If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

That's cool. I hope mine is the same.

I'm with liberty, swapped my insurance over to the 900 for the next month, told them the car was in the garage, yep grand no bother! was the reply

I wonder would FBD be the same? Haven't had to do a temp transfer in years.

Anyone remember Quinn insurance? The Ryanair of insurance companies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

GvidoR wrote: »
    That's cool. I hope mine is the same.
    I wonder would FBD be the same? Haven't had to do a temp transfer in years.

Anyone remember Quinn insurance? The Ryanair of insurance companies

No harm in asking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Some companies won't charge, other's will, think FBD is one that could charge. Someone got charged 30 yoyo not long back for a temp transfer. Some companies may give a cheaper quote, but will ride you when it comes to admin charges, and vice versa.

No harm in asking!

I must actually have a proper read of my documents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I must actually have a proper read of my documents.

I done that while i was broke down the other day :pac: I actually have a heap of benefits I didnt even know i had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭RobTheLad

yeah, I only ask, as I need to leave the car in to get some stuff done on it, and from speaking to a mate who is with 123, they charged him €40 for a temp change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Never got charged with 123, mind you that was two years ago.

RobTheLad wrote: »
    yeah, I only ask, as I need to leave the car in to get some stuff done on it, and from speaking to a mate who is with 123, they charged him €40 for a temp change

That's pricey. I get charged €25 for permanent change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Admin fees - that's what they put it down as. It's not for the actual difference in risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

166man wrote: »
    They are a fantastic drive if a little unrefined. Harsh enough suspension but the supercharger whine is addictive.

Insurance is tough to get on them and they do have their fair share of problems.

Ah for a bmw they don't have too many parts designed to fail. Powersteering pump and window motors are designed to fail for sure.

Harsh suspension for sure, the NA cooper on 15s is harsh enough on irish roads. Run flats best avoided. Cornering with the bigger wheels is impressive.

Mhackett - Cooper S has same brakes as 80hp Mini One... would be my first upgrade! Supercharger pulley and a remap will get 210ish horsies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

davycc wrote: »
    same here haunted or not:D

shame the one on dungdeal needs so much work and vrt

Yeah. If it would be around a grand, I would just throw my money at his face and take the car, then throw keys at my buddy and get him vrt, nct and other bits sorted until its at least properly legal to drive on irish roads. Then fun would begin. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

What do ye think of the Mini Cooper S?
    I've always had a soft spot for them and now THIS one has appeared online for sale.
    If I get a reasonable insurance quote, then I think I may be in the market to buy one.
    If you can strech to the 07 r56 then I would definitely recommend going for it. I'll do you a good deal on one ;)
    The r56 is significantly better on fuel, being a turbo. It's far note reliable as a daily driver and more comfortable.

I'm selling mine after nearly 3 years of owning it, I couldn't recommend the car enough. They are an absolute scream to drive, great power, never runs out of grip and has breaks that will tear your face off ha! Everyone should own one!!

My r56 wasn't particularly difficult to insure by the way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

To those swapping over insurance temporarily, be aware you might be limited on the amount of times you can swap. I was doing the same last year when I got my 320, swapping between that and my old 106. It was free each time but you're only allowed to do it 5 times per year with Aviva. If you think you'll be doing this often, find out if your insurance has a limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Another contender for chinese tyres has started to appear.... Tyres from belarus! >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Ah for a bmw they don't have too many parts designed to fail. Powersteering pump and window motors are designed to fail for sure.

Harsh suspension for sure, the NA cooper on 15s is harsh enough on irish roads. Run flats best avoided. Cornering with the bigger wheels is impressive.

Mhackett - Cooper S has same brakes as 80hp Mini One... would be my first upgrade! Supercharger pulley and a remap will get 210ish horsies.

Im finding it hard to get a quote online - Liberty, FBD and Chill wouldnt give me one for some reason.

I was gone all day today so I think I might give my current insurer (FBD) a call sometime tomorrow. I was also in contact with the owner of the Mini and its still for sale :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Im finding it hard to get a quote online - Liberty, FBD and Chill wouldnt give me one for some reason.

I was gone all day today so I think I might give my current insurer (FBD) a call sometime tomorrow. I was also in contact with the owner of the Mini and its still for sale :D
    Try 123.ie and 25plus. They appear to have sensible t&cs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

OSI wrote: »
    Beat ya to it:

586512069.jpg

a2658634-235-explosion.gif?d=1248481345

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

OSI wrote: »
    Funnily enough, I'm convinced it has a vacuum leak.

Yep but does it still start :pac:

131k km on mine. I'm kind of bracing myself with mine as so far literally nothing only service parts have been changed and even at that your only talking brake pads, filters, wipers that's it touch wood it will stay like that but I'm under no allusions it's an 8 year old car after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Anyone recommend a place in Cork that'd do an Aircon inspection/gas, mine whines like it's trying to pump when I pop it on since I got the car so I'm hoping it just needs a gassing.

It's so quiet down in the hockey forum. :(

I wish more people in Ireland would be interested in this awesome sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Maybe take up hurling instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Tried hocky once, then realised I had a penis.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Tried hocky once, then realised I had a penis.

I think you tried out for the wrong type of hockey... the field kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Hey GvidoR do you have pick a fight with an opposing player in every game or is that just for the tv?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

GvidoR wrote: »
    I think you tried out for the wrong type of hockey... the field kind.

Yeah, I'm only messing, man. :p
    There's **** all other hockey played here is all.

Have you braces hurling yet? It's basically the same sport with grass and less pads. :D

Hey GvidoR do you have pick a fight with an opposing player in every game or is that just for the tv?

Fights happen often enough in ice hockey, especially in the NHL league where the referees don't break the players apart until one goes down or it goes on for too long because that's a part of what the people come to see. A lot of teams would have a 'goon' - player who is not necessarily good at scoring but can be aggressive and intimidate other players, throwing off their game.

In other leagues the rules can be more strict and fights would be broken up very quickly.
    CianRyan wrote: »
    Have you braces hurling yet? It's basically the same sport with grass and less pads. :D

Oh no, man. Ice and inline hockey are not basically the same sport as hurling. Very far from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Played unihoc in P.E. Remember mostly being told you can't do that, or that.... or that... and out with that went any interest in the hockey. Hurlin just don't pick the ball of the ground and anything goes!Free sports! None of that rules bollix!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

That you there inside this yoke dgt? Ah would ya look, an oul pug and all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Got the insurance renewal..

€598 which is down slightly, against the current trend. Something tells me i won't get it cheaper!