********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

So the kidney grill on the front of my e46 broke. It's currently held on with a string of cable ties :(

So, I'm going to order new ones on eBay. The question is, do I go for chrome look (standard), carbon fibre, plain black or other?

The carbon fibre ones are kind of tempting...but I fear it'll look tacky.

CF or black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Bpmull wrote: »
    I'm after discovering something that's after making me very very thick tbh.

When I went to look at my car on Friday the one I bought I noticed the driver sill had a dent one foot long like it was caught in a rock or high path and pulled. Now although I was slightly bothered it's not terribly noticeable and I figured my own fault for not spotting it when I put a deposit on the car.

Except I looked back a pictures of the car I took when I first looked at it and had screen shotted a picture of the ad. Guess what no damage whatsoever. So I hadn't missed it it wasn't there. So chances are the fruitcake that lost the keys also done the damage and most likely never told anyone. I'm so annoyed over it tbh. As otherwise it's a straight car fsh one owner nice to drive and the few small scratches they are going sorting. But now this.

Well are you going to mention it and see what happens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Al - I'd go with the chrome tbh, everyone goes for the black kidney grills, OEM yo!

Just after getting back from a flying visit to the Rally in Killarney. Decided last night it'd be a good idea to go down! Was absolutely incredible, those Ford Escorts are just the bees knees, such sideways, much noise, oh enjoyment.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Is the volvo sick ?

Na she's just resting :P

Myself and the family have a mobile home in Kerry so I jumped in with one of them for the spin down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Well are you going to mention it and see what happens?

Mention it if they don't fix it they can keep the car I have photographic proof it wasn't there so they can take it out of the lads wages for all I care because he must have a fierce bad attitude towards his job. Loosing the keys is one thing but this is another. Id imagine they will get it fixed (they have their own very decent body shop) but it's just annoying and as you all know the sill is one of the worst areas to fix. Do you know the kind of damage I'm taking about like it's caught on a rock or pointed surface and pulled to form a line along the sill slightly intended.

I mean I'm generally not too fussy towards body work but would be obsessed when it comes to the mechanical side of things. But the fact it wasn't there and that someone managed to damage it in the space of a week is annoying. It really takes a lot to annoy me but this has wound me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

So the kidney grill on the front of my e46 broke. It's currently held on with a string of cable ties :(

So, I'm going to order new ones on eBay. The question is, do I go for chrome look (standard), carbon fibre, plain black or other?

The carbon fibre ones are kind of tempting...but I fear it'll look tacky.

I'm with 166man, chrome, the others are really overdone and IMO do not look well on a car that isn't black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I'm with 166man, chrome, the others are really overdone and IMO do not look well on a car that isn't black

To be honest, I think you're all right. Especially on a silver car with the silver trim around the windows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Bpmull wrote:
    Mention it if they don't fix it they can keep the car I have photographic proof it wasn't there so they can take it out of the lads wages for all I care because he must have a fierce bad attitude towards his job. Loosing the keys is one thing but this is another. Id imagine they will get it fixed (they have their own very decent body shop) but it's just annoying and as you all know the sill is one of the worst areas to fix. Do you know the kind of damage I'm taking about like it's caught on a rock or pointed surface and pulled to form a line along the sill slightly intended.

I know what you mean. I did something similar to the mondeo last year. Car was in the school carpark, parked nose towards a kerb. Coaches parked behind me blocking me, and I was in a rush out. The kerb is about 2/3 inches high, and the surface the far side is flush with the top of it, ie the carpark rises about 3 inches, if you get me. There was no cars infront of me, ie, the far side of the kerb, which is said 3 inches higher. Anyway, I figured I could clear it, (driving forward up onto the kerb and carpark) obvs not, didn't notice until I got home, but obvs the kerb met the sills (both sides!!) Before the back wheel got a chance to get up. It's barely noticeable, but it surely was one of my worst ccok ups!

Never have I come across a more stupid, annoying and impossible to use climate control function than that of a nissan almera! I'm struggling with it, never mind the owner who's in his 80's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I'm down Kerry way this weekend but I'm minus a car!

