Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,331 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Old diesel wrote: »
    I know of an Audi A3 whose owner never used 5th gear

[...]

340667.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

YbFocus wrote: »
    What was the reasoning :)
    Sounds ridiculous!

One of the aul Flames was the same, point blank refused to put it in 5th, the reason was that the car would then be going too fast.

I just did all the driving.

Incidentally she drives a 6 speed yoke now, I often wonder did her head explode when she saw that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Look at this bastard:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BbeDgiou6-U#t=39

Lovely justice for him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Cheensbo wrote: »
    One of the aul Flames was the same, point blank refused to put it in 5th, the reason was that the car would then be going too fast.

I just did all the driving.

Incidentally she drives a 6 speed yoke now, I often wonder did her head explode when she saw that :pac:
    My mother is the same, refuses to put the car in 5th even when doing 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Mc Love wrote: »
    My mother is the same, refuses to put the car in 5th even when doing 100

I'm always surprised how often I hear that from people. Getting the car up to 4th is no bother, but going beyond that is scary territory....boggles the mind really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I like to keep mine in 4th when I'm doing 100-120, for those smooth overtakes.

Down to 3rd for the overtakes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I have collected the variables, analysed the data and I conclude that the problem is you don't have enough cylinders. "4th for overtakes" is right, is it a FireBlade you have?!? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Jesus, even for an auto driver you're a lazy ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

I know a grown man who thought 3rd gear was for motorways,he went through two gearboxes on two different cars in the time i worked with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

tossy wrote: »
    I know a grown man who thought 3rd gear was for motorways,he went through two gearboxes on two different cars in the time i worked with him.

I'm surprised he didn't replace even more engines!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

I'm surprised he didn't replace even more engines!

Did you ever get to check the past owners on that volvo ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

tossy wrote: »
    Did you ever get to check the past owners on that volvo ?

No tossy sorry, i went home to check that weekend and he had just sold it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

WTF? This makes no sense - I thought the accepted standard was into top gear from 50kph and never drop a gear (even to overtake) until it's chugging and about to conk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Hah! My mother is the same. Never uses 5th gear, staying in 4th :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

CianRyan wrote: »
    Jesus, even for an auto driver you're a lazy ****e.

If I need more I have the kickdown :pac:
    jimgoose wrote: »
    I have collected the variables, analysed the data and I conclude that the problem is you don't have enough cylinders. "4th for overtakes" is right, is it a FireBlade you have?!? :D

Enough torques hanging about in 4th to lug my machine around :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

WTF? This makes no sense - I thought the accepted standard was into top gear from 50kph and never drop a gear (even to overtake) until it's chugging and about to conk?

Yeah, if you're a taxi driver.

I almost never hear someone with the enine revving high unless they look half blind and mostly mad and the car is covered in dents on every panel.
    Far more common to be out cycling and to hear someone failing desperately to accelerate around you ... chu-chug-chug-chug, or see someone take months to accomplish an overtake* that would have been done in a safe amount of time in a lower gear!

*Of another car. Not me on the bike.

I almost never hear someone with the enine revving high unless they look half blind and mostly mad and the car is covered in dents on every panel.
    Far more common to be out cycling and to hear someone failing desperately to accelerate around you ... chu-chug-chug-chug, or see someone take months to accomplish an overtake that would have been done in a safe amount of time in a lower gear!

I have been in the car with plenty of people who believe that in order to overtake, they must shift UP a gear :eek::eek::eek:

I guess the rationale is that higher gears mean more speed right?!

I'd say that's not a rare "understanding" of how cars work at all. Pretty amazing that people can spend so much money on something, use it everyday and still have no idea about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Same here with my mother and the lack of 5th gear! If I'm in the car with her I used to make her put it into 5th, she's so not used to doing it, she has difficulty finding 4th when changing down at times, put it into 2nd once or twice, and we all know how a drastic drop like that sounds like!

A fella in work was victim of a scam over the weekend. Went up to Dublin to buy a qashqai. All checked out ok and drove home after handing over 13k yesterday. Went out for the rugby and when he got home the car was on its way back to Dublin. It was recorded going through the eflow toll in portlaoise less than an hour after he got home. Gardai reckon the owner followed him home from Dublin with a spare key and helped himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

A fella in work was victim of a scam over the weekend. Went up to Dublin to buy a qashqai. All checked out ok and drove home after handing over 13k yesterday. Went out for the rugby and when he got home the car was on its way back to Dublin. It was recorded going through the eflow toll in portlaoise less than an hour after he got home. Gardai reckon the owner followed him home from Dublin with a spare key and helped himself.

ouch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

That's exactly why I never agree with the seller posting out the Vehicle Registration Certificate.

They can easily not send out the VRC, claim the car was stolen or get it back themselves and then report a lost VRC months/years down the line.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,309 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Jesus.

I'd be staking the chap's gaf out for a week or so tbh if that is the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Christ that's boring. 1st to 4000 recs, 2nd to 6000 revs, third to 6500 and then fifth. Alfas are made to be revved, hence the ****y mpg. 4000 revs plus for the overtake.
    When the engine Is warm of course. No bringing it up the rev range until then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

The golf is noticeably quiter since getting the new tyres. So the ones that were on it seemed to be creating a lot of road noise.

Also there was some severe snow on the m8 heading towards cork this morning at 7am. It got so heavy that it started building up to the point you couldn't see any marking on the road at all just one big white blanket between the embankment and centre crash barrier seemed to panic a lot of people who just couldn't deal with having no marking it was clear by the time I got to cork though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

What was the reasoning :)
    Sounds ridiculous!

She NEVER used 5th gear apparently - ever - just used the gearbox as a 4 speed box.

the reason she was telling me was that she mentioned that she was traveling quicker then usual - about 65 mph - and she noticed the engine reving hard.

Now I happened to mention that in 5th gear - the car should be (fairly) quiet engine wise at 60 odd mph. (id expect to hear more road noise really)

That's when she mentioned about NEVER using 5th gear.

I think the same woman bought a nearly new Kadett at one point and didn't realise there was a cassette player on it until someone pointed it out to her.

The weird thing is though - she gave me a lift about a year ago - and shes actually a perfectly safe and good driver - apart from not using 5th gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Absolute mightmare. Guy living across the road from me bought a BMW 5-series during the summer, brought it home and that night it was taken from his front yard. Its also believed that there was a tracker in the car and the previous owner kept the spare key. Was recorded on the motorway too!
    Luckily he had insurance covered, but they were still very skeptical and weary about paying out when the car was gone 12 hours after it got insured.