Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    SEAN MAC you are talking about Conor O Sullivan ? whats going on first Cian Mac ....

Given the horror show from SO'N and Willie Kearney today, shocking timing if he's jumped ship. Cork seriously lacking physique in the middle 8 today, Harnedy aside. Hardnedy, Hoggie, Walsh in thelast 20 and a belated sweeper got them over the line aided by customary Dublin collapse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Scaldy Ned

Pos087 wrote: »
    Waterford are moving in the right direction but in my opinion won't be play in September for a few years at best. Gleason could be a great hurler but made a lot of mistakes today that experience will help with and while Morris shannahan is prob great to have on the panel for his passion and getting the crowd going once in awhile he is never going to score more than a couple of point a game. On a positive for Waterford they have a great spirit and this will carry them a good bit

Probably agree with much of that. From what i can see and hear from home they are ahead of plan and unreasonable expectations are already surfacing.
    I did feel proud of them today but at the same time the age old issue of scoring goals was at the back of my mind....Still though it was gratifying to see them fighting for every inch and every single ball....On the up hopefully.
    If we beat you next time out ....i'll be glad to be away as the expectations will hit crazy levels.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Am I crazy all I can think of is john gardener

Too late now but agree should happen before very logical choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Eoin Cadogan is not going to be prised from the footballers at this stage so they're stuck with Maccy fullback. SO'N badly needs a run at wingback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭solwhit12

Great win ,even though Dublin hit a lot of wides.should beat Waterford.won't win the all Ireland without a full back and a half forward line though .same problems every year and it will haunt us in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

sean mac wrote: »
    Great win, a huge win. Destroyed Dublin at midfield and our half back line was excellent. Cahalane wont do, sorry lads but his hurling is way off, perhaps he was carrying an injury again but Dublin ****ed up big time in the second half by not putting a man on him and hitting ball down to him.
    Surely john Cronin is on the panel? we need hard ball winners like him in this team as agains tbetter cuter teams we wont get away with these starts/fade outs as tipp showed in the league already.
    Let there be no doubt about no 14 either ffs, paidi o Sullivan is a big game player and will get goals, ofarrell despite being on the panel as long as paidi is simply blown out of it in games like this and totally ineffective.
    Mark ellis will make a huge difference to that defence when he is back also.

Would agree big time Cahalane is not the answer to our full back problem and jbm has a lot to think about in this area, we showed a great amount of heart but missed Ellis and Murphy in the half back line. Kearney at midfield is working is socks off and I thought O'Shea did okay, Cooper tries hard but we need more and surely O'Sullivan is a better option than O'Farrell. Finally Hoggie and harmedy were outstanding, lehane got 4 points but we need more from him which is strange to say but we need him to be involved more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Was wondering where the leadership was going to come from, I think Harnedy was the one really more so than Horgan. Even in the first half he was driving them on and he shipped a bad belt too. Dublin seemed to measure the ball a lot better, they played great ball into the forwards and they seem to have the talent up there this year to exploit that.

Big difference was Cork's workrate came on massively in the second half. To be honest, ye were abject first half and as great as the comeback was ye won't get away with the first half performance and expect to win big games going forward. Aidan Walsh was much more comfortable on the wing, so I think ye missed Ellis center back though jury is probably out on him a bit still. The ball ye were playing to the forwards was often a bit high too I thought, not as measured as Dublin's play was.

Where I think Dublin went wrong was retreating second half. It was ridiculous seeing anyone of 5 Cork backs being able to collect the ball at the end of the second half and find a man. The impetus was completely with them, I'd say they'll be kicking themselves. Should be a good game in two weeks time.

Was wondering where the leadership was going to come from, I think Harnedy was the one really more so than Horgan. Even in the first half he was driving them on and he shipped a bad belt too. Dublin seemed to measure the ball a lot better, they played great ball into the forwards and they seem to have the talent up there this year to exploit that.

Big difference was Cork's workrate came on massively in the second half. To be honest, ye were abject first half and as great as the comeback was ye won't get away with the first half performance and expect to win big games going forward. Aidan Walsh was much more comfortable on the wing, so I think ye missed Ellis center back though jury is probably out on him a bit still. The ball ye were playing to the forwards was often a bit high too I thought, not as measured as Dublin's play was.

Where I think Dublin went wrong was retreating second half. It was ridiculous seeing anyone of 5 Cork backs being able to collect the ball at the end of the second half and find a man. The impetus was completely with them, I'd say they'll be kicking themselves. Should be a good game in two weeks time.
    Huge achilles heel of cork is full back
    Waterford have a dilemma in to attack cork weakest spot have to play a three man full forward line as play just two creates extra cork defender so he cover likes cahalane etc
    Cork need to win a title but I can't see cork showing too much for that game
    Hope I'm wrong but it could be one sided game tame affair who ever wins could win easily
    Who wants win it more is key
    Ellis and particularly Murphy key for cork in Murphy is good at long range points and given he'll win lot ball he own half ability score long distance could be crucial to cork
    Waterford be fair showed huge intensity them, was that them at full throttle??

Dublin invited cork on them I agree but Waterford done same v tipp late on and Waterford style is to allow opponents have lot ball in defence

I think cork have to improve to beat KK etc but Waterford have problems too so imo it is debatable are they strong enough expose cork problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

...John Gardiner doing what? Carrying water bottles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

So anyone gonna answer the question of why Conor Sull left the panel?

Huge congratulations should be given to Tipperary under twenty one football for beating the Dubs

I said it after the cork game they had a chance to beat Dublin
    It imo puts great reflection on cork that went down to Thurles to good team with senior coach creedon involved and missing maguire Histon crowley and hurley all who imo would have started plus three other panel members and go down by a point shows cork got everything out of that team and if Hayes and gene want another term have to get it
    There's no value at all in moral defeats absolutely nothing we leave that for others counties

But when a team is beaten the question always should be asked should management be questioned
    In this case imo not a bit as imo nothing they could done would beaten Tipp
    If they had a fit squad they would imo definitely win as crowley and maguire are huge huge players that are senior players and young hurley imo will be
    Hopefully cork management want another term if they do hsve to get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Connorzee wrote: »

I don't think there's any great question, I'd imagine that he just felt he wasn't getting enough of a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Lack of game time. Sure Cork made two substitutions involving defenders in the entire league. Eamon Murphy has a brilliant article on it today in the echo.

Just wasn't getting game time which is fair enough when you have o Neill and Mcdonnell ahead of you

However I feel for the guy hugely in other sense in imo will kearney fine club player but as proven Waterford crystal and yesterday not exactly tight defender and against limerick Waterford crystal and imo sullivan who performances all Ireland final brilliant and plays sweeper free man brilliant is far better defender and I geuinely don't see why he was called up to the panel when Burke there to cover also

Understandable imo why sullivan would feel he'd walk away
    I wish him the best
    Unlike cian mac who also left imo who fine player club but not inter county best option for cork sullivan had lot to offer cork and I think cork will miss sullivan
    Outstanding player in he time for cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

How many chances is S O N gonna get.

Orizio wrote: »
    ...John Gardiner doing what? Carrying water bottles?

Too late now but it's reasonable in fact quite reasonable to say that even though may not be answer fully at full back certainly much much much better than o Neill or Mcdonnell who outstanding corner backs but imo no good under high ball and gardiner at least knows play square where other two are corner backs by trade instinct is play the ball ist
    Gardiner certainly wouldn't be carrying water bottles with cork
    It wont happen but considering limited options cork have as an outside chance if it was done I wouldn't oppose it

This is not like recall niall moran limerick when firstly fine player but never great I mean great big game player and also limerick better forward options

Take gardiner
    Who else have cork got
    Alan deenhy deserves call up but outside that options are slim
    Spillane injured
    Joyce injured
    Cahalane struggling injury
    Sheehan eirns own would been imo a man I'd call up last year but unavailable now

Colm Barry injured last year under twenty one full back imo better half back

Young gunning doing the leaving would be options but for that
    Ellis not full back but only option but injured also

This is unlike cork football midfield shambles in cork actually have better midfield players not getting game time
    Be fair cork hurling management this year full back not their fault and like munster rugby seem have awful injury luck solving centre problems

Cork years ago due injury robbed outstanding prospects darragh Rodgers, Spillane then injured and now Joyce
    This year injury went against cork
    Again yesterday cork opened up at ease at full back
    Limerick or Waterford may not have the management to expose cork full back problems but make no mistake tipp or KK will do so if they meet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

That rates with John Terry saying "Ill take the last one lads "

Lack of game time. Sure Cork made two substitutions involving defenders in the entire league. Eamon Murphy has a brilliant article on it today in the echo.
    Good read all credit due to him who at times imo articles are brilliant reads and piece on balloncollg last year was absolutely top top notch

