Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cheltenham Day 2 - Wednesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭kalinisi

Think Nicholas Canyon jumps really quickly i cant see him out of the 1st 3 if he stands up, was listening to the final furlong podcast which is quality and Noel Hayes described his jump as very quick but 2 inches away from killing himself at every hurdle! Im hoping for the former!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

sdoc13 wrote: »
    Think the irish will win the neptune. Had intended backing Windsor Park not sure now Mullins flying weld record would not fill one with confidence.

Don Poli my Nap and think Del Arca is over priced at 25s.

Backed SS after his comeback and might top up with corals in the morning who are going 9/2 from half eight max stake 20 pound.

Have Au Quart de Tour backed AP for the bumper but given he has doubled in price he must have lost a leg!

Might back Duke of Lucca for 2 pts win price dependant.

Like a lot of these bets. Del Arca will definitely be a few lbs better than last year and have a tentative bet on him and good wood mirage. Anyone fancy Marinero?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Cart

Southfield theatre in rsa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Really fancy Don Poli and sprinter sacre tomoro and a nice e/w chance with beast of burden as I taught he was very impressive last time, traveled very powerfully I think he really is a beast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Niallers87

Well it looks Mcoy has sidestepped both of McManuses horses to get the leg up on goodwood mirage, so i presume he must hold a chance though the fall last time out maybe a cause of concern?

btw was it rossom or aidan that put up duke of lucca previously as one to watch out for in the festival?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Niallers87 wrote: »
    Well it looks Mcoy has sidestepped both of McManuses horses to get the leg up on goodwood mirage, so i presume he must hold a chance though the fall last time out maybe a cause of concern?

btw was it rossom or aidan that put up duke of lucca previously as one to watch out for in the festival?

Aidan put it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭luketitz

Fred Winter Gwencily Berbas 16/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Niallers87 wrote: »

Aidan has put him up as a bet. His tips are flying too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

My best bet of the week is in the bumper, Moon Racer. Exceptional prospect, granted he's facing at least ten more exceptional prospects, but I just love the way this horse has gone about his business in his career to date. You know that he's just going to devour that hill when it comes down to it.

Windsor Park should be hard to beat in the first, had a lovely school around Leop last time

Champion chase - anything could happen, think we may get an upset with doubts surrounding the front view in betting

RSA - Don Poli is a 5/1 shot trained by anyone else, would fancy the Young Master to beat him, whether that's good enough to beat Kings Palace if he doesn't get too buzzed up is another matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

Nicholas Canyon
    Don Poli
    Sire de Grugy
    Duke of Lucca

My ones for tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I've only ever made one bet in my life, as part of a syndicate at Cheltenham 2 years ago, cappa bleu made me a decent profit.

So, I'm gonna give it a bash and stick some money on Sire de Grugy tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Andalucia wrote: »
    My best bet of the week is in the bumper, Moon Racer. Exceptional prospect, granted he's facing at least ten more exceptional prospects, but I just love the way this horse has gone about his business in his career to date. You know that he's just going to devour that hill when it comes down to it.

Windsor Park should be hard to beat in the first, had a lovely school around Leop last time

Champion chase - anything could happen, think we may get an upset with doubts surrounding the front view in betting

RSA - Don Poli is a 5/1 shot trained by anyone else, would fancy the Young Master to beat him, whether that's good enough to beat Kings Palace if he doesn't get too buzzed up is another matter

In fairness to Don Poli, he's beaten Apache Stronghold comfortably this season which is miles ahead of anything Kings Palace has beaten. DP has also won at the festival and not fallen in a hole when it got tough like Kings Palace last year. Whatever about The Young Master, I'd be amazed if DP didn't finish ahead of KP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 BubblesAnseo1

I put a treble on for Nichols Canyon, Dane King and buiseness Sivola to come each way

And another treble for Adriana des mottos, champagne fever and Bellshill each way aswel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

One bet for me is the double of don poly and sire ge grugy. 25 returns 250 and that will be better in the morning.

Like Windsor park also.

will wait on rossom and follow him for an each way yankee cause no time to look into any form

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Every time I look at the Neptune I have a different selection in mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭jfk247

have outlander in an e/w with some others so dont really want to do anything...minimize outlay
    but wouldnt hurt to back Nicholas Canyon...

