Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From minutes to miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Can't imagine the sub 25 being too far away based on that! Great pace on those intervals. Tallaght's pretty flat I hear, it's looking good, just sayin' :D

^^^^^ Nice session alright Laura, keep up the good work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Duanington wrote: »
    ^^^^^ Nice session alright Laura, keep up the good work!

Thanks duanington - I'll try :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

+1 to the above. You showed great restraint/discipline too in the pacing, nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Just catching up Laura, great to see your times coming down like this. Sure you've practically done the sub-25 in that session... albeit with some recoery in between, but still. The extra boost a race gives you will get you there. :)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    +1 to the above. You showed great restraint/discipline too in the pacing, nice one!
    annapr wrote: »
    Just catching up Laura, great to see your times coming down like this. Sure you've practically done the sub-25 in that session... albeit with some recoery in between, but still. The extra boost a race gives you will get you there. :)

Thanks guys, felt good to be moving at that pace, but still like I had more to give. More to do, but a good sign!

Monday 20th: Squash

Another decent game.

Tuesday 21st: Rest

It looked like a lovely evening and I really wanted to go out but there were birthday celebrations to be had and cake to eat. The OH was cooking dinner and going to a bit of effort so I thought it would be bad form to schedule the evening around my run :rolleyes:

Wednesday 22nd: 5.5 miles easy @ 10:07 with 6 x 12 sec hills and 6 x 100 metre strides - average HR 164bpm

Did this on my runmute to work. Found a fairly suitable hill on my route about 2 miles in and the madwoman look was complete running up, down and around the same circuit in front of rush hour traffic. Or so I thought until closer to work I passed two runners in the opposite direction. She looked like she was struggling a bit and he looked fairly relaxed - but he was also juggling 3 balls as he was running along. I decided I didn't look as weird anymore :cool: Finished off the run with the strides in the last mile.

PM: Headed off for a bit of physical therapy session. I was having a pain in a toe/ball of foot which was a very minor & not very noticeable niggle on/off for a few weeks but flared up in the last week or so. Not sore when I was running or exercising or wearing my running runners. But sore in other footwear and if I moved it a certain way or walked on it. Time to get it checked out. Just seems to be a little ligament issue so she did some work on it, it may have originally stemmed from the runners I bought a while ago that didn't work out and just flared up again. Before she even started anything she did notice and comment on me having a slightly puffy ankle - a hangover from my soccer twinge a few weeks ago. She did some work on that as well and told me to do a standing exercise to strengthen it.

Thursday 23rd: Rest

Took the day off to give the toe thing an extra day to recover.

Friday 24th: 5 miles easy @ 9:50, average HR 158bpm

A run of two halves. Ran to the house to check out the latest building work, pottered around for 10/15 minutes and then ran home. First half felt real awkward and gangly like I hadn't been out in weeks - second half felt much looser and normal. Toe feels much better so hopefully it's on the mend, will see over the next day or two post run.

Is that a happy birthday we missed?! Happy birthday! (And if you can't arrange the evening around a run on your birthday, when can you? Oh...yeah, every other night of the year ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Happy belated birthday Laura!

Is that a happy birthday we missed?! Happy birthday! (And if you can't arrange the evening around a run on your birthday, when can you? Oh...yeah, every other night of the year ;) )
    Happy belated birthday Laura!

Thanks guys!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

we missed your Birthday!! belated birthday wishes :-)

belated happy birthday from me too!

and wait, the juggling?? what plan is that part of... is it some training technique that we should know about? and in my case, never, ever attempt :)

Firedance wrote: »
    we missed your Birthday!! belated birthday wishes :-)
    belated happy birthday from me too!

and wait, the juggling?? what plan is that part of... is it some training technique that we should know about? and in my case, never, ever attempt :)

Cheers! 'Tis ok, we won't fall out over it FD ;) yeah, Anna - I have no idea what that was about, maybe we should ask clearlier about the training benefits - maybe balance and coordination??? :p

Saturday 25th: 4 miles @ 9:45, average HR 156bpm

After a morning spent picking paving choices and realizing just how expensive wooden floors can be :eek: I got out late afternoon for this and missed the rain. Was planning about 5/6 miles just to keep easing back after my toe issue but I had to cut it short. When I was out running on Friday evening I didn't notice one of those drain covers on the ground and landed straight on it with my right foot. It was one of those loose wobbly ones and it must have thrown my stride/leg impact because as I landed on it I got a sore shooting pain in my hip/glute that brought me to a stop. But once I stopped for a minute or two and walked around and stretched/wiggled the hip about it went away and I was only about 2 minutes from home anyway. So I easily got home, didn't feel anything else from the area and promptly forgot about it. Until Saturday when during the run I started getting sharp darting pain in the same area again. Cut it short at 4 miles and headed home. It's the same area I had a couple of small niggles before (from the IT band) so I did a bit of foam rolling and tennis ball work on hip and glute.

