Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Anyone have a 10mm Square Drive? Or know where to get one? Most motor factors dont have one and I don't want to go spending a fortune buying a kit with them all in it. Reluctant to use a 3/16th head.

e200205_ph01.jpg

3/16 whitworth? Isn't that too big...?

Whats it for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

joujoujou wrote: »
    My fault. I checked it once quite a long time ago and it turned up as the highest tax band. I was wrong. :o

Now there is nothing stopping you from getting your dream car.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    A woosh, loss of power and inability to Rev is a common one on the turbo scene :)
    I'd reckon you've blown off a intake hose, jubilee clip moved out of place or gave, pipe split etc.

Big wooshes and coils don't go together.
    You'll get a misfire reading as the lack of air needed to burn the fuel will cause one.

I'd be 99% site on that too :)

I want to check but I've feck all time to do it, any days i have are taken up by this hoorin project im doing at the minute :o and i kinda need the car too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I want to check but I've feck all time to do it, any days i have are taken up by this hoorin project im doing at the minute :o and i kinda need the car too :(

Will the car idle? It should if it's what I'm describing. Should be perfect or very close at idle.

Then as you Rev it will start to boost, the second the engine adjusts for boost and doesn't get it then it will start to miss and break down coupled with the leak wooshing the pressurised air out.

2 seconds outside with your Bro revving the car to pinpoint any leak will see you nail it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

dgt wrote: »
    3/16 whitworth? Isn't that too big...?

Whats it for?

Arrgh my bad. I mean a 3/8th!

Need a 10mm male square drive for the Jimny Gearbox. A 3/8th is almost right but people on the suzuki forums have rounded the plug using a 3/8th extension bar etc.

Right yoke for the job I'm looking for.

YbFocus wrote: »
    Will the car idle? It should if it's what I'm describing. Should be perfect or very close at idle.

Then as you Rev it will start to boost, the second the engine adjusts for boost and doesn't get it then it will start to miss and break down coupled with the leak wooshing the pressurised air out.

2 seconds outside with your Bro revving the car to pinpoint any leak will see you nail it.

tried that! it only seems to happen around the 60mph mark it will not go past 60mph for the life of it, and if it does it goes mental, when i have a day free, ill dig deeper, glad it doesnt seem like nothing too serious though

Also it idles perfectly as if nothings wrong with it at all

Arrgh my bad. I mean a 3/8th!

Need a 10mm male square drive for the Jimny Gearbox. A 3/8th is almost right but people on the suzuki forums have rounded the plug using a 3/8th extension bar etc.

Right yoke for the job I'm looking for.

Ah! I was wondering are you working on a SIII or older Landy :P

I'll keep a looksee on my travels :D

Mr pickles,

Have you searched for split/popped boot pipework?

Mr pickles,

Have you searched for split/popped boot pipework?

Mr t :pac:

I have not as it was getting rather dark when i arrived home, i checked my vacuum lines as i though it was a vac leak, and they're all good, but when i have the time i shall check around ye olde turboe

Mr t :pac:

I have not as it was getting rather dark when i arrived home, i checked my vacuum lines as i though it was a vac leak, and they're all good, but when i have the time i shall check around ye olde turboe

Brake booster?

Happened to me in the 406, massive split and a horrible whoosing noise. It was a split pipe to the intercooler....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Are the haynes workshop manual any good. I'm thinking of getting one is it just basic servicing it covers or more a general overview. In other words are they worth getting.

Brake booster?

Happened to me in the 406, massive split and a horrible whoosing noise. It was a split pipe to the intercooler....
    I thought it was the intercooler too, but nope, its grand, I'll stick the booster on the list though
    Bpmull wrote: »
    Are the haynes workshop manual any good. I'm thinking of getting one is it just basic servicing it covers or more a general overview. In other words are they worth getting.
    I done 90% of the work to my saab with one, so i find they're good!

Handy for facts and figures as well as a general guide

I done 90% of the work to my saab with one, so i find they're good!

That's good to hear ill definitely pick one up so. As I'll be going doing the next service myself as my uncle done last one just because he had a lift which meant he could properly check all the suspension and it underneath. There a fairly straight forward to service anyway. Not like the focus with its oil filter buried in under the air filter housing that yoke was fiddly enough all I was used to it after a few services.

Just looked there the manual is down to 20 quid on micksgarage :) now to find something to bring the total up to 30 euro for free delivery. Anyone want to recommend something useful that micksgarage has for 10 euro or less :D theres nothing much jumping out at me.

A few hoses for me there that'd do the job :P

I have to say tp I admire the way that after all the hardship and problems you've had with that Saab that even now when it happens you are still able to be positive and not get really wound up or annoyed over it you just fix it up and move on. It's a great way to be.

I didn't have half the problems with my focus and by the end of that year it had my head absolutely wrecked. For all the problems and hardship you've had with both the saabs it's made you very knowledgable and mechanically able with cars in general :)

I have to say tp I admire the way that after all the hardship and problems you've had with that Saab that even now when it happens you are still able to be positive and not get really wound up or annoyed over it you just fix it up and move on. It's a great way to be.

I didn't have half the problems with my focus and by the end of that year it had my head absolutely wrecked. For all the problems and hardship you've had with both the saabs it's made you very knowledgable and mechanically able with cars in general :)

Haha ah sure no point in getting worked up over it like, its only a car, I like the challenge haha, It has to a point, but i wouldn't be very up there like, but with saabs id know a good bit, but that's about it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Anyone have a 10mm Square Drive? Or know where to get one? Most motor factors dont have one and I don't want to go spending a fortune buying a kit with them all in it. Reluctant to use a 3/16th head.

e200205_ph01.jpg

I've one but I'm down in cork until friday. Got it in a set on micks garage. http://www.micksgarage.com/proddetails.aspx?pid=1639824

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Halfords to spares if you don't mind mixing brands.
    Their pro range is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

The set on micks garage doesn't have a Square Drive 10mm; it has a hex drive 10mm. Same with halfords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

The set on micks garage doesn't have a Square Drive 10mm; it has a hex drive 10mm. Same with halfords.
    Get yourself a bigger one (1/2 inch) adaptor and use angle grinder/file to make 10mm square.
    Now there is nothing stopping you from getting your dream car.:D
    Actually, there's one thing - the one called Cruel Reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Guys where's supergurrier gone? Hasn't posted in some time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Trapped in his volvo I'd say :p. He's been ridiculously busy in work with almost no time off, he be on the bookface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Gone to find a replacement for his volvo I heard

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Gone to find a replacement for his volvo I heard

Did it die?

Stheno wrote: »
    Did it die?

It's died quite a lot on him so far, he's completely fed up with it, he's planning on buying back his ST soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Shoulda bought an E39. ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Shoulda bought an E39. ;)

I keep telling him that :pac:

Mind you, mine hasn't exactly been problem free either :pac: