If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef General Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭mallethead

I saw fr bullocks 650 to 700 kg hard set to make a 1000 euro
    good well bred charolais making up to 800 with the kilo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

mallethead wrote: »
    I saw fr bullocks 650 to 700 kg hard set to make a 1000 euro
    good well bred charolais making up to 800 with the kilo

Could be a twist in those fresians if you could keep them outside until late November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭mallethead

Too much stock and not enough money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Feckthis wrote: »
    None in the mart or poor prices?

Saw 2 450 kg freisian bulloks struggling to make 800

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

I'm after buying 5 bags If soya bean to mix with my rolled barley.
    Still dunno what way I'm gonna mix it!

Front loader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Cattlepen wrote: »
    Front loader

Thanks but I ment ratio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Could be a twist in those fresians if you could keep them outside until late November

Why would you think that?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,638 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Factories feed lots might be empty by then maybe?

Cattle will be scare by mid late November. In general when that happens plain finished cattle are flat priced. Your best and cheapest way of finishing is to feed outside. A 675kg Friesian feed 3-4kgs of ration maybe 5 in November would do 70-80kgs LW in that time. He kill in excess of 360 kgs. He eat 270kgs of ration costing 70 euro maybe 50 for silage and grass dosing etc 10 euro. 150 should be the outside of costs. If they cost 1050, then they be standing you 1200 at slaughter, you would need 3.25/kg to break even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,901 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I agree as above however you might get a very good price for a hulls/barley mix. So I price both. 1/3 hulls rest either barley or barley/maize mix.

You should be able to get for around 200/ton or a bit with it. It depends on how much you are taking. If only taking a few tons consider collecting hulls, barley and maize sperate in half ton bags direct from mill.

Getting 5 tonne of a 16% cubed blend with following ,barley,maize,hulls,soya ,vitimans minerals and yeast .25% barley,25% maize,30% hulls,16% soya and 4% vit minerals for 235 blown into bin .souds ok to me

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Getting 5 tonne of a 16% cubed blend with following ,barley,maize,hulls,soya ,vitimans minerals and yeast .25% barley,25% maize,30% hulls,16% soya and 4% vit minerals for 235 blown into bin .souds ok to me

Looks a good price just confirms about what I say about pricing. Cubing/nutting adds about 15/ton to a mix so considering you that is equivlent to 22o/for a 16% ration. There is no rubbish in mix and it is ideal for grass. Good price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

Cattle will be scare by mid late November. In general when that happens plain finished cattle are flat priced. Your best and cheapest way of finishing is to feed outside. A 675kg Friesian feed 3-4kgs of ration maybe 5 in November would do 70-80kgs LW in that time. He kill in excess of 360 kgs. He eat 270kgs of ration costing 70 euro maybe 50 for silage and grass dosing etc 10 euro. 150 should be the outside of costs. If they cost 1050, then they be standing you 1200 at slaughter, you would need 3.25/kg to break even.

Lads and Lasses, Its the terminology, Breakeven is zero profit after EVERYTHING gets paid. If your at 3.25, your making zero contribution to overheads, and I have yet to see a farm without overheads. Please don't assume your making money when you are clearing a tenner on each animal after holding them for 12 months. Bottom line is after tax, bank interest& charges, depreciation, insurance, repairs, conacre costs, accountants fee, computer & internet costs, tractor running costs, Teagasc fee, ICBF fee, reseeding costs, jeep running costs. lets call it margin or contribution to overhead. So at 3.25, your making no contribution to your overheads, your a million miles from breakeven-overheads on dry stock farms are running 400-600/Ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Nettleman wrote: »
    ...overheads on dry stock farms are running 400-600/Ha.
    Would you mind telling that to Teagasc, Farmers Journal etc etc. It drives me nuts. Quoted a figure of €850 /Ha for suckler farmer in this weeks journal. Gross marhin of course. No mention of net margin. Talk about creative accounting. :mad:
    Every time they do an article on Dairying, it's net margin. Why oh why is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

