If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Not looking forward to mine. Mrs D is a learner currently. :(
    I added her in the middle of the current policy and that was not cheap! :eek:

How much before the renewal do you lot start looking? For me it's usually when I get the notification but that'll be too late this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

YbFocus wrote: »
    Got the insurance renewal..

€598 which is down slightly, against the current trend. Something tells me i won't get it cheaper!

Who is that with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I'm looking forward to mine.

One more payment to make, 3 months free and then I'll see what it will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

YbFocus wrote: »
    Got the insurance renewal..

€598 which is down slightly, against the current trend. Something tells me i won't get it cheaper!

Mine came yesterday morning... 1322 FFS :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Mine came yesterday morning... 1322 FFS :(

On what car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

GvidoR wrote: »

On what car?

I bought a z4 a few weeks back. Half the companies I've rang won't go near it! Nearly 3 times the cost to insure the cooper s I have!!

Barely even had a chance to drive it cause I've had to have surgery on my back so I can't even get into it :(
    All in all its been a disaster :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I bought a z4 a few weeks back. Half the companies I've rang won't go near it! Nearly 3 times the cost to insure the cooper s I have!!

Barely even had a chance to drive it cause I've had to have surgery on my back so I can't even get into it :(
    All in all its been a disaster :P
    Could be worse, z4 could have developed a taste for venison...

On reflection it looks like that story was probably not a z4, or a deer. Random bmw and a fox maybe. oh well.

beep beep beep reverse reverse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Could be worse, z4 could have developed a taste for venison...

A bit deer, like?? :D

<Gets coat and shuffles embarrassedly towards the door...>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Who is that with?

Axa man, thought it very good.
    That's going from the astra to the 323 mid policy too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

That you there inside this yoke dgt? Ah would ya look, an oul pug and all!!

Needs clapped out blue 406 version:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Just seen this ad for the nirsoc regional day. It would be interesting to head along to but bit of a road trip.

4416D6AB-17EB-4046-85CD-2217B2ABE305_zpskwsufyoa.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Just an hour and a wee bit up the motorway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Airside Ford have a show on too on April 26th thinking Ill head up for a look. RS Owners club Ireland are running it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭CianDon

Quick one for ye, I rang looking for an NCT date on the Beemer at the end of Jan and spent so long waiting not being able to drive the yoke without test that I gave up on it and sold her. I got a text today saying Ive finally received a date for the end of April. If I rocked up in my new car could this be tested on the date of my appointment???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

CianDon wrote:
    Quick one for ye, I rang looking for an NCT date on the Beemer at the end of Jan and spent so long waiting not being able to drive the yoke without test that I gave up on it and sold her. I got a text today saying Ive finally received a date for the end of April. If I rocked up in my new car could this be tested on the date of my appointment???

No. Would need a new appointment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Airside Ford have a show on too on April 26th thinking Ill head up for a look. RS Owners club Ireland are running it.

Where is this on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Where is this on ?

Airside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Interslice wrote: »
    Played unihoc in P.E. Remember mostly being told you can't do that, or that.... or that... and out with that went any interest in the hockey. Hurlin just don't pick the ball of the ground and anything goes!Free sports! None of that rules bollix!

Have you ever played hurling with Dubs though....they haven't a clue :P

....says the guy from Dublin

Second time breaking my nose was playing hurling in school, no lid on, smack, hurl right in the face. It's great craic but has nothing on golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Where is this on ?
    Its on in Airside Ford place in dublin out by the airport somewhere!
    https://www.facebook.com/448403210033/photos/a.10151463510855034.839446.448403210033/10155380819430034/?type=1&theater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭ofcork

Anyone recommend a place in Cork that'd do an Aircon inspection/gas, mine whines like it's trying to pump when I pop it on since I got the car so I'm hoping it just needs a gassing.

Maybe fast fit in togher always found them good to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

What kinda quotes were you getting with the Cooper S? Id love to get one but I cannot get any quotes online. 123.ie said I need more of a driving history - yet theyve no problem giving me a quote for a 1.9tdi Passat or even the 2.0! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

What kinda quotes were you getting with the Cooper S? Id love to get one but I cannot get any quotes online. 123.ie said I need more of a driving history - yet theyve no problem giving me a quote for a 1.9tdi Passat or even the 2.0! :confused:

Infairness I wouldn't think that many insurance companies would quote you on a supercharged mini when you only passed your test a month ago and are young I assume, they are a very quick car and insurance companies know it. A very different beast to a 1.9tdi passat.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Infairness I wouldn't think that many insurance companies would quote you on a supercharged mini when you only passed your test a month ago and are young I assume, they are a very quick car and insurance companies know it. A very different beast to a 1.9tdi passat.

Yeah I only have 1 years experience as a named driver so my quotes are still reasonably high..
    Very upset that I probably wont get insured on one, but I am going to a garage this weekend to have a look at a few Passats, Golfs, A3's & A4's so hopefully I'll find something there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

yeah I didn't realise age/driving experience when you asked first mhackett102. Can't see it happening lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Dartz

Insurance from 1500, down to 1000. Nice....... Still with only 2yrs NCB on it too.

Yeah being 18 is kinda ****e regarding insurance. Guess I'll just have to go with it anyhow. At least I have my full licence and 1 years experience done as a named driver so it does help :)

OSI wrote: »
    Jaysus, you're 18 and trying to get insurance on a Cooper S with a fresh license and no NCB?

Yes it does sound crazy now. Thought I would be able as I had no problem getting insurance on the likes of Audis, Volkswagens, BMWs etc. all with big engines. Guess I'll just have to wait a bit longer :D

You could always just get a standard cooper surly your first car doesn't have to be the supercharged version. I mean if your looking at 1.9tdi cars I don't see what the issue would be with a normal cooper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

You could always just get a standard cooper surly your first car doesn't have to be the supercharged version. I mean if your looking at 1.9tdi cars I don't see what the issue would be with a normal cooper.

He wants a real engine :pac:

Try FBD mhackett, they're usually good for young drivers.

Yes it does sound crazy now. Thought I would be able as I had no problem getting insurance on the likes of Audis, Volkswagens, BMWs etc. all with big engines. Guess I'll just have to wait a bit longer :D

But a 1.9tdi golf vs a cooper s I mean to say the cooper would walk all over the golf they are not even in the same league tbh I don't think you realise how quick they are if your comparing them to standard diesels.