One point imo regards sullivan is you can hardly blame guy for walking when cadogan last year no training done at all really hurling wise was not even. Hurling much Douglas carried on match day panel and now the likes others ahead sullivan if. I was in was shoes I'd be feeling the same

Wayne sherlock omission cork team raised questions in 2006 under Allen in my view
    It's fair to judge as great as he is jbm now the same with defender quality o sullivan gone
    My view could be wrong,but is not only sullivan not starter but actually fell outside subs when other corner backs got game time that imo not as proven top performers in big games as sullivan
    With sullivan gone Stephen Murphy should get call up but it seems kearney is in contention for a place on panel

Natural sullivan imo be questioning the situation
    One thing be dropped for place behind calibre Mcdonnell or o Neill two proven corner backs
    But when you fall behind others it's questionable imo

I'd questions sullivan dropping down pecking order with any manager so as great as jbm is imo it's certainly decision that be questioned how sullivan was over looked over others

People often say critics are too hard when all do judge players on performance but what is often lost is other lads like sullivan who do everything asked proven performances yet all due respect other players like will kearney not same standard as him get game time
    Sullivan performances all Ireland final were immense

Imo sarafields had four lads on cork team last year and imo was gesture over county championship when only two were up to its in Daniel kearney who is outstanding player and sullivan

Huge worrying is Shane o Neill who huge fan of unfortunately form is poor but I blame management for this in confidence rocked from not once but twice played out position full back and twice v tipp and clare been destroyed
    You can't blame o Neill in he was never ever a full back
    The lads confidence imo is rocked but fact management imo didn't do him justice I'd stick with him and tell him their fault not he's and he's not bad player and never ever ever ever play full back cork again
    I do agree though that's he playing poorly that would merit dropping
    But I just think management need to stay with him
    Mcdonnell suffered same fate v KK after last league final and when destroyed at full by Larkin took him while recover
    Normal imo even great player like o Neill question himself after poor performance so imo need time as outstanding corner back
    I certainly wouldn't play him half back as he can't not dominate in the air
    If cork even have hint playing him full back imo he's better not to start as imo nothing worse seeing great player look poor due playing out of position

Full back I said this last two years is a specialist position
    Even great Brian cocran imo wouldn't be natural full back or was great great Brian Murphy
    A full back doesn't have to be the most natural hurler , he needs man square and be aggressive and great in the air

Killan Murphy was very good most challenge and league games cork last year then dropped harshly imo yet cadogan last year due to dualism was carried imo wrongly panel due past reputation
    Cadogan had limited training and game time yet Murphy fully commitment dropped without having bad games
    He could play corner or half back

That's imo poor judgement from management

Cormac Murphy should then made match day panel v tipp but didn't yet cadogan did when Murphy outstanding challenge v wexford in KK and limerick in charville
    And cork under twenty ones and intermediate team should been on the panel
    But no cadogan made it
    Now I'm huge cadogan fan as full back football but no way imo is he hurling best cork has now

Point is some players it'd fair say got mot sane chances as others
    Cadogan, this talk imp is full back for cork is imo not true and bar man match display debut v tipp I could list many games where he was poor for cork and people seem forget the game v tipp three years ago when despite all he's aggression and athletic ability bonner maher cleaned him out
    He is not a tip class full back and while possibly better than Mcdonnell o Neill imo certainly not better than cahalane even struggling

Egan was questioned last year for commitment and focus and correctly so mid summer and had it sorted with cork management but how in name of hurling can you question commitment some when you carried three dual players and then mark Collins was added training last year after football with no hurling done cork all year at any level years

Not imo great barometer to set

I'm a huge huge fan jbm, delighted he stuck another term and cork hurling owes him so so much and as manager in 95 and 99 was brilliant and since cunningham went Dublin only best man for cork
    However there's no denying imo certain players have not got many chances yet others get game after game on panel place yet not doing it and poor judgement at times in cooper should been called up during last year league but wasn't til late
    Darren Mccarthy got a call up as a forward when in truth fine club player but never a forward and the player probably loose place cork panel over tried there
    Mccarthy feel for in club need him as forwards but goal keeper best position

John cronin was immense cork intermediate hurling last year and every cork dual team played he wears heart on sleeve, gets great season cit again
    Ist game v Laois he was brilliant in challenge so much jbm praised him yet couldn't even make subs yesterday
    If injured fair enough if not makes no sense

