Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,742 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I don't think Nidge will be getting killed any time soon. There will be loads of attempts on him but those who mess with him will more than likely end up dead. In the past, he weathered the various threats posed by Dano, Lizzie, the gardai and others and now, he will see off the likes of Paddy and eventually Paulie. Fran's fate is less sure. He is as iconic a character as Nidge and I predict both Fran and Nidge to survive as long as Love/Hate does.

Agree - but have we gone one too many attempts on nidge - basically, next time he is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I don't think Nidge will be getting killed any time soon. There will be loads of attempts on him but those who mess with him will more than likely end up dead. In the past, he weathered the various threats posed by Dano, Lizzie, the gardai and others and now, he will see off the likes of Paddy and eventually Paulie. Fran's fate is less sure. He is as iconic a character as Nidge and I predict both Fran and Nidge to survive as long as Love/Hate does.

Could have said the same about john boy, dano, darren etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

What - Tom and Jerry is a cartoon.

This is a storyline - from real life crime in Dublin.

People are empathising with characters that are murders - it is just interesting - and shows how in real life these people can become idolised in their community - because "he sorted out those lads in the park".

tumblr_ma3v5naJqX1rgnf7go1_500.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Hang on...the dentist is only being buried now? That is how little time has passed? WTF??? :confused:

He was stuck in 'lost luggage' in the canal dock for an uncertain period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,101 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I wonder if that detective (that was following Nidge) is going to go over to the darkside. He's complaining about having to pay his maortgage and not wating to do unpaid overtime. It's been a while since they had a bent copper and it's an essential part of a show like this.

Does he know too Siobhan is ratting on Nidge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I loved Tony Soprano too, it's quality entertainment

Bacchus wrote: »
    This is spiraling. I originally, when watching, did not think catching Fran with the gun was a big deal. This is not just him out for a pint after to calm the nerves. The chief was there too. It seemed to be a huge victory for something that I thought Fran could easily get off with, with a bit of lawyering up.

Another poster quickly cleared up to me though that possesion of a gun would put Fran away. There was no need for any further clarification from you.

As for the drugs analogy, it did not make sense in the context of what I was saying because my issue was with the severity of Frans crime. Of course big wins are celebrated.

Anyway, hoped that cleared that up.

Cracking episode, roll on next Sunday :)

Sorry for clarifying :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Recorded this so I could fast-forward through the ads. Gave serious consideration to also fast-forwarding through the cop scenes - they're just terrible!

They feel like they've been dropped in from a different, totally inferior show - the dialogue, most of the acting and the whole cop-centred plotline is dragging this series down just like the last one. So the detective's wife wants to go on holiday and doesn't show much empathy? - who cares!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

deise08 wrote: »
    Oh God Hughie.
    I absolutely hated every minute of him purely because he was such a horrible unpredictable loose cannon. Even his last scene showed how unpredictable he was.!!
    It was a great character, played by a great actor, but my nerves couldn't handle watching him!
    :):)

Agree on this. Great character but far too unpredictable. Sure he went after Robbie over 300 quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Said it earlier but they have totally gone away from showing drug use in the show.

What - Tom and Jerry is a cartoon.

This is a storyline - from real life crime in Dublin.

People are empathising with characters that are murders - it is just interesting - and shows how in real life these people can become idolised in their community - because "he sorted out those lads in the park".

I remember watching a program about the Noonans in Manchester. The local businesses who were terrified of teenagers running riot were delighted with the Noonans as they got their moneys worth in terms of providing them with protection.

If they called them, they would be around in minutes whereas there was no guarantee that the Greater Manchester Police would show up and probably because they were underfunded and under resourced. Alot of similar fictional shows have hit upon this theme such as the Wire. Basically the Pen is mightier then the sword and it takes alot of politics in order to get the bureaucrats to take their finger out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

RainyDay wrote: »
    He was stuck in 'lost luggage' in the canal dock for an uncertain period.

I think the news report mentioned he was missing for 3 weeks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

tumblr_ma3v5naJqX1rgnf7go1_500.gif

Im just thanking that for the Gif. Im too tired to figure out which side of the argument Im on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Hang on...the dentist is only being buried now? That is how little time has passed? WTF??? :confused:

It's a few weeks after the last series, his body was missing (in the canal) for most of that time, hence he is only being buried now.

loyatemu wrote: »
    Recorded this so I could fast-forward through the ads. Gave serious consideration to also fast-forwarding through the cop scenes - they're just terrible!

They feel like they've been dropped in from a different, totally inferior show - the dialogue, most of the acting and the whole cop-centred plotline is dragging this series down just like the last one. So the detective's wife wants to go on holiday and doesn't show much empathy? - who cares!!

Can you have a crime show with no cops ?

Like it is part of the story - you end up dead or in prison.

If there was no cops - people would go , where are the cops. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

I'd say the cops are so delighted because Fran got away with the dentist's murder and now they've got him locked up with proof. They actually got him for something - possession of a fire-arm.

Or maybe they know they prevented a murder. Either way, they don't have the resources to play the long game like we saw in The Wire, so this is a win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Im just thanking that for the Gif. Im too tired to figure out which side of the argument Im on ;)

All I'm saying is that Love/Hate is the oldest story in the book, just like cowboys and injuns, cops and robbers. The guy I was replying to was trying to extract some kind of grand social commentary out of its reception. Which is silly beause it's only a tv show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

loyatemu wrote: »
    So the detective's wife wants to go on holiday and doesn't show much empathy? - who cares!!

