Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Water meter protests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Maybe if we beat the crap out of the politicians next, austerity will be stopped... :rolleyes:

Fcuking idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Protests by their very nature are disruptive. Can any protest be called peaceful. If you gone onto the main road of any city and hender people going about their normal day to day business it is going to have a knock on effect. Businesses will be at a loss as people will be put ogoing into an area where protest marches are on. Traffice disruption etc. I'm not against protests but anyone can claim that any protest isn't peaceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

How about putting a bit of thought and intelligence into putting your point across as opposed to holding someone hostage in their car and rocking it back and forth like a bunch of brain dead spastics shouting 'peaceful protest'? :rolleyes:

How would you do it. How would you get their attention. Serious question. No need for a smart a reply.

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Maybe if we beat the crap out of the politicians next, austerity will be stopped... :rolleyes:

Fcuking idiots

I don't think anyone is saying physical violence is the answer.

niallo27 wrote: »
    If your work involved ****ing people over until they can't take anymore then you might not be that surprised.

Yeah, I'm sure that's why people get into politics - not to do their best for the country under the circumstances, but because they like fcuking people over, for the sheer craic of it like. Because that's what people are like :rolleyes:

A young, unelected staffer of Joan's was advised to run from the mob there on saturday - to shouts of "get the cnut". The gardai had to squeeze so close to her to protect her from the mob chasing her that she woke up with bruises on her body. Want to imagine what would have happened if they caught up with her before the gardai did?

She's a member of the Labour Party though, so I imagine you believe she deserves it?

Yeah, I'm sure that's why people get into politics - not to do their best for the country under the circumstances, but because they like fcuking people over, for the sheer craic of it like. Because that's what people are like :rolleyes:

A young, unelected staffer of Joan's was advised to run from the mob there on saturday - to shouts of "get the cnut". The gardai had to squeeze so close to her to protect her from the mob chasing her that she woke up with bruises on her body. Want to imagine what would have happened if they caught up with her before the gardai did?

She's a member of the Labour Party though, so I imagine you believe she deserves it?

So your saying that all politicians do the best for the country and none have ever ****ed people over for their own personal reward.

Really? You haven't been reading the commentary from a sizable number of professional protestors on social media talking about the story - I've lost track of the amount of times I read "should have been something heavier" or that she should have been ripped from her car and etc etc.

If you don't see a nasty side of this developing here, you're not looking very hard.

They know people are angry about the water protests. They are the elected government, they decide how to run the country, not protesters.

They haven't a ****en clue if there recent suggestions are anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

How would you get their attention. Serious question. No need for a smart a reply.

Every 5 years, there is a designated day where you & others get to chose the next government.

In doing so you very much get politicians attention.

Really? You haven't been reading the commentary from a sizable number of professional protestors on social media talking about the story - I've lost track of the amount of times I read "should have been something heavier" or that she should have been ripped from her car and etc etc.

If you don't see a nasty side of this developing here, you're not looking very hard.

Of course people will say that. Are you taking about facebook and Twitter. People hide behind their comments on there.

Every 5 years, there is a designated day where you & others get to chose the next government.

In doing so you very much get politicians attention.

It's too late then though. So if a government is elected we should just accept everything they do until the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

The intimidation of Joan Burton most certainly wasn't peaceful.

You mean what was reported on the papers of the protest of Joan Burton wasn't peaceful. I can't argue with the photo of her being hit with a water balloon and i don't have any statistics to back up how many people have been injured or killed by being hit with such a weapon. I myself am a survivor of being hit with a water balloon and I still haven't got over it. One of the rags had a picture of a guy throwing a brick. This didn't actually happen at the time Joan Burton was held in her car.

So your saying that all politicians do the best for the country and none have ever ****ed people over for their own personal reward.

Are you saying that all government politicians are corrupt and out with some evil plan to **** the country over for the craic? Any evidence of that or is it just a gut feeling?

Any comment on that staffer having to run for her life at your peaceful protest? "Get the cnut" - that sound peaceful to you then, does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

How would you do it. How would you get their attention. Serious question. No need for a smart a reply.

