If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef General Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

Would you mind telling that to Teagasc, Farmers Journal etc etc. It drives me nuts. Quoted a figure of €850 /Ha for suckler farmer in this weeks journal. Gross marhin of course. No mention of net margin. Talk about creative accounting. :mad:
    Every time they do an article on Dairying, it's net margin. Why oh why is that?

because they want to convince all that suckler and beef men are hobby farmers not depending on it to make a crust and guess who that PR suits.As Pat Short would say.." that's riiiight" that endangered species, the factory owners,:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Would you mind telling that to Teagasc, Farmers Journal etc etc. It drives me nuts. Quoted a figure of €850 /Ha for suckler farmer in this weeks journal. Gross marhin of course. No mention of net margin. Talk about creative accounting. :mad:
    Every time they do an article on Dairying, it's net margin. Why oh why is that?

Surely everyone has different fixed costs, those with good SFPs would have higher fixed costs than those with none, anew tractor would make some difference to your fixed costs and you mightn't need it at all (tax dodge) but you can compare variable costs and see where they're high.....vet, feed, fert, and it means something.
    everyone knows what their own fixed costs are, someone that's not into new machinery trying to compare with some one that is, is a wasted effort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Castleview Gazelle looks a nice test animal. Looks like he'd leave length.
    On the other hand, what's up with TVR, he looks like he's on stilts or something, something not quite right with his back legs to me anyway.......

All the new Limousins look good, in fairness. they are all bred from well proven bulls. Cerberus (wge), On-Dit (oni), Commander (APM). TVR is mad for calving though, 18.4% and they still have him in the catalogue. What happened to Elite Flag (EFZ)? Did he get injured or something?

If Castleview Gazelle turns out to be a good bull, that will be 4 bulls the Castleview herd have bred for AI, Virulent, Casino, Gringo & now Gazelle.

That new Polled Simmental (AHC) looks interesting too. Might be worth a try.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Castleview Casino is a super bull alright. Heifer off him here is growing by the day, passing out many of the bulls!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

I posted that in the other beef in crisis the other day gg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

He's spotted the emperor has no clothes on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Have not seen it until now. However I generally agree. Grassland managment leaves a lot to be desired on a lot of beef farmers. It is often down to the thinking to suit someone else. The amount of people that i made the point to and there answer aws that the silage contractor would be giving out cutting smaller paddocks etc. Lads complain about cost as well even though putting a water trough in the middle of the field and 20 pigtails and a few reels of electric fence would sort the issue.

However we also have to remember that beef farms cannot supplement at grass like dairy farmers. During this summer I came across a few dairy farmers complaining about the amount of nuts they fed and having to open silage. I made the point to one that did he not consider letting covers build and grazing heavier covers due to drouth. While he made the point about it being against the grain he accepted that it would have been better than feeding silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Charlie George

agree.

Have not seen it until now. However I generally agree. Grassland managment leaves a lot to be desired on a lot of beef farmers. It is often down to the thinking to suit someone else. The amount of people that i made the point to and there answer aws that the silage contractor would be giving out cutting smaller paddocks etc. Lads complain about cost as well even though putting a water trough in the middle of the field and 20 pigtails and a few reels of electric fence would sort the issue.

However we also have to remember that beef farms cannot supplement at grass like dairy farmers. During this summer I came across a few dairy farmers complaining about the amount of nuts they fed and having to open silage. I made the point to one that did he not consider letting covers build and grazing heavier covers due to drouth. While he made the point about it being against the grain he accepted that it would have been better than feeding silage.

Ive ten fields here ranging from 4 ac to 40 ac. My 40ac field is only split in 4 at this time of yr and is a pain in the arse. Not all my farm is reseeded either and I immediately see it in the milk tank when cows go from old grass to new graas or vice versa.
    If I kept my calves on tge same old field all yr id half to calve at 3yr old whuch we were doing.
    Suckling is no different.
    Isnt tgr calving interval for sucklers 420 days?
    price yiu get does matter alot but hoe much you utilise your own farm and how efficient you are will mean you keep more of that money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

another thing i have noticed is the amount of calves still on cows, id say a lot of lads are not going to wean this year at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

another thing i have noticed is the amount of calves still on cows, id say a lot of lads are not going to wean this year at all

Heard that a high number of cows that calved early this year were hard got incalf early again, could be they're keeping them on to stop the cows turning mud fat. None of ours weaned yet because nothing due til Feb.

