It really did suck being an 80s/90s kid didn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

I believe that was MK which was also great. :)

The amount of money i threw into that game & ridge racer in dr. Quirky's was shameful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

V.W.L 11 wrote: »
    I'm glad I was an 80's/90's child dammit I would love to turn the clock back

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51NAFhGDIYw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The amount of money i threw into that game & ridge racer in dr. Quirky's was shameful

And knowing how to pull off fatalities made you a god amongst your peers.

Plus in the old days you could walk up to kids and play with them. You can't do that now because of all the paedophilia hysteria. I know some people who won't even let their kids out the door.

I think you are right, but this epitomises the usual Oirish over-reaction.

Ironically the streets are much safer for kids now I'd reckon, because people are more aware.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

porsche959 wrote: »
    I think you are right, but this epitomises the usual Oirish over-reaction.

Ironically the streets are much safer for kids now I'd reckon, because people are more aware.
    Yeh it's totally just an Irish phenomenon and not in numerous other countries at all (what's this "oirish" thing about)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

DColeman wrote: »
    I’ve just come to realise how awful it was to be a kid in the 80s/90s. Cartoons were crap, music was awful (in both decades), cheesy movies, computer games and consoles were played were also embarrassing, everything about being a child totally sucked then.

Part of the reason why I think this is largely due to the amount of remakes Hollywood are making from the 80s and 90s now and how much better they are. Everything they’re creating now is far better than the horribly sh1ttty originals back in the 80s/90s, Transformers, Turtles, Thundercats, Karate Kid etc, all horrible from the 80s and kids these days are clearly growing up with much better forms of them no doubt.

It makes me be ashamed of being a child from that generation looking back at it, I’m jealous of the kids now, everything they have is far better. Chart music from this decade is at its best ever, record sales to back it up before anyone argues otherwise, (Happy could will go down as the best selling song ever). Kids have it so great now, I’m jealous I wish I was one at this time!

I’m trying to banish my memories from those two crappy decades, I hate them so much. Anyone else agree?
    It's because you spent too much time in front of that bloody tv ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Sam Kade wrote: »
    It's because you spent too much time in front of that bloody tv ;)

Say television or telly. TV is an americanism!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I often think that the 80s were the absolute best decade to be a child and the 90s were the best to be a teenager. I'm obviously a bit biased about it all but I really feel like they were something of a golden age for those age groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It was great being a child in the 1980's and 90s, if you were being bullied it ended when you got home, there was no such thing as internet bullying.

Parents didn't think a paedophile was around every corner so we had more freedom.

Overall they were fun times.

Yeh it's totally just an Irish phenomenon and not in numerous other countries at all (what's this "oirish" thing about)?

Not just an Irish phenomenon, but seems to me the Irish are particularly adept at performing 180 degree U-turns, moving from one extreme to the other and ignoring the elephant in the room (in this case, insitutional paedophilia) until, all of a sudden, they decided to pay attention to it.

Seeing a Taoiseach who was a public figure since the mid 1970s suddenly put the boot into the Church (and I'm no fan of the church) in 2009 and get plaudits for it struck me as laughably absurd.

A lot of now elderly and middle-aged Irish people turned a blind eye to child abuse, before they decided to stop turning a blind eye and to jump on the anti-child abuse bandwagon.

You see it too in changing attitudes to Europe, fact is majority of electorate voted in pro-European direction in referendums throughout the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s (because they thought there was something in it for them, mainly) but these days everyone likes to pose as eurosceptic. The electorate voted for European currency union in 1992. Everything that has happened in the economy since was entirely predictable, and indeed, predicted.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Everything they’re creating now is far better than the horribly sh1ttty originals back in the 80s/90s, Transformers, Turtles, Thundercats, Karate Kid etc, all horrible from the 80s and kids these days are clearly growing up with much better forms of them no doubt.

Eh, the Turtles are better now? Have you seen the new Turtles remake? It's simply terrible!!

Furthermore, you cannot talk about 90's cartoons and not mention the Anamaniacs. Now that was a superb cartoon which had almost everything.
    I’m trying to banish my memories from those two crappy decades, I hate them so much. Anyone else agree?

I think it's pretty clear from this thread that, actually, very few people agree with you so, eh, sorry about that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 SkunkyDoodle

You sir, disgust me!

Cartoons like pokemon, digimon, cardcaptors and metabots.

Games like monkey island, Sam & max and grim fandango.

