Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Home of the Year RTE 1 - 8.30pm Tuesdays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I'd love a mews house meself :pac:

I agree the couch is a bit bland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Helen: Sheepskin

Hugh: Sheepskin!!!

Hugh's Eyes: :eek::eek::eek:

Lol the big discussion over SHEEPSKIN (as said by Hugh :D)

Helen: Sheepskin

Hugh: Sheepskin!!!

Hugh's Eyes: :eek::eek::eek:

Ha ha ha ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

"This is the kitchen area"

Love bedroom

They are going to rate this one high, they are all loving it aside from the discussion over SHEEPSKIN(!!!)

Def winner

It's all very white

Won't beat last week

Last one has to be the winner

Time for Helen to do her good sums again

honeybear wrote: »
    Won't beat last week

Really liked last week's winner.

Well picked

I LOVE CONVERTED CHURCHES!!!!!!!

CANNOT WAIT FOR NEXT WEEK I LOVE CONVERTED CHURCHES!

Hugh is my favourite presenter. Declan a second but think he has bigger budget ideas.

honeybear wrote: »
    Hugh is my favourite presenter. Declan a second but think he has bigger budget ideas.

I like the two of them as well. Something about Helen I am not warming to.

Hugh and Declan are very natural I think. And a bit of craic :)

amdublin wrote: »
    Time for Helen to do her good sums again

Maths is really her thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,429 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Interesting that Dublin gets a programme where the houses are entirely self designed by a sculptor, an interior designed and an architect respectively. Hmmmm, representative of good houses or a discreet shill for their businesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,429 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

It's not the simple arithmetic which interests me so much as her beautifully crafted number 2s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,530 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Catching up late again.

Helen's accent is really, really starting to annoy me.

House no. 1 - SO MUCH STUFF! :eek: I'd get serious claustrophobia living there. Love what they did structurally to the house, but they'll have a serious wake-up call when that baby starts moving around by himself!

House no. 2 reminds me of a creche with all the colour blocks. Is it in Stoneybatter? Love that pannelled mirror in the back room. The bedroom is giving me a headache just looking at it!

House no. 3 looks like a whole lot of plywood on the ground floor (I'm sure it's not!). Dunno about small open-plan living for an entire family - you'd all want to love each other! I think there's an awful lot to be said for doors and walls (moveable ones by all means). What's that sign hanging from the ceiling say? Hate the mirror that they all love! But I LOVE that bedroom - looking over rooftops is second only to looking out over the sea or a river for me.

Really, really wish they'd tell us where the houses are.

There's one that keeps popping up in the promos that looks like a 1970's psychedelic trip - cannot wait to see that one :eek:

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

There's one that keeps popping up in the promos that looks like a 1970's psychedelic trip - cannot wait to see that one :eek:

I'd love to know where the houses are.

I can't wait for the 1970's house - I've heard of a house like it in Lucan, wonder if it is that one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,530 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Marcusm wrote: »
    It's not the simple arithmetic which interests me so much as her beautifully crafted number 2s.
    Beaten to it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

The Dublin houses have way more imagination, the country houses have way more space. I think I want the two !

recipio wrote: »
    The Dublin houses have way more imagination, the country houses have way more space. I think I want the two !

Big house, more cleaning :) I'd take the Dublin houses every time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

My next house will be all steel and concrete. Any ideas for 'low maintenance ' ?

Declan is your man for that!

http://www.odkmarchitects.com/

open plan so you can use a Roomba (and put a cat on it)

Always the country for me

Repeat is on now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Just caught up with it on the RTE player

Thought considering that its home of the year that we might have seen better standards tbh.

Some of the passive houses ive read about (yes I know the 2nd one in the west cork programme was passive) - would destroy most of these houses imo.

It remind me of an all Ireland hurling championship without Kilkenny tbh.

The Tipperary cottage was nice imo - and so was Eva and Geralds house last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Hopefully the standards of the homes will improve.

Yes I know that sounds VERY picky - but as Helen says at one point when being critical of something or other "this is home of the year"

The majority of the houses WERE very nice - but I don't think most of them are doing justice to home of the year - if we are thinking the best home should win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭kevin700

Right! Who is looking forward to this for the next 8 weeks?!
    On tonight's programme, a converted church in the West of ireland - should be interesting

kevin700 wrote: »
    On tonight's programme, a converted church in the West of ireland - should be interesting

I do love converted churches.

I wonder is it the one that was in Grand Designs?? Or are they all "newly done" houses? (Because that one was a few years ago)

Can't wait to see the psychedelic house!!

Here we go. Who's around?

I love this house. Couldn't live here. But love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,061 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Not liking this.

It's a style that doesn't sit well with me at all.
    It seems even his wife doesn't even like it.

I like her plain room :o

I knew Helen was going to say "Wow as she went in the door

A hoot! That's the word to describe it!

I love this house. Couldn't live here. But love it.

Yes I love it too. And I admire people who can live like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,061 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

"executed to pure perfection"

The kitchen doors are all off square and wonky looking. None of the doors are hung correctly :confused:

This is a nice room

That's clever the way they covered the modern appliances

It's like the Brady Bunch house on acid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

That's some house! I like the structure of the extension