Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Colm Spillane came on as a sub last night for U.C.C. ....John Cronin scored 4 points for C.I.T.....

Cronin has been doing this consistently and was immense v Laois ist challenge yet still over looked
    It's imo ridiculous nor getting game time when likes lawton gets game time, Mccarthy got chances, cian Mccarthy too many etc

Dayne lee and luke meade terrific prospects but giving them game time now in challenge matches imo no benefit this summer cork crying out for cronin
    Spillane apparently played well
    I wasn't at it but worry is injury
    He started own rehabilitation programme after Xmas himself ger himself right but worry is will he be free of injury
    I'd love him start v KK Saturday but may be early for him

Wasn't at last night game but told he played well and three goals went in were in before he came on sub and held kellher well
    Alan deenhy is fine player probably suites more center back got taken for three goals by dj foran who some player for Waterford so imo rules out any chance deenhy had be called up cork

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    The one thing this debate shows is that there are plenty hurlers across Cork that could stake a claim for a place on the panel at least. Certainly hitting in to the Munster championship there wont be much scope for teams to recover from giving away a twelve point lead and a lot of tightening up in defence is required. It's grand talking about us scoring goals again and running up 20 points but not much good if you are leaking scores at the other end. KK and Tipp wont show much mercy to that type of play
    That's it exactly KK and tipp and clare know goals in cork full back line
    Thank god KK are not opponents all Ireland final as that full back line be destroyed

Cork imo to beat Waterford simply they are not beating individual who imo cork have better more developed at this time but cork are out to beat a system imo

If anyone wants to know the difference I suggest a rewatch of cork donegal football 2012 all Ireland Semi final where man for man cork overall better footballers but lost due to the inability to break down a system that suffocated cork but made donegal players far better than their natural talents in some players by developing a system that played to players strenght and negated their weakness

Jbm hates the sweeper but thankful he has finally come to realise that after clare last year cork had to adjust to one and imo v wexford cotk played deeper and at least cork have adapted but simple have to play a sweeper v Waterford in championship or have no doubt if not they will loose

Cork imo a way have to adopt the cody KK mantra win every game for the league final but imo KK only team able beat a team twice in three weeks so cork improving have to yes try win league but I'd be trying a few things put and wouldn't show my full hand

Cork the last time they won league was 98 v Waterford under jbm with the rock as captain and brilliant goal that day from cork won the game but then in munster cork lost after hammered clare in league semi final clare beat cork in the munster championship

My team for the league game

Nash
    O Neill
    Cahalane has struggled so I'd start Ellis full back as cork have no other options
    If cahalane was fully fit he imo would be fine but cork need cover also if he's injured

Burke needs a game in he's best position as he may be needed in the championship
    Mcdonnell will start in may but I'd rest him here

Half back line is the huge worry imo in actual cover in. Brian sullivan and kearney imo not up senior in defence
    There fine club players and great ambassador for club but this is seniors hurling intercounty imo

I'd start Daniel kearney half back who superb hurlers with lorcan and morphy at half backs

Midfield would be aidan Walsh and rob o shea
    O shea had a superb league and in cork two awful defeats due to poor management at under twenty one to tipperary and clare on beaten teams he stood out
    Sign of a great player to perform on beaten teams

Against Dublin in loose game showed he can score but also crucially in a war of attrition he was very good yesterday and he can score from long distance as is ace free taker with carriglaine and he's touch is top class in tight rucks which will be in a swarmed midfield v Waterford
    Aidan Walsh would be playing deeper from midfield so he will cover the aera between half back and midfield
    Cooper would be imo playing midfield despite being picked at half forward but filling the gaps that Walsh leaves
    Cooper imo will get better for cork and imo under rated cork in some people in imo he never will be natural free scorer but work and dirty ball he wins is vital to cork and he pass made goal for pebbles
    He striking speed has to improve but imo more games it will

