Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Leo Varadkar comes out as gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I'm late to the thread but what an earth has teenagers groping each other in public have to do with Leo Varadkar coming out as gay? :confused:

Its the sound of sodomy we've been warned about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

Might be a significant moment for you, but most of us don't really care about someone else's sexuality.

A lot of self-centred people can fall into the trap of thinking that what is a momentous event for them is somehow also momentous for others.

You should tell that to the news media who decided to run with it as a story. Guess it felt kinda important to them.

I always knew he was bent, but I never knew he was Gay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

I read a tiny piece in Village magazine about a month ago which centred on whether his partner, who is a well known presenter on morning radio was getting any inside scoops from Leo in relation to government matters. At the time it struck me that it might have been a sneaky little attempt to 'out' him and I wonder if the article was picked up on by others in the media, thus forcing his hand. I would imagine when the identity of his partner becomes public knowledge and it was mentioned in this article but I won't name him here just in case, that there will be more tabloid stories given that he would be quite well known too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Dont read the thread if you dont like it. Simples.

I was pointing out a fact and not declaring my like or dislike

If you're going to be the thread police stop putting words in to peoples mouths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

Might be a significant moment for you, but most of us don't really care about someone else's sexuality.

A lot of self-centred people can fall into the trap of thinking that what is a momentous event for them is somehow also momentous for others.

I appreciate that for many "coming out" is a huge thing. Especially for teenagers. I imagine its like letting a genie out of a bottle that just cant be put back in. But in 2015 its a tiny tiny little bit like getting engaged, or announcing at work that your pregnant. The general reaction is "Oh well ..good for you..do you know where the key to the filing cabinet is?".
    Folk wish you well but it doesn't impact on them in any way so its just not important to them. Your all het up about your big announcement and theres almost an anti-climax when Mary in accounts doesn’t faint clean away on the floor and Paddy in post doesn’t burst into tears. In my opinion we in Ireland are in various stages of readjustment regarding social issues like this. General “society” for want of a better word has adjusted like 95% to totally accepting homosexuality. I think there are far, far more problems with racism for example, then homophobia. With racism and xenophobia we might as well be in 1950s Alabama.
    However it does seem that the Gay Community are as a result have to now stop expecting people to be shocked or uncomfortable and try to stop looking for homophobia and maybe some need to get a sense of humour?
    Nobodies saying that the suffering of the past didn’t happen. It did. Its just , maybe, like the Troubles in N Ireland it might be time to start moving forward abit.
    I think what made this announcement newsworthy was not the fact that Varadker is gay, but that he was comfortable enough to drop it casually into the conversation on what used to be Radio Eireann. Changed times indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,895 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Jester252 wrote: »
    Comments like "who care", while well meaning, actually hurt a bit. They trivialise a significant life moment for homosexual people. Coming out should be celebrated not ignored.
    Agreed. It's a bit silly to go on about 'why is this even news?' when it's obvious why this is news.

Hoever, it would be great to reach a time where it is no longer to be celebrated as a significant moment for homosexual people, because society has changed to the point where it genuinely isn't any more noteworthy than a person saying they are heterosexual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

mrsbyrne wrote: »
    I appreciate that for many "coming out" is a huge thing. Especially for teenagers. I imagine its like letting a genie out of a bottle that just cant be put back in. But in 2015 its a tiny tiny little bit like getting engaged, or announcing at work that your pregnant. The general reaction is "Oh well ..good for you..do you know where the key to the filing cabinet is?".
    Folk wish you well but it doesn't impact on them in any way so its just not important to them. Your all het up about your big announcement and theres almost an anti-climax when Mary in accounts doesn’t faint clean away on the floor and Paddy in post doesn’t burst into tears. In my opinion we in Ireland are in various stages of readjustment regarding social issues like this. General “society” for want of a better word has adjusted like 95% to totally accepting homosexuality. I think there are far, far more problems with racism for example, then homophobia. With racism and xenophobia we might as well be in 1950s Alabama.
    However it does seem that the Gay Community are as a result have to now stop expecting people to be shocked or uncomfortable and try to stop looking for homophobia and maybe some need to get a sense of humour?
    Nobodies saying that the suffering of the past didn’t happen. It did. Its just , maybe, like the Troubles in N Ireland it might be time to start moving forward abit.
    I think what made this announcement newsworthy was not the fact that Varadker is gay, but that he was comfortable enough to drop it casually into the conversation on what used to be Radio Eireann. Changed times indeed.