Compared to some of the absolute **** made nowadays. You must have taken all the drugs before posting that :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Christie Brinkley, 80's when super models actually looked like real women.
    She's now over 60 years old !!!
    Recent pic >> She really has let her self go LOL

>>http://us.cdn200.fansshare.com/photo/christiebrinkley/christie-brinkley-1744478029.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Good bands always existed. But in the eighties and some extent nineties they actually made it onto the airwaves. Nowadays they're still there but you have to go looking for them. Whats easily on offer through radio and charts etc is 99% utter cr@p. I mean bands were always about cool kids with crazy hairdos doing stuff that seemed silly and outrageous to the parents generation, but at least in the eighties these were real kids who were actually into their music. Most of todays bands it seems aren't even real bands but fabricated by Sony or whatshisname oh ye and x fkn factor. Rock is almost dead.

Every decade had its big teenage music thing. The next big thing thingy. 50ies had blues and rock n roll, 60ies had beat and soul, 70ies had disco and ROCK, 80ies had punk and wave, 90ies grunge, techno and trance but since then radio silence. x factor I guess. Meh.

As for cartoons I don't know when I zap into kids programs these days all I see is hyper paced super crazy stuff. I wonder will todays kids suffer from overstimulation as between cartoons and shows and games its all bling bling whack whack flash flash at a pace you'd have to put an epilepsy warning on it if any adult watched it for more than 10 seconds. No wonder every second kid has some sort of anxiety or attention or whatnot disorder.

Did our programs seem the same to our dads back in the eighties?

Probably. Just getting old I suppose. Or maybe not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

I enjoyed growing up in the 80s,kids now a days have everything,but back in the 80s you would be happy with a Kinder Surprise and be trying to put the toy together,

Building everything and anything with Lego

Playing Subbuteo

Reading Roy of the Rovers comics

Eating 54321 bars christ they were the dogs bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Johngoose wrote: »
    Oasis were a great 90's band.Proper rock n' roll.

I think it was called Brit Pop. Proper Rock n Roll is Chuck Berry or Black Sabbath depends where you come from, but certainly not Oasis. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Say television or telly. TV is an americanism!
    Don't be silly tv is short for television ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

80'S was owned by this guy.
    How lucky to have lived in his lifetime.
    King of pop rock rap soul ballads .
    Here's some rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,639 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I enjoyed growing up in the 80s,kids now a days have everything,but back in the 80s you would be happy with a Kinder Surprise and be trying to put the toy together,

Building everything and anything with Lego

Playing Subbuteo

Reading Roy of the Rovers comics

Eating Roy of the Rovers bars christ they were the dogs bollix

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Ahhh the 80 's

Transformers
    A - team
    Street Hawk
    Air Wolf
    He man
    GI Joe
    The original star wars
    My personal favourite Robotech .

And a Raleigh Burner

I dare you to find a better decade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

lanos wrote: »
    I call bulls**t
    Blackjacks and fruit salads were 1p
    Never sold for 1/2p
    And I was born in 69

Yes they were! I have no proof what so ever. how ever as this is an eighties/ nineties thread I feel it necessary to challenge you to a fight at 'the castle' in the green tralee at 4:30 tomorrow! that will sort it out.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

One for all and all for one/
    Muskehounds are always ready/
    One for all and all for one/
    Somethig something something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I think you're alone on this OP, best music from then

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,336 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

I thought this post was a joke as well, the 80s and 90s had better movies and in some cases tv was better. We didn't have reality tv or social media shoved down our throats, we also didn't have 200+ channels with nothing on. We had real MTV back then too! . Music was far better back then especially pop, rock and metal. Sweets were better back then too! The world was a safer place to live in back then too.

the only thing I can think of that was definitely worse back then was the terrible clothes, the handme-downs and disgusting shoes/trainers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭lanos

sheesh wrote: »
    Yes they were! I have no proof what so ever. how ever as this is an eighties/ nineties thread I feel it necessary to challenge you to a fight at 'the castle' in the green tralee at 4:30 tomorrow! that will sort it out.
    I can't cos my mum is picking me up straight after school to go to the emmmm dentist, yeah the dentist. Lucky for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭OU812

80's chicks were awesome too...

Samantha Fox
    Wendy James
    Suzanna Hoffs
    Lea Thompson

Good times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭con___manx1

The kids films in the 80ths and 90ths were great water ship down, the never ending story,the land before time all classics. The kids movies today teach kids nothing about sadness and dispair : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Doris300

Overall the present day is clearly the best to grow up if you use it to your advantage. There's great music being made now and there's all the great music that has been made in the past to discover and it's easy to discover thanks to the internet and such. Same goes for movies, TV etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭lanos

Gonzo wrote: »
    I thought this post was a joke as well, the 80s and 90s had better movies and in some cases tv was better. We didn't have reality tv or social media shoved down our throats, we also didn't have 200+ channels with nothing on. We had real MTV back then too! . Music was far better back then especially pop, rock and metal. Sweets were better back then too! The world was a safer place to live in back then too.

anybody who yearns for the good 'ol days, is officially old.
    not old in years, old at heart.
    That's much worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

OU812 wrote: »
    80's chicks were awesome too...

Samantha Fox...

And to think this generation got jordan