Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Senator Lorraine Higgins wants to introduce a bill to jail trolls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Muahahaha wrote: »
    She is now saying that she received two death threats, one involving a machine gun and the other calling her a dirty jew. She went and reported it to the Gardai today but not without first asking the media to come along to film/photograph her going into the Garda station, it was just on the Six One news now.

Why is it always the Jews?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Jew? Wut?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Schadenfreudia

She doesn't have a very Jewish name! But her internet proposal is nearly enough to stir one to sending some.......unpleasant comments.

Is there a Senate election coming up or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

She is a major attention seeker. The only purpose of her bill is to try and stay relevant having failed to get elected time and time again. As for these latest claims, well I'd be very sceptical to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,568 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I think she is right but human nature being what it is I am very certain she is doing herself no favors with how high profile she is making this in the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Jew? Wut?

As in, they get blamed for everything, no matter what the issue is, someone always shouts or writes 'blames the Jews', its like some sort of default action or something.

But she isn't Jewish (I assume) - it's as daft as calling her a "******".

***That was the N-word I was trying to post!****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

She is now saying that she received two death threats, one involving a machine gun and the other calling her a dirty jew. She went and reported it to the Gardai today but not without first asking the media to come along to film/photograph her going into the Garda station, it was just on the Six One news now.

And she's perfectly entitled to take those to the Gardai.

Death threats are illegal. The other comment could certainly constitute harassment or something.

All she's doing is proving that her bill isn't necessary as the Gardai will take that kind of threat seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

SpaceTime wrote: »

All she's doing is proving that her bill isn't necessary as the Gardai will take that kind of threat seriously.

All she's doing is acting like a Catholic cleric from the 1950s crossed with a German politician from the 1930s. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

She made a complaint to Pearse Street garda station.....and brought a camera crew with her and her soap box.

Pathetic publicity stunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Whats her problem with Jews? Why doesn't she want to be one? Is she an anti-semite?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Buzz Meeks

Satriale wrote: »
    .. Jews? Why doesn't she want to be one?

Because there are some Nazis trying to kill her at the moment.

She may try to pass herself off as a catholic, gaelic, failed politician, dim wit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

But she isn't Jewish (I assume) - it's as daft as calling her a "******".

***That was the N-word I was trying to post!****

I think some eejit confused her with yer one Bacik in their dim little head. She's labour, a senator and Jewish.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭Panic E

She is now saying that she received two death threats, one involving a machine gun and the other calling her a dirty jew.

I bet it was this guy. I think she misheard him, he meant to call her a dirty ewe.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Ok.. lets summarize.
    • She's trying to do something about online abuse that incites teenagers, in particular, to take their own lives.
    • For her views on harmful internet messages, she's rounded upon & threatened.
    • She goes to AGS to report the threats
    • A group of boards.ie posters stuck in a lifelong state of puberty hate her for this

It's a pretty f*cked up mentality that responds to Higgins' experience in that way, but I'm fairly sure it's a minority. I think most people accept that the problem of online bullying and related suicides is not a fabrication, nor can it be ignored. Fair play to her for trying to do something productive with her life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Oh what a shock, a person wanting to ban ahem "trolls" gets trolled. Prey tell where does one buy a machine gun in Ireland ? And can a racial slur against a different group cause harm to a person not in it ? That's like calling me a Jew, I am not Jewish is it bad taste yes. But it's hardly a threat or a slur to me.

conorh91 wrote: »
    Ok.. lets summarize.
    • She's trying to do something about online abuse that incites teenagers, in particular, to take their own lives.
    • A group of boards.ie posters stuck in a lifelong state of puberty hate her for this

It's a pretty f*cked up mentality that responds to Higgins' experience in that way, but I'm fairly sure it's a minority. I think most people accept that the problem of online bullying and related suicides is not a fabrication, nor can it be ignored. Fair play to her for trying to do something productive with her life.

We have laws already, what are more laws that favour politicians going to do with enforcement of laws already not used correctly ? If one is a politician and cannot take abuse i would suggest not being a politican.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

...A group of boards.ie posters stuck in a lifelong state of puberty...
    It is useful to be reminded of this characteristic of much of the AH community. Otherwise, one might despair of humanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Ok.. lets summarize.

The irony........

https://twitter.com/LorHiggins/status/464142587876888576/photo/1

• Registered Users Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Ok.. lets summarize.

Here's an idea - use existing legislation surrounding harassment (and possibly incitement to hatred or at least violence) and apply it to the Internet. For the record, I'm also abhorred by cyber-bullying and I'm not one of those sort of people who just dismiss the concerns of victims because they didn't have thick enough skin. And here's the thing - she's reported the threats she's received to the Gardaí - the same people she apparently thinks don't have the power to tackle abusive scumbags on the Internet.