That's the reaction most gay people want but all too often it's not the reaction they get. I've had someone sympathise over the fact I have a gay child. Sympathy!! And this is not some old codger, it's a person in their early 40s. My daughter won't admit to being gay until she's left school because homophobic bullying is such a problem. There are still bad reactions to coming out. Things are a lot better compared to what it used to be but it's still a big deal.
    rR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

There is another angle to this. Homosexuality is currently illegal in India, punishable by up to 10 years imprisonment. It was decriminalised in 2009, but this was overturned by the Supreme Court in 2013. In the last week, the Minister for Sports and Youth Affairs in Goa announced a youth program intended to cure gays of their homosexual impulses.

Having an "Indian-Origin" government minister and doctor coming out as gay will contribute to the normalisation of homosexuality in India. It's still a long way off though, and members or friends of Varadkar's own family in India may well feel scandalised by it. The story is running in some Indian media, alongside the positive comments from other politicians and gay-rights movements. It's still a long time before there'll be an openly gay minister in India, they are where we were thirty years ago. An Indian colleague of mine one described gays as being generally treated as worse than beggars where he came from.

Here's an example of some of the comments on Indian media sites:
    there are too many gays in india. i love beating these fvckers they are a curse to society and human race. people who encourage these type of acts should be killed, good riddance to bad rubbish. Europeans are evil to the world they have encourage all these evil doings to the world.
    Good that he openly admitted , but sad that he has disgraced himself by this !
    So you see, it's not quite a simple admission as you might think. Sad, but true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Shrap wrote: »
    I can imagine that having to actually discuss your sexuality and make it other people's business is a big deal for anyone.
    He doesn't have to. Nobody does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    He doesn't have to. Nobody does.

Well he sort of did have to since according to reports he was being hounded, and as he said himself there are political matters at present that required full disclosure to avoid any inference of impropriety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

jank wrote: »
    This is tosh.

Leo may be some things, but an intellectual lightweight and populists he ain't. He has ejected a realism into the health portfolio that has been lacking or the past 20 years. He has not come out with grand plans, quick cures to systematic and chronic failures in the Irish health system that some would love to sell. In fact his no nonsense, ultra pragmatic, the 'lets get the trains running on time' mantra to his brief actually shows up most of the other ministers and the Irish civil service and politics for what it is.

That is why he enjoys who much support across so many demographics.

Is he really that popular? Other than people who'd tend to be more right wing "cut, cut, cut" I don't see many people giving him support.

Tbh, I always found Leo a bit of a self publicist who loves a photo opportunity and the sound of his own voice, loads of style but not that much substance. This doesn't really change my opinion on him whatsoever.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

eviltwin wrote: »
    That's the reaction most gay people want but all too often it's not the reaction they get. I've had someone sympathise over the fact I have a gay child. Sympathy!! And this is not some old codger, it's a person in their early 40s. My daughter won't admit to being gay until she's left school because homophobic bullying is such a problem. There are still bad reactions to coming out. Things are a lot better compared to what it used to be but it's still a big deal.
    rR

I hope your daughter knows eviltwin how lucky she is to have you there just so totally supportive of her and loving her so unconditionally. Parents put so much pressure on their kids academically and socially and they forget to just love them. Just love them, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,901 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Flem31 wrote: »
    In my earlier post, I said as long as the politician did nothing illegal, people wouldn't have had an issue with bunga bunga parties.
    And the influence bit, if it didn't happen at a bunga bunga party, it would happen somewhere else such as a dinner or a meeting.

I like the way you need to use US politicians to illustrate your point.

If any of the US politicans had cut taxes in their state or brought a new employer in with thousands of jobs, they would have been re elected.

I am not saying it's right, just acknowledging reality.
    People are more concerned with decisions that affect their own pocket far more than what a politican does at night(as long as it's not illegal).
    Moral outrage over a politician usually disappears when he\she does something to benefit the community.

You made a universal statement so I used an example in the US. You can try to avoid tackling it by saying it's not relevant but it is. Those US politicians who were gay but campaigning against gay people lost the vote. They lost the vote of people who were pro gay and anti gay in one go.

