at home has 130k miles on it......or so it says. I'm not convinced!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

No, but it's a fairly decent titanium focus!

Half way through a shower and this happens. Can't even go for a pint to pass the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Half way through a shower and this happens. Can't even go for a pint to pass the time

You're based in Newcastle West? Can't bate Marguerites for a feed in there! Owner is a friend of the family and is always fantastic grub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Just had some wan with an Audi 80 rally car smile and nod at the car :cool:

166man wrote: »
    You're based in Newcastle West? Can't bate Marguerites for a feed in there! Owner is a friend of the family and is always fantastic grub.

Savage spot indeed. Probably closed today. Half the businesses in town are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Savage spot indeed. Probably closed today. Half the businesses in town are.

Aye indeed spend quite a bit of time down in West Kerry myself so it's always a good spot to stop off after a boring motorway stint!