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

She just trying to keep her profile in the news...no such thing as bad press

We have laws already, what are more laws that favour politicians going to do with enforcement of laws already not used correctly ? If one is a politician and cannot take abuse i would suggest not being a politican.
    We have laws already, yes. This Bill is different in a number of material respects, in particular it corrects a shortcoming in the present law which requires that harassment be 'persistent' in nature. That provision was drafted prior to 'sharing', or retweeting where one person (or a duplicate) can share one harmful (inciting suicide) message 1,000 times and nobody is guilty of harassment.

She is trying to correct a shortcoming in the law in a way that might make inroads against online bullying.

The Harmful and Malicious Electronic Communications Bill doesn't go any further than the present law on harassment in any substantive way; it's most important provision is to update the law on harassment to take account of modern internet activity.

The 1997 law hasn't had its wording on harassment changed since 1997. The world has changed enormously in those 18 years.

We have laws already, yes. This Bill is different in a number of material respects, in particular it corrects a shortcoming in the present law which requires that harassment be 'persistent' in nature. That provision was drafted prior to 'sharing', or retweeting where one person (or a duplicate) can share one harmful (inciting suicide) message 1,000 times and nobody is guilty of harassment.

She is trying to correct a shortcoming in the law in a way that might make inroads against online bullying.

The Harmful and Malicious Electronic Communications Bill doesn't go any further than the present law on harassment in any substantive way; it's most important provision is to update the law on harassment to take account of modern internet activity.

The 1997 law hasn't had its wording on harassment changed since 1997. The world has changed enormously in those 18 years.

That gave me a very very good laugh. I would wager a china style internet is the agenda. Ireland got rid of the churches influence only to start taking others just as bad in it's stead. Unless you are on anonymous sites you can report posts here, on FB on Twitter everywhere. This is sinister legislation. Remember they wanted to put you on a list to watch porn.

Here's an idea - use existing legislation surrounding harassment (and possibly incitement to hatred or at least violence) and apply it to the Internet.
    That wouldn't amend the situation with persistence. It would simply re-emphasize that persistent internet harassment is a crime, doing nothing about problems like Facebook sharing and retweeting messages that incite a person to self-harm 1000times, by (supposedly) different individuals.
    she's reported the threats she's received to the Gardaí - the same people she apparently thinks don't have the power to tackle abusive scumbags on the Internet.
    She's making them aware of one person's abusive messages and his IP address, I assume. If nothing else, she needs to do this to establish persistence in the event that he does the same thing again and again.
    Remember they wanted to put you on a list to watch porn.
    I can think of nothing that would do greater damage to the quality of life of many people in this thread….

That wouldn't amend the situation with persistence. It would simply re-emphasize that persistent internet harassment is a crime, doing nothing about problems like Facebook sharing and retweeting messages that incite a person to self-harm 1000times, by (supposedly) different individuals.

She's making them aware of one person's abusive messages and his IP address, I assume. If nothing else, she needs to do this to establish persistence in the event that he does the same thing again and again.

I can think of nothing that would do greater damage to the quality of life of many people in this thread….

Nope I would wager it's to get the Garda to investigate they do and don't proceed with arrests. Then she goes back to the hill and shouts about Garda doing nothing and furthers her cause. With chants of “Think of the children”

How does she propose dealing with sites outside Ireland ? Ban them ?

I would wager a china style internet is the agenda.
    I would wager it's to get the Garda to investigate they do and don't proceed with arrests. Then she goes back to the hill and shouts about Garda doing nothing and furthers her cause.
    Anytime you say "I would wager…" it seems to be a baseless conspiracy theory.

There is an important lacuna in the law which this attempts to fill. It doesn't spread the span of harassment any further than to allow for phenomena like retweeting and Facebook sharing to be included on the same basis as the original Act of 1997
    How does she propose dealing with sites outside Ireland ? Ban them ?
    Liability accrues to the individual, not to the conduit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Ok.. lets summarize.
    • Then tweets about it.
    • Then goes to the newspapers about it.
    • Then goes on a few radio stations about it.
    • She then goes to AGS to report the threats

Fyp.

Lorraine has her priorities all ballsed up.

Anytime you say "I would wager…" it seems to be a baseless conspiracy theory.

There is an important lacuna in the law which this attempts to fill. It doesn't spread the span of harassment any further than to allow for phenomena like retweeting and Facebook sharing to be included on the same basis as the original Act of 1997

Liability accrues to the individual, not to the conduit.

Name a site you cannot report abusive activity that's not anonymous ?