Irelands toughest estates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

xXxkorixXx wrote: »
    What about Shankill and the Shanganagh cliffs? And shancastle in Clondalkin there all rough areas

Agreed, Neilstown is nowhere near as bad as other estates in Clondalkin like Greenfort, Harelawn, Kilmahuddrick, Deansrath etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Toughest??
    Or scummiest???

I know people from a very rough part of finglas whos 3 children are a qualified accountant, a doctor and the other is a successful fish monger.
    Its not where you are from its who you are from.

I always find it funny when somewhere rough on the south side of dublin is described as dublin or West dublin but anywhere rough on the north side is always north dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭dquinnan

Worst I've seen in Neilstown in the last while has been teenagers doing wheelies on annoyingly loud scramblers on the green areas and the odd horse strolling about untied. Haven't seen any burnt out cars or open drug dealing, and I'm down here 5 days a week at different times of the day/evening. Have always found the locals very friendly in the shops or waiting at the bus stop etc.

Tis a bit depressing looking alright, but that's the Corpos fault for designing such ****ty looking houses and badly laid out areas in the first place though.

About 20 years late to be the roughest area in Ireland. Just more rubbish from the Sunday World.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Lurching

Mr_Muffin wrote: »
    I always wondered how Waterford and Limerick compare size wise - i know Limerick is bigger but how much bigger?

Limerick City: 57,106
    Waterford City: 46,732

Source:
    http://www.cso.ie/en/statistics/population/populationofeachprovincecountyandcity2011/

Surprised me quite a bit. I thought Limerick city was around 100,000. Turns out Limerick as a county is only a bit over 134,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

masti123 wrote: »
    Agreed, Neilstown is nowhere near as bad as other estates in Clondalkin like Greenfort, Harelawn, Kilmahuddrick, Deansrath etc..

Shancastle and greenfort would be considered neilstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

dquinnan wrote: »
    Worst I've seen in Neilstown in the last while has been teenagers doing wheelies on annoyingly loud scramblers on the green areas and the odd horse strolling about untied. Haven't seen any burnt out cars or open drug dealing, and I'm down here 5 days a week at different times of the day/evening. Have always found the locals very friendly in the shops or waiting at the bus stop etc.

Tis a bit depressing looking alright, but that's the Corpos fault for designing such ****ty looking houses and badly laid out areas in the first place though.

About 20 years late to be the roughest area in Ireland. Just more rubbish from the Sunday World.

Yea it was a lot worse back in the days before immobilisers. There was an air of constant menace about the place with robbed cars constantly flying up and down the roads practically every night. I remember one Halloween bawnoge was completely blocked off with burning tires and they had about 20 robbed cars on the go. The guards were rammed everytime they came in, it was mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

yer man o'er the road took a sweeping brush to his cars rear window last night. we're in the schticks. that is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Toughest??
    Or scummiest???

Good point, calling these places ''tough'' bestows some sort of juvenile kudos to these dumps, having lived in Ballybough and Finglas these places are tough in the sense that they're dreary, depressing holes to be stuck in. The anti-depressent prescription rate for such places would probably vouch for that as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,611 ✭✭✭bennyl10

braddun wrote: »
    limerick

Moyross has been strongly associated in the media with anti-social behaviour and crime. Delmege Park is considered one of the worst affected areas of Moyross

O'Malley Park(Southill)

St Mary's Park The Island Field

The two city centre parks are not safe at night. Arthur's Quay Park and the People's Park

Out of genuine curiosity, where are you from?..
    Doubt you've been in Limerick in years?..

If youre in people's park at night I'm afraid you're hopipng a locked fence, the park itself has a kids playground and during the day is a lovely spot..

Arthur's Quay?.. With a main bus stop outside it?.. Baffling statement..

The estates, yes we'rerough a good few years ago.. But have made drastic improvements in recent years..

Literally your entire post is just rubbish..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

macnug wrote: »
    Shancastle and greenfort would be considered neilstown.

Well it technically isn't but alot of people consider all of North Clondalkin as Neilstown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,055 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

whupdedo wrote: »
    I buy the Sunday world for the simple reason I have a new puppy I'm house training, I wouldn't dream of reading it but I do use it to put down on any piss to soak it up, I find it lasts longer than the mail or the people, mainly because their so much sihte journalism in it

I had the same idea when i ran out of jax roll but decided not to use the Sunday world because there was enough ****e in it already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

UCDVet wrote: »
    I had read that Dublin was the murder capital of Europe (or gun murder capital)

Dublin was allegedly the 'gun murder capital' of Europe in 2009, but that was due to an unusually high number of drug dealers getting whacked (presumably by other drug dealers). The rate of actual civilised people being murdered is relatively low for a European capital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

It kills me I believed some of this **** for so long.
    RINO87 wrote: »
    I have no idea what you are basing your statement on at all.

