Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last Year of My Twenties (C25K and Beyond)

• 18-03-2014 9:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭

Been putting this off for a while now. I plan to use this as a log for myself but I am more than open to newbies asking questions, willing to help in anyway possible. Also would appreciate any input into what I might be doing wrong. I think this is a bit wierd writing about my running but I'm really enjoying my transformation. Other threads here inspired me, maybe this can do the same...

I started running on July 17th 2013 with the "Couch to 5K" program after reading lots about it on boards/reddit. I was looking for a way to motivate myself to stay off the cigarettes and was getting really worried about my health. Whilst I was fit in my early teens, I have been doing sweet feck all for the last 12 years smoking 20 benson a day. It wasn't my first time attempting to give up, but the more I ran the more I enjoyed it, giving me a real incentive to kick the habit.

Fast forward to today, I have had a handful of very drunken smokes, ran 440km, competed in 5Ks, 8Ks, a 10K, and a duathlon.

I found the first two C25K weeks handy enough, I frequently added a few more reps onto the sessions. DJ Beatsmith podcasts on the phone kept me company, music seemed to be something I couldn't run without. Ran in southern France while on holiday which was unreal, bought a Garmin and signed up for the Streets of Galway 8K. It took 2 gels and running at a 200bpm heartbeat but I got through it in 48mins. I ran out of my skin and wasn't able to replicate it for a long time.

W5D3 is the mental barrier, the dreaded 20minute non stop run which I finished in a heap and again 200bpm. This was the end of my C25K story.

I'm an impatient fecker so I started the C210K program. After 4 weeks of this I ran the Galway Bay 10K in 58mins. Woefully unprepared I got through it eventually, delighted to come in under the hour.

Another 8K was two weeks later and in 44 minutes this time. I was very disappointed. Looking back my training was all over the place, it was also very frustrating being unable to control my breathing and heartbeat. Constantly fecked for breath and around 200bpm is not fun.

Partly for these reasons I hung up the runners mid November. I don't remember deciding to do it, I was just fed up with the lack of progress. Now I have the wisdom to realise that running everywhere balls out was a futile exercise.

Late January I got back out for a run at lunchtime and enjoyed it immensely. Two weeks later I'm in the Maree 8K, running a 47min. Not delighted but happy to be back on track. By now I was running without music, no heartbeat monitor and just using the watch to stay on target.

After that I ran my own plan. Generally a short medium paced run, a balls out 400m interval session and a long slow really slow run.

Two weeks ago I cracked it. I ran comfortably for the first time. I controlled my breathing and was able to continue unhindered at a reasonable pace for 1 hour completing 10K. Two days later I did it again to 12K. The next day I ran a 23:40min 5K race on a whim. I was beyond delighted, it still amazes me.

This weekend is the Craughwell 10 mile. Plan is less than 1:36:00. Fingers crossed. Once this is over I'll be doing the Galway 5K series, and planning my marathon training plan. Then it's looking likely to be the Dingle Half Marathon then the DCM. There's no turning back now :)...

Apologies in advance if this is a waffly thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Best of luck SeanPuddin! I'll be reading with interest. A similar 'journey' to my own with the C25k and the smokes etc. Best of luck with training for the 10!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

Lunchtime: 8K - 45min
    Garmin has been acting up a lot lately so ran it 'blind'. Ran comfortably after a nice 3 day break over St. Patrick's weekend. The vast quantities of pizza and beer seems to have little affect. I would like this to be my 10mile pace. (5:43min/km). Plan is this pace for 8K and see what happens from here. A negative split would be lovely.

Ososlo wrote: »
    Best of luck SeanPuddin! I'll be reading with interest. A similar 'journey' to my own with the C25k and the smokes etc. Best of luck with training for the 10!

Thanks I've been following your log for quite some time.

Thursday 20th - Intervals
    Plan was 14x400m with 1min recovery. Headed down to a rubber running track for the first time in more than a decade, and I don't think I'll be going again. A football pitch is much more enjoyable! Got to 8 laps problem free, but then the wheels fell off. Managed to 11 laps and headed for home. I've completed this session before but I'll chalk it down to the enjoyable weekend. All managed at 4:30min/km (5K race pace) so not a waste of time.