Perhaps actually undertaking a peaceful protest? Or as mentioned above letting them know personally on the doorstep come election time. It really isnt hard come up with ways, but you seem to be struggling...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

It's too late then though. So if a government is elected we should just accept everything they do until the next election.

Yes. That's what a democracy is. And i can tell you this, if you and yours take your control of the government by violence you can be sure there will be many people who will show up to take it back the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Peacefully protest of course.

However the best most effective protest you can offer is on 2016 by voting for one of the fringe communist candidates in your constituency who are opposed to paying for water provision.

Change comes at the ballot box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭AlanG

Your right. Let's just pay up and move along until the next charge comes in.

We are already paying - the protestors just want income tax payers to foot the bill so they don't have to make a contribution to the running of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,254 ✭✭✭SteM

Perhaps actually undertaking a peaceful protest? Or as mentioned above letting them know personally on the doorstep come election time. It really isnt hard come up with ways, but you seem to be struggling...

Don't think there'll be too many Labour (or FG or FF) candidates doorstepping around Tallaght come election time to be honest.

I would love if peaceful protests worked but they don't. If that's all we can offer just pay up now because nothing will change.

AlanG wrote: »
    We are already paying - the protestors just want income tax payers to foot the bill so they don't have to make a contribution to the running of the state.

I pay income tax. I always have. Why are you trying to portray a divide

SteM wrote: »
    Don't think there'll be too many Labour (or FG or FF) candidates doorstepping around Tallaght come election time to be honest.

If that happens it will be a very sad thing for our democracy.

If a constituent went to Paul Murphy and told them a mob had held her in her car for two hours, thrown things at her and damaged her car would he tell them that was ok because it was peaceful. Joan Burton is the democratically elected deputy leader of our democratic republic.
    The strength of a democracy is not in the behavior of the victors but the acceptance of majority rule by those who fail to win a majority of the electorate over.
    Scum like these protestors have no respect for democracy and therefore no respect for the voice of the common people.

But you you're not taking the people that are protesting and are income tax payers into account. Your 'we' and 'they' argument is weak because there were plenty of tax payers at protests all around the country over the last few weeks.

Just listened to Paul Murphy on Radio 1. Shur there was no violence. No protester got arrested. Our Deputy Prime Minister wasn't held against her will. Shur they "allowed" her to be slow marched out of the area and on her way. Not a bother. Shur whats all the fuss?

I would love if peaceful protests worked but they don't. If that's all we can offer just pay up now because nothing will change.

A second ago you were saying that you didn't think anyone would condone physical violence, now you're saying that peaceful protests are useless. Which is it?

If a constituent went to Paul Murphy and told them a mob had held her in her car for two hours, thrown things at her and damaged her car would he tell them that was ok because it was peaceful. Joan Burton is the democratically elected deputy leader of our democratic republic.
    The strength of a democracy is not in the behavior of the victors but the acceptance of majority rule by those who fail to win a majority of the electorate over.
    Scum like these protestors have no respect for democracy and therefore no respect for the voice of the common people.

You seem to be a great man for tarring everybody with the same brush.

A second ago you were saying that you didn't think anyone would condone physical violence, now you're saying that peaceful protests are useless. Which is it?

I would not consider the protest in Jobstown as physical violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Sadly a lot of people are, and this was demonstrated perfectly in Jobstown.

If that happens it will be a very sad thing for our democracy.

Sure why would they? It's an ignored area of the city and they know what's going to happen in the next election anyway. Doorstepping in Jobstown will be a waste of their time.

Just listened to Paul Murphy on Radio 1. Shur there was no violence. No protester got arrested. Our Deputy Prime Minister wasn't held against her will. Shur they "allowed" her to be slow marched out of the area and on her way. Not a bother. Shur whats all the fuss?

The arrogance of that jumped up privately educated pratt is astounding - we "allowed" a citizen of the State to leave the area eventually. Are you not merciful Paul? He'd want to be getting over himself and in short order.