Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,069 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

gandalf wrote: »
    Pathetic isn't it! They torpedoed one of the pillars of the whole Water charging scheme with that slip ;)

It's almost like they had an "Anti-PR" Manager working for them :D

And boy do the people know it.
    IW prices will only go one way if people register.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Tony EH wrote: »
    You're not going to get any of that from Irish Water.

Preservation? Don't make me laugh. They've already said if water is preserved they'll up the price.

No. They didn't.
    Irish Water don't even get to set the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,226 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    Beaner1 wrote: »
    I have a cousin, decent guy and all, living in a scummy council house. He believes there are is some serious stuff being planned by a few hardcore "protestors". Assassination level stuff. Some of these shinners genuinely believe that a revolution is around the corner.

Did you ever check out that Walter Mitty forum I suggested a while back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,069 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I have a cousin, decent guy and all, living in a scummy council house. He believes there are is some serious stuff being planned by a few hardcore "protestors". Assassination level stuff. Some of these shinners genuinely believe that a revolution is around the corner.

What age are ya FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    Phoebas wrote: »
    No. They didn't.
    Irish Water don't even get to set the price.

No, the toothless regulator the CER takes a "submission" from IW and sets the price.

In all reality, the "submission" contains a suggested price and this is what is set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,353 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I am sure quoting you is in some form giving credence to your initial act of posting.

But i had to say, just LOL..

you gave me a good chuckle for what was otherwise a wet miserable afternoon.

Well done sir.

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

If you or your cousin have this information , Why have you not contacted the Gardai ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

You need to talk to the Gardai and pass on that information.

Make sure to ask for Detective Inspector Mick Moynihan.

Tell him you seen Nidge and Fran

What age are ya FFS.

Seems school's out early today tayto LoL :D

I wouldnt tbh
    Then again, if I had heard such a rumor I certainly wouldnt have incriminated myself by stating it on a public forum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

They are on top of it you can bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Micheal noonan we govern for the reasonable people, umm no Micheal your governed by what Angela and her pals tell you to do to govern us

Some planet your on up there is all ill say

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/noonan-we-govern-for-the-reasonable-people-651323.html

They are on top of it you can bet.

That'll be Mick,

top man. Always gets his guy. Unless someone gets him first obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

It's all that's left.

And yes, the IW startup cost was/is €180m.

€240m was spent last year on water repair/improvement by the government.

Scrap IW..... spend that €180m cash...... 9-12 months later.... Back to square 1, underfunded service.

No one can see the bigger picture.

Sorry to bring the thread back a few pages
    but Have you a link or a breakdown on these figures ?
    Where and when was this work done ?
    And by who ?
    Was it Irish Water or Local councils ?

I am not doubting you ,I just like to see because this is the first time I'm actually see any figures for repair work that has been carried out not projected figures for some future endeavours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

I wouldnt tbh
    Then again, if I had heard such a rumor I certainly wouldnt have incriminated myself by stating it on a public forum.

Kind of feel involved myself now. I might contact a friend in the Guards and have someone check up on Beaner1. Just to make sure all is above board.

rotfl
    Impossible without due process being followed, such as an information request being made to boards from AGS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    shinzon wrote: »
    Micheal noonan we govern for the reasonable people, umm no Micheal your governed by what Angela and her pals tell you to do to govern us

Ah here. Goes to show the level of disconnect they have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

3:40

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

I would like Irish Water as a company to be restructured
    ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Sorry to bring the thread back a few pages
    but Have you a link or a breakdown on these figures ?
    Where and when was this work done ?
    And by who ?
    Was it Irish Water or Local councils ?

I am not doubting you ,I just like to see because this is the first time I'm actually see any figures for repair work that has been carried out not projected figures for some future endeavours.

I seen it mentioned on rte.ie from last year.
    Along the lines of €240+ million of the €1.2bn overall water expenditure being on repairs/upgrades.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/noonan-we-govern-for-the-reasonable-people-651323.html

Reminds me of Nixon and the Silent Majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I normally have an awful lot of respect for Noonan, he has been a very good Minister for Finance but along with the rest of cabinet he seems to have lost the plot where IW is concerned. It's no wonder the grassroots of FG are panicking so much at the moment, the people in charge of the party is completely and utterly disconnected from reality.

(BTW I wish every one would stop trying to bring Merkel, the Trioka, the EU, the IMF and every other usual suspect into this arguement. This is about how we are governed by our politicians and our public servants and ensuring they take responsibility for their decisions and that those decisions can be held accountable.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

rotfl
    Impossible without due process being followed, such as an information request being made to boards from AGS

Those requests go nowhere, trust me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Breffnigolfer

gladrags wrote: »
    Yeah,and when Kenny said the USC charge was "temporary"...

When did he say it was temporary?

We shall follow your every word Beaner , just like the good sheep we are .:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

I've seen some ridiculous posts on Boards in my time, however, this may just take the biscuit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I've seen some ridiculous posts on Boards in my time, however, this may just take the biscuit :D

Naw give it time there is much better stuff on boards than this. That's just a Marietta, hold out and someone will deliver some Mikado to you ;)

that was my point lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

gladrags wrote: »
    The Gardai should be able to trace the call

Unless they took out their sim card.
    Yep, that's clinched it, I have put you forward for Dragon's Den

Glad to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Breffnigolfer

Taxation should be fair. At the moment, w.r.t. water supply it is unfair because a certain percentage of the population have to pay for water supply, the rest do not. IW was created to ensure everybody pays for what they use. How is that such a problem for so many?

Why do so many want an unlimited, unmetered supply of water, for nothing?