Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,180 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

While were on the subject of motorcyclists bad behaviour;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

While were on the subject of motorcyclists bad behaviour;

http://youtu.be/-zYgHCKcGrE

how do I embed the video on the page?
    Its the bit after the v= on youtube. Leave out the bit after the & also

ken wrote: »
    Its the bit after the v= on youtube. Leave out the bit after the & also

I'm still not getting it! do I use the share or embed function in youtube? and I don't see v= on either of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Every youtube video has a url like this
    5Dxxsg.png

When you hit reply to a thread on boards you'll see in top right the youtube tag. Click it and the text will appear in the reply box. Paste the (after v=) between the tags

6V4GKT.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

I rode in Dublin for years. Cops turn a blind eye. Filtering is a fairly gray area as the traffic is stationary.

Garda coppers do it.
    CatFromHue wrote: »
    :D:D

I have top say your clip just remind me of why I dislike motorbikers so much. You're in, you're out, you're shaking it all about and your speed is relative too, what's low speed to you might not be for a car in traffic wondering where did you just appear from.

Would you do any of the stuff in your clip during a driving test for example?
    Filtering is fine and legal once done properly but you do so at your own risk, I've yet to meet a car driver who liked being filtered though but pout that down to sheer begrudgery.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

I've got it now, cheers,

still a bit of a newbie on boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

bladespin wrote: »
    Filtering is fine and legal once done properly but you do so at your own risk, I've yet to meet a car driver who liked being filtered though but pout that down to sheer begrudgery.

Ah now. When I drive a car in traffic, I love the rumble of a nice V twin filtering up the inside.

This thread is turning into a bit of a tribe war here.
    I think no one need reminding that bad drivers/riders/cyclists exist everywhere. Only the small minded tarnish the whole group with the same brush.

I record lots of red light breaks during everyday at work. But its lame viewing for the Dashcam thread. Why even bother posting it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

martomcg wrote: »
    The degree to how dangerous I'm driving can be disputed all day! I'm fully confident that at the speed I'm going I can react (and have done) to pedestrians/drivers/cyclists doing something unexpected without checking their surroundings with mirrors or simply turning their head.

That's the exact sort of spiel that cyclists use that gets peoples back up against them too mind.

In the first clip of the truck, the right lane was empty, you could have gone up his right side where he would've had a better chance of seeing you and crossed over ahead of him.

Maybe any truck drivers who frequent here could tell me if they are comfortable with that manoeuvre from their point of view, stopped or not? I have a close friend who's been driving trucks for years and he hates this type of carry on from cyclists and bikers alike, he's of the opinion that you never know when he'll have to move in, for whatever reason.

Not nitpicking on your behaviour marto, but there does seem to be a bit of an agenda with those videos, as you say you've been driving for years, but it only takes two seconds.

Anyways, just my two cents, worthless as it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

The clips of the cyclists are of them breaking the law. Nothing I've done in my clip is illegal. ;)

Once again, no offence intended Martom but that's the kind of black and white view of motoring that gets people into trouble (and is very prevalent on this Board). In reality, the cyclist went through a red when there was no traffic coming and if there was, it would simply stop because he was in clear view and it was slowish moving anyway because it was in a built up area. You on the other hand were driving fast up the inside of traffic and whilst not illegal, it was much more dangerous because someone could have walked between the vehicles without you seeing them and you'd smash into them. Or a car could suddenly pull in/out and you'd hit them. Or someone could have opened the passenger door to get out etc etc.

Open your eyes lad and see what you're saying: Because something is technically illegal it is automatically more dangerous than something that's technically legal?

When you think of dozens of real life scenarios, you can see how wrong that train of thought is :)

Another one today while on the M1 southbound, just after passing the airport exit while coasting down, a car on the inside lane (which was tailgating the slow moving car in front) decided to pull out and indicate at the same time, just as I was about to overtake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,011 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

The clips of the cyclists are of them breaking the law. Nothing I've done in my clip is illegal.

The degree to how dangerous I'm driving can be disputed all day! I'm fully confident that at the speed I'm going I can react (and have done) to pedestrians/drivers/cyclists doing something unexpected without checking their surroundings with mirrors or simply turning their head.

And its the yoshi exhaust that gives it a nice hum! ;)

Biking for 8 years, with six years of that in the same streets as you were in that clip and while it doesn't make me an expert in anything I couldn't imagine myself doing half the maneuvers you did in that short video. You need to reassess the speed you're doing while filtering, your positioning, your questionable attitude to undertaking/using bicycle lines and jumping the lights without checking both sides. There is a pretty significant risk you're either going to avoidance spill, T-bone a car or smack a pedestrian. It will add maybe 2 or 3 minutes to your travel time.

I'd suggest booking some time with a Rospa instructor to go around town for a hour or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Wossack

Biking for 8 years, with six years of that in the same streets as you were in that clip and while it doesn't make me an expert in anything I couldn't imagine myself doing half the maneuvers you did in that short video. You need to reassess the speed you're doing while filtering, your positioning, your questionable attitude to undertaking/using bicycle lines and jumping the lights without checking both sides. There is a pretty significant risk you're either going to avoidance spill, T-bone a car or smack a pedestrian. It will add maybe 2 or 3 minutes to your travel time.

I'd suggest booking some time with a Rospa instructor to go around town for a hour or two.

Id have suggested him doing twice as many lifesavers, but sure 2 times zero, is still zero :P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

pablo128 wrote: »
    He appeared from nowhere. Isn't that what people say after they knock motorcyclists over?

