Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Last Year of My Twenties (C25K and Beyond)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Great stuff. Delighted to see you're back at it pain free. Long may it continue!

ps: time to change the log title!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

Ososlo wrote: »
    Great stuff. Delighted to see you're back at it pain free. Long may it continue!

ps: time to change the log title!

Thanks Ososlo, have a lot of catching up to do on my favourite logs too. I became a swimmer there for a while, couldn't face reading about ye! Lost the plot altogether :pac:.

Might try use the imagination on the title this time...

Thanks Ososlo, have a lot of catching up to do on my favourite logs too. I became a swimmer there for a while, couldn't face reading about ye! Lost the plot altogether :pac:.

Might try use the imagination on the title this time...

jaysus I don't blame you for not tuning in to this place when you're not able to run. It's the last place I'd wanna be too!
    At least we got you back before you completely lost the plot with that other nonsense:D
    Welcome back into the running fold:D May 2015 be a completely pain free running year for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Get in there... Good to have you back :)

Farewell "C25K to Dublin Marathon"
    Hello "Last Year of My Twenties (C25K and Beyond)"

DCM 2014 was 3 days into my last year of my twenties, so I'm going to continue to push and see what I can get done before I scale the hill! :pac:

23/12/2014
    4.27 miles @ easy pace. No watch.
    Lungs need a lot of easy miles to get back to where I once belong.

Haven't run down by the Shannon since October when the leaves were just beginning to fall. Now it's a bit desolate, the river is swollen, and the paths are swamped.

Unreal to be running again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Sure you'll finally be entering your prime....next year. Best of luck young (not for much longer) fella :D

28/12/2014
    5.5 mile @ 10:24

Nice and easy run after a good solid Christmas eating and drinking to excess. Wasn't hard to stick to an easy pace as the pavements were glistening with ice, I was frightened about slipping constantly. Have a nice cup of tea between my knees warming me up!

Eyeing up the Milford 10K and the Adare 10K...

29/12/2014

4.57 @ 9:30
    2.21 @ 10:58

Was out enjoying a savage lunch when the entire Munster squad walked in and tucked into their salads. Bit of effort required today I thought. :D

Ran 4.5 miles moderately on hills @ 9:30 pace. Freezing cold but happy out, called into the in laws for a cup of tea and stretches and back out again 2.2 miles recovery to home @ 11ish pace.

Unfortunately on the way home my knee gave me the all too familiar twinge and then pain, so I power walked the rest. Will rest up for a day and stretch. Now convinced it's my gluteus medius.

Just when things things were going well... my own fault though :rolleyes:

30/12/2014

Had no intention of running today but this morning the shower leaked and poured into the light fitting in my young fellas room. It scorched the ceiling an all with the sparks.

So up to investigate I find a botched fix on the shower tray, sealed that. Down to the light and find that the plasterboard around the light is just paper, another botch job. Cowboys Ted!

Went at replacing the entire light fitting and next thing the screwdriver flew out of my hand. Blue sparks and a lot of cursing. Had the wrong circuit breaker off :eek:

Trying to stay off the drink so it was a run instead (after I changed my pants).

1.66 miles @ 12:43

Tried a "Nursing Home Special". Calves are tight but no knee giving out. The NHS sorted me right out :D
    Did a few drills and stretched plenty.

Nerves are a little better too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Have had a bit of tightness myself lately, must try your electro shock therapy treatment :)

Where a nappy is the only advice I can give! :D

You living in faulty towers :D

With those mishaps, at least it was only you that the jolt and not the young lad.
    Good luck with the recovery and the DIY repairs :D

Ha Fawlty Towers! When i get my own gaffe I'll be like old man O'Reilly knocking supporting walls left, right and centre. ;)

01/01/2015
    4.22 Mile @ 9:28

Went out with no pace in mind, just wanted to sweat. Nearly got blown over with the wind. Howlin'. Last 500m at 7:40, legs came alive. Still trying to get my head around the miles. :D

Goals for 2015:
    Stop feckin' about and get some results.

Happy New Year folks. :D

02/01/2015
    35 Min Recovery

Slow recovery. Lot's of new runners about that look like moving Christmas trees with all their flashing lights. :D

3.33 Mile @ 10:54 avg

Parkrun planned tomorrow, hope I get out of bed on time!

