Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

My personal theory is that he is having a bit of a Charlie Sheen moment. From his behaviour it seems maybe subconsciously he wants to be sacked.
    +1 that's been my impression too. Look at the number of (storm in a teacup) "scandals" he's been involved in over the last year eighteen months, compared to the previous decade.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

jimgoose wrote: »
    He is indeed, my mistake. Close enough though, accent-wise.

Gawd no, they're very different accents. Brummie is more broad, Liverpool is more pinched.

Give me a Brummie accent any day, with apologies to anyone who may have a Liverpool accent.

I love hearing regional accents on telly though. As long as the person has good diction, having an accent shouldn't be a problem.

Oh, so you agree that it can sometimes be "necessary" to use the term, yet despite that, you still say that "ANYONE" that uses the term "needs to be be shot with solidly compacted balls of their own sh1t". Yeah, that makes loads of sense. Lets be honest though, what you really meant was: that the user that just said it the post previous to you needs to be shot with solidly compacted balls of their own sh1t.

Well, it was totally irrelevant, considering sexism isn't something Jeremy Clarkson tends to be accused of or display. So what was the purpose of including the term? That's what I mean. It just getS trotted out for no apparent reason.

Or how about saying that show is "lowest common denominator" viewing and that anyone who is a fan of Clarkson is "meatheaded". These comments from you not also trying to "shut down an opposing viewpoint". Course not.

I do think it is now lowest common denominator television. That's my opinion, I'm not presenting it as fact, but it's what I think. I didn't realise people need to tack an 'IMO' onto everything for people to realise that they are reading opinions. You don't think it's lowest common denominator television. That's your opinion. If you don't like people thinking it's lowest common denominator telly, well just live with it?

As for the 'meathead' comments. Anyone, yes anyone, who has signed a petition to end the suspension, when it's an matter than is under investigation, is indeed a bit thick. Nobody yet knows what happened. That goes for both sides. So signing some petition at this stage is just stupid and petulant. Let's see what happens first, shall we?

I don't even think he'll be permanently banished, maybe just go off to sort out whatever is going on with him personally, so starting a petition was needless knicker-twisting, IMO. IMO. IMO. IMO. IMO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Gawd no, they're very different accents. Brummie is more broad, Liverpool is more pinched.

Give me a Brummie accent any day, with apologies to anyone who may have a Liverpool accent.

I love hearing regional accents on telly though. As long as the person has good diction, having an accent shouldn't be a problem.

scouse-wig-tash-set-334-p.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Well there's a photo I never thought I'd see:

https://twitter.com/francisanderson/status/579990039779799040

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Ugly yokes aint they? They supposedly kissed and made up alright, but Morgans statement is purely a skin digging laugh. Interesting to know if anyone here would support him if his interest was genuine though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,251 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

They look like 2 farmers down at the mart in Ballyhaunis :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,788 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wibbs wrote: »
    +1 that's been my impression too. Look at the number of (storm in a teacup) "scandals" he's been involved in over the last year eighteen months, compared to the previous decade.
    I'm still not convinced some if not many of these storm in a teacup incidents weren't all part of the BBC trying to promote the show or pigeon hole Clarkson into a character. I know he has had many personal difficulties.

Anything that was said on the show is as much the fault of the makers of the show as it is Clarksons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I don't understand the level of interest in this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Falcon L

Oh please, no! Spare us that bollix! He gets right up my nose and into my brain.

Falcon L wrote: »
    Oh please, no! Spare us that bollix! He gets right up my nose and into my brain.

There's your answer! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,555 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Never underestimate public taste.

I'll refer you to a certain concert in a large stadium which had people in a frenzy for months.
    All because of a performer of dubious stature and current appearances.

In the middle of the worst recession in the History of the country!

Now do you understand:P

Never underestimate public taste.

I'll refer you to a certain concert in a large stadium which had people in a frenzy for months.
    All because of a performer of dubious stature and current appearances.

In the middle of the worst recession in the History of the country!

Now do you understand:P

Sometimes stadiums are filled with millions of people because some guys are kicking a ball around. These people are even willing to part with thousands of their hard-earned cash to watch same at home or in the pub and buy the jerseys. That is truly amazing!

That's about the size of it Doctor, no matter how big the dork, how mundane the sport, how boorish and banal the show, how opportunistic the concert, it will have its followers.

