Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bpmull wrote: »
    They seem to be the only big company that will allow under 21s to rent in Spain I could always just rent one for the last few days either. I have to sort a credit card too as I don't have one apparently It's easy enough to get a student one of your bank.

I didn't need a credit card. Got the top insurance so they didn't want it,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I didn't need a credit card. Got the top insurance so they didn't want it,

Ah ok I'll look into that and see if it's needed. Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Lurching

Folks, some advice please - I've been in Australia for the last 5 years.
    When I left Ireland, I had 5 years no-claims bonus. No accidents or anything in Aus in the interim (if that matters).
    I'm looking to buy something along the lines of a 535D or M3 when i get home in May.
    What's the best way to approach insurance? Is my 5 years no-claims from 5 years ago null and void?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Lurching wrote: »
    When I left Ireland, I had 5 years no-claims bonus. No accidents or anything in Aus in the interim (if that matters).
    I'm looking to buy something along the lines of a 535D or M3 when i get home in May.
    What's the best way to approach insurance? Is my 5 years no-claims from 5 years ago null and void?

Its null and void. Only lasts two years and they don't take your driving from other countries into account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Lurching wrote: »

Best bet is try and find who your old insurer was and ask them, No Claims expire after 2 years but there may be some leeway for a previous customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Lurching

Best bet is try and find who your old insurer was and ask them, No Claims expire after 2 years but there may be some leeway for a previous customer.

Perfect, will try that approach, once i remember who it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

EBC Greenstuff pads have landed. Now to order some Bosch discs and see if I get some better braking. :cool:

Have the same pads for the track car. They come into there own on a decent spin on the twisties, according to some lad with an evo I was chatting to!! Hopefully theyll do the job for a trackday. There a fast road pad but the mirage only weighs around 950 kg with a driver now. Cleaning and lubricating the calipers properly is just as important to get good even contact,particularly where the wings of the pad slide on the carrier. Brake dust gathers there and nearly becomes part of the carrier with all the heat and pressure i suppose. Good quality fresh brake fluid too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I miss my Mirage Asti Version R. It was 9 seconds quicker up to 160 Km/hr than my BMW 520i. In the exact same spot. Mind you it was raining quite a bit when I timed it in the BMW but even if the rain caused a delay it would not be much. It's really the lightness of the car that gave it the edge, you also have to keep the revs up a lot, to get max power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

I miss my Mirage Asti Version R. It was 9 seconds quicker up to 160 Km/hr than my BMW 520i. In the exact same spot. Mind you it was raining quite a bit when I timed it in the BMW but even if the rain caused a delay it would not be much. It's really the lightness of the car that gave it the edge, you also have to keep the revs up a lot, to get max power.

Ye sure its half a tonne lighter than a 3series with the same power as most of the 6pots.Must update the thread. Gearbox is curently out for a job on the 3rd gear syncro. Going to look at changing the final drive to see if its affordable. Gears are set up mad as you say you have to keep it reved up. Hits the 180kmhr limiter in third... 4th and fifth are token gears :v. be **** all quicker than it with that final drive job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Its null and void. Only lasts two years and they don't take your driving from other countries into account.

The Irish bonus is expired but if he has a policy in aussie land it may be accepted

have taken all sort of mad ones myself from uk to Russia once it can be professionally translated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Lads I'm 99% sure I got caught by a speed van back in october. I have yet to receive notification of penalty points or a fine. What should I do? I've heard stories of this happening to people before and months later they receive a court summons for non payment of a fine, having never received any notification of said fine. I'm keen to avoid this.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Lads I'm 99% sure I got caught by a speed van back in october. I have yet to receive notification of penalty points or a fine. What should I do? I've heard stories of this happening to people before and months later they receive a court summons for non payment of a fine, having never received any notification of said fine. I'm keen to avoid this.

I'm in the exact same boat (well, November instead of October)

My thinking is that 99% of people who trot out the "never got the fine in the post" line, are lying. I'd imagine that it's incredibly unlikely that you wouldn't get the fine.