Half forward line
    Lehane
    Harnedy
    Cooper who plays deep
    Lehane and harnedy can score long distance as can Walsh and o shea and cormac Murphy from half back and imo that's vital beat a blanket just like in football
    John cronin s shooting can at times be erratic but hes well able score long also and with games would improve end and always believed another rough diamond like harnedy crying out for more developments at senior
    He if developed imo could be ideal for cork
    Never leaves field with out giving he's all and can play midfield and half forward and is fast and mobile but has a want and desire hunger for work with and without the ball second to none

Full forward line
    Cadogan we know how good he is and imo save him for May
    Paudie is the same

So I'd tell moylan and luke that either one of them would start but it's last chance saloon really in panel will be cut for championship soon so no excuse they have to perform as there's long enough around the panel you know the drill and in KK would be expected to step up to the mark cork is no different

John cronin has to get games time and I'd start him this Friday v KK challenge match and league game but name him at fifteen but I'd play him as half forward to fill copper place when copper goes to midfield

Subs
    Collins
    I'd have Stephen Murphy here
    Were in big trouble with cover in defence
    Aidan Ryan
    Jamie nagle I'd call up playing as half forward with midelton now but imo a good half back or else mick Walsh who again never got real chance under jbm before but was bar the final brilliant cork intermediate team last year and played senior before and done well
    Very aggressive good ball winners deserves chance half back

Andy Walsh
    Jamie coughlan
    Pa cronin
    Spillane
    And either luke or moylan

That panel imo should have enough to beat Waterford in the right system in the league whole holding off fully team for may
    Waterford have be fair water tight defence goal wise in even allowing for poor division two imo still were impressive only conceding three goals and total five in seven games and while tipp got two goals the system tightened up then
    Cork imo have showed better this year scoring goals on previous years in scoring ten goals in seven games but imo hsve to out point Waterford in patient and composure go for points in this game
    Pick off the points and then when a lead appears the key is imo to have the lead in the second half by five points or so and then force Waterford to be more open then goal chances will arrive
    Waterford scoring in league against big teams is quite poor from play in against Galway and tipp and limerick only got in no particular order around approximately one eight, eight and eleven point from play
    Landers done good working basics with cork since he joined but now main key focus imo for Waterford is discipline in limit the fouls as I don't think Waterford hsve real scoring power go toe toe with teams
    Yes frees will be conceded but keep them low as o mahonry will score if given the chance
    What's impressive for cork is only six goal conceded in seven games but should not cloud the fact tipp and Dublin got two each game and KK only brilliant Nash with weak full forward line got one could had three If cork had a full back with a deeper sweeper system where cork could still mix freestyle hurling jbm craves imo with stronger panel would be serious team
    All these are in cork control and easily fixable bar full back that outside cork control in injury here imo hindered cork badly

KK challenge game this week provides cork rare opportunity to actually learn from a challenge with no false dawn in KK only team Ireland within hunger desire win every games

Pointless cork playing senior starters here but you can't play bunch novices either so balance is key imo

Collins
    Kearney I dont think he up to its but give him the game as limerick will expose weak areas of game and better here than may

I'd Probably have called up Alan deenhy from last year intermediate winning team but three goals conceded against foran last night rules him out now for full back
    Gunning would imo be called upon but he's is doing the leaving
    Colm Barry imo who is better half back than full back is injured
    Cork don't have many option
    Jack sheehan who I said should got call lastly year Is unavailable now
    Colm Spillane is only back from injury
    As much I'd love him to start I'd be afraid Spillane If came back now it be too soon for inter county after injury and as he's young maybes if eased in to it he can finally get injury free and nail wn cork place as he's terrific player
    Mcdonnell would be the other corner back

Half back line
    Aidan Walsh needs another game here as may be needed in championship here so play him here
    Aidan Ryan done all that was asked v Laois
    It's only club yea in club league but playing still out skin midelton at present at half back since Wallis moved him back