Dom Poli and Sire de Grugy little double i reckon

Moon River in the bumper e/w shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,159 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Really looking forward to the Queen Mother tomorrow. The way I see it, it's a straight shoot out between Sire and Sprinter. Personally, any decent offer I get from a bookie, I will be having a decent sized bet on Sprinter. Already have Don Poli as an antepost bet in the RSA at 3/1, but really like the look of Dell Arca in the Coral at a juicy 25/1. Have Bellshill in the bumper, but there's just so much quality in that race, who knows what will win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,717 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

Have Bellshill in the bumper, but there's just so much quality in that race, who knows what will win.

On Bellshill myself before he ran in Thurles @ 25/1. Was half thinking he mightn't go even to Cheltenham with all that Mullins has, but with Ruby on and support for it in the market, I'm happy enough with my docket now.

Again a race where anything, and I mean anything could win it. All of Mullins runners alone could beat each other on any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

iggy wrote: »
    I have Abre De Vie in a lucky 15 in the coral Cup tomorrow.
    Don't think it's running so will my bet become a trixie?

Is abre de vie out of the coral cup??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 247 ✭✭primary 2

how many do ye think mullins will have tomorrow,i predicted 4 for today but not the 4 that won,i really think he will have 4 again tomorrow with maybe ruby having 2,i really fancy champange fever,2 wins here and just piped at the line last year i just cant seem to get away from this horse

Wednesdays throw of the dice.

I have Nicolas Canyon, Sprinter Sacre and Don Poli in antepost multiple. (first runners)

Wait for Me in antepost ew Yankee (first runner)

Hammersley Lake 16-1
    Duke of Lucca 13-2
    Baron Alco 18-1

€1 ew Patent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,985 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

People not concerned about all the bleeding from SS last time out and supposedly recently enough? Sire with far from ideal prep. CF looks like my bet.
    but really like the look of Dell Arca in the Coral at a juicy 25/1.

I'm on ew since earlier, looks solid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

I seem to be the only person who thinks SS is gonna win with its head in its chest. I was really impressed with his return actually. To get that close to a progressive horse like Dodging Bullets without Geraghty even shaking the reigns. I love SDG but I don't understand the confidence in him. He was impressive at Chepstow but it's only a little over a month since he fell, same with Champagne Fever falling when up against Don Cossack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

I seem to be the only person who thinks SS is gonna win with its head in its chest. I was really impressed with his return actually. To get that close to a progressive horse like Dodging Bullets without Geraghty even shaking the reigns. I love SDG but I don't understand the confidence in him. He was impressive at Chepstow but it's only a little over a month since he fell, same with Champagne Fever falling when up against Don Cossack

the fact that SS bled last day puts me off him straight away - this combined with his injury which was heart related are reasons to stay clear - will go backwards when pressure is applied tmow is how I see it, of course, the risk that he doesn't is reflected in the price, should touch 4's tmow, the SS of two years back is a 4/9 shot for this race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,717 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

If you haven't a few online accounts and you fancy Sprinter then now is the time to set them up. Bet Victor, Paddy, BetFair Sportsbook, 888, Coral and RaceBets all go up to 10/1 on Sprinter to win for new customers, max bet 10er.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

Just wondering what peoples thoughts on TAGLITELLE's chances in the CORAL. Im a fan of PAUL CARBERRY i think hes a top jockey and in such a tricky race hes the kind of jockey id want doing the steering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Watch Nicky Henderson's face when Channel 4 had a camera on him during Sprinter Sacre's race at Ascot. It said it all. He seemed gutted and genuinely surprised that he got beat. He tried to put a spin on it afterwards by saying it was his first race back, blah blah blah. He wasn't expecting Sprinter to be beaten. Can't see him bouncing back tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

I think Sprinter will be right there 2 fences out and then find nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

gazza1 wrote: »
    Just wondering what peoples thoughts on TAGLITELLE's chances in the CORAL. Im a fan of PAUL CARBERRY i think hes a top jockey and in such a tricky race hes the kind of jockey id want doing the steering.

Think Elliots horses are top notch and your right Carberry is a serious pilot, but its well known that he enjoys the oul festival atmosphere in the evenings so I would be hesitant to back him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Kavanaghhh

1:30 - Nichols Canyon - 7/2
    2:05 - Don Poli - 7/4
    3:20 - Champagne Fever - 5/1

all singles but tasty odds for a treble

74/1 treble

your toughts?