If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Dia1988 wrote: »
    You would be surprised at how many people don't bother looking under the bonnet and if they do they just look at the plastic engine cover and are too scared to rip it off.

Last year I sold a guy my car that didn't want to open the bonnet as he would trust me, saying this I opened the bonnet and showed him things he should look at when buying a car and I then offered to take car to mechanic for peace of mind for himself.
    He still didn't and bought the car and has had many happy thousands of miles of motoring but people really should be more cautious and not to just rely on luck and trust when spending thousands on cars.

Sure the bloke who bought my 10 year old diesel focus didn't open the bonnet. He wasn't even going to take a test drive only for i insisted. Just a glance and here's the cash :/

I've a feeling you could sell some magic beans to these types of people ....

........ she won't start. Everything else is getting power, all the dash lights up, radio works, lights etc but an auto electrician said that there's no power even getting to the starter. ........

Serious? He's an actual auto electrician?
    Who is it, there's not many of them in Cork.

If everything else is getting power a 12v supply direct to the starter would be an interesting experiment.

Pangea wrote: »
    Viewed a car yesterday, and I forgot to look under the bonnet. Amateur mistake :(. Seeing as its three year old car I wonder is it important.
    I asked dealer to send me pic of bonnet to my phone to save me the trip again, but maybe I should go myself. Opinions?

I would hazard a guess you might as well be looking in the boot :pac:
    When I sold cars year back I was constantly amused at the endeavours people would go to to make me think they knew what they were looking at :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Augeo wrote: »
    Serious? He's an actual auto electrician?
    Who is it, there's not many of them in Cork.

If everything else is getting power a 12v supply direct to the starter would be an interesting experiment.

Not sure who it was, he was doing another car in the shop at the time. I'll pass on everyone's recommendations to them to see if they can get it going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Credit to car memes on facebook
    FB_IMG_1426358078349.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Sure the bloke who bought my 10 year old diesel focus didn't open the bonnet. He wasn't even going to take a test drive only for i insisted. Just a glance and here's the cash :/

I've a feeling you could sell some magic beans to these types of people ....

I actually wouldn't mind some Magic beans.

What's your best price on them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Dia1988 wrote: »
    I actually wouldn't mind some Magic beans.

What's your best price on them?

I'll swap you for some golden eggs :pac:

Speaking of things escalating quickly, Top Gear is finished. Confirmed by both Clarkson and May.

Don't know how reliable this site is but it's HERE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Speaking of things escalating quickly, Top Gear is finished. Confirmed by both Clarkson and May.

Don't know how reliable this site is but it's HERE

Nothing confirmed yet. The article you link is jumping to conclusions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

So after weeks of issues with my knees, I now can't walk very well. Pins and needles coupled with a sharp pain. Was working on that miserable mule of a DW8 and had to quit after 2 hours as I couldn't take the pain anymore. Now I'm afraid what damage I've done to myself. Quite depressing really :)

Don't ignore the signs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

dgt wrote: »
    So after weeks of issues with my knees, I now can't walk very well. Pins and needles coupled with a sharp pain. Was working on that miserable mule of a DW8 and had to quit after 2 hours as I couldn't take the pain anymore. Now I'm afraid what damage I've done to myself. Quite depressing really :)

Don't ignore the signs

Not so much the sharp pain but the PaN are a dodgy sign. That's something I'd get looked at, man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

CianRyan wrote: »
    Not so much the sharp pain but the PaN are a dodgy sign. That's something I'd get looked at, man.

Here here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Don't ignore the signs

Don't let that go, I screwed up my back good and proper by putting things off and it's so easy just to say it's grand. It's not worth it, get yourself sorted out dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

CianRyan wrote: »
    Don't let that go, I screwed up my back good and proper by putting things off and it's so easy just to say it's grand. It's not worth it, get yourself sorted out dude.

I have other things to get looked at too, I may sort some time to visit a doctor. I hope it's just fatigue or a strain

Do us all a favour and look after yourself. Seriously. I know that you are roughly the same age as myself. I made the mistake as a teen of not looking after my back. Spent many hours in A&E as a result. Had to quit rugby and all. Working on cars can be a challenge these days but I do what I can and I'm only 26. Don't put yourself in my position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Hope it's nothing serious lad. Funny, even a pretty reliable car sees a car doctor more often than the average fella sees a real doctor. I know that's how it works for me.

If knees could be fixed with a socket set you of all people would have had it sorted in 2 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Amen to that. My back is fooked now from ignoring injuries. Next time will be a slipped disc. Right knee FOOKED. Feet have started to go from under me in the past few weeks. My stomach has started to give trouble now. I've taken that a bit more seriously but nothing to be found on blood tests. Hopefully NOWT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Don't ignore the signs
    Are you gonna visit a doctor or perform kinda self-treatment (if possible)?

Anyway, get well.

Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

joujoujou wrote: »
    Are you gonna visit a doctor or perform kinda self-treatment (if possible)?
    Out with the oil can :pac:

You'll be happy you took the time, health is always priority #1! :)

Renault reliability.
    oi8uvn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,325 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Creatur de flimsy scuttle paneuls

Less the panel I'm worried about than the top mount deciding it no longer wants to be part of the car. :p

Holy cow, I assumed that was the wiper!

Whats the deal when a car isin't listed on the VRT website? Ring em?

Tricky one, AFAIK they won't give you a figure till you present the car, then they could pull an OMSP out of the sky.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Tricky one, AFAIK they won't give you a figure till you present the car, then they could pull an OMSP out of the sky.

Seriously? Feckers. I know it'll be a scandalous figure too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

The calculator is a load of ****e anyway

Out of everyone I know that have imported cars, not a single one paid the figure the calculator gave. Some paid a tad less, most paid waaaaay more.