Murphy if fit will start in may and more game's he gets the better
    He's brilliant but imo he has more in him , he will be unreal imo

Andy Walsh
    Lawton give him the game v KK a full game and tell him unless he gives full seventy minutes working rate physical aggression and chips in. With a score or two he will be dropped from the panel

This is not harsh but look he's been around cork senior panel for nearly four years or so, no excuse if he doesn't perform
    No room for sentiment when you want to win an all Ireland
    Before any one says I'm harsh, Does cody do subject Nonsense
    NO No NO AND HE NEVER WILL
    I have nothing against this lad, my only point is there like other hurlers cork better players done it college, fitzgibnn under age cork and club crying out for chance with cork but aren't getting even game yet some around cork panel for long times get way too many games yet haven't nailed down a place
    Imo that's not fair to better players
    I'm huge fan moylan for cork also but he's been around a while also so time to step up in when he gets game needs performance
    If not drop them from panel as cork need panel that if sub brought in won't weaken team but like KK actually strengthen it
    Some players just on panel you can give time but lads that been around while don't deserve more time imo
    Cody would not give some time after time with KK

Coughlan imo never got a sustained run under jbm in he's best position half forward or midfield but was brilliant v Waterford in 2012 with stunning goals and v KK I'm championship long range scores
    Deserves chance half forward
    John cronin has start more games the better
    Shane o keoffe a very good ball winner for cork under twenty one last year I'd play him

Anthony Spillane need games and got stuck in when came on a sub
    One league game for cotk this year shooting was off on the day but won lot ball, very young and deserves more chances
    Could be real player for cork

Pa Cronin if fit needs game time
    I think he still has something to offer on the panel
    Proven big game player and always puts team first

Luke or Paudie or moylan or cadogan give any them a half each if needed
    Dayne lee and luke meade have done all that's was asked all year when they got senior games in challenge and are future starters in time but I wouldn't play them this game as realistically they are not going to be ready for championship panel this year so much better play likes coughlan Spillane cronin etc who could make a serious contribution from the subs bench in championship

This challenge v KK, winning is not important in its more about giving the likes of , Spillane, Andy Walsh, John cronin , coughlan,aidan Ryan essential valuable game times
    These next two games coming up if cork are smart and wise enough could actually learn so much before the Waterford game in the championship in may and Could be helpful to us in certain positions that imo could well if sorted define corks season

A team won't win an all Ireland
    A panel will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

lads what did ye think of Nash's puck outs on sunday? I thought they had a lot of air in them which gave the dubs time to read them and get in the right position. Twice the ball went over the side line too. I admire Tipp's puckouts, Gleeson can give a quick accurate ball to the man looking for it and it keeps possession with the team.

Brian o driscoll out for Sunday with hamstring
    Great player
    He's played load games the past two weeks, huge work load for under twenty one, county , club etc so always risk got injured imo
    As for puck outs think cork won them overall and while Nash hit few over line generally was good with harnedy and o shea doing well and kearney winning few

Course aidan Walsh midfield have another bonus and adding likes john cronin who imperious with high ball would be beneficial for cork in this regard

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/lehane-work-rate-and-goals-are-key/

Only saw this now but an absolutely splendid read, I'm delighted to see a cork gaa person talk so tough words but realistic words

The part about saying that if it hurts your feelings no point in taking part
    Spot on
    This is senior elite intercounty hurling and no room for sentiment as harsh as it sounds to be top kings

How many times do we hear such nonsense at times among fans don't critics, too harsh etc
    Lehane spoke truth as landers is tough master
    Once it's not personal, being hard task master is fine
    Great hear lehane speak of wanting be ruthless like kilkenny
    How many times have I advocated this cork must demand more and be ruthless
    That's exactly mentality cork gaa needs and also cork football could badly do with such a ruthless attuide

