Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Credit where Credit is due

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭madfcuker

Same here, Metalman introduced to me craft beer i suppose. Oscars and Revolution have smokesceen (Cheaper in Oscars ;)).

Grimes has it too. Lovely stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

In my local (shall remain nameless) and much to my disgust he opted for Smithwicks pale ale instead of Metalman pale ale.Some people just won't listen.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Speak Now

In my local (shall remain nameless) and much to my disgust he opted for Smithwicks pale ale instead of Metalman pale ale.Some people just won't listen.:(

They listened alright
    To Diageo

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Can we divert some of this to a craft beer in Waterford thread perhaps? I was hoping to comment on this but didn't want to take this thread any more off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Speak Now

hardybuck wrote: »
    Can we divert some of this to a craft beer in Waterford thread perhaps? I was hoping to comment on this but didn't want to take this thread any more off topic.

Yes be good to have it all in the one place.

I just posted the link above to give Metalman Brewing credit where credit is due :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

I think the bakeries involved were Barron’s Bakery, Harney’s Bakery, M&D Bakery and Hickey’s Bakery. Fair play lads.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/eu-gives-special-status-to-a-bread-from-waterford-614670.html

Waterford's local bread, the 'blaa', has been given a special status by the EU.

The European Commission says it is now illegal to use the name 'blaa' to describe any other type of bread.

The special status has been granted to reflect the bread's special homeplace and history.

Other products with similar status include champagne and Timoleague Brown Pudding.

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭crustybla

Have had the kids at the dentist in Ferrybank twice in the past couple of weeks. It was my first time at this particular dentist and I'd recommend him to everyone. Very pleasant, great with the kids, very thorough and he didn't charge a fortune for them, half what my usual dentist quoted me.
    I've been with my own dentist for years but I'm going to go to this guy from now on.
    Credit where credit is due!!!

credit to all involved....Winterval looking to be amazing again this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

And there seems to be savage progress on a lot of the work up and down the Quay. At this rate of going it might be ready by the time I get home from work! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭spankmemunkey

I wouldnt be giving anybody credit for the mess on that quay, if anything it keeps me out of town, trying to get into town today the traffic on the quay was backed up as far back as the credit union and even further back. Nightmare. why would anybody think cutting traffic that was 2 lanes on both sides down to one lane?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

I wouldnt be giving anybody credit for the mess on that quay, if anything it keeps me out of town, trying to get into town today the traffic on the quay was backed up as far back as the credit union and even further back. Nightmare. why would anybody think cutting traffic that was 2 lanes on both sides down to one lane?

Now, now………...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭spankmemunkey

7upfree wrote: »
    Now, now………...;)

Ah for once you know I'm right!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I would give credit to Debenhams City Square , who have taken on an extra 20 staff for the Christmas season .

They also have great prices , if you watch out for the 20-30% discounts on different days

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

We never really had two lanes, one was a parking bay.

Ah for once you know I'm right!:D

I'm not disagreeing…….;):)

Max Powers wrote: »

Fair play to her. A woman obviously in touch with her target audience.

passed by the mall this morning in car and looks like path and stuff by Aoifes cafe is done. looks great. will be great in summer to see a few seats an tourists out there, bring some more vibrancy down to the mall.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭CuriousG

Not really business related, but I just wanted to point out there are some very kind people in Waterford.

A week or so ago I somehow (stupidly) lost a reasonable sum of money in the city centre, thought the worst and just accepted it was gone, was so angry at myself for losing it. Went back to one of the shops I had been in and a lady had found it and turned it in, they kept the full amount there and returned it.

I don't know if the lady will ever read here, but I appreciate it so much! Wish I knew who you were so I could thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

CuriousG wrote: »
    Not really business related, but I just wanted to point out there are some very kind people in Waterford.

A week or so ago I somehow (stupidly) lost a reasonable sum of money in the city centre, thought the worst and just accepted it was gone, was so angry at myself for losing it. Went back to one of the shops I had been in and a lady had found it and turned it in, they kept the full amount there and returned it.

I don't know if the lady will ever read here, but I appreciate it so much! Wish I knew who you were so I could thank you.

It was me. Where can I collect my reward?

