Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From minutes to miles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

menoscemo wrote: »
    Yes, she is aimimg for sub 2.
    I have money on it :p;)

Told yee :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Thanks everyone - to say I'm delighted and surprised would be an understatement. Report to follow later :)

I'm not surprised. You have been training so consistently. DELIGHTED for you!!!! Brilliant result, looking forward to the report.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,422 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I'm delighted for you, I knew you'd take home the prize money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

adrian522 wrote: »
    But does she actually?! :D

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    But does she actually?! :D

only if she bet on herself and no doubt she was too modest...

...although who knows how any of that will really work.... only Ecoli i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Well done Laura . That is just the best chip time :-)

Bungy Girl wrote: »

I know... when one second means so much :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Can I just say I called sub 2 for Laura ;):pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great stuff, Laura. Well run, and what a nice chip time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Well done Laura, the perfect time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Well done Laura! What's the next target now you have sub-2hrs :)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Delighted, surprised, buzzing and a little embarrassed - I feel like a bit of a sandbagger extrodinaire :o

Previous PB: 2:13:14
    Gun time: 2:00:52
    Chip time: 1:59:59

Build up

As anyone who read my last post knows the last week wasn't the best with a bit of a cold and a low mileage week. Luckily when I woke up this morning I was much improved again which was good, so I tried to focus on my recent training overall and not just the last few days. Had my usual breakfast, plus a bagel and arrived in Bohermeen at about 11:30. All organised locally very smoothly. Last trip to the toilet and jogged to the start area for a warm up. The recent tightness was still there in the leg but I did some stretching after the warm up and all was good with that for the rest of the race thankfully. I was trying to figure out where to position myself and I could see some pacer balloons. I decided to suss out the times as I thought I'd try position myself a bit behind the 2 hour ones which would be right for my 2:05 ambitions. The first pacer I saw, who turned out to be pacing 2:15 looked very familiar from McGrattans in October and I thought it might have been Mr. Stew. I decided to risk it and ask, and it was. Chatted to him for a minute before heading to find the next balloon. Found and sorted myself and off we went a short time later.

The race

Miles 1-6

9:20, 9:30, 9:14, 9:14, 9:07, 9:10

The start was narrow but moving well and I settled into a rhythm. I suspected I was going too fast in the first mile when the 2 hour balloon up ahead wasn't really pulling away - a look at my watch confirmed this so I decided to slow down a bit and a while later I lost sight of the pace bus. I tucked in behind a couple to get shelter from the wind. They were slower than I was aiming for but the field was strung out as I was between pace groups so they were my best option. When we turned off that road away from the headwind I pushed on and mile 2 was bang on goal time.

Somewhere around mile 4 I realised the pace bus was back in sight but still a good bit away. I was feeling good, the legs seemed ok and my breathing wasn't as bad as others around me. My pace had again quickened from my goal so I said at this stage I'd stick with it - my hope at this stage was I would keep the bus in sight and if feeling able later I would try and work my way up to them. It meant running by myself for a lot of the race and with little shelter but I was hoping I could manage. When we got to the first water stop I had to pee :mad: but I said I'd hang on and go later - I didn't want to lose anymore time after the gains I had made. At one stage I let out an angry "for f*k$ sake" to myself as I saw some a-hole lob his bottle over the bushes into a field or garden. I startled the woman nearest and I went on a rant about litter bugs - I'd say she didn't know what to make of me :p

Miles 7 - 9

9:04, 9:00, 8:47

I got chatting to a lady around mile 7 (I think) when I offered some encouragement and we ticked along together for a few minutes chatting. To be honest I was glad of the distraction, I was beginning to wonder if I had been foolish to push on from my 2:05 goal at this stage. The company was nice - I've only recently abandoned my headphones at races (will I be exiled???? :pac:) and this was the longest one since I have, so a break from my inner monologue was nice!! My new friend told me to head on so on I went. I won't lie, the motivation from here was definitely helping - meno & PM's sub 2 "faith" (or as I thought delusion) and Darren's mentioning of keeping the pace bus in sight and Ososlo saying about pushing on from mile 8. They were getting closer so I began to up the pace.