Landers made huge difference so far in clear as day cork treating league seriously and didn't before under jbm so landers as lehane said want win every game
    Landers is still imo lot prove yet tactical wise but having seen cork play deeper at times imo it's so far looking promising with landers
    Landers wants to win and as a player not most talented ever cork hurling has had but hunger want desire the demand to win and attention detail as player second to none

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭The White Feather

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/lehane-work-rate-and-goals-are-key/

Great hear lehane speak of wanting be ruthless like kilkenny
    How many times have I advocated this cork must demand more and be ruthless
    That's exactly mentality cork gaa needs and also cork football could badly do with such a ruthless attuide

Did you see the Luke O'Farrell interview on Seo Spoirt last week?

It ties in with what you say about Lehane as Luke said he was the worst loser as in he takes losing very badly which is what we want from all players!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭pluszap

Conor O'Sullivan has left the Cork hurling panel ahead of their Allianz Hurling League final against Waterford on Sunday week.The experienced defender did not feature in

Sunday’s league semi-final victory over Dublin and the Cork management confirmed last night that the Sarsfields man had made up his mind to leave."He played a good

few games for us but I think he wanted to concentrate on his club at the minute and he doesn't see a future," Cork selector Johnny Crowley told Independent.ie."Jimmy

(Barry-Murphy) and Mark (Landers) both spoke to him. That's the decision he made. They asked him to think about it, which he did. It is a pity but fellas make up their

own mind."O'Sullivan was part of the Cork team beaten in the 2013 All-Ireland final by Clare after a replay, but struggled with injury last season and didn't feature.He

made three league starts this year but was only used as a substitute against Tipperary, while he didn’t feature against Galway or Wexford.O'Sullivan was originally named in the squad for the Rebels’ 1-27 to 2-23 comeback win against Dublin at Nowlan Park, but was replaced by Jamie Coughlan before throw-in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

It ties in with what you say about Lehane as Luke said he was the worst loser as in he takes losing very badly which is what we want from all players!!

Poor man is going to have an awful hard time of it so in the next 6 weeks :D

Cork gaa at all senior level but have ruthless mentality and no soft sentiment approach
    Missed luke but I'm glad to hear it
    If your good enough say it it if your poor be honest and blunt enough to say we're awful and then do something change that

In the lead up to Sunday league football final I really worry cork aren't no where near improved as made out be from last year and few false dawns hsve been created and there's kind soft sentiment in assessment cork football again evident when glaringly obvious weal aera our team that stand out like a sore thumb that yet have to be fixed

Cork senior football management has announced that Alan O'Connor, St. Colum's, will rejoin the Cork senior football panel next week after Sunday's Allianz Football League final. Confirming the announcement, manager Brian Cuthbert welcomed the development. The St. Colum’s clubman originally made his senior debut in 2008 and went on to win three Munster and an All Ireland Senior Football Championship title in 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Cork gaa at all senior level but have ruthless mentality and no soft sentiment approach
    Missed luke but I'm glad to hear it
    If your good enough say it it if your poor be honest and blunt enough to say we're awful and then do something change that

In the lead up to Sunday league football final I really worry cork aren't no where near improved as made out be from last year and few false dawns hsve been created and there's kind soft sentiment in assessment cork football again evident when glaringly obvious weal aera our team that stand out like a sore thumb that yet have to be fixed

We should know a lot more after Sun where this team is currently at.

Alan O C being drafted back in at least shows the management are aware of some areas of weakness.

Although I'm not Alan's biggest fan as a player he could do a job last 15/20 mins winning kick outs, improving tackle count.

Didn't have the pace for Croke Park two seasons ago so I think starting in Champ is out of question.

[quote="rebelomar;95189000e should know a lot more after Sun where this team is currently at.

Alan O C being drafted back in at least shows the management are aware of some areas of weakness.

Although I'm not Alan's biggest fan as a player he could do a job last 15/20 mins winning kick outs, improving tackle count.