Not all my farm is reseeded either and I immediately see it in the milk tank when cows go from old grass to new graas or vice versa.
    Out of interest does it affect yield, P, F or all 3? At a guess what kind of % difference?
    If I kept my calves on tge same old field all yr id half to calve at 3yr old whuch we were doing.
    Suckling is no different.
    Agree. Weight gain of calves still on cows not great here for last few years. This year for the first time they've gone into reseeds post weaning and the thrive is unreal in comparison. We're on old swards till weaning. Trying to practice in at 10-12cm and out at 4 cm as much as possible.

just do it wrote: »
    Out of interest does it affect yield, P, F or all 3? At a guess what kind of % difference?

Agree. Weight gain of calves still on cows not great here for last few years. This year for the first time they've gone into reseeds post weaning and the thrive is unreal in comparison. We're on old swards till weaning. Trying to practice in at 10-12cm and out at 4 cm as much as possible.

Haven't looked into in that depth jdi but I definitely get a reduced milk yeild if I go from new grass to old. Im sure that carries over to fat and protein too. Atm im grazing old swards 30+yr old. Grazed 35 days ago cover of 1k on it. Field beside it going into thag next reseeded teo yrs ago. Grazed 30 days ago cover of 2 k on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I don't understand your point on building covers. When drought starts to bite is always around the time second cut is being taken. Grass is growing strongly until it isn't. Last year and this we fed bales within a fortnight of baling the last paddock surpluses.

He's wrong about the high covers also. We decided not to bale two large paddocks in early July and graze them instead, huge mistake they're not right since. Covers built in the back end remain leafy there's no imperative within the plants physiology for it to do anything else. In early/mid summer as soon as the plant is stressed it starts to head and once that happens utilisation plummets. Stressed paddocks can start to head out at covers well under 1000kg. If I'm ever in that situation again I'll be baling regardless of drought or forecasts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Beef farmers could learn so much from dairy guys when it comes to grass management.

yea agree there, if your lucky enough to know a good dairy farmer then take him for a walk on your own grazing platform, its an eye opener

on the weaning subject, i do it regularly the last few years because i think that the feb-march calves get more now from fresh after grass and meal than they get from the cow and grazing with her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Its alright to build covers for this time of year but on farms like ours that are typically wet if the weather gets bad it will be walked into the ground and ran out their arses . Its also not an option to let them strip graze for a few hours and back to the shed to avoid poaching like a dairy farmer as I'm just not around .

Bullocks wrote: »
    Its alright to build covers for this time of year but on farms like ours that are typically wet if the weather gets bad it will be walked into the ground and ran out their arses . Its also not an option to let them strip graze for a few hours and back to the shed to avoid poaching like a dairy farmer as I'm just not around .

:D:D

Would it be tearing the arse out of it to leave the calf say 11 months sucking the cow ? Or are they better off standing on their own two feet early and getting everything they need from grass .
    The father rang the last day to say one of the cows calfed but her "weanling " was still sucking her ! When I went down to separate them her calf and last calf sucking her from either side and there didn't seem to be any loss on the newborn ( just hoping the bainne bui was good enough for him ) or the cow either but she is a milky aa x .
    Just wondering do ye find better weight gain in early weaned calfs that get a bit of nuts or lads that are left on the cow a good 8/9 months if not longer