Pedestrian lifestyle or on the ciders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

CianRyan wrote: »

I know everyone in a modified/performance car is targeted all weekend which is just bad form anyway but this is why, there's eejits and good guys on both sides.

Agreed, totally bad form by the gardai. Check every car on the road for test, tax, legal tyres and insurance instead of just some people in modified cars.
    Whats the difference between someone in a skyline and no tax and a corollary and no tax. They should both be pulled, but no only the chaps in the modified cars get pulled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Agreed, totally bad form by the gardai. Check every car on the road for test, tax, legal tyres and insurance instead of just some people in modified cars.
    Whats the difference between someone in a skyline and no tax and a corollary and no tax. They should both be pulled, but no only the chaps in the modified cars get pulled.

I was on the garda twitter page there looking at the pics, saw a Cordoba and Corolla in the check points so they're hardly just waving them through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Anyone else here staying up for the Mayweather vs Pacquiao fight. Will be on at roughly 4 am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Yep I'm up for it come on Manny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Every single car on the road is going through the checkpoints - the ones being pulled off to the side are modified, and probably for an exhaust db check and to make sure everything is kosher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Anyone else here staying up for the Mayweather vs Pacquiao fight. Will be on at roughly 4 am.

Is it PPV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Is it PPV?

Yes.

Yes.

Well that's me ****ed then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

I'm sure you find a stream it wanted!

Gavman84 wrote: »
    I'm sure you find a stream it wanted!

At home and all I have is the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

live commentary on bbc 5, hola extension lets it work.

I know what you mean. I did something similar to the mondeo last year. Car was in the school carpark, parked nose towards a kerb. Coaches parked behind me blocking me, and I was in a rush out. The kerb is about 2/3 inches high, and the surface the far side is flush with the top of it, ie the carpark rises about 3 inches, if you get me. There was no cars infront of me, ie, the far side of the kerb, which is said 3 inches higher. Anyway, I figured I could clear it, (driving forward up onto the kerb and carpark) obvs not, didn't notice until I got home, but obvs the kerb met the sills (both sides!!) Before the back wheel got a chance to get up. It's barely noticeable, but it surely was one of my worst ccok ups!

Oh sure I know it can be easy enough to do. But this one is reasonably bad length wise anyway. Ah I've calmed down about the whole thing.

I think it's more the overall situation that is annoying me. I put a deposit on the car gave them 9 days to sort it sorted insurance had that starting Friday morning even arranged for them to tax it Friday morning. I had it arranged so I was collecting it on my short week so Id have a few days off. So it should have all worked out perfect.

Now I'm on my long week from Monday 7-7 shift. They have my car sitting in the garage car park locked with no keys and the sill damaged. I'm only off Wednesday and Thursday and as it's unlikely they will sort all this out by Thursday I'll be in trouble as Liberty gave me till Friday with the insurance. So as it was the first day of the policy they weren't exactly thrilled to be doing a temp transfer so I'm not sure if they will even let me extend it as it's not exactly temp if your going to have the car two weeks. So at this rate I could end up having to drop the temp car back on Thursday evening and be Carless as well as working friday, sat, Sunday.

Anyway hopefully some meracle will occur and they will find the keys and somehow sort everything by Thursday afternoon. Ah and I'm not trying to be negative or complain I'm looking forward to getting my new car and think overall I've made the right decision but it's just frustrating.

davycc wrote: »
    Pedestrian lifestyle or on the ciders?

Beer. Too much beer. Not feeling the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Beer. Too much beer. Not feeling the best

I envy your hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

See a group buy for Bilstein B8 shocks for 440 sterling

1114.gif

Check conversion rate

atrhy4r

The crappy exchange rate is really taking the good out of all the uk purchases at the moment :(

Whats the problem when oil is in with the coolant in the coolant bottle? Just checked it there on the 206 and there's defo oil in there, there's white scum is on the cap. Maybe some eejit put oil in there accidentally, but if oil and water are mixing somewhere, it would hardly come back into the coolant bottle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Head gasket ?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Head gasket ?

Same thought here

Head gasket ?

Ya that was my first thought...... not my car, but nonetheless. She's bringing it to a mechanic during the week to see it!