Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Yeah but you'll probably find that you're driving it a lot more than the yaris.
    I brim mine every time I fill it only because the 3/4 line on the gauge is full but I'm not risking empty being 1/4

Without a doubt, I do about 200-250 miles a week, not a single complaint at all. Handy not having bills to pay :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Bpmull wrote: »
    Actually speaking of fuel I got a call from my mother an hour ago wondering that if the fuel light had just come on would she be ok to do 50km today and tomorrow. So that then my dad could fill her car tomorrow evening when he gets home from the uk. She actually has a fear of fuel pumps so my dad or me always end up getting her diesel. She doesn't like touching the pump with her hand :pac: id say she gets fuel herself about twice a year and that would only be because she was really stuck for it.

Ha that's a new one! I've a fear of fuel pumps too but for a very different reason :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

dorgasm wrote: »
    Ha that's a new one! I've a fear of fuel pumps too but for a very different reason :pac:

I know she doesn't actually mind paying for the fuel but putting it in is the issue :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

My woman's the opposite. The second the fuel light comes on she HAS to stop at the nearest station, no matter the price.

I can kinda understand where your mother is coming from though if her car is diesel. Since I've got the Jeep it seems impossible to get fuel without getting the stinky on your hands. Rarely found that with petrol, or maybe I just like the smell of it and it never bothered me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Bpmull wrote:
    Actually speaking of fuel I got a call from my mother an hour ago wondering that if the fuel light had just come on would she be ok to do 50km today and tomorrow. So that then my dad could fill her car tomorrow evening when he gets home from the uk. She actually has a fear of fuel pumps so my dad or me always end up getting her diesel. She doesn't like touching the pump with her hand  id say she gets fuel herself about twice a year and that would only be because she was really stuck for it.

Ha my mam was the same, until I gradually trained her :pac: I never touch the nozzle bare hand, always use tissue, it leaves the smell of diesel on your hands otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Ha my mam was the same, until I gradually trained her :pac: I never touch the nozzle bare hand, always use tissue, it leaves the smell of diesel on your hands otherwise.

They normally have a plastic disposable gloves in my local topaz that Id use. I think between potentially getting diesel on your hands or dirting your shoes in a diesel spill is all just too much for her :pac:

Yer type of mams are the people I hate in work :P

Oooooh can't let some diesel on my precious little hands :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I don't mind the smell of diesel :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Oooooh can't let some diesel on my precious little hands 

Naa mine's just pure ignorant and didn't know how the pump worked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Just spotted this over on the weather forum... -8C next week and probably below :eek:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057387595

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

What about strawberry flavoured diesel..? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

The only diesel where having a naked flame around is encouraged :pac:

166man wrote: »

Unfortunately not :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

166man wrote: »

They don't get that quality stuff down there :D

Just spotted this over on the weather forum... -8C next week and probably below :eek:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057387595

My cold starts will be fun....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Herself used to go to where you work now for that very reason. They must have been one of the very few places that still had a pump attendent. Topaz at the time? Whatever it was before anyway. The fuel cap was a lockable yoke that was never great at locking or unlocking in fairness

Make them work in a scrapyard. That'll knock sense into them fairly quick

Herself used to go to where you work now for that very reason. They must have been one of the very few places that still had a pump attendent. Topaz at the time? Whatever it was before anyway.

I work in both Mahon and Ballincollig, Mahon I presume? That used to be a Texaco.

I still do it if people ask me to but I don't stand out there.

I work in both Mahon and Ballincollig, Mahon I presume? That used to be a Texaco.

I still do it if people ask me to but I don't stand out there.

Na, the 'collig boy. Can remember it being BP but can't remember what it was a few years ago. I'm too young for alzheimers!

I wouldn't know myself, I'm from feckin' Ballinlough :pac:

I believe it was a Maxol for a while under John Barry and before that I have no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

250km drive to Cork tomorrow.

So. It'll be a sunny Saturday then.

In the chamber formed from the circle-around-circle, the triangle of power spins, protected by the Seals of Apex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Today I kerbed two wheels stupidly. Not happy with myself upside is hadn't refurbed yet thankfully so will do sooner now! Car dropped for detail for weekend off to Galway tomorrow afternoon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ohhhh you absolute hoor :mad:

fmkgm0.jpg

Next week is gona be fuuun :rolleyes: The 900 is gona be in temporary use while this gets sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

There's blizzard like snow up at sally gap atm. Just back from there. The roads were nice and dry on the way up, and slightly illuminated by the moon.

Hal1 wrote: »
    There's blizzard like snow up at sally gap atm. Just back from there. The roads were nice and dry on the way up, and slightly illuminated by the moon.

Lovely and sunny on the mourne mountains :) but the brook was subject to artic blizzards, freezing!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Yeah I wish I went up earlier was a nice enough day out.

Bought ATF fluid there for the first time. For power steering. I've no real issue with autos, they have their applications, but it still felt like buying cream for some embarrassing ailment. "It's not for me honestly"

I'll admit toastedpickles, I can't spot the problem in your pic. something to do with the manifold mentioned earlier?

Bought ATF fluid there for the first time. For power steering. I've no real issue with autos, they have their applications, but it still felt like buying cream for some embarrassing ailment. "It's not for me honestly"

I'll admit toastedpickles, I can't spot the problem in your pic. something to do with the manifold mentioned earlier?

Yeah, its the heat shield, we took that off to have a look at the broken stud and how to go attacking it and off came three more studs :(

Yeah wouldn't fancy it. They never look like they are going to be an easy job on a 10 year plus car. Heatshield is surprisingly clean.

Nope, the joys of it all! Having said that since i got the car its given 0 trouble so i suppose its not so bad, it'l be done and sorted anyways