Didn't have the pace for Croke Park two seasons ago so I think starting in Champ is out of question.[/quote]
    Imo it doesn't surprise me and is a complete step backwards in he was destroyed v Dublin two years ago at midfield

He was a brilliant player at he's best but look that time is gone
    Against kerry two years ago he's performance was blown up when kerry took foot off gas he was brilliant
    I said it then regular posters will remember it he would not last in Dublin
    He didn't

Now yes in a blanket defence he may survive however two years out and lo league behind him I doubt he can do it

Just look at route we have taken in midfield problems it's imo been a joke from day one

Gould gets game after game
    Dinnen gets no chance
    Deane no real chance and then injured and I believe he's back and played full forward bantry recently if true m
    Now it imo yes too soon back after injury play for cork but imo same risk as o Connor
    Laoire still ignored
    Sean kiely ignored
    Cussen recall then dropped
    Sullivan too many games then dropped up to championship for may so much he walked
    Jamie sullivan midfield and cadogan and Collins
    This management imo is just going from options to options if a don't work we try b then c then d with out any imo clue how solve midfield

O Connor at best temporary solution to long term problems and cork have better options and why oh why is called up now with out any league behind him
    This imo is like recall niall moran for limerick in i hope it work but imo won't

This doesn't surprise me this management and another classic case of expect the unexpected and go against total logic
    Just my opinion of course
    Just be crystal clear I'm huge fan Alan o Connor in the past but now imo past he best and even Donaghey kerry is faster than him and o Connor imo not best move for cork
    To say management are aware of the midfield, well be honest and without sounding blunt its about time now let's call a spade a spade this has been the issue for last year and a half
    However what's there been remarkable consistently wise imo is picking illogical options
    Unbelievable imo
    So we bring on Alan for twenty minutes what do we do for fifty
    And we bring on Alan, kerry after Buckley moran dominate can still bring on maher or Walsh if needed
    Kerry must be smiling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Imo it doesn't surprise me and is a complete step backwards in he was destroyed v Dublin two years ago at midfield

He was a brilliant player at he's best but look that time is gone
    Against kerry two years ago he's performance was blown up when kerry took foot off gas he was brilliant
    I said it then regular posters will remember it he would not last in Dublin
    He didn't

Now yes in a blanket defence he may survive however two years out and lo league behind him I doubt he can do it

Just look at route we have taken in midfield problems it's imo been a joke from day one

Gould gets game after game
    Dinnen gets no chance
    Deane no real chance and then injured and I believe he's back and played full forward bantry recently if true m
    Now it imo yes too soon back after injury play for cork but imo same risk as o Connor
    Laoire still ignored
    Sean kiely ignored
    Cussen recall then dropped
    Sullivan too many games then dropped up to championship for may so much he walked
    Jamie sullivan midfield and cadogan and Collins
    This management imo is just going from options to options if a don't work we try b then c then d with out any imo clue how solve midfield

O Connor at best temporary solution to long term problems and cork have better options and why oh why is called up now with out any league behind him
    This imo is like recall niall moran for limerick in i hope it work but imo won't

This doesn't surprise me this management and another classic case of expect the unexpected and go against total logic
    Just my opinion of course
    Just be crystal clear I'm huge fan Alan o Connor in the past but now imo past he best and even Donaghey kerry is faster than him and o Connor imo not best move for cork
    To say management are aware of the midfield, well be honest and without sounding blunt its about time now let's call a spade a spade this has been the issue for last year and a half
    However what's there been remarkable consistently wise imo is picking illogical options
    Unbelievable imo
    So we bring on Alan for twenty minutes what do we do for fifty
    And we bring on Alan, kerry after Buckley moran dominate can still bring on maher or Walsh if needed
    Kerry must be smiling

I didn't say I agreed with the decision but I outlined what role he might now play that he is back.