03/01/2014
    Clarisford Parkrun - 25:21

Great to see so many out on a baltic morning.

Neither impressed or depressed, can't really complain with the lack of miles since DCM. Went out too fast as usual, but wouldn't have made much of a difference.

No niggles at all so not a bad day all round. Need to build lung capacity again.

0.71 W/U
    3.15 @ 8:03
    1.02 W/D

PM
    Recovery 40 Mins
    3.70 @ 11:08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

What's the course like in Killaloe?

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    What's the course like in Killaloe?

5 laps around a few football pitches. A few square corners. On the banks of the Shannon so can be a slight headwind down the back. Bit of a dipper. Bit of a uphill through last few corners and then downhill to the next lap. A few big puddles. Should be there or there abouts for a PB :D

http://www.strava.com/activities/236019531

04/01/2014

6 Mile Easy

Was up all night until 7am with a sick halfling. Was a great reason to chill out and watch darts all day though. Things settled down by the evening so I went out for 9 miles easy, got a phone call at 4.5 miles that the doc was needed so I pegged it home. Good thing I had the jukebox with me.

6.41 @ 9:38

30.99 miles week end, think I'll cover the 0.01 on the way to noddy land. :D
    Milford 10K booked. Not a bad week back. :)

05/01/2015

5 Mile Easy
    Found U2's stowaway album on my jukebox so decided to give it a whirl. Two songs later it stops as it had failed to download properly, I was actually getting slightly into it, but my inner grumpy bollox was happy to get the tunes going again.

Lots of niggles so took it easy.

5.32 @ 9:53

06/01/2015

Recovery

Back to work :(
    Made a big bowl of mint pea soup last night in an attempted health drive for 2015. Today came home to fish, chips and a big dollop of mushy peas on the side. My wife's sense of humour goes too far sometimes.

Nursing Home Special
    3.72 @ 11:24

07/01/2015

4.5 Miles Easy

Lunch run in the pissings of rain. I'm fairly wrecked these days so found myself walking for recovery once too often. Heart rate seems laboured at even easy pace.

4.50 @ 9:45

08/01/2015 - Rest
    09/01/2015 - Rest

10/01/2015
    Clarisford Parkrun
    Arrived 3 minutes after the start as my lift had forgotten his bleedin' barcode. #dfyb
    Total disaster, no warmup, wasn't feeling it, bailed halfway through.
    Discarded that episode on the Garmin :rolleyes:

11/01/2015 - Rest

12/01/2015
    35 mins Easy
    Very niggly, legs in rag order
    3.46 @ 9:57

13/01/2015 - Rest
    14/01/2015 - Rest

15/01/2015
    Cadence Experimentation
    So I'm glancing at the novices thread and spot a bit about cadence. Usually I'd pay no heed, but I'm really wondering if my legs are taking too much abuse with my running style. The number thrown around seems to be 180spm. I checked all my friends on Garmin and noticed my cadence is very low compared at average 150spm since October.

Maybe that's where the grief is coming from. :eek:

4.73 @ 9:23

Cadence 173 avg, felt a bit like Road Runner, but effort was grand and legs felt way lighter. Maybe this cadence stuff isn't BS after all. :confused:

16/01/2015
    60 mins Easy
    Legs felt sound after day previous, which isn't normal for me. Delighted!

Down to UL and around the two bridges. Crossing the Living Bridge at night is really cool, bit like a video game.

Cold, wet, and concentrating on keeping the cadence up. Cool runnings.

6.50 @ 9:03 :)

I feel like I should give myself a new name like king judge, or, king pr1ck :D
    All I seem to do now is call people out :D:D
    10/01/2015 Clarisford Parkrun
    Arrived 3 minutes after the start as my lift had forgotten his bleedin' barcode. #dfyb

Bad move cancelling the run altogether.. I mean like, you were there, you had gear ect, you started it so you could have finished it regardless of time ect ect... Worse case scenario, bail and do a few ks on your tod... Good to see you back at it though :D
    There's a few other things I'll get to again :D:D

Fuc-king bollix comes to mind! :D

I got out of the car straight into 5k pace and paid the price. Ran 2k at recovery pace but just wanted to go back to bed. One of those days I'm afraid.

