Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Hal1 wrote: »
    There's blizzard like snow up at sally gap atm. Just back from there. The roads were nice and dry on the way up, and slightly illuminated by the moon.

Had a brick-****ter there last Friday.

Mountains and winter don't mix, I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Dartz wrote: »
    Had a brick-****ter there last Friday.

Mountains and winter don't mix, I think
    I remember seeing a load of American owners giving out about the rx8 In snow and how dealers had assured them that 50/50 weight distribution would be beneficial in the snow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Did I pass you on the motorway this evening bpmull. Kilkenny somewher around half seven?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Interslice wrote: »
    Did I pass you on the motorway this evening bpmull. Kilkenny somewher around half seven?

Nope it wasn't me I'm in cork all day. There's actually quite a few mk5 black golfs going around kilkenny :pac:

Bpmull wrote: »
    Nope it wasn't me I'm in cork all day. There's actually quite a few mk5 black golfs going around kilkenny :pac:

Feck thout id spotted my first boardsie car!
    1 of 4 black mk 5 I passed!
    Yours an 07 d 2 door though?

Feck thout id spotted my first boardsie car!
    1 of 4 black mk 5 I passed!
    Yours an 07 d 2 door though?

Yep it's 07 G reg though front foglights and alloys make it stand out a bit from the 90% baselines that seem to be on the road. We're you just passing through kilkenny I'm fairly sure you don't live near kilkenny could be wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Nothing set in stone, if it happens will probably realistically be next year. But the focus I have now will be out the gap. Don't want a 1.6 focus. I want the full hog. I settled on zetec with the mondeo, won't be "settling" again. If I do go for a focus, it'll be a 2.0 163bhp titanium X, half leather seats, 17" 15 spoke alloys in either a darkish red or ice white.
    That's the same as me, i settled for a zetec in the focus i had and should have gotten something better but I didn't want to settle for any paddy spec here but the garage i bought from had a good spec imported

Yep it's 07 G reg though front foglights and alloys iake it stand out a bit from the 90% baselines that seem to be on the road. We're you just passing through kilkenny I'm fairly sure you don't live near kilkenny could be wrong though.

No live in meath but up and down to cork every few weeks for college. Stopped in urlingford for the last time i reckon. 1.29 for diesel in the texaco :/. Chipper was muc too :v.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

No live in meath but up and down to cork every few weeks for college. Stopped in urlingford for the last time i reckon. 1.29 for diesel in the texaco :/. Chipper was muc too :v.

I pay the same for Petrol down here :pac:

Id normally go home through urlingford when coming back from college at the weekends. Although I get off at exit 4 so bypass the big petrol station in urlingford I think that's exit 5.

I have exams starting in just over two weeks some hardship only realised they were so close today. My car is filty again and between exams and then holidays it won't be properly cleaned till April it's pinging at me that it needs to be serviced in 1200 km too so that will fall due on the worst time.

On a scale of 1-Mad, how mad would I be to get a Supercharger kit for the E39 :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

On a scale of 1-Mad, how mad would I be to get a Supercharger kit for the E39 :pac:

Needs d-turbo'd

dgt wrote: »
    Needs d-turbo'd

You're a feckin' loose cannon :pac:

May aswell try and whore myself out on here; if anyone is looking at getting polish/wax etc sets for themselves (for ye olde upcoming summer), I'm trying to shift a few AutoGlym Perfect Bodywork sets on adverts if anyone wants to take them off my hands...

mrsdoyle.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

I remember seeing a load of American owners giving out about the rx8 In snow and how dealers had assured them that 50/50 weight distribution would be beneficial in the snow...

Wasn't snow, it was ice.

Just went straight on at a place I'd rather it not go straight on. Because there was a long drop not far from the edge of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Second tank of fuel used in the celica, 330 miles using 43 liters, 35mpg. Not too shabby :) dropped just 5mpg and doubled my bhp!

Would love a bigger fuel tank overall. 330 miles per tank is 2-3 fuel stops per week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Pug 206 passed the NCT first time after going through not even getting a once over, no lights focused, nothing. Typical!

My sister had a 96 corolla like that. Sailed through every single NCT in its life without doing a tap.

And there was me getting it checked out, lights focused and everything when I had it, probably needlessly. Such a great little car, never gave a tap of bother!

Ha

I pay the same for Petrol down here :pac:

only got 20 off me instead of 60. Maxol up here is under 1.20. Their loss. They must be getting money off the local diesel fleet! Their petrol was only 3c dearer.
    Id normally go home through urlingford when coming back from college at the weekends. Although I get off at exit 4 so bypass the big petrol station in urlingford I think that's exit 5.

I have exams starting in just over two weeks some hardship only realised they were so close today. My car is filty again and between exams and then holidays it won't be properly cleaned till April it's pinging at me that it needs to be serviced in 1200 km too so that will fall due on the worst time.

Car will be grand! Best of luck with them exams. Doing an msc. below so no real big exam sessions like the undergrad. A couple of one hour multiple choice and practical exams is about it. Up to my tits in assignments though :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Car will be grand! Best of luck with them exams. Doing an msc. below so no real big exam sessions like the undergrad. A couple of one hour multiple choice and practical exams is about it. Up to my tits in assignments though :(.

Demfeels.jpg

And here's me worrying about putting my assignment in late :pac:

In other news, the repair cost for the car has been granted so hopefully that'll get done during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Was having a discussion with Dave Humphreys on twitter about the new Passat and I asked about most of them being paddy spec, apparently not, due to the PCP deal, with most of them now being highline!!

B-zUVgvXAAAkx9Z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

The new Passat in that pic works great in that colour

Not sure about the privacy glass though - any car ive ever sat into with it feels very dark inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

The new Passat in that pic works great in that colour

Not sure about the privacy glass though - any car ive ever sat into with it feels very dark inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Anyone know much about 05 Audi 2.0tdi?

There's two I'm interested in one a bit out of my rice range one just right the lack of armrest annoys me in that one though :pac: it may sound silly but I've had an armrest for years driving a car without one always feels weird.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2005-audi-a4-2-0-tdi/8787843

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/05-audi-a4-2l-tdi-6-speed-/8797345

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

There's two I'm interested in one a bit out of my rice range one just right the lack of armrest annoys me in that one though :pac: it may sound silly but I've had an armrest for years driving a car without one always feels weird.

Ask Uncle Ben for a hand out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Ask Uncle Ben for a hand out ;)

Ha damn it. Or I can sell ya the 330i and ill have lots of cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Got a free Seat Inca for the younger brother to start driving, Only problem is it needs most of the interior :pac:. Anyone have Inca/ Caddy/ Ibiza/ Polo bits knocking around. He is already wanting to do a mk3 ibiza front end swap!