Overall moral is in great in cork camp and management overall have done very good so far and deserve credit however leading in to June there's stills huge concerned imo over the panel as a while and there's four players while there great club players, have shown commitment cork and passion unfortunately this is about winning senior all Ireland and like cody when dropped a real talent in carter ruthless calls must be made
    Its harsh but that elite sport
    Cody doesn't do sentiment as great ex coach KK dempsy said in Denis Walsh great book hurling revolution years many years ago
    He said cody was once not prepared make hard calls but soon changed

Jbm thankfully can be ruthless and has shown it at times, imo at times he's ruthless with wrong players and not so ruthless with others
    Great managers make calls that are harsh like gatland with driscoll and cody and Fitzmauirce with kerry
    Cork have no choice but to make hard calla for championship and I think if few dropped certainly a few no one could say they hadn't a chance
    Cian mcarthy imo I don't blame management he had plenty of games
    But others are simply not performing imo at the level required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

What worries me yesterday was the ease of Dublin's two goals. No sign of the usual dogfight that the likes of O'Neill and Maccie make that area of the pitch.

There's a lot of chopping changing in the back line recently, admittedly a lot of that is due to injury, but the whole back 6 just doesn't look settled.

Every game that goes by without him Mark Ellis looks a bigger and bigger player for us. His calming influence and use of the ball was missed badly in the first half.

The O'Sullivan loss could be huge. He would have been ideal to play as a spare man against Waterford, presuming they keep going with pulling men back. He showed consistently in 2012 what a good sweeper he is. It leaves the possible substitute bench looking very very bare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Osullivan left due to lack of game time and considering William keraney was ahead of him for most of the league I would have too if I was him. We are now carrying a full back line with a shane oneill in decline (btw confidence destroyed from being left isolated at full back against shane o donnell and callinan), cahalane who is playing terrible, Kearney very doubtful if up to standard and probably MacDonnell our best defender to fit in at 3 for the championship. That's a line that's wafer thin, can killina burke fill in at corner back? Considering we dropped killian murphy last year who imo is a decent player I think an effort should have been to retain osullivan.
    Squad wise especially in defence we have big issues. Imo on all known form we have a decent half back line especially with the excellent ellis in it but full back in particular and the 2 corner back positions remain an issue.

Figsy32 wrote: »
    What worries me yesterday was the ease of Dublin's two goals. No sign of the usual dogfight that the likes of O'Neill and Maccie make that area of the pitch.

There's a lot of chopping changing in the back line recently, admittedly a lot of that is due to injury, but the whole back 6 just doesn't look settled.

Every game that goes by without him Mark Ellis looks a bigger and bigger player for us. His calming influence and use of the ball was missed badly in the first half.

The O'Sullivan loss could be huge. He would have been ideal to play as a spare man against Waterford, presuming they keep going with pulling men back. He showed consistently in 2012 what a good sweeper he is. It leaves the possible substitute bench looking very very bare.

Against Dublin in all Ireland Semi final two years ago Mcdonnell was at fault for the goal in he never stood tall and defended like full back

Murphy v clsre twice league that year beaten for goals

O Neill numerous times can't stand tall in Galway league in Galway two years ago cleaned two goals then v clare all Ireland three then two last year v tipp

None these players stand tall in stane ground force defenders go wide but they lack presence great jj the great riche mac have

That not mean not strong players
    O Neill imo is one best back break tackle with ball and like wise is o donnell
    Bit strong going forward and defending strong manly style two different concepts

Like Denis hurley munster rugby players can run strong going forward but he can't defend as strong as centre
    Put him on the wing or full back he's fine

Worry is cork had already problems full back and imo fear created another one
    Why was kearney added with o Neill sullivan Mcdonnell and Burke there
    Sullivan quite rightly must thought the same

Teams don't win you all Irelands but panels do
    This cork panel defensive wise and carrying possibly three forwards not imo senior standard do v KK this world cork have worries if full team has any injury
    Full back this year I don't at all think management fault but for corner back and fact three forwards being kept when I can name three better forwards imo my worry going forward and while cork improved hugely and landers power training is really working the fact is being good team doesn't cut it anymore as long cody KK there only great I mean great teams win all Ireland
    So we're a good team now but four years in to plan, good for cork hurling doesn't cut it and never will in cork hurling owes the greats I mean the greats like rings lynch cococn joe deane Sean og etc to be winning all Irelands as they made cork great hurling super power once and cork must thrive for thar again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Against Dublin in all Ireland Semi final two years ago Mcdonnell was at fault for the goal in he never stood tall and defended like full back