Out with the rest of it your honour!

08/01/2015 - Rest
    09/01/2015 - Rest

10/01/2015
    Clarisford Parkrun
    Answered already :D
    11/01/2015 - Rest Why, you didn't run the last couple of days :D

12/01/2015
    35 mins Easy
    Very niggly, legs in rag order Curious about this?? Work related? Any strange activity lately :D:D
    3.46 @ 9:57

13/01/2015 - Rest
    14/01/2015 - Rest

15/01/2015
    Cadence Experimentation
    So I'm glancing at the novices thread and spot a bit about cadence. Usually I'd pay no heed, but I'm really wondering if my legs are taking too much abuse with my running style. The number thrown around seems to be 180spm. I checked all my friends on Garmin and noticed my cadence is very low compared at average 150spm since October.

Maybe that's where the grief is coming from. :eek:

4.73 @ 9:23

Cadence 173 avg, felt a bit like Road Runner, but effort was grand and legs felt way lighter. Maybe this cadence stuff isn't BS after all. :confused:

16/01/2015
    60 mins Easy
    Legs felt sound after day previous, which isn't normal for me. Delighted!

Down to UL and around the two bridges. Crossing the Living Bridge at night is really cool, bit like a video game.

Cold, wet, and concentrating on keeping the cadence up. Cool runnings.

6.50 @ 9:03 :)

Just on cadence, haven't monitored myself but I hear about 180 SPM is optimal. You hear that a lot and it may be true in ideal conditions but maybe not all, as Clearlier stated in the DCM'14 graduated thread. If your cadence is a lot lower(I wouldn't be in a position to give an exact figure), and you're chasing a time, you run the risk of over-striding which I believe is a bad thing, which will put a lot more pressure on the joints/muscles. It's another form of overreaching, grand the odd time, but if continued you'll do damage be it fatigue if you're lucky, or injury if you keep at it. It's good that you're keeping an eye on it anyway :)

Another thing is your lead up to DCM... I've reviewed it there and am astounded you made it alive :D:D

Not sure if something happened injury wise or personally(haven't reviewed your log fully) but you did well to get around you looper :D:D

The biggest bit of advise I give anyone is something I see here in somebodys signature(Ecoliis I think), consistency is key....

ps.. This is only my thinking as a newbie , take it on board with that in mind....
    There may be other more experienced people here who will give you a bollixing as well advice as well :D Clearlier is a valuable resource to go to on DCM '14 graduates thread as you may be aware..

You're right on the money. But. In fairness this is only week 2 of somewhat consistency since DCM. I'm jumping into the graduate plan starting Monday. And. My new years resolution is to stop fecking about. :D

The cadence stuff is definitely working for me, massive improvement in recovery even after only two runs experimenting.

Now that's enough of that, I'll point your Doc down to Renmore about those speed sessions if you're not careful :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

+1 to the quicker rhythm/improved cadence...much preferable to over striding. Good luck, glad to see you're noticing the benefits already :)

17/01/2015

5 Mile Easy
    Had a window of opportunity after the shambles that was the Munster match. Bit of jip from the passenger side knee after mile 3 so had to slow done a good bit. Finally have a sports massage lined up on Monday hopefully my legs can be demangled.

5.01 @ 9:49

18/01/2015
    Get more turf day. Rest.

Weeks end: 19.70 miles :o

19/01/2015
    3 Mile Easy
    Hill Sprints

Tagged along with a tri guy and instead of being sensible and continuing on my planned easy miles, I followed him for a hill sprint session. I was interested to see my status as I've done no speed or hill sessions since before June last. Time to blow off some cobwebs. :D

2.5 mile warm up to UL running track and hill chosen was the bank at the back of the track. Not up the steep part but the gradual hill around the track.

Heart bricked itself after 6 reps but just about managed to get 10 reps done. All but the first one between 6:20 and 6:40 pace :eek:

Great session, no jip, sports massage later, happy days.

5.93 @ 9:37

Nice!
    How long were the sprints and what recovery? Jog back down I presume?

Ososlo wrote: »
    Nice!
    How long were the sprints and what recovery? Jog back down I presume?

Based on Garmin they're just over 250metres. Recovery was jog back down and go again. But after rep 6 I admit there was a small bit of walking involved.