Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Festival 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Shemale wrote: »
    Does anyone know where you can check all of a horses entries, ATR and RP only show one race even though the horse could be in a few markets with the bookies. I may have found a nice one.

Just because they are in the betting doesn't actually mean they have an entry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Bangor Billy

Entries for most of the races haven't closed yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

Just because they are in the betting doesn't actually mean they have an entry

I know, this horse is not in the market for the race I think he may go for but is entered in another race and is in that market.

I think those sites only show one entry anyway even if he does hold two entries.

Does 4th place in a Pertemps Qualifier qualify you for the final at Cheltenham?
    I thought Edeymi's run at Musselburgh was interesting. Sure to be a nice handicap in him somewhere.

Very interesting indeed, albeit if a bit unlucky in running. :p

He did well in the Fred Winter a few years back off the same mark.

Little King Robin has really grabbed my attention, just spotted her at 16/1 in the Mares, doubt she will go to the Champion and she has some decent form in the book. Bowe is a fair man for getting a horse right for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

I think those sites only show one entry anyway even if he does hold two entries.

RP show all of the official entries AFAIK.

When I'm stuck I usually try and find some trainer quotes on Irishracing.com or twitter to see if they mention the target etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Little King Robin has really grabbed my attention, just spotted her at 16/1 in the Mares, doubt she will go to the Champion and she has some decent form in the book. Bowe is a fair man for getting a horse right for the day.

She'd only be a target for Quinn's mare and Annie. Impossible to see her put enough of a gap between herself and the rest and stay up the hill, imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭YoungKhalifa

Pain Au Chocolat looks like the nicest Alan King prospect for a while now. 25/1 looks decent for the Triumph.

With Boyles going NRNB on Ryanair today I've had a bet on two against the field. I know Don Cossack has been visually impressive this season but he has beaten a disappointing horse in Wonderful Charm (I was a massive fan but he clearly lacks tactical speed), stayers in Boston Bob & LW and a highly inconsistent, if talented, chaser in Champagne. He's clearly talented but given his price, the fact he has plenty to prove at the festival, I think he's too short. I've never been a fan of Dynaste at Cheltenham and think he'll have to battle harder if he's to win this years renewal and not sure he'll be up to it. Champagne Fever, Al Ferof and Hidden Cyclone are QM bound and while I love Balder Sucess as an animal, his Cheltenham record puts me off - while 2m4 is clearly his trip, the hill would be a worry.

The two I like, and have backed are Cue Card (8/1) and Ballycasey (12/1). As Aidan pointed out on his thread a good while back, Cue Card if anywhere near his best will take all the beating. He's the best horse in the race, and while he was never a 3miler, has a superb festival record and the perfect blend of speed, bold-jumping and staying power for this race. Bettef ground should really help him too. I was hoping to get the 16/1 about Ballycasey but unfortunately missed the boat earlier, though happy to take 4pts shorter with NRNB. The reason I like Mullins horse is that IMO he falls perfectly into what's needed to win the race. Although shown up over 2m at Christmas, he travels very well through his races, jumps lovely bar the odd hiccup and having watched back last seasons RSA for the first time, I was amazed at how well he went until stamina gave way. His form over the intermediate trip is very strong too - 1f1- beating Don Cossack readily over it last season and falling when having Rebel Fitz hard at it. When you compare his price to the favs, I think he's a standout bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭oPATCHo

I've backed Cue Card at 8/1 (wasn't NRNB - oh well).

Cheltenham is his home, and he's back down in trip so should be able to ride him without worry. Cue Card was going in clear fav for this last year before being pulled out. Yes, he hasnt hit the same heights as last year but I think he'll give a very good run for his money! ... and at 8/1's, I'm on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

All aboard the Cue Card express!
    8/1 still an excellent price for me.
    If he gets a nice early rhythm to his jumping going I think he'll be very hard to beat. Massive fan of Don Cossack but at the prices, I can't have him- this is another step up in class and we've yet to see him compete at this level. Would still absolutely love if he won but from a betting point of view the value lies with Tizzard's for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭tomaussie

Dudes.

I have Vautour for the Arkle in nearly all my anti post combos.

So first question - will he run in it ?

tomaussie wrote: »
    Dudes.

I have Vautour for the Arkle in nearly all my anti post combos.

So first question - will he run in it ?

No, sorry man, looks a cert for JLT unless something happens the beast.

jimjamcos wrote: »
    No, sorry man, looks a cert for JLT unless something happens the beast.

Thought as much. Thanks for the heads up.

Second question - are all my combos including Valtour for the Arkle now dead ?