The most important question posed in this thread.
    dd972 wrote: »
    The anti-depressent prescription rate for such places would probably vouch for that as well.

With threads like these I sometimes wonder why anti-depressents are needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Top to bottom nonsense.

The Peoples Park is closed at night, like most public parks, there is a very popular childrens playground within the park which is packed with families, it is a lovely place to take a stroll or eat lunch...never ever is there a hint of hassle, you may spot a wino grabbing forty winks but as long as you don't try and snatch his buckfast he'll leave you alone.

Arthurs Quay park currently has an ice rink in it, before that there was some kind of Halloween Spookyland thing for kids...it wasn't remotely scary...all year round at all hours of the night there are buses pulling up beside the park it is as safe as any city centre park can be...

Crime has plummeted in the estates you have mentioned...not disappeared but plummeted, don't expect your newspapers to tell you that.

The perception people have of Limerick is way out of kilter with reality...thanks to News articles like the one mentioned.

Irish people are easily manipulated it seems.

That's a disgrace! You should have asked for your money back! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭neil_

Lurching wrote: »

Source:
    http://www.cso.ie/en/statistics/population/populationofeachprovincecountyandcity2011/

Surprised me quite a bit. I thought Limerick city was around 100,000. Turns out Limerick as a county is only a bit over 134,000.

It's largely dependent on where exactly you define as the border of the city. Wikipedia puts Limerick at 95,854 in 2011 and Waterford at 46,732 in the same year. Limerick is a bit sprawling these days and a decent chunk of the city is in Clare, probably screws up the estimates..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭letsgetloud

probably went to the places in question and got stabbed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I don't knew re estates but it is not just cities that have problems. I have been advised several times by locals NEVER to go near Kenmare at night and know of several men who ended up in hospital after assaults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,294 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I was in Sheepmoor today. I survived, but it was a close thing...i.e it's grand and the survey is shyte..

I think they found this survey down the back of the sofa, Sheepmore was bad in the 90's, not so bad now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 571 ✭✭✭18MonthsaSlave

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/young-man-left-lying-on-ground-choking-on-his-own-blood-with-left-ear-hanging-off-court-hears-30745449.html

It is the people that make an estate dangerous and they(significant minority) were still terrible back in 2011 when I left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,702 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I had been to Moyross and O Malley Park about 5 years ago, it was pretty bad then, the worst places in Cork couldn't hold a light to those places.

Limerick is a great spot and its a shame a bunch of psychopaths tried to ruin the place. It's good to hear the communities and good people have made a drastic turn around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The Sunday World recently revealed how drug addicts flocked to an inner-city flat to buy a version of crystal meth-style drug.

Kids have everything these days.

It was just cider or heroin when I was growing up in West Tallaght. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,102 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Is this a tv3 special with henry mckean?

It shouldn't be too long before they knock up an hour long special full of Youtube clips

KungPao wrote: »
    I don't think west Tallaght is as bad as it was at all. As a native of east Tallaght (quiet, "normal" part), I used to ****e myself going there, but I was there a while back, didn't see anything dodge. No horses or real scobes like yesteryear. Just lots and lots of ropey architechture and iffy paint colour choices.

It was a bit bleak, but not threatening.

I was brought up in West Tallaght and personally don't think it's as bad as it was in the 80s and early 90s. There's far more community facilities and stuff for kids to do nowadays. You'd be mad to say it doesn't still have issues but I'm back there a lot and never feel threatened walking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Maybe everyone should get together and hire out a huge green area and let all the people from the different areas fight it out then we will have our answer.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Lurching wrote: »

Source:

Limerick "city" is tiny , the official borders of the place are very small , a lot of what most people would consider the city is actually in County Limerick and not the city.
    Factor in the suburbs/commuter belt areas that are in actually in Clare and Tipp and you get a much larger population figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

anncoates wrote: »
    I was brought up in West Tallaght and personally don't think it's as bad as it was in the 80s and early 90s. There's far more community facilities and stuff for kids to do nowadays. You'd be mad to say it doesn't still have issues but I'm back there a lot and never feel threatened walking about.

Playstations, I-pads/pods, X factor, etc... have a lot to do with the downturn in anti social behaviour in a lot of these areas. Groups of young lads now spend more time in their bedrooms than on street corners causing trouble. Yes the trouble is still there but to a much lesser degree.

Good point seeing as television, games and music were invented in 1995.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

neil_ wrote: »
    It's largely dependent on where exactly you define as the border of the city. Wikipedia puts Limerick at 95,854 in 2011 and Waterford at 46,732 in the same year. Limerick is a bit sprawling these days and a decent chunk of the city is in Clare, probably screws up the estimates..

Limerick City's boundary area is way too small, for all sorts of horseshít political reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,968 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Mmmmmm. Two words.

World and Sunday.

But, not necessarily in that order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Is it a competition now?

It actually is to a lot of people. A lot of the scrotes in these areas would actually be proud that they are from a kip.