Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

The BBC is the greatest broadcaster on earth, with world class radio and television programming. Are you having a ****ing laugh?

I agree but there's not enough exploding caravans for some tastes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

But Richard Hammond probably has to think a bit more whether he wants to go with them.

Plus, he's adept at sucking up, so will adapt better than May.

May is an extremely refined person. It takes a different kind of intelligence to find him interesting

Sorry but that's a laughable thing to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

With Clarkson and May gone I can't see Top Gear continuing in its current format. The show had gotten worse after the last few years anyway, it'll be interesting to see what Hammond does. I hope he goes with them and the three of them start another car/light entertainment show on another channel. It's a huge loss to the BBC either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,036 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Its amazing how some people know so much about people they quite obviously dislike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

He's quite right. Mr. May has a deceptively understated refinement and intellect that unfortunately goes right over the heads of run-of-the-mill oiks. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 Titus Andronicus

‏at RichardHammond

Gutted at such a sad end to an era.
    We're all three of us idiots in our different ways but it's been an incredible ride together.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,384 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

But its not aimed as kids is it? if you let them watch it knowing what the content is likely to be then you cant then complain about that content can you?

Why would I complain about it? If there was an issue with it, I'd explain it to him. Much easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,555 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Its amazing how some people know so much about people they quite obviously dislike.

Even more amazing the amount of people who follow three middle aged men acting out fantasys and generally indulging in laddish behViour that would not be tolerated in most towns and villages around the country.

Why would I complain about it? If there was an issue with it, I'd explain it to him. Much easier.

You dont complain about it but others seem to. I somehow cant ever imagine Clarkson being a role model for kids. Nor would he ever want to be.
    BeerWolf wrote: »
    And I'd imagine you applaud and/or approve to that behaviour then? Great role model for the countless kids that also watched Top Gear...! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Great how fans of him completely overlook what an abusive twat he is, and have been, for a bloody long time. Funnier still that he's pretty racist towards the Irish... never mind the countless incidences towards blacks.

Self entitled prick that got fame so far up his arse and seeping out the ears, I say good riddance... let there be new presenters should Top Gear carry on.

Clarkson is not even close to the person you describe here. Sure, he has said some things which people might find offensive but that generally has said more about those people than it ever has about Clarkson, as there is never any venom in anything that he has said.

He mumbles the eeny meeny miney mo nursery rhyme while focused on making a decision, people claim he must be a racist. He exaggerates the opposite of a positive comment he has just made about strikers, to poke fun at the BBC's efforts at remaining impartial, and this goes completely over all the heads of the professionally offended and gets taken literally, convincing themselves that Clarkson wants strikers executed in front of their families.

Whatever Jeremy said to Oisin with regards to being Irish, I couldn't give a monkey's, for the simple reason that he has never ever come across as being anything other than a harmless bafoon at worst anytime that I have seen him interviewed. Even people that have fallen out with him say as much. Another thing that makes me like the guy is that he can take it as well as dish it out and often has done. Seems to me that people just want to believe that Clarkson is a mean spirited racist with little or nothing to justify having such an opinion.

At the end of the day Clarkson & Co will be the winners and what he did by selling the Top Gear rights to the BBC will ultimately be seen as a masterstroke as what I think they are underestimating is just how much that show's popularity was in fact down to Clarkson himself, as I would strongly suspect that whatever format he comes up with next, with no doubt the other two alongside him, on whichever network that happens to be, it will draw higher viewer ratings than any future host will garner with a new version of Top Gear. Time will tell obviously, but whatever he does next I'll be tuning in, that's for sure and I doubt I'll be alone.

Even more amazing the amount of people who follow three middle aged men acting out fantasys and generally indulging in laddish behViour that would not be tolerated in most towns and villages around the country.

Its entertainment. You either like it or you dont. If you dont then dont watch it. Its very simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

75+ now.

You mean I have more posts in a long thread than I did when it was new two weeks ago?

WHAT WITCHCRAFT IS THIS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I am something of a comedian :)

Anyway, it looks like May is joining Clarkson. I don't know about Hammond. He's great to watch but strikes me more calculating. More likely to focus on what he stands to gain/lose. And as someone who'd throw someone under a bus quicker than he'd stand with them.

Be nice if he does the latter though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,384 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You dont complain about it but others seem to. I somehow cant ever imagine Clarkson being a role model for kids. Nor would he ever want to be.

