Your accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Worse than that....though if I went to harneys I might be understood if I spoke on the same way as I do at home

I'll leave you be. I lived in Dungarvan for quite a few years. Very fond memories of my time in county Waterford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

A highly refined accent thats a joy on the ears and drops women's jocks with just a few sentences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Fairly average Dublin accent, I'd say.
    Not d4 and not scanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm somewhere between Liam Neeson and Daniel O'Donnell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

For a man that grew up in the bogs of the west of Ireland my accent is surprisingly neutral. Think many of the accents around here are flat sounding so not much of an accent at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

strobe wrote: »
    What's that sh1t about? I think maybe the UK is the same? Just guessing though. But outside of that, are there other countries where a ten minute drive means people have noticeably different accents? Down to the whole history of small tribes or something? Not a clue. Is it the same in other countries? Is it not? Why is it like that here? And many other questions.
    I thought it was the very same in the UK. I can't make a distinction between someone from a tiny place in Somerset and another from Devon, but my English mates can, no bother. Plus, Lancashire and Yorkshire folk get properly offended if you muddle up their accents, as apparently they're totally different :confused:. I'd say it's down to tribes too, but I don't know if it's still like that anywhere else in Europe.
    I'm somewhere between Liam Neeson and Daniel O'Donnell
    Jaysus. I can only hope your voice is pitched lower than Daniel's anyway. The little wee squeak on him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

scudzilla wrote: »
    HATE my accent, born in North Wales, lived there all my life until I moved here 9yrs ago yet still people ask if I'm English :mad:

Do all Gogs sound mildly scouse like Ian Rush?

Don't have an extreme accent myself, sort of Anglo-Irish but not quite to the level of owning a Castle and half of Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I don't live in Ireland and quite often it takes people here a while of talking with me before they realize that I have an accent and then they mostly guess that I am Australian. I think I've always had quite a mild, neutral accent and it hasn't changed. I say some American words now to make my life easier - the mail, soda, trash, diaper etc. - but I haven't picked up an American accent at all and when I'm talking to another Irish person I revert to saying 'the post', 'a fizzy drink' and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Not sure. Few heads on here have met me so they might tell me.

I'm from North County Dublin and we have four distinct accents in that town alone: the misplaced D4 accent from the Rugger Buggers with delusions of grandeur who believe they're living in the Northside's answer to Dalkey as opposed to the Dublin bog out in the sticks, the farmer Fingalian accent which is a cross between the Louth and the North Dublin accent, the neutral Dublin accent that's neither here nor there and the proper North Dublin accent.

My two sisters would speak with the neutral accent with hints of D4, my brother speaks with a proper, full on North Dublin accent, my dad, who was born in Cavan but moved to Artane when he was young has a neutral accent, stepmother from the Southside has an inner city Dublin accent from teaching in Sheriff Street for 20 years. Only my brother, who's been living away from Ireland for 20 years, speaks with a proper Fingal accent (Louthy Dublin accent). Same with my friends from my hometown; you wouldn't guess we're all from the same place if you met us.

Been out of the country for the guts of 10 years now and I don't think it's changed at all. I went to college in Tallaght then Coolock for 6 years in total, so probably adjusted my accent subconsciously while I was there and that bit of accent has stuck, I think. People have asked me am I from Louth when I've been plastered though. Dublin neutral with hints of North Dub with just a dash of Louth thrown in for good measure, I'd say.

It's definitely not so varied in Spain - accents differ from region to region from what I can gather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

I have a fairly neutral accent now thankfully that I have been in the UK a good while, I find the Irish accent horrendous, it sounds really uneducated and guttural. I cringe if I am on the tube or walking on the street and hear most Irish accents, I can't understand the inability to pronounce "th" for example, I suppose it is all linked to the appalling educational standards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Baby Jane

I have a mild accent. Some Irish accents do sound awful, but I'm not self loathing and insecure and toadying enough to hate all Irish accents.
    Seeing as I'm Irish, with an Irish accent, that would be silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Mead man hey-or. :) Haven't changed much. I just realised how much I saw the word 'there' after each sentence. Not sure why I've only realised that.

"Push the Continue button there"
    "Now push the Yes button for a receipt there yeah".

Ruu wrote: »
    Mead man hey-or. :) Haven't changed much. I just realised how much I saw the word 'there' after each sentence. Not sure why I've only realised that.

"Push the Continue button, there"
    "Now push the Yes button for a receipt, there yeah".

Is that a Meath thing or an Irish thing? I do that too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

More a nordie thing, I'd say.

I have a fairly neutral accent now thankfully that I have been in the UK a good while, I find the Irish accent horrendous, it sounds really uneducated and guttural. I cringe if I am on the tube or walking on the street and hear most Irish accents, I can't understand the inability to pronounce "th" for example, I suppose it is all linked to the appalling educational standards

I'm delirrah, so I am, youz got to learn how t'spake deh proper Queen's English sor...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Quare, quarn, fierce.

I can have a whole conversation using only these three words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Not Meath specific, I don't think.

People have asked me am I from Louth when I've been plastered though.

I'm told that the only time I sound like a real Dub is when I'm giving out to the kids!

More a nordie thing, I'd say.

Co. Clare does that too.

Shrap wrote: »
    I'm told that the only time I sound like a real Dub is when I'm giving out to the kids!

It's went I'm ranting and raving that the real thick Longford accent comes out. :pac:

I used to go out with a fella from Tallaght and he had a neutral enough accent until he got mad or was giving out about something. He used to just go all Tallaght...

Shrap wrote: »

Effective accent to give out to munchkins with:

"Ye bleedin' bollixes!" doesn't sound so cutting in a Carlow accent (though I have no idea what a Carlow accent sounds like).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

I've got quite a strong husky Dublin accent. Stands out a lot more when I'm talking amongst well spoken or country accents.
    Strange aswell, because both of my parents are settled culchies from the North and West of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

Delightful. Not sure if you're being entirely serious

I live in London and I love hearing the Irish accent on the tube or in the streets. It reminds me of home and I much prefer it to the Southern/Home Counties accent prevalent in large parts of London, especially the City where I work. Though I really like northern English accents.

Also I can't pronounce my 'th's and it doesn't really bother me anymore. People give me a bit of slagging here but really I think they love it and always tell me they'd love an Irish accent. And people don't seem to have a problem understanding me, since I slowed down my words per minute!

I don't get the hate for Irish accents, I find most of them quite sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

People often think I'm American whenever I talk... and if I wasn't talking they'd think I'm Spanish... :|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

I grew up in north Dublin, but me ma made us go to elocution lessons, we never had Dublin accents, then I went to Toronto, and god forbid, still have a weird accent. In the 80's lots of pretentious gits had crap American accents, I could never get rid of mine,

Now I live in rural Ireland, from time to time pick up an accent talking to friends from cork, but only temporary.

People can never place my accent, assume I am foreign,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Baby Jane

cashback wrote: »
    Delightful. Not sure if you're being entirely serious
    I wonder are they an Irish person with a pitiful inferiority complex. It's a pity the way a good few Irish people are like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I have a neutral accent and a lot of people don't know what part of the county I'm from. We don't have a strong accent like Cork or Dublin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

Jeez, don't hold back now.

Where I come from we always pronounce our th's - it's not country wide you know, maybe is a good thing you don't live here with that attitude, and I thought small mindedness was an English thing, LOL

Appalling educational standards..... You must live on the moon