Murphy v clsre twice league that year beaten for goals

O Neill numerous times can't stand tall in Galway league in Galway two years ago cleaned two goals then v clare all Ireland three then two last year v tipp

None these players stand tall in stane ground force defenders go wide but they lack presence great jj the great riche mac have

That not mean not strong players
    O Neill imo is one best back break tackle with ball and like wise is o donnell
    Bit strong going forward and defending strong manly style two different concepts

Like Denis hurley munster rugby players can run strong going forward but he can't defend as strong as centre
    Put him on the wing or full back he's fine

Worry is cork had already problems full back and imo fear created another one
    Why was kearney added with o Neill sullivan Mcdonnell and Burke there
    Sullivan quite rightly must thought the same

No doubt neither O'Neill or Maccie have the physical presence of those names you mentioned but they do generally bring a level of aggression to their defending that wasn't there in the Cork back line in first half on Sunday. Either way, there's no denying 2nd goal especially wasn't anywhere near good enough for the levels we need to get to.

I very much agree with the second part though. There seems to be a lack of balance on the panel in that there's several corner backs, one recognised full back and then a shortage of half backs. Maccie, Killian Burke and Aidan Walsh having to fill in there in the last couple of games does nobody any favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Conor Sull very disappointed hes gone a brilliant reader of the gane and so calm in position always reminds me of Wayne THE GREAT Sherlock ....Whats the story with Colm Spillane is he still injured ? also William Egan should be recalled has a bit of experience now ...and I wonder could Dublins Dotsy O Callaghan ring his first cousin Ballyheas Pa O Callaghan and ask him to join the Cork panel ! what a shame that talent is not playing county hurling..does anyone know if he will play county u21 this year ?

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Conor Sull very disappointed hes gone a brilliant reader of the gane and so calm in position always reminds me of Wayne THE GREAT Sherlock ....Whats the story with Colm Spillane is he still injured ? also William Egan should be recalled has a bit of experience now ...and I wonder could Dublins Dotsy O Callaghan ring his first cousin Ballyheas Pa O Callaghan and ask him to join the Cork panel ! what a shame that talent is not playing county hurling..does anyone know if he will play county u21 this year ?
    Pa doesn't want play senior inter county hurling so he's decisions at end of the day
    Doubtful if play under twenty one hurling
    Spillane has unfortunately serious injury problems and bar that was senior players imo as inter county written all over him
    Superb in the air such that played half forward intermediate last year as due injury lost yard pace but when moved centre back he was outstanding
    Only for injury imo would be cork full back and would be fine one imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭letowski

Thats dissapointing to hear about Pa O'Callaghan. Im sure his reason is fine, but I was interested to see what he can do at senior or at least u21. I remember seeing him play against Clare at minor 2 years ago, he was outstanding, looked a star. There is a spot up for grabs in the Cork ff line, pebbles probably in front now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Figsy32 wrote: »
    No doubt neither O'Neill or Maccie have the physical presence of those names you mentioned but they do generally bring a level of aggression to their defending that wasn't there in the Cork back line in first half on Sunday. Either way, there's no denying 2nd goal especially wasn't anywhere near good enough for the levels we need to get to.

I very much agree with the second part though. There seems to be a lack of balance on the panel in that there's several corner backs, one recognised full back and then a shortage of half backs. Maccie, Killian Burke and Aidan Walsh having to fill in there in the last couple of games does nobody any favours.

The panel is unbalanced as you say. Imo it's party as a consequence of years of inept management at underage level.

Any lad who had the physical strength to play these positions but was deemed too awkward or their hurling was too raw and replaced by lads with nice hurling.

We didn't have the patience or ability coaching wise with our underage teams to develop or nature these type of players.

Nothing wrong with silky skilful hurlers of course...but there has to be a balance if the balance isn't put in place down ranks then you'll end up with the shortfall we see presently imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Colm Spillane came on as a sub last night for U.C.C. ....John Cronin scored 4 points for C.I.T.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Do you have the teams Corkdouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Cork County SHC
    UCC 3-16 Cork IT 3-15
    There was a dramatic finish to the first round of the Cork SHC (Divs/Colleges) at Páirc Uí Rinn last evening as substitute Rob O’Shea struck two late points to snatch victory for UCC.

The game had been held up for almost half an hour due to an injury to Cork IT corner forward Mikey Kearney, who landed heavily. An ambulance arrived but thankfully he was well enough to be stretchered off the field, but it appeared he was suffering from concussion.

