Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Last Year of My Twenties (C25K and Beyond)

167891012»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭MaggotBrain

09/04/2015

Rest - Finally found out what the hell a tfl is, and then stretched it like a mofo. Very stiff on my weak side, have all my fingers crossed that this is the cause of my knee issues. Time will tell. Seriously considering yoga or pilates now as I'm as stiff as a stake.

10/04/2015

Thought it was supposed to rain today?! Roasting again, had a break halfway and stretched the legs a bit. After that I walked a bit and ran a bit. The sun had already taken it out of me, and I'm scared to death of overdoing it, so I don't really care about the walking at the moment.

Knee wise, so far so good. Leg feels a lot better, not sure how to describe it. Slightly less mangled than usual.

5.13 @ 9:59

13/04/2015

Stretched all weekend. Took it as easy as I could, but on the stairs (I have two flights in my gaff and heavy kids) I'm all too aware of the twinge on every step. :mad:

Even before the run today I was thinking "it's going to go a couple of miles in, but to hell with it, I need to get out". It didn't go I'm happy to report, instead it held up strong throughout and gave no complaint. I gayly motored along and said hello to every miserable bastard I could find.

Gave the tfl a good stretch on the UL pontoon and chilled, quietly hoping to **** this is the end of my knee misery. Anybody reading this new to running and thinking I'll run a marathon like this clown; my advise is just don't.

A nod to the volunteer group that clean up the Shannon riverbank in Limerick. It's lovely down there now, fair play.

5.37 @ 9:53 :D

14/04/2015

Felt good after yesterday and really wanted to get out again today. As a compromise to myself I resorted to a recovery run. Took a lot to keep the pace reigned in, definitely feel it was a worth while run in the end.

10:47, 10:08, 10:40, 10:11. :o

4.22 @ 10:22

15/04/2015

Stretch, stretch, stretch. Finding side-lying leg raises particularly good.

16/04/2015

Glorious weather again. Thought it was high time I went out for a proper run.

6.21 @ 9:50 incl. 5x10 second strides. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Good to see you looking after yourself with the stretching :D:D

On the strides, is 10 seconds enough though? Is it 10 seconds not including the acceleration and slow back down phases, or 10 seconds in total???
    I'm useless for doing them, have done strides less than 10 times in total for my shame :(:D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Good to see you looking after yourself with the stretching :D:D

On the strides, is 10 seconds enough though? Is it 10 seconds not including the acceleration and slow back down phases, or 10 seconds in total???
    I'm useless for doing them, have done strides less than 10 times in total for my shame :(:D

Yea just 10 seconds, was reading a thread in the main forum that they should only be 6-8 seconds. Usually I'd do 20 seconds but wanted to take it handy first time out again. Much of a muchness when you're still "unfit" I'd say.

Anyway tis all a bit disappointing again with the knee, think it was the 3 week break and not the stretching that helped. I've been optimistically ignoring some discomfort for a while. Back to old man take it easy again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Ahh bollix, is the knee at you again?? No harm easing back again to sort it out. The stretching (and other work) is of huge benefit if you can keep it up. Again, I'm talking about stuff I'm not really doing at the moment, but I'm putting a plan in place to put a huge emphasis in this area. I very weak in key areas I think (core/glutes ect), and I'm thinking I really need to address these areas going forward...

Good call on the strides so in that regard of easing back into it. I've seen that thread but haven't read in in any detail yet. I've some catching up to do around here :):)

Seems like there's a sh1tload of people around here carrying injuries and niggles at the moment.... Tiss all a bit scary ..... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Your log has been eye opening. Nice to see some of your achievements.

Thanks very much, I really haven't achieved anything in a while now though! Start a log and get running you won't look back... :)

Edit: just found your log, fair play keep the running consistent and you'll be flying in no time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

Ah sh*te man! The rest will do a lot for it when you start back again but I would definitely keep up the stretching and add some strength work for the glutes. If you don't strengthen and stretch, the rest is a waste of time as it always comes back if you don't target the cause which is weak glutes and an overworked and tight TfL.

When the glutes are weak, the TfL has to do all of it's own work and pick up the slack of the glutes causing it to get tight and pull on the IT band. Hope it gets better soon, keep at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Thanks very much, I really haven't achieved anything in a while now though! Start a log and get running you won't look back... :)

Edit: just found your log, fair play keep the running consistent and you'll be flying in no time.

Was nice to get some insight into some of the hurdle that runner have to deal with as the months pass, and step building endurance recovery etc..

03/07/2014

It's been way too long since I updated this log. Since my last entry I've been really taking it easy on my knee, only recently rehabilitating it into doing any real work. Been on the MTB a lot (hard tail with road slicks, front suss locked, it looks ridiculous!) with a 4 mile round commute most days and the odd 20-30k cycle to really push and build up the legs. I've also been doing a lot of "core work", mainly squats and planks with loads of stretching every night. In the last few weeks I've tried to integrate a 3-4 mile run with at least 1-2 days rest in between. Wasn't arsed logging those as they were soul destroying.