Would you mind telling that to Teagasc, Farmers Journal etc etc. It drives me nuts. Quoted a figure of €850 /Ha for suckler farmer in this weeks journal. Gross marhin of course. No mention of net margin. Talk about creative accounting. :mad:

Maybe im too cynical but ...Im convinced they know the difference but they want to be talking about profits, positive margins, not losses, jaysus not losses- so they conveniently ignore overheads, its easier that way, make farmer think he should be running on zero overheads, or he should have to pay overheads outa his own poca. They must think were dummies altogether. Also, if your keeping the animal for 18 months, you should be thinking of 1.5 times overhead to be recovered from that animal. Now we all know that you don't get paid for your time, or your land, but we also forget the cash we have tied up in our business. If we charged the farm business for these cost and the cost of having our money tired up in stock, meal etc, then we might be getting closer to true overhead for running a farm, your tenner wouldn't be worth a damn then

Nettleman wrote: »
    Lads and Lasses, Its the terminology, Breakeven is zero profit after EVERYTHING gets paid. If your at 3.25, your making zero contribution to overheads, and I have yet to see a farm without overheads. Please don't assume your making money when you are clearing a tenner on each animal after holding them for 12 months. Bottom line is after tax, bank interest& charges, depreciation, insurance, repairs, conacre costs, accountants fee, computer & internet costs, tractor running costs, Teagasc fee, ICBF fee, reseeding costs, jeep running costs. lets call it margin or contribution to overhead. So at 3.25, your making no contribution to your overheads, your a million miles from breakeven-overheads on dry stock farms are running 400-600/Ha.

You are missing my point that is the price you need to break even. IMO the price will be much stronger and those cattle will be flat priced. For every 10c/kg above that you will be making 37 euro profit. If you mange to flat price at 350ish/kg they would leave 100/head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,901 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Looks a good price just confirms about what I say about pricing. Cubing/nutting adds about 15/ton to a mix so considering you that is equivlent to 22o/for a 16% ration. There is no rubbish in mix and it is ideal for grass. Good price

Was told coarse blend 10 per tonne cheaper but better go cubed as it would be hard get an even mix for bin with those ingridents.i agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It's so the hamsters will stay turning the wheel! There's very little money wise that's positive about beef farming. Psychiatrists ain't cheap either though. So maybe it's cheap therapy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

i see Mayo mart has introduced online selling and bidding

how will the hand waving dealers take to that one,
    would be handy for selling rather than taking day off work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

The dealers and tanglers can just sit around the ring on their smartphones !:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,513 ✭✭✭tanko

Progressive genetics new beef catalogue is up on their Facebook page now. Don't know how to put up a link to it.

Here you go http://issuu.com/laurencefeeney/docs/pgbeef2015/0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Magic tanko! :D

Thanks Kovu, hope that doesn't keep you up all nite:D

tanko wrote: »
    Thanks Kovu, hope that doesn't keep you up all nite:D

Our man doesn't carry Progressive so I can only look:o

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Our man doesn't carry Progressive so I can only look:o

You're allowed to have more than one man these days you know;)

Ah but if you find one that's always been very good you find it hard to let him go!

Oh yeah but if ya have two women :rolleyes:

Reggie. wrote: »
    Oh yeah but if ya have two women :rolleyes:

Then it gives each of them a break from the feckin' eejit every so often:pac:

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Then it gives each of them a break from the feckin' eejit every so often:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

Progressive genetics new beef catalogue is up on their Facebook page now. Don't know how to put to it.

Here you go http://issuu.com/laurencefeeney/docs/pgbeef2015/0

What ye make of it,fiston doesn't look much in that pic.seems to be breeding well tho,have a few coming to him next spring

Castleview Gazelle looks a nice test animal. Looks like he'd leave length.
    On the other hand, what's up with TVR, he looks like he's on stilts or something, something not quite right with his back legs to me anyway

ODI looks a nice CH, despite him being down as a finishing bull, I've seen bulls like that leave us some nice soft weanlings. may have to see if I can source a straw off him...

Actually I know that provider in my area, he judged a calf of mine before:D