Nowt as strange as folk, Doctor, nowt as strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Well, it was totally irrelevant, considering sexism isn't something Jeremy Clarkson tends to be accused of or display. So what was the purpose of including the term? That's what I mean. It just getS trotted out for no apparent reason.

'No apparent reason'? You were given the reason. I even linked you to the Guardian article which was written by the feminist which the remark in was in reference to.. There was nothing whatsoever irrelevant about it. I suggest you reread it:
    ..he does indeed annoy the right people, the Guardian readers, the Birkenstock brigade, the faux intellectuals, the fem Nazis, in short people with a superiority complex based on I don't know what, who think they're above such low-brow numb-scullery because they're better than the rest of us.

Not only was what he said highly relevant, but the more you post, the more relevant it becomes:
    I do think it is now lowest common denominator television. That's my opinion, I'm not presenting it as fact, but it's what I think. I didn't realise people need to tack an 'IMO' onto everything for people to realise that they are reading opinions. You don't think it's lowest common denominator television. That's your opinion. If you don't like people thinking it's lowest common denominator telly, well just live with it?

What are you raving about? I never said you presented it as fact, let alone needed to keep stating it was just your opinion. You made a comment suggesting that a term was used to purposefully try and shut down opposing viewpoints and I quoted back some of your own comments to show that you were hardly in a position to be saying what you did given some of your own remarks on the thread, and your reply to that is to go on a little rant about how you didn't feel you had to include 'IMO' all the time? Wtf. Nice try though, but I didn't imply that you (or any other user) needed to do anything of the sort.

I have to say though, that I find it a bit rich of you to be telling others that what they need to do is just learn "to live with" the opinions of others, considering your charming response to a user who merely expressed theirs, was to imply that they should be shot with compacted balls of their own sh1t! You couldn't make it up.
    As for the 'meathead' comments. Anyone, yes anyone, who has signed a petition to end the suspension, when it's an matter than is under investigation, is indeed a bit thick. Nobody yet knows what happened. That goes for both sides. So signing some petition at this stage is just stupid and petulant. Let's see what happens first, shall we?

Wow wow wow. David Copperfield himself would be proud of your use of smoke and mirrors there. Now you're trying to suggest that you only meant that the Clarkson fans that signed the petition requesting his reinstatement are the ones which you feel qualify as "meatheaded". Now you know fine well that no mention of that petition was made in your post, nor the one made by the user you were replying to.

Have to say, the whole debacle is getting a touch of the Garth Brooks at this stage. Even Snoop Dogg has an opinion.

What a meathead :p

That's about the size of it Doctor, no matter how big the dork, how mundane the sport, how boorish and banal the show, how opportunistic the concert, it will have its followers.

Nowt as strange as folk, Doctor, nowt as strange.

Even though I can't claim any moral high ground, I do like TG.
    If this offends people, I got bad news for you. I also like Drawn Together (I DARE you to check this out if you are the easily offended type), South Park, Family Guy, Robot Chicken, to name but a few.
    So now the intellectual elite on this thread may look down upon me and wrinkle their noses, safe in the knowledge that they're better than me and since I am only an oik, my opinion doesn't count anyway.
    And yet! Somehow it irks them that I am the way I am, that I dare stick my head up and proclaim my opinion, don't I know my place? Should I not keep the head down and continue to shovel sh*t and keep my mouth shut?
    The very existence of people like me and a show like TG (and others) is an irritant and an affront to them.
    And that is is point. I claim my right to offend and annoy. It makes it all so much better.

Even though I can't claim any moral high ground, I do like TG.
    If this offends people, I got bad news for you. I also like Drawn Together (I DARE you to check this out if you are the easily offended type), South Park, Family Guy, Robot Chicken, to name but a few.
    So now the intellectual elite on this thread may look down upon me and wrinkle their noses, safe in the knowledge that they're better than me and since I am only an oik, my opinion doesn't count anyway.
    And yet! Somehow it irks them that I am the way I am, that I dare stick my head up and proclaim my opinion, don't I know my place? Should I not keep the head down and continue to shovel sh*t and keep my mouth shut?
    The very existence of people like me and a show like TG (and others) is an irritant and an affront to them.
    And that is is point. I claim my right to offend and annoy. It makes it all so much better.

Bit of a 'release' that post eh Doctor?