Miles 10 - 13

8:52, 9:02, 9:17, 9:04

These were tough. I caught up with a group but couldn't see the balloon so I made some inquiries if this was my bus. Not quite (I think this was the slipstream) - they were the next ones on, so I headed for them. Asked again - jackpot. As I latched myself on someone beside me overhead me saying I had been hoping for 2:05 but had been keeping them in sight, they put 2 & 2 together - it was MKDTH himself, introduced ourselves and then heads down. The water station meant passing the toilets - I had been holding it in since earlier and there was no way I was undoing my good work and stopping now. Hold tight!! I found this part the hardest, I was beginning to tire and even though I thought it would be easier running with the group than on my own it seemed harder. Maybe just because of where it was in the race or maybe because I didn't have a driving focus to work on anymore other than hold on. The motivation from the pacer was good but that hill in mile 12 which had seemed like a speed bump in the first lap sucked the life out of my legs this time!! Managed to keep at it and the support from finished runners was great. A couple of people even jumped in offering encouragement and stuck with a few of us and one man offered some drink around which was very welcome.

Mile 13 - 13.1

1:12 @ 7:29

I knew the sub 2 was going to be tight at this stage, I felt like I had very little kick but I tried to dig anything out and I crossed the line hoping it was enough. Legs were like jelly after and no water left unfortunately at the station :( Garmin said I had done it but I didn't know if that was spot on.

Headed into the centre and met some new and old faces. Yaboya told me I had won the handicap but at that stage I was still bursting to know if I made the sub 2. Checked the official results on the wall - nothing there yet. Checked the phone, was a good bit over the 2 gun time so I didn't think I started that far back to get me under. Another walk up to the results and there they were - woo hoo!!!! I made it - just, by the tiniest of margins. Met Marthastew and Mr. Stew again, on my way back - I don't think I stopped smiling - I probably wasn't making much sense then!! :rolleyes:

It's a race I would definitely recommend. Nice route (I think it was TJ that described it as fair), great support, a good vibe around the whole day and well organised. On a cheeky note if anyone has a t-shirt from the race that they have no interest in I'd be happy to take it off your hands. Just missed the numbers for them and I normally wouldn't care but I enjoyed the day so much I wouldn't mind one it there was any going :D

Thanks to everyone here for the encouragement beforehand and lovely messages since - this place definitely helped me push on when I had any doubts. Being realistic and to call a spade a spade, my previous times are soft so in theory it should be easier to make bigger gains with the right sort of training, but this was more than I hoped for at this stage. Great encouragement anyway and will close out the last of Clearlier's plan and take it from there. Well done to all who were there today and betting etc - great cause.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,320 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Deadly. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Ha ha delusion verus faith :D

Well done today !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Well done! That's a great chunk off your PB and a great chip time. Don't forget to add your name to the graduates table!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Fantastic result Laura well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Well done Laura, super strong finish too! Great to see the graduate plan paying off :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Loved that report. You really ran a really good race. It's only the beginning for you Laura!
    I'm dying to know when you actually managed to go to the loo????? Immediately you finished the race???
    Bursting like that for a large portion of the race must have been very difficult. You'd have gone even faster without that issue to deal with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done Laura, great running - nice to meet you today too.

Ososlo wrote: »
    Loved that report. You really ran a really good race. It's only the beginning for you Laura!
    I'm dying to know when you actually managed to go to the loo????? Immediately you finished the race???
    Bursting like that for a large portion of the race must have been very difficult. You'd have gone even faster without that issue to deal with!

Thanks Ososlo. Yeah it was a few minutes after I finished. It wasn't too bad towards the end - I think I had too many other things to focus on! Was worth it anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Well done Laura, great running, pity we didn't get a chance to meet.