I wouldn't have him in a country mile of the panel myself but that's not point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Fair play to Alan O Connor to have the balls to come back ....he was also asked last year but declined ....Ian Maguires injury is a huge concern please god he will be back ...I cant understand why Sean Kiely is not giving a chance ...surely he could benefit and come on lot if he was on the panel....I agree Alan had no pace in Croke Park in 2013 against Dublin when he was 28 ...but hopefully hes refreshed hes the kind of player that the break might have done him the world of good ....I would worry about his pace ...but hopefully he will be an addition....
    A break refreshes the engine imo but I can't see how a break two years older will add a yard of pace
    I just don't see it
    Break is fine for want desire hunger as absence makes heart grow fonder but imo has no effect on pace

Look at the great great I mean great now hurricane fly
    Great race horse but even after lightly races season didn't improve he's raw pace this year as unfortunately was too old

O Connor at thirty imo isn't too old as such but imo role asked play and pace required been out so long with age I don't see how he can improve and in counter attacking game I'd worry can he last championship pace and with no league behind him how can he be expected get to championship pace for kerry in July who midfield will be hopping of the ground
    Kerry negated o Connor when he was at he's best they won't fear him now
    Was great player but this is now imo

Cork v Kilkenny Senior Hurling Challenge Saturday 25th April at 7pm. Cork senior hurlers will play Kilkenny in a challenge game in Páirc Uí Rinn in aid of the 'Friends of Jamie Wall' fund. This is an all ticket promotion. 
    The Cork Senior Hurling team v Kilkenny will line out as follows:1.   Anthony Nash (Kanturk)2.   Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)3.   Aiden Ryan (Midleton)4.   William Kearney

(Midleton)5.   Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy)6.   Mark Ellis (Millstreet)7.  Killian Burke (Midleton)8.   Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)9.   Andy Walsh (Killeagh)10. Patrick Cronin

(Bishopstown)11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)12. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)13. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)14. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)15. Stephen Moylan

(Douglas)
    Subs:16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)17. Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarrs)18. Stephen

McDonnell (Glen Rovers)19. Lorcáin MacLoughlin (Kanturk)20. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)21. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)22. Conor Lehane (Midleton)23. Seamus Harnedy (St.

Ita's)24. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)25. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)26. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)27. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)28. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)

According to echo website william egan is joining hurling panel

pluszap wrote: »
    According to echo website william egan is joining hurling panel

That's great news and hopefully cork will play if needed play him at five rather than seven much better suited imo at five
    It's shockingly absolutely shockingly unless injured john cronin can't get panel place here
    If injured fair enough
    If not Christ above what does he have to do to get game time

Happy with team big game now for lawton Mccarthy moylan
    No excuse must be told last chance saloon performances required or thanks but dropped from the panel

Aidan Ryan interesting choice full back I'm not sure is he one but I applauded he gets chance as cork no other options

Playing brilliant at moment through Wallis
    Good under high ball and strong physical wise good test

Will they ever ever ever actually learn regards coughlan
    He hates corner forward
    If he's allowed roam fine but not corner forward
    A switch with cronin be ideal
    I think Spillane should be starting in Mccarthy has had more game time and nor performance wise good and Spillane good last Sunday
    Every fringe player has be told performance tommorrow a must if not not in championship panel
    Got to be ruthless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

pluszap wrote: »
    Cork v Kilkenny Senior Hurling Challenge Saturday 25th April at 7pm. Cork senior hurlers will play Kilkenny in a challenge game in Páirc Uí Rinn in aid of the 'Friends of Jamie Wall' fund. This is an all ticket promotion. 
    The Cork Senior Hurling team v Kilkenny will line out as follows:1.   Anthony Nash (Kanturk)2.   Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)3.   Aiden Ryan (Midleton)4.   William Kearney

(Midleton)5.   Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy)6.   Mark Ellis (Millstreet)7.  Killian Burke (Midleton)8.   Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)9.   Andy Walsh (Killeagh)10. Patrick Cronin

(Bishopstown)11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)12. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)13. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)14. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)15. Stephen Moylan

(Douglas)
    Subs:16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)17. Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarrs)18. Stephen

McDonnell (Glen Rovers)19. Lorcáin MacLoughlin (Kanturk)20. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)21. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)22. Conor Lehane (Midleton)23. Seamus Harnedy (St.