You'd need to be extremely unlucky.

As far as I know, they have 6 months to nail you to the wall with the fine. And if you don't receive it within that timeframe, you're in the clear.

I can't wait for April to roll around! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Happened to me a couple years back. Got done for being on the phone in Carlow and never got the fine. Summons arrived months later and had to take a day off work to go. Was there for 10am and didn't get called until 3.50pm. Stood up and pleaded my case. Judge said fair enough - how about making a donation to charity and we'll strike this out? Grand says I. €250 to SVP says the judge. :eek:

If I'd actually got the bloody fine it woulda been €80, not a days pay plus €250! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Or stayed off your phone :pac:

In fairness though that was harsh, but the judge probably assumed you were trying to dupe him!

YbFocus wrote: »
    Or stayed off your phone :pac:

In fairness though that was harsh, but the judge probably assumed you were trying to dupe him!

I really don't think he did.

When I was called I stood up and pleaded guilty. He asked why I hadn't paid the fine and I told him that I never got the opportunity. I actually explained that I would have gladly paid it rather than travel down to Carlow from Dublin and lose a days pay. Was hoping for a strike! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

166man wrote: »
    If you haven't already, Id definitely be going for braided lines. It's somthing I'm doing to mine.

What advantages do you find from those braided lines? Just had my lines replaced for ~€65 at the garage. Took standard lines and wondering should I regret it.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I really don't think he did.

When I was called I stood up and pleaded guilty. He asked why I hadn't paid the fine and I told him that I never got the opportunity. I actually explained that I would have gladly paid it rather than travel down to Carlow from Dublin and lose a days pay. Was hoping for a strike! :o

I would have let you off. That looked like a genuine mistake. He must have been a bad one :)

I'm still holding the record of not even getting a parking ticket :)

I would have let you off. That looked like a genuine mistake. He must have been a bad one :)

I'm still holding the record of not even getting a parking ticket :)

Ah sure you haven't lived til you've had a parking ticket!

Got 3 in one period of parking before, with a non display of tax fine thrown in on top. Grand total of €180 for 6 hours parking!

dorgasm wrote: »
    Ah sure you haven't lived til you've had a parking ticket!

Got 3 in one period of parking before, with a non display of tax fine thrown in on top. Grand total of €180 for 6 hours parking!

Good Jesus that was a hard day to accept I'd say!
    Mother of God!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

What advantages do you find from those braided lines? Just had my lines replaced for ~€65 at the garage. Took standard lines and wondering should I regret it.

Haven't got them yet, but I went on recommendations of others. New standard ones should do the job fine, I wouldn't regret getting standard ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I wonder, how safe is this?

11026054_880516848656782_4406460797719756042_n.jpg?oh=c65d50c5c128e88de179c5950aaa85c8&oe=55491EA4

The force the bolts would be under would be immense!
    Very unsafe!

Good Jesus that was a hard day to accept I'd say!
    Mother of God!

Very hard! I left out the bit where I wrote to the local super and explained that it was a Sunday and I didn't know I was in a taxi bay. Also, my tax disc was sent to my home address, not my current place, so it was actually paid. I paid one fine and the super wiped the rest for me :)

Ah well there you go :)
    Not to bad i guess :)

Although I'm sure if i was the guard i would have believed the taxi Bay bit ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Cycled into work today, guy in a BMW drove the entire way from Blackrock to the RDS in the bus lane all the time reading a newspaper that he had resting on the steering wheel.

Shure I do that, burrito and all, automagic yo :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Exhaust manifold studs after snapping in the block of the 9-5 :( fcuking cnut of a thing :(

What does that even mean? Sound serious...?

166man wrote: »
    What does that even mean? Sound serious...?

The bolts holding the manifold to the block.

More a pain in the hole than anything else.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    The bolts holding the manifold to the block.

More a pain in the hole than anything else.

Feck sake, that's just ghey luck.

Sorry to hear Picklington...