Until today, finally a log worthy run!
    6.06 @ 9:40

6 laps of UL pitches. Pushing past mile 4 was a bit demanding as I've been doing nothing else, but after that it was auto-pilot. Munster squad were out doing 7 minute reps of speed work, it looked excruciating. So I had no excuse really but to keep the head down and get one more mile in. No aches, pains or twinges!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Good to see you back man! Hopefully, you can put that behind you now and start to get some consistency back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Great to see you back MB.

I won't get to see you praying to Allah at the Streets this year but enjoy it.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Great to see you back logging. Fingers crossed it all goes smoothly for you from here on in.

Been sick as couple of days which lead to a mild cough. So stuck to the bike when I felt up to it.

08/07/2015

Through the gap in the hedges to my usual one mile loop of UL pitches. One mile in my knee was giving me a bit of discomfort so I changed the way I roll my foot out of the step, trying to snap my heel up towards the back of my calf. Whatever I did worked and the pain disappeared. My physio once told me to record myself running as she suspected the injury came from bad form. It's something I really should do.

3 miles easy, felt good so put in a mile of 20 second strides. Most hit around 6:45ish. Felt really good to move again. Thinking of blowing away the cobwebs with a speed session tomorrow.

4.10 @ 9:39

Lot's of "core work" last night. I'm not sure why I always put this in quotes but I really don't have a clue what I'm at. More like trying reps of stuff I find on YouTube. Planks are the business. Calf dips x 100. Found the lower back a bit sore this morning so probably doing something right.

09/07/2015

Overdue some balls out running, so hit the UL running track to find it being used by sprinter's training. Could have probably squeezed by but don't want to be treading on people's toes. There's a slow long incline around the western side of the running track for some good quality hill sprints. Planned for at least 8 with slow jog recovery between each, but after the first one I was fooked. Walking recovery it was for the next seven reps. It was a little demoralising as back in Jan I ran 10 of these with jogging recovery no bother.

Pulled up the stats and I ran all 8 reps at around 5:30-5:45 pace, whereas in Jan I was doing 6:40 pace. So this confirms I did in-fact get my balls out :)

Will see how things progress tonight after a cycle. Either a rest day or recovery tomorrow, with 7 mile "LSR" penciled in for Saturday.

3.41 @ 11:56 (incl. 8 x 250m hill sprints)

Very decent effort/pace.

Careful you're not doing the core exercises incorrectly as that could be causing you some back pain!

If you knew someone who could check if your form was correct while doing them it might help?

TbL

Very decent effort/pace.

Careful you're not doing the core exercises incorrectly as that could be causing you some back pain!

If you knew someone who could check if your form was correct while doing them it might help?

TbL

I'd imagine the pace is out a bit due the short rep but yeah I'm pretty happy. Should have stuck it to 10 reps but I was a mess.

Have two toddler spotters keeping an eye on me, I get away with nothing. Lifting turf this weekend, should sort me right out. ;)

I'd imagine the pace is out a bit due the short rep but yeah I'm pretty happy. Should have stuck it to 10 reps but I was a mess.

Have two toddler spotters keeping an eye on me, I get away with nothing. Lifting turf this weekend, should sort me right out. ;)

You must be a part time former ;)

TbL

Yea loike a proper former former :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Lot's of "core work" last night. I'm not sure why I always put this in quotes but I really don't have a clue what I'm at. More like trying reps of stuff I find on YouTube. Planks are the business. Calf dips x 100. Found the lower back a bit sore this morning so probably doing something right.

For strength I do this for Core

and this for mobility

I try and do those once per week each and then if I have the time or inclination I'd do something like this for general strength:

3 x 8 Squats
    3 x 8 SL Squats
    3 x 8 Lunges
    Glut Bridge/Leg raise kind of exercise (2 sets of about 4 each side)
    2 x 10 SL Deadlift each side
    3 x 10 calf raise/heel drops
    some skipping, both feet together and singe (4 mins total)

Finally this Ger Hartmann routine is good for stretching but timewise it can be difficult to fit everything in.

If you haven't already I'd look at the 30 Day challenge which will get some strength and mobility stuff going and then maybe something like the above 2-3 times per week if you can.

Glad to see you are back logging anyway.

Top man, thanks Adrian.

10/07/2015

40 minutes recovery on grass. Rockin' the Thin Lizzy.

3.91 @ 10:26

No running over the weekend, didn't have a single minute to myself. Worked hard so can't be classed as rest days!

13/07/2015

Very nearly skipped the run today also, but had to rush home before lunch. Grabbed my gear in the process and got stuck in. Down by the Shannon to Athlunkard Bridge and back. No watch just ran by feel, very enjoyable to run longer than an hour again.

7.07 @ 9:55