UCC snatched this win from the jaws of defeat as Cork IT were well in control from the off. They hit three goals in the first quarter, and led by seven points at half-time, but they were eventually pegged back thanks in the main to UCC full-forward DJ Foran who bagged a hat-trick of goals in the second 30 minutes.

What started out as a one-sided affair produced a thrilling finish as Cork IT came close to forcing extra time but Robbie Hanley’s effort came back off the upright to safety.

UCC had many changes from their Fitzgibbon campaign and while they didn’t start Waterford’s Tadgh Burke or Jamie Barron, and Cork’s O’Shea — all three came into the fray midway through the second-half to aid the UCC fight back.

The opening half was all Cork IT as they enjoyed lots of freedom in front of the posts.

Kearney took their first goal clinically after running in along the end line with four minutes gone on the clock. Peter Kelleher, playing at the edge of the square, netted the first of his two majors four minutes later and when he linked up with Hanley soon afterwards, Cork IT were 3-3 to 0-3 to the good with only 10 minutes played.

Tom Devine (4) and David Geary (2) were the pick of the UCC scorers in the first half while corner forward Patrick Curran was on hand to punish any fouls.

By the half they had worked their way back into contention, but they still had much to do, trailing 0-11 to 3-9.

Foran, though, gave them the perfect restart, when immediately from the throw-in he had the sliotar in the back of the net. He then collected a huge free from Padraig Prendergast in the 36th minute and finished magnificently once more.

The scoreboard now read 2-12 to 3-10. Cork IT did regroup with four unanswered points from John Cashman, Noel McNamara, John Cronin and David Collins to push their side five points clear.

However, Foran’s third goal brought UCC to within two points and when Anthony Spillane added an excellent flag, the margin was down to one, 3-14 to 3-13 with nine minutes remaining.

It was at that point that Kearney got injured. Upon the resumption, UCC registered three points on the trot from influential subs Burke and O’Shea (2). Cronin pegged one back for Cork IT but following a remarkable turnaround, it is UCC who go into round two and a meeting with Imokilly.

Scorers for UCC:

DJ Foran (3-0), T Devine (0-4), P Curran (0-3, two frees), R O’Shea (one free) and D Geary (0-2 each), T Burke, A Spillane, B O’Sullivan, P Prendergast and J O’Sullivan (0-1 each).

Scorers for CIT:

P Kelleher (2-0), M Kearney (1-1), J Cashman (0-6, three frees), J Cronin (0-4), N McNamara (0-2), D Collins and R Hanley (0-1 each).

UCC:

J Barry (Castlelyons); S Hegarty (Dungourney), S Roche (Shamrocks, Waterford), G Murphy (Newcestown); M O’Brien (Ferrybank), J Byrne (James Stephens), P Prendergast (Lismore); T Devine (Mondeligo), K Morrisson (Fermoy); DJ Foran (Portlaw), B O’Sullivan (Ballygunnar), J O’Sullivan (Ballygiblin); P Curran (Dungarvan), D Geary (Fermoy), A Spillane (Castlelyons).

Subs:

C Spillane (Castlelyons) for S Roche (16 inj), R O’Shea (Carrigaline) for B O’Sullivan, J Barron (Fourmilewater) for J O’Sullivan (both 40), T Burke for K Morrisson (45).

CIT:

G Minihane (Courcey Rovers); C Daly (Courcey Rovers), A Dennehy (Charleville), T Lawrence (Brian Dillons); A Coffey (Nenagh), S O’Donovan (Mayfield), C Hammersly (Clonoulty/Rossmore); D Collins (Abbeyside); M Russell (Aghada); J Cronin (Lisgoold), J Cashman (Lisgoold), N McNamara (Kilworth); M Kearney (Ballyduff upper), P Kelleher (Kilmichael), R Hanley (Kilmallock).

Subs:

K O’Neill (Watergrasshill) for J Cashman (48), S O’Regan (Watergrasshill) for M Kearney (53 inj), D Brosnan (Brian Dillons) for D Collins (58).

Referee:

Ken Healy (Ballymartle).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

The one thing this debate shows is that there are plenty hurlers across Cork that could stake a claim for a place on the panel at least. Certainly hitting in to the Munster championship there wont be much scope for teams to recover from giving away a twelve point lead and a lot of tightening up in defence is required. It's grand talking about us scoring goals again and running up 20 points but not much good if you are leaking scores at the other end. KK and Tipp wont show much mercy to that type of play