Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things said in Ireland that no one says in England

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Bepolite

Nagan... several years before I got that one.

After getting transferred over from Scotland and running across a guy I'd briefly worked with there I asked the question (in Blanchardstown) how often do the staff speak Irish to each other? At which point he turned to me and said: "they're speaking English you twat".

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    topper for a pencil sharpener
    deise08 wrote: »
    topper- sharpener.

Surely, we weren't the only ones that called them 'parers' :eek:

I've never actually heard the word 'topper' before..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Nimr wrote: »
    Surely, we weren't the only ones that called them 'parers' :eek:

I've never actually heard the word 'topper' before..

Parer here too

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Batzoo

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Never heard of flogs in Ireland, what part are you from?

I used to get flogs all the time in Dublin back in the 80`s, I havent seen them in years though. I have seen the flumps.

"After" is a word I don't think they use in the same way in the UK.

"I am after getting back from the shops"
    "Tell them I was asking after them"
    "I am just after finishing my dinner"

Banjaxed = Broken

Wait till I tell you = Listen to me

Arseways = turned around / mixed up

Ask me bollocks = Expression of disbelief

The place was black = The venue was crowded

leggit ( pronounced Leg It, also used Peg it) = run away

I will put the mockers on you = basically to jinx somebody

Aul one / Aul Fella (Its easier for me to say then spell) = Mother / Father or generally an older woman or man

To be told off = to be verbally chastised

I could tell yis more, but its enough to be getting on with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Piped TV for cable
    Deer - dree for deirdre
    Nase for naas

• Registered Users Posts: 11 rachiedee4298

Rubber -- eraser

Oh and peugout - why do the English add the letter R into it?? Sounds like purrjoe

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭breakfasttime

Most Irish do, but plenty of English do as well.

I personally pronounce it 'Aitch', but that's because I teach English and that is technically how it should be pronounced.

I never understood leaving the 'h' out of the word Haych!
    "Aitch" sems neglectful to the letter itself!

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭cup of tea

'Gas man'

Ireland: A person with a good sense of humour

England: A man that works for the gas company

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Do the British call cigarettes fags as well?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Parer here too

Ah, good.

Like countless other things, it's often referred to as 'the yoke' and you would immediately know what the other person is talking about :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Marla. pronounced more la.
    they call plasticine.

deise08 wrote: »
    Marla. pronounced more la.
    they call plasticine.

Mála (pronounced maw-la) is what I and everyone I knew when young called modelling clay.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭tac foley

goz83 wrote: »
    The word "the" almost doesn't exist with the ordinary english person.

"I'm going down pub"

"Put bag down"

"I am best"

That is a Northern way of speaking, typically Yorkshire/Lancashire people who are not as well educated as they might be. I assure you that in THIS part of England nobody speaks like that. Haven't you heard of regional dialects? :eek:

tac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

tommy100 wrote: »
    also chatting to someone and you say 'your man or your one'. an english bloke was totally confused when I said "I was talking to yer one (yer man). he said, who is my man.

When my brother went to live in England over thirty years ago, he was surprised when his English workmates didn't understand him when he said "and your man said to your man" (meaning....the first chap said to the second chap). It was quite clear to us of course, but when you think about it, it really does sound daft.

My cousin made her English workmates laugh heartily when she used the term 'mammy' when speaking about her mother. They thought she was a bit old at thirty-five to be using such a childish word and should have said 'mum'. We couldn't see any problem with it, sure isn't every Dublin mammy, a mammy? :)

My English niece looked shocked (she was eleven years old) when I asked her if she would like some apple tart. She only knew one meaning for the word 'tart'. Her mother said she would have understood me if I had said 'apple pie'.

We seem to be two countries separated by a common language! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

gvn wrote: »
    Mála (pronounced maw-la) is what I and everyone I knew when young called modelling clay.

We used to say 'marla' when we were children in the fifties. We had actually misheard teacher! Years later we discovered our error. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

All the cops in UK appear to shout "On the floor!"

We say ground - as in soil level outside!

A floor is inside not outside...
    How come they don't get confused with "ground floor"?

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭aunt aggie

Someone in England asks how are you?

I say "Grand now"

They ask what was wrong earlier...

Also a topper is actually called a pencil parer and no one in England has ever heard the term topper before.. i had to make the gesture for topping a pencil to be understood!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Ask the English barman for a rock shandy, a red lemonade and two packs of tayto and you will disappointed :(

Brennans bread has bus stop advertising about fixing yourself a sambo. I was told that's a racist term in England, anyone confirm?

• Registered Users Posts: 23 sohsoh

My Grandmother asked for a sliced pan in a local corner shop in the UK.

She was told the hardware shop is down the street.

Steve wrote: »
    Irish person: What's the craic?

English person: /looks at ceiling " I think there may have been a leak at some point"

'What's the crack?' is extremely common in Northern England.

I've always found it very interesting how many irish people have no idea the word was taken from English and respelt to appear Irish only 50 years ago or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,703 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

''WELL''

• Registered Users Posts: 6 DorInTheWall

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Ask the English barman for a rock shandy, a red lemonade and two packs of tayto and you will disappointed :(

Brennans bread has bus stop advertising about fixing yourself a sambo. I was told that's a racist term in England, anyone confirm?

Yup. It's like golliwogs -Little Black Sambo was a children's book.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

aunt aggie wrote: »
    Someone in England asks how are you?

I say "Grand now"

They ask what was wrong earlier...

Also a topper is actually called a pencil parer and no one in England has ever heard the term topper before.. i had to make the gesture for topping a pencil to be understood!!
    I'm Irish and around a long time I've never heard of a pencil parer called a topper.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭aunt aggie

I'm Irish and around a long time I've never heard of a pencil parer called a topper.

Im from the west if it helps explain things.. whole other language that side of the Shannon ;) I had to stop saying certain phrases when I went to college in another county!!

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭Mac-Chops

Living in England, I've noticed things I say that no one in England says. Here are a couple of examples.

"May I have a hot chicken roll please."

Enough to make me move home at this stage, seriously England..is a Deli here and there too much to ask?

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Frito

Ireland "plug it out"
    England "unplug"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

They call Ireland Island, America is Americur. They call the ground the floor, they still can't distinguish between outdoors and indoors :rolleyes:

Their prime minsiter thinks he is a woman called Clare.

He starts every speech with "Let me be perfectly CLARE"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

gvn wrote: »

No, it's marla (no fada). Mála means a bag.

going to the shop to get the messages,

think this is an irish thing

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Their scallops are shellfish.
    our scallops are potato. :)
    although Waterford scallops are sliced potato covered in batter. yum!!