TbL

Great running Laura and nice to meet you. I have a medium T-shirt and would happily post it on to you if it would be ok for you?
    If so PM me your address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done Laura on the victory, great running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Fantastic report, well done again. You deserve every bit of that great result!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

Well done. Great report.

love it, Laura, really well done again and sure you're only a young wan, so many more good days to come :D

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Another handicap blot. The two with the biggest handicaps miles clear of the field.

Well done Laura.
    Great improvement.

Thanks a mill Yaboya, happy to take such a chunk off alright. Good to see you again today, you seem to be in good shape for Hamburg.
    Mimojo wrote: »
    Woop Woop SUPER well done Laura :-) :-)

Thanks Mimojo!!
    Firedance wrote: »
    WHOOP WHOOOP indeed! Sorry I didn't get to meet u - fan freakin tastic result!!

Cheers - I didn't realise you were out until I saw you mention it elsewhere, might catch you at the next trail run.
    SamforMayo wrote: »
    Great result Laura, that's a big break through, looking forward to the report!

Thanks Sam - watch that knee, tough being sensible I'm sure but it will pay off in the long run.
    adrian522 wrote: »

Thanks Adrian - but I'm crap at betting - I didn't actually win any prize money :D
    Bungy Girl wrote: »

Thanks BG, you had me laughing this evening at the thoughts of you dragging a pole around a XC course attached to your shorts :pac:
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Great stuff, Laura. Well run, and what a nice chip time!

Thanks Murph, I certainly cut it fine anyway, but I'll take it!
    Well done Laura, the perfect time!

Thanks CJ. Was nice to meet you today, good luck with the rest of the training for Limerick.

Can I just say I called sub 2 for Laura ;):pac::D

Mr. Motivator over here - new career maybe??? :pac:
    Well done Laura! What's the next target now you have sub-2hrs :)?

Cheers! I don't know, I hadn't thought that far ahead at all because sub 2 seemed such a while away. I think I'm not very good at estimating where I'm at before going into a race. I think I find it hard to get that balance between not wanting to blow up and setting a realistic challenge. I'm sure it'll come with more practice so I guess I'll wait and see.
    beertons wrote: »
    Deadly. Well done.

Thank you!
    chickey2 wrote: »
    Well done! That's a great chunk off your PB and a great chip time. Don't forget to add your name to the graduates table!

Thanks chickey - ooh yes, a table - must do that!
    Darren 83 wrote: »
    Fantastic result Laura well done.

Cheers Darren!
    Runchick wrote: »
    Well done Laura, super strong finish too! Great to see the graduate plan paying off :D

Thanks, yeah it seems to be going well - you seem to be enjoying it too!
    Tom Joad wrote: »
    Well done Laura, great running - nice to meet you today too.

You too TJ, great time from you. Lovely to meet you as well
    Well done Laura, great running, pity we didn't get a chance to meet.

TbL

Thanks TbL - sorry to have missed you. Super result from you, look forward to the report.
    Great running Laura and nice to meet you. I have a medium T-shirt and would happily post it on to you if it would be ok for you?
    If so PM me your address.

Thanks Memo, if you're sure? I shall do that. Nice to put a face to the name!
    tang1 wrote: »
    Well done Laura on the victory, great running.

Thanks Tang!!
    Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Fantastic report, well done again. You deserve every bit of that great result!!

Cheers DG, been following your week in the spotlight, been really interesting.
    Well done. Great report.

Thanks very much!
    annapr wrote: »
    love it, Laura, really well done again and sure you're only a young wan, so many more good days to come :D

Thanks Anna, happy out alright. A young wan? - you should have seen the state of me after - I think there was more hair outside of my bobbin and hairband than there was in it, my red face could have passed for sunburn - I think I aged about 10 years :D

Yeah, sure I wasn't even going to take the t-shirt tbh only it was pretty cold after the race!! Pm and I'll send it on asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Yeah, sure I wasn't even going to take the t-shirt tbh only it was pretty cold after the race!! Pm and I'll send it on asap.

I have an "unworn by meno medium" if you want it. Actually unworn by anyone!