Car drivers have 3 mirrors. We can almost see better behind us than in front. Just as you asked whether he would do the same in a driving test, your car driving test required you to check your mirrors regularly. Of course you still do that.

Don't you?

Yea I check my mirrors but that doesn't mean I can solve the unpredictability of some motor bikers.

Just because you can see someone doesn't mean you know what they're going to do next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

The clips of the cyclists are of them breaking the law. Nothing I've done in my clip is illegal.

And its the yoshi exhaust that gives it a nice hum! ;)

here's two penalty point offences committed in your vid

CDEqLob.png

AI3wTvG.png

this one is debatable

ghNAfIz.png

Last time i checked Motorcycles are not permitted to use bus lanes

Overtaking on the inside? Another offence i would have thought.
    Nothing I've done in my clip is illegal.

ridiculous statement tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

FFS Enough with the bickering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Patww79 wrote: »
    I don't suppose there is any chance that you could give a few examples on this form or in real life of where law-breaking cyclists were 'correct and untouchable'?
    n1ck wrote: »
    Mate of mine sent me a snapchat last week of 3 cyclists breaking the red lights at Nutgrove, all of which got stopped by the garda. :D
    Snapchat? The one that doesn't allow you to pick clips from your gallery? So he just happened to be sitting at the lights, and he started up Snapchat and chose to send a video clip before 3 cyclists broke the lights?

It is generally good news to hear of the Gardai catching any road user breaking the red light, but something doesn't add up with this story.

A slightly biased perspective, perhaps? Yes, the cyclists were generally breaking the law, as were you from time to time. At least one of the cyclists broke the lights pretty carefully. I'm not condoning what he did, but he did slow, and make sure there was nothing else coming. Most cyclists who break lights do this - if they didn't, there would be cyclist deaths every day, instead of 1 every month.
    Another one today while on the M1 southbound, just after passing the airport exit while coasting down, a car on the inside lane (which was tailgating the slow moving car in front) decided to pull out and indicate at the same time, just as I was about to overtake.
    I wouldn't assume that he didn't look. He may well have looked, and either not bothered his arse or misjudged your speed.
    Spook_ie wrote: »
    FFS Enough with the bickering
    Sheesh, what happened next. Did he u-turn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 115 ✭✭nomeban

Went for a sunny drive around "wesht" Cork today.

Twice in the space of 10 minutes I turned a bend to see some fecker on my side of the road. Luckily I was driving fairly slow, as I'm not used to these roads and the girlfriend wouldn't stop talking which affected my concentration. But what if I was also a mad culchie driving as if "I know these roads shur".

Sorry for the crappy quality. Switch it to 720p if you can. I need to sort out the exposure setting on the dash cam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

nomeban wrote: »
    Went for a sunny drive around "wesht" Cork today.

Twice in the space of 10 minutes I turned a bend to see some fecker on my side of the road. Luckily I was driving fairly slow, as I'm not used to these roads and the girlfriend wouldn't stop talking which affected my concentration. But what if I was also a mad culchie driving as if "I know these roads shur".

Sorry for the crappy quality. Switch it to 720p if you can. I need to sort out the exposure setting on the dash cam.

It's not just "wesht" Cork, but nearly everywhere, the white lines are for guidance only.

mrsoundie wrote: »
    It's not just "wesht" Cork, but nearly everywhere, the white lines are for guidance only.
    Yep! In most places the white lines just mark the middle of the road, their legal status is ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

Yep! In most places the white lines just mark the middle of the road, their legal status is ignored.

Reminds me of a joke :-

Police stop a driving speeding down the middle of the road, after many miles they manage to stop him and pull him over. He is asked why was he driving so fast? The driver replies because it say in my driving licence "Tear along dotted line!"

I am showing my age. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

RainyDay wrote: »
    Snapchat? The one that doesn't allow you to pick clips from your gallery? So he just happened to be sitting at the lights, and he started up Snapchat and chose to send a video clip before 3 cyclists broke the lights?

It is generally good news to hear of the Gardai catching any road user breaking the red light, but something doesn't add up with this story.

He was sitting in a coffee shop beside the lights and sent the snap of them just after they'd be stopped. Smartarse.

Is it just me or do my videos have a really loud buzzing sound? It's not like this on the laptop, but seems to be a youtube conversion thing.

mrsoundie wrote: »

It's not really about the white lines, but over-taking on/near a bend in the road. That person deserves to hit a truck coming in the opposite direction.

(No, I don't want them to die but maybe a broken leg and some pulverized ribs would teach them a lesson. Those idiots could have killed both of us if their overtake wasn't fast enough or if I was going the recommended 100kph)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

bladespin wrote: »

Which you could even see in his first clip when he turned right between a vw golf and something else.

The golf beeped because he couldn't move 1 car length in traffic as quick as he would like.

n1ck wrote: »
    He was sitting in a coffee shop beside the lights and sent the snap of them just after they'd be stopped. Smartarse.

So it wasn't a Snapchat of "3 cyclists breaking the red lights at Nutgrove, all of which got stopped by the garda" - it was a snap of "3 cyclists stopped by the garda after breaking the red lights at Nutgrove"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

So it wasn't a Snapchat of "3 cyclists breaking the red lights at Nutgrove, all of which got stopped by the garda" - it was a snap of "3 cyclists stopped by the garda after breaking the red lights at Nutgrove"

What do you think snap chat is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

You can actually choose a photo/video from gallery if you open chat with a friend.

What do you think snap chat is?

A way of life?
    Caliden wrote: »
    You can actually choose a photo/video from gallery if you open chat with a friend.

Fair enough. That must have changed - last time I looked it at (last year some time), it wasn't possible to choose a photo from the gallery.