Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Augeo wrote: »
    Usually can only fit 3 in a van.

If you've done this more than once you have a problem, it's called road rage.

I think he acknowledged that in the first post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    Saw a 2 series BMW yesterday. They are actually worse in real life!

I saw a 2 series M-Sport Coupe during the week, looks really good I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Happened to me again this morning. Parallel parking along the side of a street. You are on the left hand side of the road, stopped with your indicator on, waiting for a car to pass so you can cross the road and park into the spot which is on the right hand side. Que said car just shooting right into the spot, despite clearly seeing me stopped with my indicator on, then blatantly ignores me when I give the death stare afterwards. It's probably the only single handed thing that gets me so mad on the road, I try to cope with everything else, but this takes the biscuit!

I saw a 2 series M-Sport Coupe during the week, looks really good I think!

Had a short blast in a M235i.... Man oh man they drive so well. The 2 Series Coupe is the best car BMw have brought out in recent years without a doubt. Even the 220d is cracking.

The 235i has the most fantastic exhaust note, sounds like a 90's car, it's raspy and very aggressive, I loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Sorry I meant the 2 series active tourer FWD yoke!

Ah right, they're a foul yoke. Hugely expensive for what they are. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

tbh I can't hear 2 Series now without thinking rental MPV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

http://www.fiatforum.com/500/339820-euro6-1-2-throttle-response-hill-start-issues-watchdog-report-98.html

Oh dear oh dear - looks like Euro 6 1.2 Fiats are having an issue Fiat aren't fixing.

Not good

Edit - warning its a big long 99 page thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Haven't seen one yet but doesn't seem right calling it a BMW. Let's from now on just consider the M235i as the only 2 series!

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Wasn't somebody on here giving out about there 1.2 FIAT? Cos my 1.2 Punto was a little rocket (relatively speaking) and was far from slow.

Its a headscratcher - especially as some Euro 6 1.2s don't seem to have the issue but others do.

And some people have had software updates and others haven't.

Its confined to the Euro 6 engine - Euro 5 and earlier don't have the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Wasn't somebody on here giving out about there 1.2 FIAT? Cos my 1.2 Punto was a little rocket (relatively speaking) and was far from slow.

My Panda has the 1.2 Euro 5 and no issues. Plenty of pep. :)

Think I remember that but no prizes for guesses for who it was though..!

Those Punto 1.2's are fantastic when they're minded. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

:( some oil splats in the drive, from the positioning looks like it might be the oil pump gasket or O ring.

2 series BMWs - have little interest in them generally - except someone in the town near me has a white 220d - and it does look nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Old diesel wrote: »
    A quick mess around with the Fiat configurator for the 500 reminds me that - manufacturers LIKE to charge you extra for stuff that makes the car nice.

I know Fiat are not alone though.

But you can add THOUSANDS to the price of the car with all the extra cost bits.

On the basic 1.2 Pop - it seems the standard colour is white - every other colour - something like 370 euros

Hey ho

You should really consider a colour therapy if you are looking at a 500. They are around 1k on top of the basic price but they really take the spartan look off of the pop model and broadens your colour choices a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

You should really consider a colour therapy if you are looking at a 500. They are around 1k on top of the basic price but they really take the spartan look off of the pop model and broadens your colour choices a lot.

If i remember, sobanek priced a new 316d with all the extras for the laugh, came in at around 100K :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

If i remember, sobanek priced a new 316d with all the extras for the laugh, came in at around 100K :o

My grandmother bought a new 316d mid spec (se I think) last year 142 brand new and it was around 40k euro rediculous money really. But I was up a few weeks ago and fcuk me they are some yoke to sit in and start up the Idrive keyless start sport mode (not sure what that does) Engine sounds very nice for a diesel too and the leather seats were nice. The one thing that bugs me she spends that kind of money on the car it's 6 months old and there is 5k km on it. Christ You'd like to think if you were going to spend that on a car you'd give it abit if use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Bpmull wrote: »
    My grandmother bought a new 316d mid spec (se I think) last year 142 brand new and it was around 40k euro rediculous money really. But I was up a few weeks ago and fcuk me they are some yoke to sit in and start up the Idrive keyless start sport mode (not sure what that does) Engine sounds very nice for a diesel too and the leather seats were nice. The one thing that bugs me she spends that kind of money on the car it's 6 months old and there is 5k km on it. Christ You'd like to think if you were going to spend that on a car you'd give it abit if use.

You're only annoyed because she's spending your inheritance.
    My way of looking at things like this is someone can spend there money on whatever they like, while I agree its madness, most would probably think the same about my gtv. But its my money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

My way of looking at things like this is someone can spend there money on whatever they like, while I agree its madness, most would probably think the same about my gtv. But its my money.

sure what else would ye be spending it on? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I couldn't care less I certainly won't see any inheritance of them the family is way too big with her own children my dad would be lucky to get something and I would agree you can spend your money on what you want but just to get such little use out of it I mean it's 40k that spends the vast majority of its time sitting outside the door. She had a lovely 2010 318d with all the toys at one stage and that was just as nice tbh. But whatever makes someone happy I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'm in major trouble. The €600 coolant tube I bought to be fitted to my car tomorrow has gone missing. :/ Can't find it anywhere at home or at work. It's either been nicked or thrown out.

I feel sick. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Was it boxed or just loose?

Boxed in a USPS delivery box, very little weight in it. :( Could have left it in a high traffic area with customers, I have no recollection where I left it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Retrace your steps from the moment you saw it.

Spent two days looking for it and backtracking etc, i've 99% given up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What does a €600 coolant tube look like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Ah that's the one that goes in the centre of the engine in that video you posted!

Fvck :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

A set of 4 sparkplugs on order for E100. Normal price is closer to 180 or so.

It occurs to me that the iridium that makes the tips of these came from the same asteroid that annihilated the dinosaurs.

So, 65 million years ago, this Iridium incinerated dinosaurs and cooked the planet.

And now, today, the same Iridium is incinerating dinosaurs and cooking the planet.