Friday 21st - Recovery
    Started out for a 12K lunch run, but the first mile was into a gale of wind. Turned to the East and still couldn't get the wind on my back. Possibly the worst weather I've run in, and I don't mind heading out into the wild. 7K of wind in my face later and I was glad to see the shower.

Must buy running tights/pants/trousers.

Looking forward to the 10 mile reckoner on Sunday.

Best of luck Sunday Sean. Hope you get a decent day for it and looking forward to your report afterwards.

Nice one Ososlo. I don't mind the weather on Sunday, nothing can match today's misery. :) It's looking like a balmy 9 degrees though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    Thursday 20th - Intervals
    Plan was 14x400m with 1min recovery. Headed down to a rubber running track for the first time in more than a decade, and I don't think I'll be going again. A football pitch is much more enjoyable! Got to 8 laps problem free, but then the wheels fell off. Managed to 11 laps and headed for home. I've completed this session before but I'll chalk it down to the enjoyable weekend. All managed at 4:30min/km (5K race pace) so not a waste of time.

Friday 21st - Recovery
    Started out for a 12K lunch run, but the first mile was into a gale of wind. Turned to the East and still couldn't get the wind on my back. Possibly the worst weather I've run in, and I don't mind heading out into the wild. 7K of wind in my face later and I was glad to see the shower.

Must buy running tights/pants/trousers.

Looking forward to the 10 mile reckoner on Sunday.

I know how you feel I cut my own session short on the track today, hard, hard work! Good luck Sunday. What's the target?

SamforMayo wrote: »
    I know how you feel I cut my own session short on the track today, hard, hard work! Good luck Sunday. What's the target?

I have no idea to be honest. This is my longest race after a 10K. Keep telling myself it's just two 8K races so anything under 1:35 would be wonderful. It's going to be tough no doubt about it.

Your 5k time is much faster than mine and I did a 10 mile race in 1:28 so you should easily achieve your target. have you been doing many runs longer than 10 miles in training?

Haha that 5K was for charity though. ;) Longest run is a solid 12K, I signed up on a whim mainly for the famous spread afterwards. We'll see how it goes...

well enjoy it anyways... and the spread:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Good luck with the log and the 10 miler at the weekend. It's one on my to do list but not this year. The 5k series should be good. Looking forward to it myself.
    There's lots here with similar stories regarding giving up the smokes and starting running. It's amazing how quick you'll progress if you stick at it :)

Yep consistency pays in the end, though it can take a long time to fall together.

Saturday 22d - Slow 5K
    Got out for an easy 30 minutes to stretch the legs. Seemed to have run in the only bit of sun all day. 6min/km average.

Sunday 23rd - Craughwell 10 Mile
    Nothing about this name sounded appealing to me. 'Craughwell', '10', 'Miles'. Already I had turned this into three 5Ks and a bit, or two 8K races.

I needn't of worried. On the journey out it spilled it's last rain and let the sun out for the remainder of the day. I didn't even have to drive into downtown Craughwell. Collecting the bright luminous t-shirt and chip bib I knew this was a slick operation. The cakes were awaiting :).

First 5K was good, I had to concentrate to stop myself creeping up the pace. Walked briefly for water at 3.3 miles, made our first turn and passed more uneventful time to 8K. Halfway. I can't remember what I was at, but in just under 44 mins. A PB on it's own!

After this I fell wayward, I was in unfamiliar territory and mentally found it tough going. There was something up with my breathing, it never felt like a chest full of air. Between half way and the finish I took 6 very brief walking breaks.

Got jelly babies off a spectator at mile 8, and got the job done. Have to say the support around the entire course was savage. I nearly took up the offer from an oul one on her pan full of rashers. :)

Kicked the last corner and came in under the timer at 1:29:28 just under the 90 minute mark. Not too shabby.

I would name this race the 'The Rolling Hillocks of East Galway (16.1km)' but it doesn't have the same ring to it. For the better. Thank you to all at Craughwell AC, your race and cakes were top notch.

"I completed the Craughwell 10".