Ita's)24. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)25. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)26. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)27. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)28. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)

good to see lads gettng chance to step up and fight for a place

id like to see Moylan do well hopefully hell take his chance

plenty of back up on bench to

good to see lads gettng chance to step up and fight for a place

id like to see Moylan do well hopefully hell take his chance

plenty of back up on bench to

Worry is some get chance after chance after chance and others getting little chance

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/paudie-must-have-a-key-role-in-rebel-attack/

Scoring chart is pretty impressive from horgan and lehane and harnedy from play
    Horgan on he's day never a doubt he's unreal however at times still inconsistent or too flashy
    I'd have actually given harnedy man match for the simple reason when cork needed big scores harnedy got them and there was times horgan missed scores should got
    What I was impressed with is horgan went for goals when in position and becoming more ruthless
    If he's consistent imo will win an all star
    Worry is even at club some days he may not perform

I still wouldn't rule of luke as imo I rate him highly when on form
    Yes he needs to step it up however if you look at first half Sunday to be fair he got little ball as cork half back line was dominated as hadn't player together before

Luke scoring for a man that back from injury hasn't started every game isn't far behind Paudie
    I wouldn't actually start sullivan in imo as proven last year he's better sub as a game changers and I'd only be playing two man full forward line of horgan and cadogan
    Paudie has often started games and not always delivered however he's always been big big game player
    Lehane is benefiting from being played in he's best position half forward and not moved to full
    It makes a huge difference when a hurler played in he's best position

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/jamie-wall-i-havent-given-up-on-the-dream-which-is-to-get-out-of-the-wheelchair-31161818.html

Brilliant brilliant young inspiration wall is
    I hope he gets a massive crowd this Saturday
    He was outstanding servant to cork in football and hurling and imo huge potential as half back in football

I think there obviously a great rival but I always have huge respect for cody and KK in fairness absolutely brilliant to wall and no problem playing cork and there bringing a strong team and guaranteed it won't be a walk in the park
    They were great support wall last year and even now
    See you can be ruthless on the field and the ultimate winner and a role model of it and a gentleman also off it and KK do that
    Apparently there's a big interview with wall in the cork paper tommorrow
    Fair play he fully deserves the profile
    What a man what an inspirational character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

I presume a sub keeper can't come on and play outfield?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

case885 wrote: »
    I presume a sub keeper can't come on and play outfield?

Eoin Kelly made his debut with Tipperary outfield wearing number 16 despite being a keeper so there is a precedent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭zetecescort

short interview with Jamie Wall on todays 6 o'clock news

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0423/696318-jamie-wall-cork-interview/

The Cork Senior Football team is named as follows:

1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)
    2. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
    3. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s)
    4. James Loughrey (Mallow)
    5. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)
    6. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
    7. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
    8. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
    9. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
    10. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    11. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
    12. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
    14. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
    15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
    Subs:
    16. Paddy O’Shea (St. Vincent’s)
    17. Stephen O’Donoghue (Ballincollig)
    18. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
    19. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
    20. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    21. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
    22. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
    23. Donal Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa)
    24. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
    25. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
    Unavailable for selection due to injury: Ian Maguire, Ruairi Deane, Donncha O’Connor and Patrick Kelly.
    Selectors: Brian Cuthbert (Bishopstown) - Manager, Owen Sexton, Kilbrittain, Ciaran O’Sullivan (Urhan), Don Davis (O’Donovan Rossa), Ronan McCarthy (Douglas).
    Medical Officer: Dr. Con Murphy (U.C.C.) Physiotherapist: Colin Lane.