My little brain is telling me they are. It's a loser right ?

For example -

My EW accum is a loser ?

My treble is a loser ?

My double is a loser ?

But one of my other bets, a Yankee, becomes a trixie ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Meath Centre Forward

Shemale - you've been on here all winter giving out certs for every race at Cheltenham yet you don't even know how to check the entries for a race !! It never ceases to amaze the basic resources at punter's fingertips and they don't know about them.

ATR, Racing Post, Sporting Life, Irish Racing, use any of those websites ! Who's your horse or what's the race?

Shemale - you've been on here all winter giving out certs for every race at Cheltenham yet you don't even know how to check the entries for a race !! It never ceases to amaze the basic resources at punter's fingertips and they don't know about them.

6 races so far but stay tuned ;)

UDS and Sprinter were the two certs (had being recommending Uxizandre at a price tilI I saw Sprinters run, have him at 16s and reckon he will be in the mix). Also recommended Holywell for Gold Cup, Jezki for Champion, Rock on Ruby at the price for World and think Little King Robin is worth a few quid in the mares. Sweet on them all and when the dust settles I will be off to the dentist then the bank with securicor.

I dont fancy Sire Du Grugy and The New One who I think will need a lot of luck and/or withdrawals to win.

ATR, Racing Post, Sporting Life, Irish Racing, use any of those websites ! Who's your horse or what's the race?

As I said I looked on ATR and Racing Post, was just asking for alternatives as I am expecting him to line up elsewhere. Am waiting for a price, I will post once I get some money down.

Thought as much. Thanks for the heads up.

Second question - are all my combos including Valtour for the Arkle now dead ?

My little brain is telling me they are. It's a loser right ?

For example -

My EW accum is a loser ?

My treble is a loser ?

My double is a loser ?

But one of my other bets, a Yankee, becomes a trixie ?

Yep infortunately. Yea, any Yankee would become a Trixie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

As I said I looked on ATR and Racing Post, was just asking for alternatives as I am expecting him to line up elsewhere. Am waiting for a price, I will post once I get some money down.

How does someone so knowledgeable about racing not understand how to look up entries :confused:

The racingpost will list all of the entries a horse has not just one. Either the horse isn't entered in the race (its very easy to check who is) or the entries aren't in yet for the particular race. Entry/declaration dates are also very easy to look up.

Not rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭skippymac6

With Boyles going NRNB on Ryanair today I've had a bet on two against the field. I know Don Cossack has been visually impressive this season but he has beaten a disappointing horse in Wonderful Charm (I was a massive fan but he clearly lacks tactical speed), stayers in Boston Bob & LW and a highly inconsistent, if talented, chaser in Champagne. He's clearly talented but given his price, the fact he has plenty to prove at the festival, I think he's too short. I've never been a fan of Dynaste at Cheltenham and think he'll have to battle harder if he's to win this years renewal and not sure he'll be up to it. Champagne Fever, Al Ferof and Hidden Cyclone are QM bound and while I love Balder Sucess as an animal, his Cheltenham record puts me off - while 2m4 is clearly his trip, the hill would be a worry.

The two I like, and have backed are Cue Card (8/1) and Ballycasey (12/1). As Aidan pointed out on his thread a good while back, Cue Card if anywhere near his best will take all the beating. He's the best horse in the race, and while he was never a 3miler, has a superb festival record and the perfect blend of speed, bold-jumping and staying power for this race. Bettef ground should really help him too. I was hoping to get the 16/1 about Ballycasey but unfortunately missed the boat earlier, though happy to take 4pts shorter with NRNB. The reason I like Mullins horse is that IMO he falls perfectly into what's needed to win the race. Although shown up over 2m at Christmas, he travels very well through his races, jumps lovely bar the odd hiccup and having watched back last seasons RSA for the first time, I was amazed at how well he went until stamina gave way. His form over the intermediate trip is very strong too - 1f1- beating Don Cossack readily over it last season and falling when having Rebel Fitz hard at it. When you compare his price to the favs, I think he's a standout bet.

Good analysis and while I think Cue Card is still a very talented horse, I think he might just not be the force of old. He just seemed to run very flat behind God Own early in the year and was only 4th in the Betfair when fav and 5th in the King George. I do think the break will help him though. Ballycasey is a horse I've always had a soft spot for but I think he has a soft spot himself! Just doesn't seem to enjoy a battle.

The horse I've backed is John's Spirit at 12/1. He obviously loves it around Cheltenham winning there this year and coming second to Caid Du Berlais in the paddypower. Only one place behind Cue Card in the King George then and I think he'll go very close come March.