Bit of a fan of the 'Trailer Park Boys' myself so cannot be too judgemental .

Cannot stand TG and the presenters,their appearance, and behaviour, but that's only me.
    Different strokes and all that:P

Bit of a 'release' that post eh Doctor?

Bit of a fan of the 'Trailer Park Boys' myself so cannot be too judgemental .

Cannot stand TG and the presenters,their appearance, and behaviour, but that's only me.
    Different strokes and all that:P

There will be an annual Top Gear Pride and Memorial Parade with the three presenters and the Stig in various supercars through the center of London. :P :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Zesclim

Can someone clarify what a "meathead" is and what specific denominator people are referring to when with respect to Top Gear when saying it appeals to the lowest common denominator?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

There will be an annual Top Gear Pride and Memorial Parade with the three presenters and the Stig in various supercars through the center of London. :P :D
    ...followed by the ceremonial Blowing-Up of a 2008 Bailey Senator. 'Twill bring a tear to a glass-eye, so 'twill. :cool:
    Zesclim wrote: »
    Can someone clarify what a "meathead" is and what specific denominator people are referring to when with respect to Top Gear when saying it appeals to the lowest common denominator?
    As far as I can make out it refers mainly to myself and the good Herr Professor-Doktor above. :pac::pac::pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,384 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Zesclim wrote: »

You know those other lads in your 6th year English class that "couldn't" read.

Them.

'No apparent reason'? You were given the reason. I even linked you to the Guardian article which was written by the feminist which the remark in was in reference to.. There was nothing whatsoever irrelevant about it. I suggest you reread it:

Not only was what he said highly relevant, but the more you post, the more relevant it becomes:

What are you raving about? I never said you presented it as fact, let alone needed to keep stating it was just your opinion. You made a comment suggesting that a term was used to purposefully try and shut down opposing viewpoints and I quoted back some of your own comments to show that you were hardly in a position to be saying what you did given some of your own remarks on the thread, and your reply to that is to go on a little rant about how you didn't feel you had to include 'IMO' all the time? Wtf. Nice try though, but I didn't imply that you (or any other user) needed to do anything of the sort.

I have to say though, that I find it a bit rich of you to be telling others that what they need to do is just learn "to live with" the opinions of others, considering your charming response to a user who merely expressed theirs, was to imply that they should be shot with compacted balls of their own sh1t! You couldn't make it up.

Wow wow wow. David Copperfield himself would be proud of your use of smoke and mirrors there. Now you're trying to suggest that you only meant that the Clarkson fans that signed the petition requesting his reinstatement are the ones which you feel qualify as "meatheaded". Now you know fine well that no mention of that petition was made in your post, nor the one made by the user you were replying to.

Have to say, the whole debacle is getting a touch of the Garth Brooks at this stage. Even Snoop Dogg has an opinion.

What a meathead :p

Jaysus, will ya relax? Step away from the keyboard.

...followed by the ceremonial Blowing-Up of a 2008 Bailey Senator. 'Twill bring a tear to a glass-eye, so 'twill. :cool:

As far as I can make out it refers mainly to myself and the good Herr Professor-Doktor above. :pac::pac::pac:

Meathead and proud. I'll get the T-shirts printed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭SeanW

Jaysus, will ya relax? Step away from the keyboard.
    You call people stupid, meatheads, petulant, lowest common denominator, brag about how much fun it is to annoy people, call for people to be shot with high powered balls of s***

and then tell people to relax? I hope your condescending, mean spirited, hypocritical, pompous assed posts don't reflect on you in real life.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

SeanW wrote: »
    ...condescending, mean spirited, hypocritical, pompous assed...

Oi, Dr. Fuzz - we're going to need more T-shirts! :pac:

Pompous Assed is a winner!

Not bad. I'll be the Hypocritical Mean-Spirited Meathead then. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭yermandan

What's the story, is he gettin the sack or wha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

yermandan wrote: »
    What's the story, is he gettin the sack or wha
    At this time, the answer is "wha".

SeanW wrote: »
    You call people stupid, meatheads, petulant, lowest common denominator, brag about how much fun it is to annoy people, call for people to be shot with high powered balls of s***

and then tell people to relax? I hope your condescending, mean spirited, hypocritical, pompous assed posts don't reflect on you in real life.

They probably do, but I seem to be doing alright so I guess people like my supercilious ass.