Likewise it's not illegal for a minister for health to own shares in a tobacco company but it does show a conflict of interest.
    A personal life shouldn't matter unless it's directly relevant to the politicians job or political stance.

Well he sort of did have to since according to reports he was being hounded, and as he said himself there are political matters at present that required full disclosure to avoid any inference of impropriety.
    No actually, there aren't. His orientation has no bearing at all on his opinion on the upcoming referendum or anything else for that matter. Why would it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,901 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Actually just listening to the interview now, and Leo mentioned a number of times that it was a little bit embarrassing to have to bring it up with people (Enda, for example). He is clearly a very private person - I can imagine that having to actually discuss your sexuality and make it other people's business is a big deal for anyone. A very significant thing to do - fair play to him.

Imagine how embarrassing it'd be if Enda said "I've always loved you" :)

Er Enda, you're not my type. Now Gerry Adams, there's a man with an attractive beard.

No actually, there aren't. His orientation has no bearing at all on his opinion on the upcoming referendum or anything else for that matter. Why would it?

I deliberately chose the word inference. Its wonderful that you are so enlightened to recognize this, others are not quite so advanced and then others still would be more than willing to exploit any possible issue to damage the equality campaign. Or for instance the current review of MSM blood donation ban.

'justice must not only be done it must be seen to be done'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Of course not, but it wouldn't stop people from banging on about the "sinister gay agenda" working on policies behind the scenes - the first thing out of their mouths if he came out after the referendum would be how the referendum was invalid as an elected public representative had "lied" about his sexuality in order to influence legislation. Well, I wouldn't put it past them anyway.

Grayson wrote: »
    Ew.
    Er Enda, you're not my type. Now Gerry Adams, there's a man with an attractive beard.
    EWWWW :eek::eek:

Ah now here, poor Leo.

Of course not, but it wouldn't stop people from banging on about the "sinister gay agenda" working on policies behind the scenes - the first thing out of their mouths if he came out after the referendum would be how the referendum was invalid as an elected public representative had "lied" about his sexuality in order to influence legislation. Well, I wouldn't put it past them anyway.
    Who's "them"? I don't know anybody or of anybody who would have voted differently in the upcoming referendum if Varadkar hadn't come out. It's a non-issue to those voting yes, and it makes no difference at all to those voting no.

No, but they could well make out that it had, or was going to - this campaign of "theirs" is going to get dirty - better that nobody in govt. is put on the back foot by being outed against their will. "They" being the likes of Iona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭bigdaddy2010

Personally wasn't really shocked. His announcement was all about timing. The HSE crisis hasnt improved under his guidance and he is trying to deflect from it. I'd have more respect for him if he improved the HSE. Get on with what we pay you for Leo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Will he ever come out and tell us where Shergar is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

No, but they could well make out that it had, or was going to - this campaign of "theirs" is going to get dirty - better that nobody in govt. is put on the back foot by being outed against their will. "They" being the likes of Iona.
    Again, so what? It's not as if a referendum can be invalidated because a member of the government is gay. Anybody who'd try that will be voting no already.

Personally wasn't really shocked. His announcement was all about timing. The HSE crisis hasnt improved under his guidance and he is trying to deflect from it. I'd have more respect for him if he improved the HSE. Get on with what we pay you for Leo!

If it was all about timing why not do it when the crisis was at its worst a couple of weeks ago. Why wait until it had somewhat subdued?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Varadkar ... Aarkvark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

diomed wrote: »
    Varadkar ... Aarkvark

Close but no biscuit.

Aardvark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

His announcement was all about timing. The HSE crisis hasnt improved under his guidance and he is trying to deflect from it. I'd have more respect for him if he improved the HSE. Get on with what we pay you for Leo!

I agree, nothing like coming out of the closet to deflect attention. Especially when you're ballsing up HSE management like your predecessors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

Areyouwell wrote: »
    I agree, nothing like coming out of the closet to deflect attention. Especially when you're ballsing up HSE management like your predecessors.

Think about it lads, Rome wasn't fixed in a day. If I were Varadkar, I would have been happy that the A&E crisis hit an all time low. It's the only position on which to negotiate when you are dealing with such a dysfunctional organisation and setup. He needs public support and even anger to implement any reforms in a bloated HSE dominated by unions.
    Personally I do not think it is fixable given the known constraints but Varadkar will give it his best shot unlike the previous muppets.