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭CuriousG

It was me. Where can I collect my reward?

Your reward is the good warm feeling of knowing you really helped someone? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 27 foobally

I have to say, every time I'm in town the people are lovely and do their very best to help out without rushing you (even when there's a queue), the shops I've dealt with in the last while were Bank of Ireland, Ulster Bank, An Post, Toners, Entertainment Exchange, Aldi.

The one I'll mention specially is a girl in Penny's, I went in to exchange something someone got for me, for a start she was lovely and helpful to me, suggesting what I could get for that amount, in the end I didn't use up the full amount, so she gave the rest to me in cash which her manager had earlier said she couldn't. So a big thanks to her for being so nice.

credit to Kelly Proper kicking ass in the indoor athletics and now Irish most titles holders.
    also,
    some chap called ....Gough who is the world over 60 world record champion in some running event. puts us all to shame

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭billywilly

Cabaal wrote: »
    Saw they knocked the building beside Reginald tower, about time, place will look alot better when finished

They should knock down Reginalds tower, its an ugly big kip of a yoke.

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭er1983

billywilly wrote: »

Are you serious???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

Agree. That whole part of town looks too old. Rejuvenate the area with neon and drive-through fast food outlets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

old gregg wrote: »
    Agree. That whole part of town looks too old. Rejuvenate the area with neon and drive-through fast food outlets.

Agreed. A big Marks and Spencers down there and a nandos and 5 starbucks. That's what we need to change our fortunes down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

Agreed. A big Marks and Spencers down there and a nandos and 5 starbucks. That's what we need to change our fortunes down here.

Agreed too. We've been banging our heads against a wall trying to preserve the place when what we really need is Vegas! While we're at it, get rid of the Waterford Crystal showroom and open a casino on site! Bring in employment. Create tourism opportunities. Cathedral square as a red light district. We'll be millionaires!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

old gregg wrote: »
    Agreed too. We've been banging our heads against a wall trying to preserve the place when what we really need is Vegas! While we're at it, get rid of the Waterford Crystal showroom and open a casino on site! Bring in employment. Create tourism opportunities. Cathedral square as a red light district. We'll be millionaires!

Agreed. The quay has been disgracefully under utilised and the potential for a red light district is there for all to see. A Viking triangle is one thing but a sex ring could be something else enttirely. The units that are currently empty could be used for dancing girls (in the windows). The gamblers that use our new casinos will inject new life into our ailing nightlife. And the 5 star casino centrepiece? The Ard Ri!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Was in the Tower last night for a big family meal, kids included. Have to say, credit to the staff in the Restaurant, 3 guys in particular, who provided great service, were great with the kids even when they got a little out of hand. Food was great too. At times we were on edge as we were worried the kids might upset some of the other patrons, but the staff were reassuring and helped us get sorted for food/drinks at the right times. Parents of small kids will know what I'm talking about! Would definitely recommend them for a large family meal. :)

credit to spraoi organisers, council, all involved but especially to the countless young volunteers around helping, another fantastic Spraoi.

Credit to Niamh Briggs v USA, Irelands greatest rugby player, BOD who? :)

All credit to Maria O Grady for organising the glass march on Saturday last. One person making a difference, keeping the issue live in media etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

er1983 wrote: »
    Are you serious???

We're talking someone who's chosen "billywilly" as his (presumably not her) user name.

Of course he's serious! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭dzilla

Max Powers wrote: »
    All credit to Maria O Grady for organising the glass march on Saturday last. One person making a difference, keeping the issue live in media etc.

Did it make the news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

dzilla wrote: »
    Did it make the news?

RTE showed something on it but because it happened in Waterford it didn't make any other news.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

O Riain wrote: »
    RTE showed something on it but because it happened in Waterford it didn't make any other news.

Might want to check that statement as it was covered by RTE, The Irish Times, the Irish Independent, theJournal, BreakingNews.ie, Evening Echo and many more.

A press release was sent out before and after the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

Sully wrote: »
    Might want to check that statement as it was covered by RTE, The Irish Times, the Irish Independent, theJournal, BreakingNews.ie, Evening Echo and many more.

A press release was sent out before and after the event.

