Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

Haha, kind of :o Left the amber leds on in the car for some reason and it they drained the battery.

Happens the best of us! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Hahaha the power! The fury!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Lads, any idea what kind of wattage I'd be looking at if I were to change my Angel-Eye bulbs to something akin to the power of modern Angel-Eyes? Mine are looking a bit dull and could do with a new set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ah stop sure I've one in the Volvo. I never use it due to my sheer hatred towards it. Actually you can have it if you want it. Drop me a PM. You might make better use of it. Making CD's is just an effort and has to be done a certain way for my stupid stereo.

Thanks for the offer, but I just have one ordered. I'm sure it won't be long until it's broke though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Lads I need your opinions/advice on a phone call I've just had with the mechanic who "fixed" my car.
    As some of you know I'm having power and a rattling upon acceleration issue with the Honda. Engine light comes on sometimes and I'm getting a jolting sensation through-out the car.
    Just spoke to the mechanic and he said that if the injector/s are faulty then he will not replace them but give me the name of the company that sold them to him and I'd have to pay for the renovation of them. This doesn't sound fair at all to me.
    Now, on Saturday I'm bringing the car back to him a third time for him to investigate which I've have a feeling will leave me with an even bigger hole in my wallet.
    I'm quite pissed off about the whole thing and I'm wondering what else I can do here to get him to replace the faulty injectors (if they are faulty) with other injectors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

He should be able to get replacement injectors in a trade for the fecked ones, they weren't Ok at all so they should be replaced bear.
    I'm not sure but i think you may be open to paying some labour but these call backs have to stop, problem needs to be fixed not assessed again.

If i kept assessing problems in the factory here we wouldn't long about closing!

Also I'm very sorry to hear this has gone so bear ( sorry :) ) shaped on you!

YbFocus wrote: »
    He should be able to get replacement injectors in a trade for the fecked ones, they weren't Ok at all so they should be replaced bear.
    I'm not sure but i think you may be open to paying some labour but these call backs have to stop, problem needs to be fixed not assessed again.

If i kept assessing problems in the factory here we wouldn't long about closing!

Also I'm very sorry to hear this has gone so bear ( sorry :) ) shaped on you!

ah look, another comedian :D
    Yeah I'd agree with you there, fair enough I could pay the labour fee as I'm ok with meeting someone in the middle but 3 out of 4 of the injectors were replaced. Obviously not all 3 are faulty or the car wouldn't even start let alone drive like ****.
    I suspect one failed injector which is causing injector knock which is the noise I'm hearing whenever I accelerate.
    Car is going in on Saturday but result or not it will be the last time.
    I think I've been more than fair with patience.

bear1 wrote: »
    ah look, another comedian :D
    Yeah I'd agree with you there, fair enough I could pay the labour fee as I'm ok with meeting someone in the middle but 3 out of 4 of the injectors were replaced. Obviously not all 3 are faulty or the car wouldn't even start let alone drive like ****.
    I suspect one failed injector which is causing injector knock which is the noise I'm hearing whenever I accelerate.
    Car is going in on Saturday but result or not it will be the last time.
    I think I've been more than fair with patience.

You really have bear, more then fair.
    It really can't be doing the engine any good running lean on a cylinder for so long either it needs fixing Saturday end of story

You really have bear, more then fair.
    It really can't be doing the engine any good running lean on a cylinder for so long either it needs fixing Saturday end of story

Yes this is my worry as well, I don't want to end up renovating an injector to find out the cylinder is now fecked.
    I've made my piece with it anyway and hopefully by the end of the week or next week I can get the injector replaced.
    Question: If I decided to just buy another injector, does it have to be from the same cylinder bank as the one I'm replacing? I.e. if I take an injector from the far right and pop it into the far left would it still work, Provided I code the injector in?

Yes this is my worry as well, I don't want to end up renovating an injector to find out the cylinder is now fecked.
    I've made my piece with it anyway and hopefully by the end of the week or next week I can get the injector replaced.
    Question: If I decided to just buy another injector, does it have to be from the same cylinder bank as the one I'm replacing? I.e. if I take an injector from the far right and pop it into the far left would it still work, Provided I code the injector in?

No no they are identical bear, you just get an injector and put it where you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,349 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

[...] I've have a feeling will leave me with an even bigger hole in my wallet.
    [...]

Please forgive me if I sound sarcastic, but at this stage how much did you save comparing to a quotation given by another place?

joujoujou wrote: »
    Please forgive me if I sound sarcastic, but at this stage how much did you save comparing to a quotation given by another place?

As of today about 1.5k.

No no they are identical bear, you just get an injector and put it where you want.

Cool that's what I was hoping for and then I assume it's a simple process of going to a electrician and having the injector inserted and the code written onto the ECU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,349 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

As of today about 1.5k.
    Ah right then, I hope you won't spend much more on it. And won't get a heart attack as a bonus. ;)

joujoujou wrote: »
    Ah right then, I hope you won't spend much more on it. And won't get a heart attack as a bonus. ;)

I know what you were thinking and tbh there was a point today where I thought the same thing to myself until I did the sums.
    But, saying that, I could have bought a new bloody engine for 2k and swapped most of the parts over which will have probably given me the same bill.

Project done and dusted, mother of god i never want to see a timber framed building again :o

Now another dilemma....I have free time and have no idea what to do with it :o

Project done and dusted, mother of god i never want to see a timber framed building again :o

Come and fix me car :D

Ah jaysis not that much free time :P :pac:

Take the time off and relax, be it in the car or whatever. Judging by your posts recently you could do with some time off!!

Ah jaysis not that much free time :P :pac:

Come down to Cork and get looooooooooooooooooooooocked

Take the time off and relax, be it in the car or whatever. Judging by your posts recently you could do with some time off!!

I could, but I need to keep active, I hate just sitting around
    Come down to Cork and get looooooooooooooooooooooocked

Few cans liiiid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

SESSIOOOOOON!!

I'll be in Cork on Saturday :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Few cans liiiid!

I get that just having 3 days off work !

Who the feck would go to cork lad !

The kerry girls are finer !

Fcuk about with the 900 so, or wash that car of yours!!! :pac:

I'm off today :)

Sobanek wrote: »
    SESSIOOOOOON!!

I'll be in Cork on Saturday :P

If you're around before 2 give me a shout :pac:

I'm off today :)

Grand! Day sorted! :pac: just gotta do a few small changes and then ill mosey

Cool man, let me know when your nearby!
    Get me on the phone if you can't find the house!

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Poxy weekend of motoring for me, first of all I am still trying to source a part for my classic. Three people have let me down on that. Then the 6 hour endurance race that I entered I didn't even get to drive as the car died after 20 minutes. That was a fun way to spend 400euro :pac: 3 laps in Qualifying and that was it.

So less than 5 minutes for 400euro, a hooker and a line of coke would be cheaper:pac:

Was going to head up for a look I'd say its great craic :)

And damn man you buy expensive hookers :D

Cool man, let me know when your nearby!
    Get me on the phone if you can't find the house!

Will do! i remember where to go! but ill ring anyways :)