If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Went into halfords to pick up a socket set while they were on offer just a nice neat 1/4 inch with loads of bits to have it thrown in the boot. They were showing as in stock in kilkenny store, went in and she checked on the computer and they have 6 of them but they couldn't sell me one as they couldn't find it. Wasn't on the shelves and they couldn't find it in the back. So they took my number and said they'd ring me if they find it but I don't think ill be getting a call. May drop into another halfords if I'm passing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Bpmull wrote: »
    Went into halfords to pick up a socket set while they were on offer just a nice neat 1/4 inch with loads of bits to have it thrown in the boot. They were showing as in stock in kilkenny store, went in and she checked on the computer and they have 6 of them but they couldn't sell me one as they couldn't find it. Wasn't on the shelves and they couldn't find it in the back. So they took my number and said they'd ring me if they find it but I don't think ill be getting a call. May drop into another halfords if I'm passing.

I know one that has haaaypes of them ;)

I don't know if its worth a spin to dublin for one :) Ah ill be in cork next week might drop into one then should that sale be going on for a good few weeks I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Miles. Was on the way home from work and only spotted it in the driveway. Was expecting the 111111 on the way home and all!
    Bpmull wrote: »
    I got pics for both the focus and golf :)

41CB883D-6823-400E-A001-14FA1EFC5185_zpsvmjwfsvg.jpg

Reminds me of that episode of American Dad where Roger was trying to watch his clock turn over but he got distracted when it was about to turn over so he missed it and kept driving non stop for as year to get it again and again he missed it. Good episode.

I was watching that last night :pac:

Grand! less stuff for me to ask :pac:

so its my day of birth and so far I've spent near 600 euro :o and all i have to show for it is a tax disc

Breithlá bronntanas a chara! (my nonsensical birthday wish as Gaeilge). Friday the 13th baby.

Was in your Limerick branch today for a quote on stereo, facia adaptor and wiring harness. The stereo is cheaper than the adaptor and harness as expected. Came away with washer fluid and batteries though! Hope you've a good birthday!

Breithlá bronntanas a chara! (my nonsensical birthday wish as Gaeilge). Friday the 13th baby.

Was in your Limerick branch today for a quote on stereo, facia adaptor and wiring harness. The stereo is cheaper than the adaptor and harness as expected. Came away with washer fluid and batteries though! Hope you've a good birthday!

why thank you kind sir! It was rather busy, off to see the lady now for my "present" ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

why thank you kind sir! It was rather busy, off to see the lady now for my "present" ;):D

A voucher for Halfords?

Giggidy

Happy birthday poastedtickles :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭Pangea

If he could get the scrapes off and the car was sound otherwise, then it should be grand.

We have cats around the farmyard here and they have scrapes just like that all over the bonnet of the jeep :pac:

Thanks, yes it must have been a cat!

Looked at a car yesterday, thought the tyres were a bit worn
    What do you think?
    http://i.imgur.com/fxi59oh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Lots of life left in that tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Yeah they look grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Alright lads, the car is in for bodywork at the moment but they've come across a problem, she won't start. Everything else is getting power, all the dash lights up, radio works, lights etc but an auto electrician said that there's no power even getting to the starter.

This happened once the day after I bought it but started perfect the next day and never gave any bother until yesterday is the shop, I thought it was the battery but now I'm stuck.

Anyone have any ideas? I'd like the be out of this Yaris ASAP :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Alright lads, the car is in for bodywork at the moment but they've come across a problem, she won't start. Everything else is getting power, all the dash lights up, radio works, lights etc but an auto electrician said that there's no power even getting to the starter.

This happened once the day after I bought it but started perfect the next day and never gave any bother until yesterday is the shop, I thought it was the battery but now I'm stuck.

if an auto electrician couldnt tell you then I dont think we can. Ignoring the "auto electrician" try a new battery anyway or you might need a new starter motor.

I dont think the battery is the problem, bare in mind it's been run every day for the past 5 months with no battery problems or starting problems and all the other electronics. Only starting problem was when I first got it, it was never even hesitant to start before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

if an auto electrician couldnt tell you then I dont think we can.
    pretty much this, if a guy with a multimeter can't pinpoint the break in the chain then we'll only be bouncing random ideas - FN do you have any of the funky battery attachments that give trouble? Battery squib?ibs sensor? Just a plain old fuse problem unrelated to the problem you had first day? Dodgy/wet control module?

Starter relay or fuse?

pretty much this, if a guy with a multimeter can't pinpoint the break in the chain then we'll only be bouncing random ideas - FN do you have any of the funky battery attachments that give trouble? Battery squib?ibs sensor? Just a plain old fuse problem unrelated to the problem you had first day? Dodgy/wet control module?

A few people have mentioned the ignition switch, going to give him a call and ask him to look at the relay and the fuses, if not it might have to go elsewhere to get sorted :(
    Starter relay or fuse?

Going to give him a call there again and ask him to look at that, hoping it's something small like that tbh.

Google e39 starter relay. There's a video of an Aussie guy trying to sort something similar on an e39. Your car has fuses and relays everywhere, even under the drivers footwell carpet! The video is handy for locations

Yeah I only had a look at that there earlier, will send it on to him as well, seems to be the best video around for it anyway.

Hopefully you get sorted soon and its only something small

Yeah definitely, this Yaris is slowly killing my passion for cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

A few people have mentioned the ignition switch, going to give him a call and ask him to look at the relay and the fuses, if not it might have to go elsewhere to get sorted :(

Yeah I guess ignition switch is possible. Few bits of wire and a momentary switch would get you going temporarily if it's just the last position to the starter is flakey.

Viewed a car yesterday, and I forgot to look under the bonnet. Amateur mistake :(. Seeing as its three year old car I wonder is it important.
    I asked dealer to send me pic of bonnet to my phone to save me the trip again, but maybe I should go myself. Opinions?

Pangea wrote: »
    Viewed a car yesterday, and I forgot to look under the bonnet. Amateur mistake :(. Seeing as its three year old car I wonder is it important.
    I asked dealer to send me pic of bonnet to my phone to save me the trip again, but maybe I should go myself. Opinions?

I don't mean this in a bad way. But you need to get a mechanic to check over whatever car you are going to buy before you buy it. Spending 15k or 16k euro on a car and not even looking under the bonnet is madness. Although if you know nothing about cars you won't be able to spot potential problems. As I said I mean it in a good way but you don't want to buy a lemon and you'd be suprised how many problems even 3 year old cars can have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,325 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

If you're any way close to doing a deal, you should do a history check and get a once-over from someone who knows their stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Pangea wrote: »

You would be surprised at how many people don't bother looking under the bonnet and if they do they just look at the plastic engine cover and are too scared to rip it off.

Last year I sold a guy my car that didn't want to open the bonnet as he would trust me, saying this I opened the bonnet and showed him things he should look at when buying a car and I then offered to take car to mechanic for peace of mind for himself.
    He still didn't and bought the car and has had many happy thousands of miles of motoring but people really should be more cautious and not to just rely on luck and trust when spending thousands on cars.

S60 boot lip. Yay or nay? Was behind a black one during the week and thought it suited it.

http://www.double-to.com/OEM/Volvo/S60/PAINT_LIP/PV%20VL09%201090%23467-CAR.jpg