I think they are trying to show us how the wives are all suffering from their husbands' actions, regardless of which side they are on. Apart from poor Linda of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Why did Monahan lie to his wife about being at a teenager's funeral? There seems to be something going on between him and the window.

This is a joke yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Great episode up there with the best, the Guard and the dentists wife story is pointless imo

Fran was brilliant tonight, he knows he's completely powerless now locked up, can't touch Nidge where he is

Is Noely in prison from the last series?

I think Paulie is a great character, great addition

The star posted pics of Patrick getting shot months ago, I thought bastards but it all good now didn't expect him to get back up

All I'm saying is that Love/Hate is the oldest story in the book, just like cowboys and injuns, cops and robbers. The guy I was replying to was trying to extract some kind of grand social commentary out of its reception. Which is silly beause it's only a tv show.

It is a tv show based on real events to a great extent.

In fact - he has had to move away from real events - as they were too recognisable in the first few series.

There is a real social background to why the show was developed.

But yes only tv. But hard to forget reality - when it is literally outside your door here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

fatherteddreamsreality2.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭emanresu esrever

Who Psycho Fran? Hmm yeah he might have a bit of form alright with him smuggling, illegal dog fighting, suspected of murdering a dentist, being an asscoiate of John Boy and Nidge, Glassing one of his best mates... :D

Convictions are completely different. A court of law cant take into account misproved allegations. Maybe he has been convicted but i dont think so.

Can you have a crime show with no cops ?

Like it is part of the story - you end up dead or in prison.

If there was no cops - people would go , where are the cops. ?

the cops don't have to be characters - they were virtually non-existent in the first 3 series and it was better for it.

there's nothing wrong in principal with developing the cop side of the story, but they're doing a really bad job of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I wonder will the American remake of Love/Hate be made. It would read something like this:

Season 1 and 2 would be pretty much the same only the pipebomb maker would be a biker rather than a traveller.

Season 3 would see Nidge get into bother with an al Qaeda splinter group styling itself as ISIS who he smuggles for after they beat up Ado in the wrong. Nidge meets the local ISIS father and son and the father rapes Nidge's niece Joanne and Tommy and Darren kill him. Then, Fran moves the dead ISIS man and conceal things. The rest of the series goes on like this with ISIS' man getting personal and eventually finding out about Nidge's involvement in his father's death. Nidge realises that the ISIS man's alcohol addiction could be useful (these bozos believe alcohol is sinful) and sees perhaps going to a higher al Qaeda/ISIS man could help. He does and the the commander of al Qaeda thinks the ISIS man is a liability and tells Nidge to kill Darren and keep paying and smuggling. Darren had already killed an ISIS associate to save Nidge when they attempted a hit on Nidge. Nidge lashes out on Tommy and puts him in coma. Nidge's use of Ado and Elmo to clip Darren fails but an ISIS woman who had feelings for Darren before she finds out about him killing her brother kills him instead.

Series 4 starts off with Nidge being tracked down by the police. He organises a tiger kidnap and a violent drunken dentist is roped into paying back Nidge after he is violent to Nidge's girlfriend. Nidge uses his legal way of getting in a mixing agent and also uses his financial knowledge. ISIS continue to want Nidge dead and recruit a young local gangster Wayne to do it. A cat is killed first! Eventually, Nidge arranges another meeting with al Qaeda and again uses the split between them and ISIS to get rid of the ISIS threat. The ISIS man is killed by his former al Qaeda friend who considers Nidge a better use. The biker who supplied the pipebomb re-emerges as a friend of Fran and Nidge attempts a hit but it fails. The police try to capture Nidge but Tommy collapses and into another coma. Fran kills the dentist after noting he is working for the cops.

Series 5 starts out with Nidge meeting a major Colombian drug lord for a loan and is sent Paulo mind him and make sure he pays the money back. The biker gang are due to make several hits on Nidge. Fran is told about the pipebomb attack on Linda and arranges to kill Nidge. Instead, he is caught by the police after been seen taking a gun form the bikers. He meets Nidge next when Nidge visits him in prison and he headbutts Nidge. To be continued.

Its amazing to see the arcs, john boy killed by his closest, nidge will probably be killed by someone he trusts, maybe the young hitman he has.

The only person with the connections and the position to off him is paulie

He doesnt trust Paulie. But I think Micha the bodyguard might bear a grudge too after the way he was just left to be butchered as Nidge ran off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,854 ✭✭✭Delta2113

Cracking episode - song on closing credits -powerful -spot on. Calling the Gardai "the Bill" -silly.

Convictions are completely different. A court of law cant take into account misproved allegations. Maybe he has been convicted but i dont think so.

Yeah but even the fact his name would pop up so often would be enough to put him on their radar .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

mrsbyrne wrote: »
    If Paddy never informs on anyone than why has he informed on Nidge?

After the sit down last week Paddy wanted it to be over, but when Nidge got paulie to have another crack at him he decided to tell Fran (albeit against his moral code of practice) so as Fran would eliminate Nidge for him.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

BMJD wrote: »
    I think they are trying to show us how the wives are all suffering from their husbands' actions, regardless of which side they are on. Apart from poor Linda of course.

the cops wife is suffering? because he hasn't had time to decide which package holiday they're going to take?

I'm not saying its a bad idea to show things from the cops' perspective, but its only a 6 episode series and the cop scenes are really badly written.