Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I have not been about too much lately, did you buy your old ST back?

Yea last week.

Got so fed up with Volvo i decided i was just going to buy another ST but guy who bought mine wanted to sell it and wasn't having much luck so we struck a deal that suited us both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

bear1 wrote: »
    Pop up the pictures of parts you don't recognise, could be useful having a few people giving you advise along the way :)
    @TP: Why is it better to get a remap done after an oil change? I had my oil changed about 1k ago when the chains were replaced and I'm contemplating a remap and EGR bypass.
    Still skeptical about the EGR bypass as I believe the NCT are planning to begin checking this is functioning :rolleyes:

Well the remap i'm getting is a fair bit of power on the car, so it helps to do an oil change so to give the turbo a fighting chance to deal with the power for the first few hundred miles

Only seen this now :o

If you want someone local sodablast down the Marina are good. Have seen some of their work and it's impressive.

Leo Whealan is also good.

Sodablast have a cool truck, I'm not a fan of American sh1t usually

Well the remap i'm getting is a fair bit of power on the car, so it helps to do an oil change so to give the turbo a fighting chance to deal with the power for the first few hundred miles

Did you make that up ?

Augeo wrote: »
    Did you make that up ?

Nope! That's what I got told, besides it wouldn't hurt would it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭barney 20v

Any Subaru heads about???
    I'm on a quest for a gearbox- need a pointer!

Nope! That's what I got told, besides it wouldn't hurt would it?

Defo wouldn't hurt, fresh oil never does but if the increase in power by the remap is as severe that the turbo is at risk there's something wrong. I would think whoever told you the above is an idiot actually.

I may find that and screen shot it, the map would be bringing it from 180bhp to 235bhp, stage one map or something it is

What turbo is fitted to your car?
    Shouldn't be hard to find what bhp they can deal with. If its original and on the factory seals etc a remap may not be advised at all.

What turbo is fitted to your car?
    Shouldn't be hard to find what bhp they can deal with. If its original and on the factory seals etc a remap may not be advised at all.

Its a gt17 as far as i know, still original, that's what has me a bit concerned that i map it and boom goes the turbo :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Its a gt17 as far as i know, still original, that's what has me a bit concerned that i map it and boom goes the turbo :o

A blown turbo's not the end of the world. If she goes it's probably on the way out. I'd be more worried about over reaching the engine internals.

Interslice wrote: »
    A blown turbo's not the end of the world. If she goes it's probably on the way out. I'd be more worried about over reaching the engine internals.

I checked it for play there a week or so ago, and it was as solid as a rock, over reaching the internals? Never heard of that before

Generally you can turn up the boost on a turbo far beyond what the insides of the engines can take. Big end bearing, con rod, that sort off thing. You could slap a big ball bearing turbo, high flow injectors on your car and map it and youd'd have great craic for a few hours before something went bang. Don't know much about saabs but if your engine and box is the same as the aero you'll be good to increase the power up to the same as it without having to worry about the engine, box or clutch slippage.

They pretty much are the same engine, the only thing different on the aeros was the turbo and the ecu map

barney 20v wrote: »

Very few subarus on here man. One lad with a hawk eye impreza on the detailing forum the odd time is all I can think of.

Try here maybe www.isdc.ie

They pretty much are the same engine, the only thing different on the aeros was the turbo and the ecu map

Engine will be grand so. Turbo will be only running a small bit extra boost. As long as your not boosting around like an mad eejit all the time it should shorten it's life by much.

A big job to source and fit an aero turbo??

Engine will be grand so. Turbo will be only running a small bit extra boost. As long as your not boosting around like an mad eejit all the time it should shorten it's life by much.

A big job to source and fit an aero turbo??

Ah no, ran it by a few saab heads there, apparently it can take more but its a decent output what im after
    It's more of an expensive job, turbo alone costs near 6/700, oil and coolant lines are 70/80 and then i could do it meself like, drop the sump, clear it out, take off the turbo, fit the new one fill it with oil, new lines, back on with the sump, new filter on run some oil through the car for half an hour, drain it and take off the filter and do the same again, in short anyways :pac:

Ah no, ran it by a few saab heads there, apparently it can take more but its a decent output what im after
    It's more of an expensive job, turbo alone costs near 6/700, oil and coolant lines are 70/80 and then i could do it meself like, drop the sump, clear it out, take off the turbo, fit the new one fill it with oil, new lines, back on with the sump, new filter on run some oil through the car for half an hour, drain it and take off the filter and do the same again, in short anyways :pac:

Pricey enough alright.

Yeah :( I'd like to get an intercooler, the turbo and a few other bits, but that alone is nearly 1500 for those two things, I'm looking at a brake upgrade too if i can get a christmas job, which is looking unlikely :o in time!

YbFocus wrote: »
    Thanks and all Interslice but it wouldn't work well witth plastic :)
    It's not carbon really, more a gloopy mess from a bad turbo inlet oil seal.

As for putting it back together, I'm messing mostly. We haven't been beaten yet :)

Ha! technology :p.

Yeah :( I'd like to get an intercooler, the turbo and a few other bits, but that alone is nearly 1500 for those two things, I'm looking at a brake upgrade too if i can get a christmas job, which is looking unlikely :o in time!

It hasn't got one? Speaking from a turbodiesel point of view you wouldn't remap without fitting an ic first.. Keeps exhaust and combustion temperatures down and the turbo doesn't have to work as hard to create the same pressure. Just know this stuff from looking into DIY remapping tdi's. I presume it's the same with petrils confused.png

It hasn't got one? Speaking from a turbodiesel point of view you wouldn't remap without fitting an ic first.. Keeps exhaust and combustion temperatures down and the turbo doesn't have to work as hard to create the same pressure. I presume it's the same with petrils confused.png Just know this stuff from looking into DIY remapping tdi's.

Oh it does yeah but i mean a front mounted one, always wanted one :)

They are alot better. I fitted a top mount to my van and it only seemed to work well at motorway speeds in winter. Go big or go home!

spg-nekkid-low%20angle.jpg

They are alot better. I fitted a top mount to my van and it only seemed to work well at motorway speeds in winter. Go big or go home!

spg-nekkid-low%20angle.jpg

Jaysis! There's an idea for the 900 so :D

I was going more towards something like this on the 9-5

30644620004_large.jpg

Front mount looks well man. If it were me I'd hold out the remap until it's fitted. It's not as though 175hp is that bad to live with. Try 80 :pac:. The primera's about the same size as the 95 too.

Yeah i suppose, I'm getting an itch to do something with it though yknow?

Also found the project page to that 900 you put up, the things a monster :eek:

http://www.sdsefi.com/features/feb03saab.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I'm pretty uneducated on the matter, only had intercoolers on big daysel jeeps buuuut doesnt one mounted that low leave it open to all sorts of road debris getting caught in it

Mycroft H wrote: »
    I'm pretty uneducated on the matter, only had intercoolers on big daysel jeeps buuuut doesnt one mounted that low leave it open to all sorts of road debris getting caught in it

It does, which again is another thing I'd have to consider, specially in this country

Mycroft H wrote: »

It's not really much lower than the bottom of the rad. Still I wouldn't run it open like that though with the cut of the roads. I'd make up a grill or mesh to keep bigger sttuf out. A decent intercooler should be hardy enough to take the smaller stuff that get's through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

barney 20v wrote: »
    I'm not an expert, but I'll help if I can!
    Where are you and whatcha looking for?
    If you look on adverts there are a few people that specialize in breaking these.