}

Real real test Sunday of cork full back line with two corner backs half backs
    Non existent midfield imo in what required
    A half forward line with two work horses who can't score or create
    O rourke the exception
    A bench that thankfully at last has two corner backs who are natural backs but why aren't they starting
    O driscoll was meant be injured if not then still must surely be not fit as gene already have given out over six games three days so why oh why is on bench Sunday
    Clearly needs a rest
    What happens if black card early he's used

We have zero absolutely zero midfield cover for Sunday

We have o driscoll and Hayes hardly game changers to keep Jim gavin awake at night
    If Dublin wanted to win picked strong team I am worried for Sunday
    Fitzmauirce once said in article examiner four years ago defence wins championship games and offence wins games
    Offence imo won cork league games but if Dublin treat Sunday like championship cork awful awful truly ponderous blanket so called defence leaked 7-109 in eight games were in trouble against Dublin team conceded just two seventy eight
    I hope and want cork win but I'm worried for Sunday as Dublin defence is good while still in transition yet ours is awful and doesn't come close blanket imo

Dublin team not named yet but brogan will certainly be on match day panel at least and got four points from play v Galway last Sunday challenge in skerries
    If him and mcnemmon play huge huge test cork full back line
    Cadogan it's madness imo not having him or galvin back there
    I'm huge loughrey fan and clancy and cadogan and I think there fine players always have but there played out of positions is the worry
    This cork panel has brilliant talent imo but lads being asked do jobs not used do is the worry
    Key will come from management in no repeat of kerry last year if there even a hint of Dublin pulling away waiting til half time is too late like then they got to act fast and bring on cronin or galvin and move clancy and loughrey best position
    One good thing that I have bit hopefully is most problems could be fixed by positional changes but management have to react if needed

The worry is midfielder if it struggle all cork can do is put Collins in there which is far from ideal
    Again Collins a terrific player imo but not midfield
    Would kerry play Gooch midfield, no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

I think for this league final that Donncha O Connor and Paddy Kelly are huge losses .....its good to see Stephen Cronin in the subs this guy is sheer class a wonderfull footballer I think he can make it ...TTM you are correct its amazing to see Brian O Driscoll in the subs its tough on the guy but you cant carry injured players ....one other point to make its very interesting to read the interviews with Brian Hurley and Conor Dorman both full of praise for Pat Flanagan ...Dorman said that he has done some training drills with them as well they seen to be very happy with him and mention him a lot ...they use the word respect for him and all he has done with Kerry etc....it looks like hes the one that has made the difference this year as regards the unity that seems to there this year.

I think normally kelly and doc would be huge huge losses but you got to ask yourself this if fit cork baser on management line up all league it's fair to say at best kelly was fit only actually replace o rourke so really cork wouldn't gain anything in two driscoll fine fine club lads but not senior inter county standard imo elite level and there automatic with cuthbert so you can rule out that o rourke kelly and doc start half forward line under this set up, not a hope

So then there not huge losses when they both wouldn't start or of did guy replaced would actually be as good when other two would remain
    That's the problem for Sunday

Now doc yes great sub but if hurley is replaced or colm imo won't be lack talent only way they play bad no supply ball so doc can't do anything different if he has no ball
    So imo doc isn't huge loss in wouldn't be starting anyway
    Cronin outstanding corner back should got league time and galvin is good but probably facing best corner forwards around two cork best back or cadogan aren't in full back line
    Cuthbert is on record saying two or three years ago score that he rates clancy and better half back but thinks do full back role
    But here's the thing if he knows better half back when you have cover cadogan galvin and cronin full backs by trade why oh why oh why do you comprises great talent by playing clancy out of positions
    I don't understand the need when clancy terrific half back
    Flangan has been immense fitness wise never an issue the worry is who actually coaching imo defence etc