Yep infortunately. Yea, any Yankee would become a Trixie.

Thanks Jim. That's what my tiny brain was telling me.

You would never know I managed a bookies many many years ago but sometimes your brain doesn't want to accept you've just spúnked £250 of stake money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

Thanks Jim. That's what my tiny brain was telling me.

You would never know I managed a bookies many many years ago but sometimes your brain doesn't want to accept you've just spúnked £250 of stake money.

7 bets out of 11 have vanished. Very hard to cope with.

Ian Whelan wrote: »
    7 bets out of 11 have vanished. Very hard to cope with.

That's just the Yankee.

It's more about getting the destination of the horses wrong.

As I'm a bit detached I am vulnerable to getting it wrong.

No worries. Lesson learnt re ante post multiples.

skippymac6 wrote: »
    Good analysis and while I think Cue Card is still a very talented horse, I think he might just not be the force of old. He just seemed to run very flat behind God Own early in the year and was only 4th in the Betfair when fav and 5th in the King George. I do think the break will help him though. Ballycasey is a horse I've always had a soft spot for but I think he has a soft spot himself! Just doesn't seem to enjoy a battle.

The horse I've backed is John's Spirit at 12/1. He obviously loves it around Cheltenham winning there this year and coming second to Caid Du Berlais in the paddypower. Only one place behind Cue Card in the King George then and I think he'll go very close come March.

Regarding Cue Card, I'm happy to ignore all his form over 3m (Betfair win wasn't even 3m) and see little point in comparing his and John Spirits King George run as neither are best over that trip. Johns Spirit is a thoroughly likeable horse but given he's been mixing it with decent handicappers mostly, I'd be disappointed if he was good enough to win what looks a strong Ryanair. Think his price is short tbh.

With regards to Ballycasey and his battling qualities, I'd be happy enough with how he's finished races when over correct trip. As I've said, just think he's maybe seen as softish due to weakening over a trip he'd never get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Been a big fan of Cue Cards for a long time but i couldn't be backing him for the Ryanair,unfortunately i think he's gone at the game,some of his jumping this season has been absolutely dreadful and a drop in trip won't help.

I think Ryanair's going to be one hell of a race with one out of Don Cossack,Dynaste,Uxizandre or Taquin De Seuil the likely winner for me,whether Uxizandre goes here or Champion chase is another question mind you. I can see Johns spirit running well too without quite being good enough.

Regarding Cue Card, I'm happy to ignore all his form over 3m (Betfair win wasn't even 3m) and see little point in comparing his and John Spirits King George run as neither are best over that trip. Johns Spirit is a thoroughly likeable horse but given he's been mixing it with decent handicappers mostly, I'd be disappointed if he was good enough to win what looks a strong Ryanair. Think his price is short tbh.

With regards to Ballycasey and his battling qualities, I'd be happy enough with how he's finished races when over correct trip. As I've said, just think he's maybe seen as softish due to weakening over a trip he'd never get.

Yep I agree with you regarding Cue Card and his form over 3 miles. If he was back to close to his best for this then I would not hesitate in backing him but as I said, I just think he has just regressed a bit this year. Ballycasey is probably another one that is not a 3 miler and I'll agree that he looked very good when beating Don Cossack and Carlingford Lough over this trip at Leopardstown last January before the festival too. Ruby has always said he oozes class so hopefully he can put it altogther at the festival.

Generally handicappers don't translate into Grade 1 animals and especially not at the festival but in the last few years we've seen the likes of Carlilngford Lough & Road To Riches win handicaps including the Galway Plate and translate into Grade 1 horses. Also last year Double Ross ran well in handicaps and the Paddypower and was a close third to Taquin du Seuil and Uxizandre then in the JLT. It's a bit of stretch to say that johns Spirit might win it but I think he's a very genuine horse and he usually runs his race so I'm happy to take 12/1 at the minute and hope Jonjo's are in better form come March.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Is there anyway uds won't go in the arc lads? Gonna start doing small doubles / trebles every day from now till March and don't think it's nrnb,

No chance UDS doesn't go the Arkle Fuzzy unless he has some sort of setback, that's the only way he doesn't line up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Ah Jaysus, he's not that good, is he??

At least you have 6 more months after March to get your doubles and trebles on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Itziger wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus, he's not that good, is he??

At least you have 6 more months after March to get your doubles and trebles on ;)

He's a gelding can't run :cool:

UDS could never run in the Arc. Sure poor Treve would be heartbroken staring at his arse for 1m4. :D