Sunday 26th: 1.25 miles @ it doesn't really matter :mad:

Again, no pain in the area and all seemed fine until just over a mile into the run and the same thing happened again. Decided there was no point doing anything else and just walked home with a few random darts of discomfort. Not the kind of pain I could really run through either even if I wanted to as it causes me to completely draw up mid stride.

Fairly pi$$ed off to be honest. Training was going great from before Christmas up to a few weeks ago but I feel the wheels of consistency have come off after a bad run of tummy bug and one or two small unrelated niggles. Aside from the hip, both today and yesterday everything else felt great - effort and pace felt easy, legs felt good. The logical part of me knows it's not a big deal, just an unfortunate spell and in the grand scheme of things (especially compared to others with proper injuries) it's nothing major. But the other (the stubborn, more competitive side) says no, fcuk that, I am annoyed anyway :rolleyes:

Anyway, that's my giving out done. Have to decide whether to just give it a few days rest and foam rolling and hope that sorts it out. Or not to beat around the bush and maybe waste a few days and go get it looked at as soon as I can. In the meantime I guess I have more time to study - yaaaaay :cool:

That sounds painful, Laura, definitely better to rest it.

Sometimes you just get a bad run (no pun intended) of a few weeks where it's inconsistent... but all that training you've done since Christmas will still stand to you.

^^^+1 really sorry to hear this, it's so frustrating :mad:
    My club captain gave me some pearls of wisdom the other day: always have a long term goal, a year - even two - down the road so when something like this happens, you can put it in perspective. You sound quietly philosophical about it, and understandably pi$$ed off....

Likewise sorry to hear that, total pain in the ass :( maybe get it seen sooner than later, wont do harm to have it looked at...either way hope you get sorted soon

Nooooh! That sucks :( Hope you get sorted soon.

That sounds painful, Laura, definitely better to rest it.

Sometimes you just get a bad run (no pun intended) of a few weeks where it's inconsistent... but all that training you've done since Christmas will still stand to you.

Thanks Anna. Yeah I know, just frustrating when the mind is haring off but the body for one reason or another is saying nope, not today. Just one of those bad luck spells - it'll pass!!
    ^^^+1 really sorry to hear this, it's so frustrating :mad:
    My club captain gave me some pearls of wisdom the other day: always have a long term goal, a year - even two - down the road so when something like this happens, you can put it in perspective. You sound quietly philosophical about it, and understandably pi$$ed off....

Great advice DG! I definitely have lots of goals - some longer and some stepping stone ones so worth just keeping them in mind. Don't think the hip thing is anything major I'm just more annoyed about the lack of consistency. I have the crazy house busyness anyway to keep me occupied :D
    Likewise sorry to hear that, total pain in the ass :( maybe get it seen sooner than later, wont do harm to have it looked at...either way hope you get sorted soon

Quite literally a pain in the ass!!! :rolleyes:

Nooooh! That sucks :( Hope you get sorted soon.

Thanks G. Hope you had a great holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Sorry to hear of your woes Laura. Hope it improves for you soon

RedRunner wrote: »
    Sorry to hear of your woes Laura. Hope it improves for you soon

Thanks R. Should be in the swing of things soon. Hope you're doing ok with the back, you must be so frustrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Sorry to hear Laura.

Not sure I should mention it but good luck with the study, at least after the bank holiday weekend is done!...

Sorry to hear Laura.

Not sure I should mention it but good luck with the study, at least after the bank holiday weekend is done!...

Nope the study has me in its grasp this evening (aside from this minor boards detour but I may abandon it to catch up on last nights The Good Wife ;)). Thanks!!! Another wild Friday night :cool:

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Nope the study has me in its grasp this evening (aside from this minor boards detour but I may abandon it to catch up on last nights The Good Wife ;)). Thanks!!! Another wild Friday night :cool:
    just did exactly that :-) one of those weird episodes..

Yes, very weird!!! Not sure what to make of it!

Haven't seen it yet, shhhhhhh ;)!

I hope you've got the waterproofs out for your parkrun duties - miserable out there.

I know! BG Jr has refused point blank to go so I've to head out on my own :rolleyes:

I can't say I blame her. I'm glad now I got up early to study instead of run - although I hope it clears up later. Good luck at the parkrun!

get out there, it'll clear your head for study! and you learn better after exercise (studies have shown)