Just because Clarkson was involved as a presenter of a show my kid finds entertaining doesn't make Clarkson a Role Model or a potential one for that matter. Why would it? People put way too much focus on media at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,804 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

ricero wrote: »
    Hopefully the two lads can join clarkson in a new show. They work very well together as a team. Id love to see them do an explorer/traveling like TV. Basically a series of top gear specials.

Never got the love for this show, but don't you think after what Clarkson has been accused of that he may not get the opportunities that people think elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

I like all 3. Personal opinion and taste.

Hope the trio stick together

Just because Clarkson was involved as a presenter of a show my kid finds entertaining doesn't make Clarkson a Role Model or a potential one for that matter. Why would it? People put way too much focus on media at times.

It doesnt make him a role model. that is my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

112 pages on this. Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,493 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Such a shame that the show is done now.

BBC may well say that Top Gear will go on, but without the 3 of them, its not Top Gear. Clarkson is not an evil man at all, and suggestions that he is from what he has done in the past, just shows how much people will big something up to create a mountain out of a mole hill.

Sure he said on the Graham Norton show, that his daughters BF is from Dublin, an awful racist!

I hope the 3 of them stick together on whatever they do next, they have a great screen chemistry, and I want to see that Ferrari, McLaren and Porsche go at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,555 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

murpho999 wrote: »
    Never got the love for this show, but don't you think after what Clarkson has been accused of that he may not get the opportunities that people think elsewhere?

Murpho, Clarkson can do no wrong with a certain segment of viewers.

The more ignorant and boorish and dated he may come across, the more they love him.

It's a bit like someone acting out their own fantasies and behaviour.

Different strokes as they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭RecordStraight

Gintonious wrote: »

Sure he said on the Graham Norton show, that his daughters BF is from Dublin, an awful racist!
    So...his daughter isn't particularly racist towards Irish people.

Case closed on Clarkson, I guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,300 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Gintonious wrote: »
    Such a shame that the show is done now.

BBC may well say that Top Gear will go on, but without the 3 of them, its not Top Gear. Clarkson is not an evil man at all, and suggestions that he is from what he has done in the past, just shows how much people will big something up to create a mountain out of a mole hill.

I hope the 3 of them stick together on whatever they do next, they have a great screen chemistry, and I want to see that Ferrari, McLaren and Porsche go at it!

I don't think people were upset over racism towards Oisin. It was his racist remarks in the past....

I don't think he's evil. He's just ignorant and intolerant. He didn't get fired for his personality though or even anything he said. He was fired for his actions. He attacked the guy after a 20 minute tirade against him.

scdublin wrote: »
    112 pages on this. Wow.

Not if you use 40 posts per page. Makes things a bit more accessible, particularly when threads can go long, next thing you know there's been 2 pages of heated responses while you try to string one together!
    It doesnt make him a role model. that is my point.

Ah, it seemed like you were using the Beerwolf quote in your response earlier to emphasize the point of Clarkson as a bad Role Model.

I am something of a comedian :)

They should do a show for Netflix. It would benefit all involved and its the only place they could do what they wanted commercial free.

If they went to ITV they'd be riddled with ads/sponsorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Just reading the BBC report and am baffled that some people can still criticise the BBC and defend Clarkson.

Quote: "Specific facts I have found as part of my investigation are as follows:

 the physical attack lasted around 30 seconds and was halted by the intervention of a witness;

 it is the case that Oisin Tymon offered no retaliation;

 the verbal abuse was directed at Oisin Tymon on more than one occasion – both during the attack and subsequently inside the hotel – and contained the strongest expletives and threats to sack him. The abuse was at such volume as to be heard in the dining room, and the shouting was audible in a hotel bedroom;

 derogatory and abusive language, relating to Oisin Tymon and other members of the Top Gear team, continued to be used by Jeremy Clarkson inside the hotel, in the presence of others, for a sustained period of time;

 it is clear that Oisin Tymon was shocked and distressed by the incident, and believed that he had lost his job;

 following the attack, I understand that Oisin Tymon drove to a nearby A&E department for examination;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Sad to see the show go, loved the light entertainment it gave me on a Sunday evening gorging on cars I'll never own. If some people have a problem with those of us who watch a few lads acting the maggot on TV and dream of owning a supercar you can high five each other today.
    Own reflection however the BBC were right, cant be treating fellow employees like that. Just not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,222 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Could use 3 female presenters and revamp show that way
    Could call it
    Topless Gear
    Only one think better than fast cars
    Fast cars with boobies bouncing around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

And I'd imagine you applaud and/or approve to that behaviour then? Great role model for the countless kids that also watched Top Gear...! :rolleyes:

Won't someone think of the children!!!

sigh...............