Would it be tearing the arse out of it to leave the calf say 11 months sucking the cow ? Or are they better off standing on their own two feet early and getting everything they need from grass .
    The father rang the last day to say one of the cows calfed but her "weanling " was still sucking her ! When I went down to separate them her calf and last calf sucking her from either side and there didn't seem to be any loss on the newborn ( just hoping the bainne bui was good enough for him ) or the cow either but she is a milky aa x .
    Just wondering do ye find better weight gain in early weaned calfs that get a bit of nuts or lads that are left on the cow a good 8/9 months if not longer

i would say it depends on a few things really

1. amount of milk cow has
    2. Quality of grass available

cow struggling with milk the you are far better off weaning the calf and going to grass with meal

if cow still has a good bag of milk then its debatable, seen before where some of the so called experts maintain that a calf gets fcuk all from milk after 6 months

a few dairy farmers i know switched from strip grazing to 24 or 36 hr paddock with separate entry and exit points a few years ago to combat poaching on black ground, as well it ended the problem of grass at end of large fields being strip grazed, being just that much too strong for quality milk production. as well when i switched from dairying i found that when checking for bulling the problem of cows expecting fresh grass 2 or 3 times daily was was eliminated along with the trampled grass just behind strip wire. i haven't converted to scrapping the topper or baling surplus paddocks yet(need practice at admiring scrawny grass),as surrounded by dairymen. however the practice of shopkeepers and successful business men buying farms with surplus cash and putting it as costs against their business to dodge tax imo and regarding it as money in bank for future is not confined to midlands and city suburbs and may well be the subject of some of the newspapers remarks.

i would say it depends on a few things really

1. amount of milk cow has
    2. Quality of grass available

cow struggling with milk the you are far better off weaning the calf and going to grass with meal

if cow still has a good bag of milk then its debatable, seen before where some of the so called experts maintain that a calf gets fcuk all from milk after 6 months
    i had one yearling who started back sucking cow along with baby calf, made mighty animal of him alright but as an elderly neighbour predicted, or maybe just coincidence, cow didn't go back in calf. she was bulled alright but never jumped on another animal until dry,despite bull in field with them, i dry off cows by housing with plenty straw for cows in October regardless ( noisy 10 days), a few cows i checked, their milk is like water imo at this stage anyway

sandydan wrote: »
    a few cows i checked, their milk is like water imo at this stage anyway

Stands to reason. On the grass vs silage thread the dairy boys note milk solids drop back on autumn grass and cows need supplementation to keep up milk quality.

just do it wrote: »
    Stands to reason. On the grass vs silage thread the dairy boys note milk solids drop back on autumn grass and cows need supplementation to keep up milk quality.

I hear you but the dairy cows would be throwing out a fair few litres more than a weanling would be pulling off its mother . She shouldn't be under much pressure at all compared to her dairy sister .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I don't understand your point on building covers. When drought starts to bite is always around the time second cut is being taken. Grass is growing strongly until it isn't. Last year and this we fed bales within a fortnight of baling the last paddock surpluses.

He's wrong about the high covers also. We decided not to bale two large paddocks in early July and graze them instead, huge mistake they're not right since. Covers built in the back end remain leafy there's no imperative within the plants physiology for it to do anything else. In early/mid summer as soon as the plant is stressed it starts to head and once that happens utilisation plummets. Stressed paddocks can start to head out at covers well under 1000kg. If I'm ever in that situation again I'll be baling regardless of drought or forecasts.

In dairying that is grand as milk produced off ration is still profitable. However with beef any weighted gained by ration in general is not profitable. That is not to say that targeted meal feeding is not a good idea as it may allow you to increase grade or target a higher price. However beef farmers cannot make money by supplementing if grass runs out.

My point to the dairy farmers was if your grass is tight and you are considering feeding silage due to drouth might it not be an option to lenghten the rotation. Yes grass will be a bit more stemmy but your costs may be lower. This year might not have been the year to try as a strong milk price made it more viable to produce milk at any cost. However if milk goes sub 30c/L for a while the viability might change.

Generally this summer I lenghtened rotation as if I did not I would have ran out of grass and had to feed meal and silage which is not profitable in a beef situtation.

anyone going to have a go at the Teagasc Beef Free Liver Fluke Testing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

Yep.

Details please? !