Well done Sean! Nicely done! Delighted for ya:D

Delighted for you Sean, well done. Think I will put it in the diary for next year, especially if the cakes are good;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

All I got from that was some auld wan offered you her rashers :D

Well done on the race, sounds like a good one :)

Tuesday 25th - Recovery
    Calves are shot from the race even after resting yesterday. At times it felt like I had a slipped disc in my lower back which is a bit worrying. After about 3K things loosened up and I was able to enjoy it. Nice and slow.

7K, 6:15min/km average.

Going to jump into a 5K plan now...

I've decided on the Hal Higdon Intermediate 5K training plan.

The initial mileage peak is at week 3, so on the back of a 26 mile week this is a perfect point to dive in. Week 4 will be a well needed lull for the legs.

brVDun9.png

db9Nu0l.png

Goal is 22:30, which is 4:30min/km 5K pace. Anyone have experience with this plan and similiar goals?

Wednesday 26th - Intervals
    First day on Hal Higdon's 5K plan calls for 6x400m. Previously I would have a standing rest between laps, so this session really took it out of me. Felt good though. Didn't quite hit goal pace.

Lap 1: 1.49.5 (4:30min/km avg)
    Lap 2: 1.50.3 (4:23min/km avg)
    Lap 3: 1.50.6 (4:33min/km avg)
    Lap 4: 1.52.6 (4:32min/km avg)
    Lap 5: 1.52.7 (4:36min/km avg)
    Lap 6: 1.49.3 (4:35min/km avg)

Wednesday 26th - Intervals
    First day on Hal Higdon's 5K plan calls for 6x400m. Previously I would have a standing rest between laps, so this session really took it out of me. Felt good though. Didn't quite hit goal pace.

Lap 1: 1.49.5 (4:30min/km avg)
    Lap 2: 1.50.3 (4:23min/km avg)
    Lap 3: 1.50.6 (4:33min/km avg)
    Lap 4: 1.52.6 (4:32min/km avg)
    Lap 5: 1.52.7 (4:36min/km avg)
    Lap 6: 1.49.3 (4:35min/km avg)

Good stuff, the splits are nice and even, when I do these they are all over the place.

I'm generally okay to keep a pace, it's the variance between sessions that annoys me. Some days I'll fly it, others I'm hauling myself around.

Sure that's most people though, or at least I hope it is. Somedays its so easy and somedays its a matter of getting it done:P

Thursday 27th - 3m run
    Got it done but I need a rest day big time. (5:52min/km avg)

MapMyRun just told me that's me 100th run, I can surely celebrate with a bottle of wine and two days rest now. ;)

Saturday 29th - 4m run
    Got out for a local run, and embarrassingly got myself a little lost! Ended up running down a potholed track to complete my loop. Whatever happened it has aggravated my back, I'm sure a slipped disc is coming. Just when I began to despair I came across a sight to behold. Nothing like good hard graft to inspire you. All done at 5 miles. 6 tomorrow

J1KHVIrl.jpg

Fab picture. Have you seen a professional about your back? Have you a history of back problems?

I'll keep an eye on it. I'm going stay off cambered back roads and potholes for a while a see how we go.

Sunday 30th - 6m LSR
    Does this count as a LSR? Whatever it is it wraps up week 3 of the program. Took a nice route out with Salthill at halfway. Lovely cool weather and quiet streets. Dare I say it the summer is here. Concentrated a lot on posture, and had no trouble with my back. Putting yesterday's pain down to uneven terrain.

Weeks end: 37 km (23miles).
    Month end: 138 km (86miles). :eek:

No running for one month!:eek: Had a baby boy since my last run and all the distractions that go with it, so at least there's a decent excuse.

Monday 29th - LSR
    Was going stir crazy and knew I had to at least go for a run the day before the 5K series. I coughed and spluttered my way through 9K with plenty of walking. Where has my fitness gone?!

Tuesday 30th - 5K Series Athenry
    I had great plans for a sub 23min one month ago, but things are different now. Plan was to try and enjoy myself and minimise the walking. There was a large crowd just outside Athenry train station and at 8 on the dot we were off. Don't remember anything about the course except we passed the finish line half way. Eventually turned the last corner and over the mat at just under 26mins.