I went on and saw it nowhere. It may have been covered but it must have been buried deep!

O Riain wrote: »
    I went on and saw it nowhere. It may have been covered but it must have been buried deep!

It was still covered though. The Indo have been covering the Waterford Crystal story since the start and they covered other protests/sit-ins etc in Waterford.

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭crustybla

+1 for Maria O' Grady and all who were involved in the March. I wish I had half her spirit!

All credit to Stephen Molumphy and those other recent hurling retirements. The likes of Molumphy have given Waterford GAA massive service and taking into account these lads have families, jobs (in Molumphys case, often in a war zone), wives etc, for zero financial reward, they deserve a lot of credit. Fair play.

Credit to this lad, genius. Probably good decision not to go to RTE and have excuses for comedy like Rep.Of Telly present or copy your stuff, badly.

Also, ideal Xmas present lads/ladies. (I have no financial interest in the book, site or anything like that, just want to see local lads do well, especially talented ones)

THE MAN BEHIND satirical news website Waterford Whispers News has revealed that he was approached by RTÉ, but turned down the national broadcaster because he wants to instead create his own ‘close to the bone’ video content.
    The website has gone from strength to strength over the past five years, filling a niche in Irish media.
    It made international headlines in January after duping media into believing that North Korea had reported landing an astronaut on the sun.
    “That was the big one, it just went bananas from there”, Colm Williamson told TheJournal.ie, “And I didn’t really think much of that story at that time.”
    The Tramore-based publication began five years ago on Facebook, and later expanded to a website.
    Now, Williamson is hoping to expand his team further, which currently consists of him and two others. There are also plans for video content and a radio venture is in the pipeline.
    Later this month the stories will appear in print for the first time with the release of Waterford Whispers News: The State of The Nation.
    “If you said to me four or five years ago I was going to be releasing a book, I would have said you were crazy,” Williamson said.
    The website has attracted attention from larger media organisations, and Williamson even found himself being approached by RTÉ.
    “They kinda approached me about [a video series], but I just don’t think it would suit TV,” Williamson said, and will instead perform better on social media.
    It’s quite dark, and I’m not sure if that would work. We’re planning our own videos, and they’re going to be very close to the bone.
    If you’ve a spare €15.99, Waterford Whispers News: The State of the Nation will be in bookshops from 21 November.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Minister

I had to get piece of glass fitted and went to O'Driscoll Glass in Ballybricken. Clifford was the person who looked after me. Now, it was a small job but he looked after it really well. He explained what could and what couldn't be done. We decided on option a together and it worked. Because it was a small job he could have paid less attention; but he made it look important. Super customer service and a very funny guy! To be recommended.

Thanks Clifford!

Credit to The Lock Doctor! A customer took my car keys in work (I couldn't be sure who at the time) a few weeks back so I needed to get a new spare key. Shopped around, couldn't get anybody to give me a spare key for less than €200. Rang The Lock Doctor and he created a spare key for €80 on the spot, same day, pretty quickly.

Funnily enough, the original keys were returned to me today and it no longer works since I got the spare key (this is by design). The Lock Doctor has agreed to look after me when I called him again today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Was in town today. Passed by Tara Barbers and Tara was outside. Had a big smile and a wave for me. Her and the two girls there are always so lovely and I always have a great laugh when I'm in there.

Was shopping in Evolution (formerly Jack and Jones) and I can't remember the girl's name in there but she's also always so friendly and helpful whenever I'm in there.

I think people like that don't always get the credit they deserve so fair play girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Well done to the corpo (yes!) they have completely chopped back and are clearing out all the undergrowth and tangle of trees where the Tramore road path meets the Cherrymount path, they are also putting in a pavement that follows the well trodden unofficial path between Ashley Drive and Ashley Avenue which is dead handy for me :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭barneystinson

fiachr_a wrote: »

Genuine question, what ever happened there in the end??

• Registered Users Posts: 19 mickc10

Credit where credit is due, doing a bit of work on the house and must say the two Corcoran's running this place have been A1 to deal over the past few weeks. The work they do speaks for itself but they're a credit to their uncle who used to have the Salvage Shop in John's Park. Their place is now called Kielys Salvage Yard if anyone is interested.