Senator Lorraine Higgins wants to introduce a bill to jail trolls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

I've been bullied online and would have found the suggestion that it could happen to me absurd, just a few weeks before that. I'm a grown man ffs, but when it happens to you, it's a different story. Was nothing serious and I'm thick skinned but it was quite frustrating to have it happen, especially as in my case it involved lots of bloody pointless lies being told just so others would think I was someone I was not, and they did, rather easily as it goes, which was quite surprising. Had I not been thick skinned, and was the type to let it really get to me, do I feel people should be made to take responsibility for that? I don't know tbh.

I seen some of the crap that was sent to Robin Williams daughter the week he died and for sure, had she harmed herself in response, then yes I do think those people should be held accountable as they set out to torment her. The Megan Meier case is another example why trolling / bullying should have consequences for those behind it.

It all comes down to intention I guess and if you're only trolling for lolz, then fine, but if you're trolling to deliberately cause distress and that distress leads to someone harming themselves, then without doubt such cowards need to be dealt with in some manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Bad idea. Irishh Bob/Chemical Burn/Scanlas would never again see the light of day again.Troll on lads,troll on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Trolls we got you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

whether she's looking for publicity or not ...........she does have a point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Well it's trolls she's focused on rather than "shinnerbots".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I've been on the receiving end of some of the hateful and spiteful abuse dished out by angry Internet trolls. I started a blog a number of months back, more as an outlet for my own thoughts more than anything. Comments have been left that range from the usual calling me a knob or a dickhead, to other far more sinister ones threatening to stab me, burn down my apartment, cut the brake cables in my BMW, destroy my life etc.
    Can't understand the mentality of someone who would be that angry and frustrated with their own short-comings that they need to resort to that type of behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

"We met with the member of the gardai who talked us through various vulnerability around the house, who suggested we should up our security in the run up in the next general election."

Oh right, now it all makes sense ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I've been on the receiving end of some of the hateful and spiteful abuse dished out by angry Internet trolls. I started a blog a number of months back, more as an outlet for my own thoughts more than anything. Comments have been left that range from the usual calling me a knob or a dickhead, to other far more sinister ones threatening to stab me, burn down my apartment, cut the brake cables in my BMW, destroy my life etc.
    Can't understand the mentality of someone who would be that angry and frustrated with their own short-comings that they need to resort to that type of behaviour.

You just couldn't say "car", could ya. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Get rid of internet anonymity and make people stand by what vitriol they post online. See how tough they are then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Get rid of internet anonymity and make people stand by what vitriol they post online. See how tough they are then.

Ok AndonHandon....

If that is your real name. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

A while back on twitter, I said something negative but truthful about Sinn Fein, it was the time of the SF ard fheis, Senator Lorraine Higgins responded to agree.
    It ended up with me having to defend Ms Higgins as she was getting some horrible stuff said to her, for shock/horror not being a fan of SF and having the cheek to agree with me about the politics of SF.
    She was getting abuse for being a senator as if she had somehow illegally became a senator, rather than through constitutional means. Just some real nasty putdowns, which were simply not fair as it was just to attack her rather than argue the points of SF politics and policies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

what defines a troll? someone could say something of which one person finds no problem with and another person does

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Ok AndonHandon....

If that is your real name. :cool:

Well it's obviously not even close to my real name but I'm hardly going to post my real name when there are ghouls hiding behind the veil of anonymity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭thomur

Fair play. Send them to Van Diemans land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

Under the proposed bill, called the Harmful and Malicious Electronic Communications Bill 2015, it will also be an offence simply to send "explicit content" to another person.

This is the part that I find the most worrying. Doesn't it seem like it's going to bring in a kind of weird reversal of revenge porn? Someone breaks it off with you, and instead of posting their nude pics to the internet, you take their nude pics to the police and complain they've been harassing you?

This will have to be phrased very, very tightly to preclude massive abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Roquentin wrote: »
    what defines a troll?
    Their intention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

She escaped the dreariness of Galway and now works on the cutting edge of lawmaking.

osarusan wrote: »
    She escaped the dreariness of Galway and now works on the cutting edge of lawmaking.
    Galway dreary ??????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Well this is kinda my point, I mean you could tell a colleague at work they're a useless waste or space (for example), and this person could end up harming themselves over such comments.

Should you be Jailed or fined, even if such comments were an inconvenient truth?
    Depending on the context and the frequency of such an exchange, the person making such statements could be guilty of a criminal offence under s.10 of the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Act, 1997; or the person making such statements may be liable to pay damages in respect of an intentional infliction of emotional distress; or the employer may be found vicariously liable in negligence or under statute (Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005).

The difference with the internet is manifold. On the internet, it is more difficult to prove persistence, since an abuser or bully may assume new aliases every time s/he is blocked from contacting the victim.

And internet bullying has a more sinister character given the relative anonymity of the internet.

And, social norms in the workplace usually act as a constraint on personal abuse in face-to-face situations, whereas internet users may feel emboldened by the private, indirect nature of their bullying words or threats.

I personally am strongly of the opinion that legislation should be drafted to update the Irish law on harassment, in light of developments in online communication since 1997, when the law on harassment had its last major update.
    Digital Rights Ireland are very much of the view that existing legislation covers harassment and bullying.
    DRI is a quasi-libertarian organisation that opposes any and each legislative reform which curbs the liberty of the internet. Sometimes they fight admirable causes, sometimes less admirable and less worthy. I would put their contribution on this occasion into the latter category.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

Their intention.

everything that anyone says is open to interpretation, thats what i am trying to say.

if you could give examples (would be beneficial)

for instance, the woman who commit suicide over being outed on sky television over "trolling" madeline mccanns parents. Now sky deemed that she was trolling, but then a psychologist who was an authority on these matters said she wasnt.

how does one decide "Thats trolling." "thats not trolling"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

An unelected nonsense peddler. She'd excel as an Islamic militant.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

I don't know, we could end up where not-that-harmful posts or jokes on twitter end up with people jailed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm all for it, as long as I get to decide what is trolling and not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I for one commend this Senator in her attempt to clean up the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Roquentin wrote: »
    everything that anyone says is open to interpretation, thats what i am trying to say.
    There's no need to reinvent the wheel. Every working day, the courts and jurors are invited to infer intention, recklessness and negligence (inadvertence) as a means to establishing the guilt or innocence of accused persons.

A statutory provision which requires proof of intention or recklessness (beyond reasonable doubt) is the most typically-prescribed standard at criminal law.

Someone above has raised the possibility of harmless jokes leading to imprisonment. Do people really believe the courts are that mechanical in their approach? You could advance the same scaremongering in respect of the statutory law on harassment as it stands, given the broad scope of the language used in that section.

Instead, that law has been applied in a common-sense manner, having regard to the values of the community, and there is absolutely no reason to believe that the courts would suddenly adapt an oppressive stance in relation to online harassment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

It seems these sort of bills seem to be coming from government politicians. I don't think there's anybody in the opposition postulating any sort of internet regulation bill.

biko wrote: »
    I'm all for it, as long as I get to decide what is trolling and not.
    .....like you do currently? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

bluewolf wrote: »
    I don't know, we could end up where not-that-harmful posts or jokes on twitter end up with people jailed
    Precisely. The UK has gotten very bad for this over the last few years. It's not illegal to be a dick but it is illegal to harrass someone, threaten someone, etc. That is covered by existing legislation but not enforced well.