I worked hard, my fitness is at a low ebb but I can't complain. Once back to work I can train again!

Congrats on the new arrival, your fitness wont be long returning.

Thursday 2nd
    Coastal 7K with hills at a very handy pace. Only walked once.

I'm looking forward to my next race now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Fair play sean this has been great reading, i myself only started running around nov/dec to lose a bit of weight and try get fit im 37 and was 16 st, im now just over 14 st and am doing my first hm on sunday, im hoping to come in around 1hr 55min mark, but will be happy just to finish comfortably, anyway good luck with it and congrats on the baby;)

Class man, thanks a lot. Best of luck with the HM it'd be a great time to achieve. Let us know how you get on!

Cheers , will do , if im still alive:D

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Cheers , will do , if im still alive:D

Good luck Shamrock, don't go out too fast and you will be grand

Thanks , This is my biggest fear tbh, plus the fact there is a really steep hill for the first 2-3 miles, also the fact ive just seen that video of that kenyan marathon runner who got into real difficulty during a recent race, im doing myself no favours here:D

Are you going with a pacer?

I have a gps watch if thats what you mean

Well you could set that up to pace yourself but are there official pacers at the Half marathon like for 2 hrs, 1:45 etc. You go in their group and they get you in just under that time. Where is the HM?

Ah right i'll keep an eye out for that, its the bay run from glengarrif to bantry

If they have pacers you could go with 2 hr one and push on if you feel good, it would stop you going out too fast, best of luck anyways. Keep us posted.

Will do cheers;)

While ye were natterin I went out for a nice 11K. :) Didn't walk either. There isn't a finer spot than Galway for running at night.

Friday 3rd
    Salthill - Quincentenial Bridge 11K @ 5:59min/km avg. Wahey!

While ye were natterin I went out for a nice 11K. :) Didn't walk either. There isn't a finer spot than Galway for running at night.

Friday 3rd

Ha ha , well done sean good stuff:D

Friday 3rd

Good lad, you are nt having a problem getting back to it anyways!

Whats the best thing to eat before a long run or race, plenty carbs i suppose ??

People will tell you all sorts but just eat normally. Just don't do anything out of the ordinary or you could pay for it. Make sure you're well hydrated and blood sugars are good.

Well folks ive completed my first HM:D, i did it in 2hrs 45secs so im well pleased although i was really hoping for under 2hrs, anyway there was a real bitch of a hill with about a mile to go that nearly finished me otherwise i would have done it id say.
    i lined up not far from the front which looking back was a mistake because i was being swept along at a much faster pace then im used to and i foolishly did that for about 2 miles till i told myself to slow down and go at my targeted pace, alot of people then passed me but i stayed disaplined and i knew alot of them would be tanked near the end, i ended up passing a few near the end so i was right:D, anyway im lying in bed now with the legs aching like a motherfcuker:D the race was won in a time of 1hr 12mins i think

Well folks ive completed my first HM:D, i did it in 2hrs 45secs so im well pleased although i was really hoping for under 2hrs, anyway there was a real bitch of a hill with about a mile to go that nearly finished me otherwise i would have done it id say.
    i lined up not far from the front which looking back was a mistake because i was being swept along at a much faster pace then im used to and i foolishly did that for about 2 miles till i told myself to slow down and go at my targeted pace, alot of people then passed me but i stayed disaplined and i knew alot of them would be tanked near the end, i ended up passing a few near the end so i was right:D, anyway im lying in bed now with the legs aching like a motherfcuker:D the race was won in a time of 1hr 12mins i think

Good man, you learnt a lot today and it will stand to you. Keep the running super easy for next few days and give the legs a chance to recover and then pick your next target:D

Sunday 5th
    13K around the outskirts of Galway at 5:58min/km avg. Walked 3 times, one of which was after a full frontal attack up Threadneedle Road. They say Loughrea is hilly so I think I'm prepared for that now. Really looking forward to Tuesday's race now, but the week after in Maree is my goal time fingers crossed.

Weeks End: 44.82km (best week yet, just shows the motivation a screaming baby gives you :) )